Customer Reviews for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier

Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier

The Whynter Energy Star® rated 40 pint portable dehumidifier is a high capacity unit with exceptional low-temperature operability. This dehumidifier can be continuously operated with a direct drain option to efficiently remove surrounding atmospheric moisture in a wide range of ambient conditions. Ideal for the basement, attic or other unusual environment usage, this unit is also Energy Star rated allowing for extended use and dependability. To ensure fresher and cleaner air when using in damp environments, Whynter dehumidifiers come equipped with an advanced anti-bacterial silver ion filter. To maintain a steady, comfortable humidity level, Whynter dehumidifiers come standard with auto-restart and auto-shutoff options that activate based on the ambient temperature and your selected humidity level. Built for high capacity usage, this unit is suited for enclosed areas as large 2500-3500 sq. ft.  Whynter dehumidifier units are designed to offer easy operation and portability for all your humidity control requirements.   Features: 40 pint (18.9 liter) capacity dehumidifier   10.5 pint (5 liter) removable water bucket   Auto-restart and Auto-shutoff functions   Adjustable humidity range of 35 - 85% relative humidity   Low temperature operation (minimum ambient temperature low 40°Fs)   Auto-defrosting capability to prevent frost build-up inside unit   Electronic controls with humidity sensor settings   Direct drain option for continuous operation   Runs quiet with normal operating noise level below 54 dBA   Dual fan speeds and 24 hour timer function   Anti-bacterial silver ion filter and washable pre-filter included   Extendable grip handle and caster wheels for portability   Power consumption:  490 Watts / 4.8 Amps   Power Supply:  115 V /60 Hz   UL listed   Energy Star® rated   Dimensions:  14.2" W x 10.5" D x 20" H   Product weight: 30 lbs. Model: RPD-401W
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:I live in the Pacific Northwest, HUMID!
Date:November 18, 2013

Quiet, but . . .

Pros: quiet does an excellent job, small size portable, easy to empty container.
Cons: tank is small must be emptied frequently, user guide is woefully inadequate.
Model Number: Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier 588461
"After 2 weeks, I'm pleased with the dehumidifier. Quieter than any other I've had, efficient, low energy"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:February 20, 2013

Very difficult humidity problem solved

Pros: fast dehumidifying quiet
"After spending hundreds of dollars on the HVAC guy to not figure out why my master bed and bath AC was not properly dehumidifying my room, I gave up and bought this wonder machine. It quickly drops the humidity in my bathroom after a shower. I have it set at 44% to keep it under the mold growing level. We have horrible allergies and are trying everything to make the house hospitable for us not allergens. We also installed a new fan that moves a ton of air and is very quiet, with both of those running, we don't even steam up the mirrors during a shower. It feels a lot colder at 71 than it did at 65% + RH! Without the wonder machine, we still have a humidity issue, but until we can remedy that, this will keep us comfortable! I emptied the bucket at 12 hrs the first time and now empty it once a day. Like I said our room is HUMID! This thing is great! Buy it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LI, NY
Date:June 26, 2012

Consistent

Pros: quiet, accurate, constant drain, doesn't heat up the room as the previous unit did
Cons: drain hose too short & flimsy
"Quiet, constant drain, maintains a steady 54% humidity according to my hygrometer without making the room hot as did the previous unit.
The drain hose provided was too short and came kinked since it was folded in the condensate bucket for shipping. I purchased a 10 foot garden hose for $5.99 and cut it to the lenght I needed retaining the female end needed to attach to the unit.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:April 10, 2012

homeowner

"Works good, no cons so far. Does a good job on keeping the basement dry."
Review 5 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

whynter dehumidifier

Pros: fast quiet
"Works as advertised. Quiet on low fan speed, or quickly dehumidify on high speed. I hooked up the drain hose included with the unit, eliminating the need to empty it."
Review 6 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nevada, MO
Date:April 9, 2012

Seems to work!

"After two days of operation in the finished portion of my basement, I emptied the half-full tank of water. I have now moved it to the unfinished portion and attached the drain line. It monitors the humidity level and turns off and on as needed. Even at the turbo level, the sound level is not overwhelming."
Review 7 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:September 24, 2011

Excellent Dehumidifier

Model Number: Whynter 40 pint Dehumidifer
"We purchased this after our old dehumidifier broke during the Lee storm. We were without one for 1 week. However, when we received the Whynter we started it up and it took about a week, but we dried out the basement and got the humidity down from 73% to 58%. Our moisture problems are disappearing. We continue to run it on continuous, only because we have an old stone foundation and it is porous, so water will continue to seep through, but it is remarkably better than with nothing. We rent this home, so we can't do much about the foundation, although we dry-locked one wall and that seems to help. We empty it 3 times a day. We do not presently have it hooked up into the washing machine drain, but may consider doing that down the road. Many of the models I checked use a considerable amount of electricity. This one on continuous mode only uses 490 watts as appose to many which use up to 800 watts. That might be something to consider in your decision. It was for us since I am using it 7 days a week 24 hours a day. I think it really does a great job of drying out the basement and does not create allot of heat or noise like our previous one. Purchase one, you won't be disappointed and Costco's return policy is excellent."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011

Dehumidifier

"So far so good. I've only had it for a few weeks. Works great but the bucket fills up 3 times a day!
It did not come with a hose so I contacted Whynter and they are sending me one. No hassle at all.
Plus I am counting on Costco's return policy. I hear all dehumidifiers are notorious for not working for more than a year or two."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whynter 40-pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2011

Great Purchase!

"This dehumidifier is awesome! I've never owned one before so I have nothing to compare it to, but after doing some research of what to look for, this seemed to have everything I needed and at a great price! Very happy about it. Pretty quiet on high fan setting and even quieter on low fan. My only complaint is that it did not come with the hose for continuous draining that is supposed to be included --- I plan on returning it or finding out if that can be sent to me. --- just haven't done that yet. We'll see!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.