Customer Reviews for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket

388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket

Augason Farms Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend is a nutritious combination of potatoes, cabbage, onions, carrots, celery, and red and green peppers. This versatile blend of vegetables is an effortless way to add flavor and substance to any dish. Simply mix a scoop into meatloaf, soups, chip dip, or omelets, and cut out all the prep work. A great way to score a bulk discount, the air tight pail with oxygen absorbers ensures that these veggies stay fresh until you're ready to use them.   Shelf life: Sealed up to 25 years, Opened up to 1 year under ideal conditions   388 servings (Serving Size: 1/4 cup)    Stored in an air tight 6 gallon pail with an oxygen absorber for added protection and storage   Inherently Gluten Free* 18lb Bucket Net Weight:  18 lbs Country of Origin:  USA Augason Farms is the place to go for all your food storage needs. Family owned and operated since 1972, they believe that good taste is a tradition worth preserving. Not only do they prepare their products with the highest quality ingredients, their tried and true recipes have withstood the test of time, and make a great addition to daily meals. Buy in bulk and save without the worry of food spoiling. When you choose Augason Farms you are not only receiving food you can count on, you're getting delicious peace of mind. *This product is inherently gluten free and packaged at Augason Farms’ Certified Gluten Free Manufacturing and Packaging Site to prevent cross contamination. The product’s taste and consistency are the same as the standard non-gluten-free product.
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
17 of 23(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Review 1 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orange County CA
Date:May 7, 2014

Bad packaging quality control

Pros: good price.
Cons: poor packaging.
Model Number: #586844
"The bucket lid was not fully seated and leaked which only gives you a 1 year shelf life instead of 20 years? I can't recommend this product as an emergency food for this reason. Too bad they can't put the contents in a sealed bag and properly seal the bucket."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SF, cal
Date:November 12, 2013

let you know in 25 years.

"Costco asked for a review, but the product is emergency food. What can I say. It came in a high quality bucket. I'll complete this review, once I've had an emergency."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ca
Date:October 29, 2013

lots of good vegtables

Pros: lots of food for the money
Cons: wish it came in mylar bags
"wonderful blend of vegetables and easy to use, it taste excellent."
Review 4 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2013

Not Bad.

Pros: none
Cons: to many onions and not enough other vegetables.
"As with some other reviews about the product it contains more onion than other vegetables. I opened the container and repackaged into quart bags for longer lasting once opened. I cooked up a cup and it wasn't to bad, but again more onions than anything else."
Review 5 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 13, 2013

Dented buckets means no oxygen in bucket

Pros: cheap tasty long 25 yr shelf life (if sealed)
Cons: food is not contained in a mylar bag
"Disregard all of the negative reviews about dented buckets. Here is an FYI for all those novice buyers of long term food storage: The "dented" buckets are a normal side effect of the vacuum created inside the bucket when the oxygen absorbers remove oxygen from the air inside the sealed bucket.
I'd be more worried about the buckets that are not dented, which means there is a breach in the bucket seal and oxygen has gotten inside your bucket thereby affecting the stated 25 yr shelf life.
If you want 25+ yr shelf life, consider buying some mylar bags to move the food to, then throw in some oxygen absorbers, and seal the mylar bag yourself first before closing the bucket lid. This way, the buckets will retain their normal shape and you will have food that is guaranteed to be free of oxygen."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville
Date:October 7, 2013

Great product

Pros: fast delivery
"Arrived quickly and in good shape. No harm to the packaging and ready to put in stock. Couldn't be happier with the product."
Review 7 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Potomac, MD
Date:October 7, 2013

Dented Bucket

Pros: good value
Cons: seal may not last for 25 years
"I just got my order and the box it was in was clean and undamaged, but when I took the bucket out it was dented in very badly (about 5"). My guess is it was put in the box this way, since the box is fine. Returned it to Costco where the return service was great. Am going to try again."
Review 8 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hurricane Alley Central Florida
Date:May 10, 2013
Pros: great extender and multi-tasker for ltfs, adds a great flavor to home made soups, great for many recipes or as a recipe extender, excellent price for this sized container.
Cons: none
Model Number: Item # 586844
"My package and bucket arrived in perfect shape.
No detecrable smell of the food, no dings, dents, cracks or damage what-so-ever.
I have used this paticular brand and product for about 4 years now and have NOT ever had any issues with quality, taste or storagability
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 1, 2012

Dented Bucket

"I read other reviews from March of this year regarding damaged buckets with undamaged boxes. I was hoping that in the last few months this issue was resolved and ordered one to see. I just got my order and the box it was in was clean and undamaged, but when I took the bucket out it was dented in very badly (about 5"). I am guessing it was put in the box this way, since the box is fine. I will be returning this to costco and don't think I will order this companies products again."
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:July 10, 2012

great deal, excellent value

Pros: very good lots of uses
Cons: no mylar bag no gamma seal lid
"Purchased three of these buckets. I purchased my first bucket,opened it and found so many uses for it that I purchased two more. I have tossed these veggies in soups, stews, meatloaf potatoe salad and egg rolls.
The first bucket I divided up into 1/2 gallon mason jars with an oxygen absorber for storage and regular use. The other two buckets I opened and poured the contents into 6 gallon Mylar bags wth o2 absorber and placed them back in the buckets for long term storage. I give the product 5 stars but 4 stars for not being in a Mylar bag in the bucket. Would buy again.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So. Calif.
Date:April 23, 2012
"Good value for what you get. Don't know how it taste."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2012

Smashed Buckets

"I ordered 2 buckets, they arrived a week apart.
Both were smashed, and the seals were broken. Kind of defeats the purpose of buying "long term" food product.
I donated them to a local soup kitchen, they were happy to have them. So it wasn't a total waste of money, I would not buy any Augason Farms bucket items again.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

Good stuff

"Other reviews I've seen indicate that it is a little heavy with onion which is true but still quite good. We mix in additional veggies such as broccoli and/or spinach and also either white or brown rice. Then by spicing it up a bit, it is quite delicious.
As an emergency food, we would probably do the same, especially the addition of rice or pasta to add calories."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2012

Excellent Deal

Pros: price
Cons: it's not a stew blend - it's avegetable blend
"I first picked up a #10 can from Augason Farms to try it out for this seasons camping, and I was very disappointed in it after cooking up a batch. I expected "Stew" as it had "Stew" in the title... This mix is not a "Stew", it is a Vegetable Blend - I make "Stew", and this is far from "Stew"
I picked up an 18 lb bucket of this stuff because it goes great with "Sprouted Bean Trio" (TruRoots via Costco) - The Bean Trio by itself tastes like hippie food.
Would I buy this as an a "Emergency Food" - Yeah sure why not? Better to have and not need the need and not have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California - SF Bay Area
Date:March 22, 2012

badly dented container

"I agree with a prior reviewer....how can they ship out a container that is so badly dented. I didn't even try to open it as it is for emergency use only and didn't want to risk spoilage. Shipping box was not bashed in, but it still looked like it had been reused a number of times. This is poor quality control...at least in their shipping department!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:fresno,ca
Date:March 13, 2012

Vegetable Stew Blend 18 lb.

Cons: top of lid opened
"ordered twice...each time i had to return to costco...severe dent and was leaking each time...do not buy this product right now !!!!!...the box it was shipped was not dented which meant the people sending knew it was damaged when they sent it out... Costco said they would report it for me and i reported it to costco online customer service...I'll wait a month and try again"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westport, Washington state
Date:March 13, 2012

Smells delious

Pros: great price, can smell product w/o openning pail, long shelf life ( if seal is not removed, fresh
"when I removed my pail from the shipping carton, I could smell the vegetables right away. I have not opened the seal as I want mine to get the maximum shelf life.
Order date was 3/8/12
Shipped 3/9/12
Arrived WA state 3/13/12
There was one reviewer who wrote about Augason (powder milk) that Augason does not put a manufacture date on their products. That is false; my stew was MFG 2/22/12 Doesn't get much fresher than that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Prescott, AZ
Date:March 7, 2012

Very happy with this purchase

"This is the second pail of vege stew blend I have bought from Costco. I have not yet tried it, but it is for emergency, although I may open a pail one day soon just to test before buying another. Love buying from Costco. It is sooo convenient and quick delivery!"
Review 19 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 27, 2012

Outstanding product

"Any "prepper" would appreciate "store what you use" as a credo. This product does exactly that. It is good in soups, stews, meat loafs, casseroles and omlets.
Outstanding, useful product to store and use day to day."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 388 Total Servings of Gluten Free Vegetable Stew Blend Emergency Food Bucket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South, FL
Date:December 20, 2011

good stuff

"It arrived with the bucket looking like a truck hit it, but with no marks. The packaging was intact. When I opened it I heard the vacumn seal break so I knew it was good. Eventually the pail got back its normal form, must have too much a vacumn pack there...
I use a cheap seal-a-meal machine and ended up vacumn sealing the contents of the bucket down to about 25 separate bags that are dated and easier to handle. A few failed soon after because some of the vegetable chips are sharp, just had to reseal them.
Of course the purpose of opening the bucket was to try the stuff. I put it in a stew, and found it different but acceptable. A reviewer mentioned the onions being too present. I might agree but as eating I think the celery and cabbage chips could seem like onions. Its good in that there is no salt and just natural vegetables preserved in an easy to use form."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>