Customer Reviews for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier

Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier

This Whynter Energy Star® rated 65 pint portable dehumidifier is a high capacity unit with exceptional low-temperature operability. This dehumidifier can be continuously operated with a direct drain option to efficiently remove surrounding atmospheric moisture in a wide range of ambient conditions. Ideal for the basement, attic or other unusual environment usage, this unit is also Energy Star rated allowing for extended use and dependability. To ensure fresher, cleaner air when using in damp environments, Whynter dehumidifiers come equipped with an advanced anti-bacterial silver ion filter. To maintain a steady, comfortable humidity level, this Whynter dehumidifier comes standard with auto-restart and auto-shutoff options that activate based on the ambient temperature and your selected humidity level. Built for high capacity usage, this unit is suited for enclosed areas as large 2500-3500 sq ft.  Whynter dehumidifiers are designed to offer easy operation and portability for all your humidity control requirements. Features: 65 pint (30.8 liter) capacity dehumidifier   21 pint (10 liter) removable water bucket   Auto-restart and Auto-shutoff functions   Adjustable humidity range of 35 - 85% relative humidity   Low temperature operation (minimum ambient temperature low 40°Fs)   Auto-defrosting capability to prevent frost build-up inside unit   Electronic controls with humidity sensor settings   Direct drain option for continuous operation   Runs quiet with normal operating noise level below 57 dBA   Dual fan speeds and 24 hour timer function   Anti-bacterial silver ion filter and washable pre-filter included   Extendable grip handle and caster wheels for portability   Power consumption:  710 Watts/6.6 Amps   Power Supply:  115 V /60 Hz   Unit Dimensions:  15.5" W x 14.3" D x 23.8" H   Product weight:  43 lbs   UL listed   Energy Star® rated Model: RPD-651W
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
3
7 of 13(54%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Review 1 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:February 17, 2014

No very robust unit

Pros: it runs.....most of the time. quiet
Cons: not very effective at lower temps.
"Not very impressed. This unit replaced an old one I had for about 6-7 years and finally quit working. This one is very sensitive to lower temps....below 45 degrees. Stays in defrost mode below that temp. Now that the area is warmer, it collects very little water in the bucket, compared to my old unit. No really impressed with its operation."
Review 2 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:February 3, 2014

Display stopped working; terrible customer service

"We recently purchased this item and have had a very frustrating experience. The display just stopped working after we had it for about a month, if that. Whynter sent us a new control board but that did not fix the problem. Then they told us that UPS would come pick it up and make 3 attempts. Aside from the information provided on adequate packing material since we did not have the original packaging, there was no other info on an address to send it to or even to print out a shipping label. We should have just brought the product back to Costco to return it. Instead, we ended up sending it back to Whynter which they are now telling us they will NOT reimburse us for. We will not be purchasing Whynter products in the future."
Review 3 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Aspen, CO
Date:January 17, 2014

Poor Directions

Pros: so far none
Cons: operation of unit is extremely difficult
"The directions that arrive in the user manual do not even "mention" how to adjust the humidity setting. As such, I phoned Whynter customer service and was sent the following email (notice that the technician does not even mention adjusting for relative humidity! Additionally, even after reading his long email below, I do not understand how to operate this unit. Finally, the defrost cycle runs most of the time on my unit:
"Dear Ken,
Thank you for your phone call about your Whynter RPD-651W Dehumidifier. Please see the "Setting the Timer (Auto-start/stop)" section in the user manual. The unit can be set to come on and off during certain hours or when it's off it can be set up to turn on in a certain amount of hours, alternately; the same thing to turn off. Please note that the unit does not have an internal clock and cannot be set to come on at a specific time.
Please note that the benefits of the continuous fan operation is that when the fan runs, the dehumidifier's response to a rise in relative humidity is more prompt and more precise. The fan circulates air through the room so, by operating continuously, it mixes the air, thereby evening out variations in relative humidity within the room and detecting a general increase more quickly.
Also, when the unit is off, press the timer button and the +/- buttons to set the number of hours when the dehumidifier will come on. When the unit is on, press the timer button and the +/- buttons to set the number of hours when the unit will turn off. The unit will have to be re-set after each cycle.
Alas, to set an 'ON/OFF' sequence, you may press the Timer button to activate the Auto-start function and Timer light 'ON' will illuminate. Set the desired time delay 'ON' hours by pressing the '+/-' buttons. Once Timer Delay Switch On is set, press the Timer button again to activate Auto-stop function and the Timer 'OFF' light will illuminate. Set the desired time delay 'OFF' hours by pressing the '+/-' buttons. When the delay time set has elapsed, the dehumidifier switches off. To cancel the delayed switch off function, set the time to “00” or turn the unit off.
Thank you.
Customer Service
Whynter Innovations Group
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2013

Not what I expected...

Pros: was easy to get setup and easy to run
Cons: used a lot of energy while not doing much
"Plugged the unit in and was excited to see what it could do. 2 hours later (1 kwh expended) and I had seen the humidity level go from 75% to 72%. All this and the room went up 3 degrees, negating any positive effect that the meager 3% decrease in humidity would have provided. I unplugged the unit, dumped the water, re-boxed it up for return, and turned on my 20 year+ old A/C. 15 - 30 minutes later, we are looking at 60% humidity and a decrease of about 5 degrees."
Review 5 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Western California
Date:March 15, 2013

Did not work the way it was expected!

Pros: seemed to be built very well with a lot of thought, filter is awesome, great looking, shows the humidity, runs very quiet
Cons: defrost cycle on 50% of the time in a 65 degree f, didnt pull very much moisture when compared others
Model Number: Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
"I was excited to use and it looks great! The display is friendly and shows the humidity. Runs very quiet. Did not pull moisture near as well as a cheap Kenmore or my now, Frigidaire FAD704DUD 70 Pt. Dehumidifier that I am very satisfied with. The problem with the Whynter 65-Pint is that it stays on what seemed to be a timed defrost cycle. My house was between 62 and 65 degrees F. I did raise the temp to 72 degrees to see if that made the difference and it did run better but still went through the Defrost Cycle way too much. It stayed in the Defrost Cycle for what seemed to be 15 minutes at a time before working again. Sorry, but I wouldn't buy this again unless I found out that I had a dud!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sarasota, FL
Date:June 30, 2012

Pretty good dryer

Pros: looks great, low temperature operation
Cons: price
Model Number: Whynter RPD-651W
"This is being used in my garage to keep the equipment dry in the humid summer weather. The garage is about 800 sqft and I initially thought I would need 2 of these dehumidifiers. decided to get one to see if it was decent. I was not disappointed with it and I don't think I even need a second one. I have a long garden hose attached to it so it drains on a floor drain. there's a small flap on the side of the unit that you can put your hose into and connect it to the port. the tube that comes with it is too short for what I need it for. it's been running non-stop for the past month and it's still running fine. no need for a commercial dryer. it gets cold over night but this has been able to crank through it without stopping. I'm quite happy with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:May 22, 2012

Poor quality

Cons: doesn't work without constant freeze ups
"This is the absolute worst dehumidifier. I am now on my second one in two weeks. Both units had the same problem of giving off a P1 code which meant the unit was in defrost mode-both units did this up to 30-50 times a day and did not take humidity out of the air during this time period. Customer service is horrible-they tell you basic things to correct the problem I.e. is the unit in an area that is cooler than 40 degrees/is it 10 inches away from the wall. Both of these questions are explained in the manual. I have had previous dehumidifers at half the price out perform this unit. Both dehumidifiers will be going back to Costco tomorrow-don't go with this dehumidifier if you are looking for a well built unit!!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:May 3, 2012

Dehumidifier is great

"This has made my life endurable the last few days!!! Yahoo! I am no longer dripping wet and in pain as I have been in the last month. It takes several pints of water out of the air upstairs every evening from about 2 to 8.in the evening. This makes my life wonderful and does not seem to cause any side effects for Rich or myself. We have it setting on the carpet and does fine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:December 8, 2011

very average at best

"very low quality build -- really cheap flimsy plastic:
unfortunately product doesn't have quite periods - fan is always on unless bucket is full of water.
sensor didn't work - in my damp basement it was all over the place in terms of humidity, went from 50 to 60 and then back to 50 in a course of 10 mins or so.
water hose and connector are missing from the box - apparently quite normal as there were no surprises and vendor shipped one right away. It was by far the cheapest hose and connecter was leaking water in a matter of mins.
Silver filter that was one of the selling points for me but it is not there because of the new design. In fact my filter had fairly large holes.
Customer support is strange - they really don't help much but operate via email.
In terms of noise - i don't think it is much different from any other dehumidifier i've had over the years.
"
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:December 6, 2011

Whynter is a Winner Choice Dehumidifier!

Pros: quiet, small unit size, efficient, attractive, simple to use & operate
Cons: should have bought it sooner!
Model Number: RPD-651W
"We had an A/C leak inside the home for several weeks before being detected. Before we knew it, laminate floor began to swell and spread through several rooms.
Immediate action called to rent an industrial grade dehumidifier which we ran for 1-month to determine we might as well order one instead of renewing the rental.
After much research, User review, and Costco reputation for backing what they sell; we chose the Whynter RPD-651W.
I've had it running continuously for the past five (5) days and am emptying the tank twice per day. For a couple of days, I ran it in conjunction with the rental unit and this one worked as well, if not better, than our rental unit.
Other than missing the drain hose (I contacted Whynter customer service and they're shipping me one), it arrived perfect and prompt! A beautiful unit in a minimal amount of space. Extremely quiet and quite efficient.
It's only been five days so far but I haven't a single regret. Besides, I have Costco standing behind the product should anything go wrong.
Need a great unit at a great price? You cannot go wrong with this one."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:September 21, 2011

It's just okay

Pros: more quiet than the last two brands i have owned
Cons: not reducing humity below 50% in basement, after 3 weeks dehumidification not impressive
Model Number: RPD-651W
"Perhaps this is too early to write an accurate review but, here it is, anyway. I've opperated this in my basement for about three weeks, now.
Quietness of operation isimpressive. Will it give out after two years of operation? Will it stand the test of time?
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:August 19, 2011

Dehumidifier

"Larger, more efficient. Quiet. Excellent for basement."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whynter 65-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MO
Date:August 18, 2011

So far so Great

Model Number: RPD-651W
"Had a very damp basement, had no idea how damp until I started the unit and it came up as 90% humidity!!! I had to wait a few days to run the unit because they did not include the drain hose. Called Whynter and they shipped me the hose. A few days later I got the hose, turned it on Continuous Mode and let it go to work. 24 hours later...90% went down to 40%. The only reason I didn't rate at five stars is because it's still early and I don't know how it will do after time. So far it's great."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.