Customer Reviews for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station

WMR88A Oregon Scientific Wireless Semi- Pro Weather Station is a full featured and affordably priced professional weather station!  Become a neighborhood meteorologist.  See current weather conditions including indoor and outdoor temperature and humidity, barometric pressure, wind speed and direction, dew point and rainfall.  Arm yourself with detailed information that is specific to the ‘microclimate’ in your own back yard.  The software for the WMR88 allows you to monitor live local weather data from your weather station on your home PC.  The atomic clock automatically sets your time and adjusts for Daylight Saving Time! Features: Download real time weather data to your PC   Displays indoor and outdoor temperature and humidity with up to 3 channels   Barometric pressure display with historical bar graph   Wind speed and direction indicators   UV reading with bar graph (optional) Current and 24 hour rainfall   User selectable altitude and display in mb/hPa or mmhg   Self-setting atomic clock with moon phase   Atomic time never needs adjusting for Daylight Saving Time   Iconic weather forecast: sunny, partly cloudy, cloudy, rainy, snowy   USB port for data download and weather monitoring   Outdoor temperature reading from -22 to 140 degrees Fahrenheit (-30 to 60 degrees Celsius) Calendar display in your choice of 6 languages: English, French, Italian, Spanish, German or Russian PC system requirements: Microsoft Windows XP SP2, or Windows 7 Model: WMR88A
Average Customer Rating:
2.929 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
7 of 14(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Review 1 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:November 30, 2012

Just works O K

Pros: outside temp. function works well., unit has been durable.
Cons: poor rain sensor, not very accurate for local conditions
Model Number: WMR88A
"I have had this unit for about three years now. The outdoor temp. sensor works fine, as does the wind meter. I have never been able to get the rain sensor to work properly, and it is located within 60 feet of the base unit. The other major problem I have is that it often displays the raining symbol when he weather is clear. I called Oregon Scientific about this and the rep said that it must be raining near me, like in Oregon! Pretty poor customer support."
Review 2 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 27, 2012

Great product

Pros: crisp lcd displays easily hangs on a wall
Cons: tricky bariometer adjust procedure, on the pricy side
Model Number: La Crosse Combo 11-T Weather Station
"I have used this model of three years without a problem. Setup requires the outdoor sensor be powered off before powering the two indoor units, then insert the batteries into the outdoor sensor. Works more than a year on a set of batteries."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2012

Sent back immediately

Model Number: wmr88
"This unit is small and will not display the inside and outside temps simultaneously. If you enjoy pushing buttons instead of glancing over to see readings, this is your unit. I am returning it unused.wmr88"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:central valley,ca
Date:August 6, 2012

best new hobbie in a long time.

Cons: wish it had sunrise and sunset times
Model Number: wmr88
"seems to be very accrurate. a lot of fun. like the 24hr forcast. easy to set up and operate. not as complcated as one might think."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:McKinney, TX
Date:June 17, 2012

challenging and ultimately disappointing

Pros: costco return policy
Model Number: WMR88A
"As I do not have a hundred feet from any obstruction to mount the wind speed measuring device, I suppose I should expect some error. But the highest reading was under 10 mph when gusts that day were approaching 40 mph. Rain gauge worked well. Remote humdity/temperature sensor had steadily decreasing range. Changed batteries, twice, but range just kept diminishing. As always, Costco took it back for complete refund."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2012

Don't waste your money

"Temp, RH, and wind meter works. Barameter about 1degree off rain gage not working, wind chill not working. Piece of junk!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lincoln, CA
Date:March 19, 2012

Not the best

"This weather station proved difficult when it came to syncing the various components. The screen is a bit too busy for quick scan of key information. Design makes it hard to see without raising up while on the countertop."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2012

Weak Softare

Model Number: WMR88A
"The software that came with this weather station is difficult to install and use. The install instructions don't agree with what is on the CD. The display of data vs. time is poor. Maybe I just need to spend more time getting it set up. The software that came with my Lacrosse weather station purchased at Costco a few years ago was much better.
The Hardware seems to be ok
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WMR88
Date:March 19, 2012
Pros: easy to install
Model Number: Wmr88
"Liked it so much I bought one for my brother inlaw, for his birthday."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 7, 2012

Rain gauge DOA

Cons: rain doa, warranty reg. no-op, service ???
Model Number: WMR88
"Seems to work ok except the Rain gauge was DOA when I got it. No response from OR Scientific, website warranty registration non-operational, and emailed them, no response yet. They appear to have problems with quality control and with service after the sale. Beware."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2012

Terrible customer service from manufacturer

Pros: wireless setup is easy, software is adequate for record keeping
Cons: terrible support
Model Number: WR88A
"The product itself is reasonable for the price you pay. Since installation, have had a problem with connection from the rain gauge. Now working on 2nd month of emails to Oregon Scientific for resolution. Their response is typically at least a week to an emailed question. They have promised an RMA to replace this, but have not delivered. I may have to return it to Costco under their customer service guarantee to get this taken care of."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:November 24, 2011

Very Disappointed

Cons: very limited data tracking, automatic clock function inoperable, requires full-time usb connection to computer, hard to read display, complicated software, granularity of rain data is coarse
Model Number: WMR88A
"I purchased this weather station to replace another manufacturer's similar item whose sensors were failing. My existing unit had the features I wanted and I thought this one would have those features too. I found that it does not let me watch the cumulative weather data for the day as the day progresses. It only has summary capabilities unless you buy additional more advanced versions of the software that allows you to export the data to something like Excel. My existing device has wireless connection to my computer and, if the connection is down, it stores a considerable amount of data until the connection is restored. This unit requires permanent USB connection to your computer to capture all of the weather data. I've also been unable to get the automatic clock to synchronize with WWV Denver. I have three other automatic clocks(WWV sync) in my house that work fine. In fact one of them is 10 feet from this weather station. There are a number of issues I have with this but it would take a very long review to cover them all. This weather station may have the features some people are looking for but it's a huge failure to me."
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dyer, IN
Date:November 10, 2011

Wireless Weather Station

Pros: works great other than one flaw
Cons: needs to be lighted up to view it good
"I returned this item because it was hard to read the LCD screen when it wasn't lighted up. You would have to be up close to view the LCD when it wasn't lighted. If the blue light would stay on permanently then I would have kept it."
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oregon Scientific® Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:September 21, 2011

Very Good System

Pros: includes batteries, great price, easy to set up, attractive display monitor
Cons: wind vane must be mounted pointing north, the display light should stay on longer, the rainfall reading resets too soon, no pc wireless connectivity
Model Number: OSI Wireless Semi-Pro Weather Station
"This is a very nice unit, easy to set up, easy-to-read display with all parameters showing at once (minimal amount of scrolling required). Also a nice touch is that all the batteries are included; and they're alkaline, not zinc-carbon. Also includes the USB cable. If you're looking to monitor the basics such as wind, temp, humidity and rainfall, this is a great model for the price. A major failing is its firmware's inability to allow one to adjust the wind vane orientation, therefore you are REQUIRED to mount it facing North. It would not have been difficult to add software code to include this provision. The USB connection is fine, but it would be nice if this unit could communicate via a home wireless network. If the display is sitting in the kitchen or family room, it's not too likely that a PC is within "USB cable" reach."
31 of 33 people found this review helpful.