Customer Reviews for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket

302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket

Augason Farms Gluten Free Country Fresh 100 % Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk mixes into smooth, delicious milk; just add water. Perfect for cooking, baking, and camping. Fortified with Vitamin A and Vitamin D, this 14 lb pail reconstitutes into over 18 gallons! Do the math yourself and see how much you save on this bulk purchase. Plus, the oxygen absorbers and air tight pail ensure that your milk stays fresh until you're ready to use it.   Shelf life : Sealed up to 10 years/Opened up to 1 year under ideal conditions   302 servings (Serving Size: 5 Tbsp )    Stored in an air tight 6 gallon pail with an oxygen absorber for added protection and storage   Inherently Gluten Free*   Net Weight:  14 lbs Country of Origin: USA Family owned and operated since 1972, you can trust Augason Farms' proven shelf life, because you're purchasing from a company that has outlived its guarantees and then some. Augason Farms prepares their products with the highest quality ingredients. Their families have enjoyed these tried and true recipes from day one and they invite you to share them with yours. When you choose Augason Farms you are not only receiving food you can count on, you're getting delicious peace of mind. Best when stored in a cool dry place at temperatures between 55 and 70 degrees F (ideal humidity is 15%). *This product is inherently gluten free and packaged at Augason Farms’ Certified Gluten Free Manufacturing and Packaging Site to prevent cross contamination. The product’s taste and consistency are the same as the standard non-gluten-free product.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Review 1 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014

Premature Question

Cons: too early for review
"The product is in storage for the time when it is needed. I do not plan on using any contents unless necessary. So....no product review at this time.."
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:October 2, 2012
Pros: great taste and never be out of milk again.
Cons: none that i can think of.
"I drink 2% milk, I found if I mix one cup powder to one quart water this milk taste just like 2% from the grocery store. I gave 5 stars for taste and convenience, also for Costcos prompt shipping of product. I'm single so now I now longer have to worry about using a gallon of milk before it spoils or paying more for quart or half gallons of milk. I don't have a car so I no longer have to walk through snow and ice in the winter or carry heavy gallons of milk from the grocery store. I love milk and it's great to know as long as I can order and have this milk delivered to my home, I will never run out of milk again. Its also nice to know if there is a disaster as long as I have water, I will continue to enjoy my milk."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:June 22, 2012

Love It!

"We only use 2 rounded Tbsp mix to 1 cup water...average cost $1.68 per gallon...tastes great...plenty of flavor...this company makes all kinds of great products....camping convenience, too!...no refer necessary..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:May 17, 2012

25 Yrs of Powdered milk--this is best yet!

Model Number: Costco Item # 586819
"This is my 2nd purchase of this milk. I ordered 4 buckets 6 months ago and we're just opening the last one.
I use this milk for everything-- drinking, cooking, baking, cocoa and added to coffee-- you name it.
I started using powdered milk about 25 yrs. ago after suffering back injuries in an accident. It eliminated almost 5 lbs. (approx..weight of a 1/2 gal. milk) from my grocery bag, the need to go to the grocery store as often and, I always had milk.
Over the years, I've tried many different brands. This is the best tasting, non-fat powdered (dry/instant) milk by far.
As for some of the criticism in other comments/reviews my observations after 6 months of use are:
I haven't measured a whole container but here's how I'm looking at it.
The total number of servings is close..and variable. We'll get about 8 mos. milk out of the 4 buckets. Therefore, my cost of milk is approx. 90c /day based on the pricing in effect at that time (6 mos. ago). That's less than a cup of coffee-- latte, mocha or espresso! One thing I do everyday is have a large 18 oz. cocoa. I use about twice as much powder as you're suppose to, per the instructions, for the added protein and calcium values. I do the same in other things. To get the equivalent in fresh (liq.) grocery milk would cost a lot more and wouldn't be possible in many recipes. Besides, even with the extra powder it's still non-fat and tastes great!
You do have to mix well and sometimes you have to break up a little bubble of powered milk- especially if you put a lot in your liquid at one time without stirring a little as you're adding it. I find those same bubbles of dry powder when using a cake or brownie mix, so that's nothing new.
Yes, right after mixing, or mixing and nuking, it is a little foamy. but the instructions do say to refrigerate for about 4 hrs. before serving.That allows plenty of time for the air bubbles formed from mixing to settle out. I know they disappear in my hot cocoa within a minute or two.
The bucket was difficult to open the first time, until I figured it out. However, I found a tool for opening buckets of this sort. It's made for opening 5 gal. paint containers, is inexpensive and works like a charm!
As for powder flying up into the air. If you're moving any powder substance from one container to another, some powder will float up into the air. And, when it comes to powdered milk, in 25 yrs., I've yet to find one that doesn't and this one is less than some. Same thing happens with other dry ingredients though, like flour, baking or pudding mixes.
When I open a new bucket I transfer the entire contents into a storage container that I believe is intended (marketed) to store dry dog food, among other things.
I keep it in my pantry. I keep some powder on my kitchen counter in a qt. beverage container that has a little flip top cap on the lid where the pour spout is located. When refilling, I use a large plastic scoop which actually fits into the mouth of the qt. container with the lid off, so very little powder escapes into the air. This way it's always right at hand and makes pouring the desired amount into any type appliance, measuring device or cup very simple.
Whether you're considering this for emergency preparedness or everyday use, it's the best tasting dry milk I've found. I highly recommend."
26 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2012

Best tasting milk ever!

"At first, I was disappointed in reference to the packaging. No mylar bag in the pail, but after my first taste test, that didn't matter. This powdered milk has a super great taste. You do have to stir it up a bit to get all the lumps out, but only for a few minutes or so. A plus for me is the creamy foam it creates at the top which is awesome in my coffee - Yum! Homemade "Starbucks"!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:April 28, 2012

Buyers Beware!

Pros: price
Cons: container very difficult to open, very messy to use and store, very difficult to mix in hot/cold water
"I don't usually write reviews, but I am so disgusted with this product I had to let others know.
1st, it is very difficult to open the container without some type of tool.
2nd, tranferring the milk to any container for easy dispensing, or for long term storage (in an easily opeanable container/vacuum pack) the milk becomes immediately airborne creating the biggest mess I have ever had to deal with in the kitchen - milk all over the counters & floor! Plus the static electricity properties of this product makes it very difficult to clean up. Didn't help much when changing dispensing methods - pouring, using measuring cup, or spooning directly into a cup, milk always goes airborne as soon as you touch it or dispense it.
3rd, this stuff does NOT easily dissolve in water at ANY temperature. Mixing with a spoon has ALWAYS left lumps of undissolved milk the have to be individually smashed up inside the container (which is still difficult & you just give up & resort to drinking lumpy milk) - extremely annoying in a cup of coffee. Best results have only been seen when using a small whip to mix the powder a minimum of 1 minute for 3 teaspoons in a cup of water.
4th, regardless of the method used for mixing (spoon or whip) the results are always "foamy" milk.
I am a 60 yo man & do alot of cooking. I like to use powdered/instant milk as an alternative to fresh milk in recipes & also add to coffee as an alternative to creamers."
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westport, Washington state
Date:March 15, 2012

Recommend for Food Storage

Pros: shelf 10 years unopened, better than #10 cans
Cons: none
"Ordered 3/12/2012
Arrived 3/15/2012
Living only four blocks from the Pacific ocean and with the recent events in Japan both the tsunami and the nuclear plant I decided to organize a "get your stuff and get" kit.
I have not opened my bucket as I want to prolong the shelf life but I wish to address the comments from the other reviewer about no manufacture date on the product.
The powered milk has a MFG date of 12/26/2012; doesn't get much fresher than that. And the other products I have ordered from Augason Farms have dates just look below the warning label for children and you will find it there."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Coast
Date:October 26, 2011

So Handy!

Pros: convenient, handy, makes baking easy, ideal for homemade yogurt, fast delivery
"I leave the fresh milk in the fridge for drinking and eating cereal -- this dry milk is needed for baking and making yogurt and microwave pudding. This really cuts down on the trips for more fresh milk, and the flavor is excellent. I'm delighted by the convenience of having these bulk foods delivered and by the sturdy, reliable containers. Great idea!"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 302 Total Servings of Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk 14 lb.Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:July 21, 2011

Number of servings is way off...

Pros: tastes good
Cons: # servings suspect, no manufacture date
Model Number: Augason Farms Country Fresh 100% Real Instant Nonfat Dry Milk - 14 lb. Pail 298 - 5 Tbsp Servings
"First, opening this bucket took a long flat-tipped screwdriver and every bit of strength that I had.
Next, I carefully measured out bags of either 3 or 6 cups of dry milk, then sealed them with a Foodsaver. I counted a total of 85 cups, far less than stated by the manufacturer...
298 servings of 5 Tbsp...........
If we takes 5 Tbsp = 1/3 cup (what is says on the can), this is about 99 cups
If we take 5 Tbsp = .3125 (more accurate), this is about 93 cups
So, this bucket was short by about 8-14 cups.......
I have measured several other bulk items from Mountain House and Shelf Reliance. Using similar methods, the measurements have always come out exactly as stated, or more than stated.
I tried the milk, and it does taste pretty good...that is the only reason I gave 4 stars...
I am losing trust in Augason Farms...
1. They don't put manufacture dates on their products.
2. They claim "No Preservatives" on products containing BHT
3. After measuring this bucket out as I did, I don't trust the number of servings stated on any Augason Farms product. You must go by weight alone...
"
59 of 59 people found this review helpful.