Customer Reviews for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System

Real-time, Large-format Detailed D1 Recording 1TB HDD 100' Night Vision
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
(out of 27 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
24 of 27(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Review 1 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carteret,NJ
Date:October 31, 2011

Great CCTV

Pros: hd cam1tb hddwireless remote
Cons: wires not as thick but still good.
"i wanted to keep an eye out on my house from work and other places like on Vacation and such and with the Remote Access that Qsee is able to do its great. now i could view my home from anywhere using my iPhone or iPad or any PC/MAC. Video Quality on day time 9.5 and at night time 9.0. it was not hard to install and the Tech stuff was pretty smooth once you know what are u doing. i showed it to some friends at work and they got some units also.."
Review 2 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tollhouse , CA.
Date:October 17, 2011

Great Buy

Pros: fast and easy set up
Cons: no owners manual book.
Model Number: 520 TVL
"For the money I don't think one could do better. I looked for months before bought this one . It was simple to install and works as advertized , although I do wish it had a printed owners manual."
Review 3 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:los angeles, ca
Date:October 13, 2011

good for price

Pros: good price
"pretty easy to install, good camera, decent picture quality. the kit comes with all the tools you need. only thing you will need is a monitor."
Review 4 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:October 3, 2011

Great for the price..

Pros: price....quality
Cons: tech support...not easy to find
"I bought this and was skeptical at first. But it actually ended up being a nice system. I had a "Night Owl" system before this and the difference is night and day. The IR on this is way better and you can really see 100ft at night. Also, the resolution is a lot better on this...not so grainy. Colors are also better too. The app for the phone is a bit glitchy but after you use it for a while you get the hang of how to exit out and not make it crash, etc. Overall I am pleased with my purchase. Just wish I would have bought the 8 channel one so I can expand the system later on. Maybe next time :)"
Review 5 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:September 29, 2011

Great Buy for the Money

Pros: very reasonably priced
Cons: remote viewing setup not simple
Model Number: 504
"Purchased the set with four cameras. Very easy to set up, except for crawling through the attic to string the cables, obviously not a product deficiency. The pictures are amazingly clear, including the night pictures. My only complaint is setting it up for remote viewing on our Iphone and Ipad. Worked on this for several hours and still can't get the connection, but I haven't contacted support yet for assistance."
Review 6 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:September 28, 2011

You get what you pay for

Pros: inexpensive, ir has a good range, easy setup and configuration
Cons: camera's appear to be cheap as 2 failed in 2 weeks, rma process inconvenient and slow
Model Number: 520 TVL - 4 cameras with DVR
"Ordered online (costco.com) and out the door for under $300. Received well packed box from QSEE, unpacked and plugged in. Setup was quick and easy. Unfortunately, I had 2 of the 4 cameras fail inside of 2 weeks. One camera's IR lights stopped working. The other camera stopped working all together. I'm just gratefull that I didn't install only to have to undo later. My advise is to test it for a couple weeks first and then install it. Otherwise you may end up with a real headache."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Valley, WA
Date:September 28, 2011

Great buy

"We are real happy with this unit. It works with our Apple computers. The video day and night is fantastic. As a unknown feature, we can see the bats flying at night with the IR! They are fun to watch.
The install was simple and straight forward."
Review 8 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:September 27, 2011

Disappointed

"I purchased 3 of these items.
The quality control and overall quality was disappointing.
The digital video recorder would not display the control menu when connected to a television. Therefore, it could not be controlled. Additionally, the controls on the face of the digital video recorder seemed to have no influence on the operation of the digital video recorder.
While attempting to mount one of the cameras with the included camera mount wood screws, that the heads of the screws broke off.
The resolution or definition of the cameras was inferior to an inexpensive Linksys IP camera I had purchased many years prior.
I returned all 3 items (2 of them unopened)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:September 27, 2011

GREAT PRODUCT FOR SMALL BUSINESS

Pros: works great on the network, records audio as well as video, the night vision is awesome
Cons: cables are a bit short
Model Number: QT504-436-1
"We have a small retail store and this system is great. It took two of us about three hours to set it all up. Most of the time was doing a neat job in running the cables. The software instructions were a little confusing, but it all worked out fine. We totally love the fact that we can all see everything right from our computers. It makes it easy to see who is in the store and if more help is needed in front. Also, the store clerks feel more secure knowing that the customers know there is a security system. We wanted to record conversations at the sales counter and had to purchase a microphone from another retailer, but the system works fine for video and audio.
A fun feature is the software has a "snap shot" icon that lets you take a single frame picture with just a mouse click."
Review 10 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:September 27, 2011

Trash

Model Number: QT504
"The night vison on only two of the original 4 cameras worked. While waiting for the two replacements another one went defective. The two replacements didn't work either and one had a smoke ring build up inside the camera lens. Sent those back and got two more. This time the night vision worked but they both had the smoke rings after only one day. Of course if you pay someone to install it they will keep charging you each time because its not their fault it doesn't work. I would send the whole thing back but I have paid to have it installed and can't get that money back. I have finally asked them to replace the last two defective cameras with a different model or send a tech to my house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aliso Viejo, CA
Date:September 18, 2011

Works Great/Easy to Install

Cons: support is difficult to reach.
Model Number: QT504
"Installed outside my house. Works great and was easy to install. Night time vision is excellent. The moment you hook up one of the cameras to the DVR, it reads it instantly. The DVR allows you to customize how and when the unit records movement. It even gives you the optiion to block out pixels of things that could trigger motion, like shrubs and trees."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2011

Complicated Internet Setup

Pros: clear pictures day or night, plug and play, email answer within a day
Cons: internet access setup is very hard to understand
Model Number: QT504
"bought this two weeks before going on vacation so that I can check the house while I'm away but end up not being able to access it on the internet."
Review 13 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:September 15, 2011

Great Purchase!

"This is an incredible system for the money. I had a few issue getting the remote viewing setup but once that was resolved everything has worked great. The picture is very clear and the night vision is amazing! The motion detection is great once you figure out how it can be adjusted to accommodate for wind blowing the bushes, etc."
Review 14 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:September 14, 2011

A Good Choice for Me

Pros: 1tb hard drive included, user replaceable hard drives up to 2tb, easy to copy video from dvr to usb device.
Cons: night viewing not as good as i had hoped, difficult to set up remote viewing, no cable securing hardware included.
Model Number: QT-504
"This is the first security camera system I have owned. The basic setup is very easy: just plug the cables into the cameras, the DVR and the power supply. The unit turns on and is operating. I had a little trouble understanding the menu system on the DVR, but it didn't take long to get used to it.
I have wireless router and getting the system set up to view through my local network was no problem at all. I can view my cameras on my iPod Touch and I can view and manage my Q-See system on my laptop or desktop computer.
The biggest problem I had was setting up remote viewing over the internet. Q-See includes a utility that is supposed to help set up the port forwarding that is required to view and manage the system over the internet. I tried and tried to get the port forwarding to set up properly using the Q-See utility, but to no avail. I was finally able to set up my port forwarding manually and I am able to access my monitoring system from any computer that has internet access. The Q-See utility was telling me that my port forwarding settings weren't working when they actually were.
One surprising piece of information I found in the PDF manual included on CD is that you can upgrade or add a hard drive up to 2TB without voiding your warranty. Also you can buy any standard SATA drive from any source you want for the upgrade or replacement. Most manufacturers make their components to be proprietary so they can only be purchased from an "Authorized" source at a much higher price than you would have to pay through another source..
I don't know how this compares to other security camera systems, but so far I am happy with my purchase."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:maryland
Date:September 7, 2011

works well

Pros: easy set up
Cons: customer service
Model Number: qt504
"Easy to set up with the software they give you links to.
The cameras have better color than some previous ones we have purchased, higher resolution.
Good control over the internet, nice logs
Customer service is not the best i.e. getting hold of someone"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:September 6, 2011

Great System

Pros: solid cameras, tons of dvr features, remote viewing, dvr storage upgradable, motion recording
Cons: 60' cable length could be limiting to some
"I read the instructions before unpacking the DVR and the cameras. I setup the DVR by plugging it in, hooking it up to a PC monitor, attaching the provided optical mouse, and setting the time. I installed the cameras outdoors under the overhangs of my roof. The video quality is great. The provided 60' cables were sufficient for my install.
Cameras have a solid feeling construction, adjustable sun/weather shades, 36 IR LEDs for night time viewing, and completely adjustable mounting brackets.
The DVR has a remote control, PC monitor output, 4 connections for BNC connector and audio capability, USB mouse, USB port on the front to export video files and screen captures to an external device, 1 TB HDD, upgradable to 2 TB with any PC SATA HDD.
The included CD has all of the user manuals on it and easily walks you through the steps to be able to connect to the DVR remotely to watch your cameras from anywhere.
Overall this is a great package and I highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wood Dale IL
Date:September 2, 2011

Very goood price

"great cameras...little hard to setup remote viewing...tech support is only available online."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:September 2, 2011

Great Value

Pros: excellent value
"Cameras and DVR work well. Configuring the DVR to operate over the internet was a challenge but worth it. Able to view the cameras anywhere via the internet and my Droid phone. Pretty cool"
Review 19 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, New York
Date:September 2, 2011

Good,but

Cons: quality control
Model Number: 586868
"Quality control issue stops me from giving this product an excellent review. A screw was missing from one of the cameras. Otherwise, the cameras have outstanding viewing capabilities with excellent night time vision"
Review 20 for Q-See 4 Channel DVR 4 High-resolution 520TVL Camera Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Cal.
Date:September 2, 2011

Q-See

Pros: very good cameras that work well in low light as w, super simple plug and play set up., large 1tb storage.
Cons: can't think of a single one for this system.
Model Number: QT504
"Excellent system. Had the system working after 30 minutes! Very easy to set up and use. Quite frankly the cameras work as well in very low light situations as they do in bright light. Very impressive. Cables are much smaller than I thought and very easy to set up with very simple connections. Basic plug and play system!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>