Customer Reviews for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts

Includes Waterproof Plastic Case, Sports and Multi-clip, Multi-bracket, Mounting Screws
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Review 1 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jupiter, Fl
Date:July 18, 2011

Great Little Video Camera

Pros: very versatile, amazing quality for the size and price
Model Number: SWSAC-SPORTSCAM
"We love this little camera. We have used it as a dash-cam in our truck, and the video was great, good color and sharp. We also used it while sightseeing in a local tropical garden and it was nice being able to just walk around together with my wife and enjoy all the scenery without even thinking about the camera. I had it clipped to my shirt pocket. When we got back home and viewed the video on the computer, the audio and video were fantastic. For the ultimate test we put the camera into the waterproof case and took it for a swim in our pool with our dogs, again the video and audio was great. All in all we are completely satisfied with this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:July 15, 2011

PRETTY COOL

Pros: waterproof case, good video, attaches easy, very good price, fun, last, 16gb microsd max, lots of storage capacity, great battery for being small, lots of useful accessories
Cons: none so far have waterproof to test
Model Number: SWSAC-SPORTSCAM
"I bought this for paintballing with my friends. This is pretty cool. I get to record all matches. I used the waterproof casing in case it got hit by a paintball. It didn't get hit but paint did land on it. Camera case protected it really good and video was cool to watch after.
Quality is good. At first I didn't think it would record so well since it wasn't in HD but it looks clear. The quality was good for not being HD and me running around the field while getting shot at. Battery lasted me 3 hours, plenty for several paintball matches. All the many straps and cases are also good quality and held on to my gear really good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Spokane,WA
Date:July 29, 2011

Not bad - Not good

Pros: very small, good price
Cons: not the best picture quailty
Model Number: Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
"Not what I expected, good for it's size. If
your after picture quailty this isn't for you.
Not bad for the price but I did take it back.
Ended up with a GoPro instead, more $
but much better camera.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
Date:July 19, 2011

Lasted Through Kids Triathlon!!!

Pros: battery is good!, very good price!, great for any sport, waterproof, attaches to anything, light, easy to share file, great for athlete's, everyone loves memories, small very portable
Model Number: SPORTSCAM
"My husband's cousin, age 12, came from Mexico to participate in a youth Triathlon near Santa Barbara California. I gave him this as a gift and he decided to use it during the race. He did the swimming, bicycling, and running all with this tiny camera on, clipped to his clothes. Battery lasted him the entire race, about 3 hrs, and it was great to watch the video after. The swimming looked very good for being underwater and no water got into the waterproof cover. It was great to watch the race from his perspective. Everyone at the race and here at home LOVED IT!! and now he gets to take the video home back so everyone in Mexico can be at his race, so cool! Me and my husband our getting ours as I type this, snorkeling anyone? lol
PS. He won first place in his category- age 11 to 12, and 3rd place overall- ages 7 to 17."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2011

Very Disappointed

Pros: small
Cons: hard to use
"I saw many high ratings (4-5 stars) for this camera. I decided to get it for my son to record his BMX ride. I was very disappointed on the product. Mostly, my son almost cried after the Sportscam deleted ALL of the pictures on his miniSD card without notice.
- You only can charge the camera by using the USB cable via your laptop/pc.
- BAD tech support. I called Swann tech support to see that I can purchase a home or card charger for the device. I never got to talk to a tech support. Their automatic phone system disconnected me twice after 40 min wait.
- It is very hard to see the recording mode light. The light is smaller than a needle hole. It is impossible to see with day light.
- Video quality is below average. I didn't expect much. I didn't get this for video quality.
- As I mentioned above, I tested the video with my son current miniSD card. The camera erased ALL of his pictures on the card without warning. He lost 2 yrs of pictures on the card.
- Windows XP didn't recognized the Sportscam. You have to install the driver from provided CD.
- I will return the camera to Costco and look for other options."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 17, 2011

So So

"I bought it based on some of the good reviews I read. The picture quality was o.k.
I think they sent me a defective model, and that's why I feel I had a bad experiance. The green light is supposed to be blinking slowly only when recording. As soon as I turned the unit on, the green light was blinking, I didn't know if it was recording or not. Unfortunately, I was on vacation, and didn't have a computer to see what was on the card. I'll have to return and debate on wether to get another or not.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fox Island, WA
Date:October 17, 2011

Lots of Fun!

Pros: small size, waterproof, long lasting battery, lots of capacity with mini-sd
Cons: no view screen, audio is awkward, small enough to easily misplace
"This very tiny camera works perfectly for certain specific applications like river rafting and snorkeling.
It stayed dry underwater while taking some great river videos.
The image resolution is not HD by any means, but is good enough for recording memories.
You don't know exactly what you are recording or what have recorded until you download the images to your computer.
It even kind of records audio, but BEWARE that turning on audio starts the video automatically which continues until you shut off the audio.
"
Review 8 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, GA
Date:August 15, 2011

Awesome camera

"I purchased this for my nephew who is an advid hunter. He sent video of his little sister swimming. The water proof case really works!The video was unbelievably clear. The camera comes with several different straps and clips to connect the camera to just about anything. I was so impressed, I purchased one for my husband."
Review 9 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Corvallis, OR
Date:August 13, 2011

Swann......hello?

Pros: price
Cons: indicator lights, no surfboard mount, swann unresponsive
"Looks like a great price for great product. Bought it to use surfing. Comes with several mounts and brackets - the waterproof case works very well. Controls are a little complicated (indicator lights too small). The only mount NOT included is that for boards. Instructions say to contact Swann via website link to get the mount. Swann website search does not even list this camera nor any surfboard mounts. THREE emails to Swann over the past 2 weeks - not a single response. I think this one is going back to Costco......GoPro camera is more expensive but proven platform"
Review 10 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:indio calif
Date:August 13, 2011

LOVE IT

Pros: excellent
Model Number: SWANN MINI SPORTS CAM
"Bought 4 for the kids for our Alaska trip. The quality was excellent for such a small device . The best part was watching the video when they returned because you can't view what you record until it is connected to a computer. Some will find this a negative but the fun of being surprised turned out to be more fun. They attached one to a kiyak paddle for some interesting viewing another to mirrors on a 4 wheel excursion the results were fantastic. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,"
Review 11 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ near GW Bridge
Date:August 8, 2011

Deceivingly small

Cons: you need a microsd card up to 16gb class 6 or bett
"This camera is just great. It has a ton...well, maybe not a ton, but certainly a lot of attachments to use it in most any situations. You can strap it to your head, it has a waterproof housing, you can pin it to your jacket or shirt, you can clip it, velcro it, strap it, naget it...it's unbelievable. I purchased it to use on my outdoor trains to put it just behind the cab of the locomotive for an engineer's point of view. Picture is crystal clear, sound is just great. It's a little wonder."
Review 12 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, Oregon
Date:August 3, 2011

Exceeded Expectations

Pros: everything needed included in box, extremely durable
Cons: cannot delete data w/o computer, not mac compatible (at least for mine)
"Needed something to record primarily for river rafting and some camping activities and did not want anything too expensive in case it got lost or damaged. Noticed this camera wasn't too expensive and it fit my price range, so I gave it a try.
First thing I noticed was that it came with a lot of accessories right inside the box except of course no memory card and no wall charger. The unit is actually quite small and light weight. Before I went camping I tested it out to see how it would capture and it did a pretty good job. When we went rafting we used the water-proof case and the band that came with it. The thing actually got submerged and splashed with water as we went rafting for half a day. The whole trip I ignorantly brought 1 memory card figuring I can just delete data on the go. You can't. You need a computer to delete data. So that was sort of a bummer. When I got back I plugged it in my computer no additional software needed and found the movie files. I was actually very surprised at the audio it was able to capture as well as the video it took. It definitely exceeded my expectations for audio/video quality. I was pretty satisfied at the out put it gave me for during the river rafting and wish I could have used it more during the trip.
A few things... cannot delete data without a computer. Did not work on my Mac had to use my PC
"
Review 13 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:August 1, 2011

Inexpensive but good

Pros: small, inexpensive, with plenty of hardware
Cons: can't tell what you've filmed until back to pc
Model Number: Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera
"It takes fairly good video for the price and the size. The only drawback is you can't tell what you took until you connect your card or camera to your PC."
Review 14 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2011

great thinking about getting another one

Model Number: item# 588853
"Wow. This thing is great. It works unbelieveable. I was surprised how good the sound picks up. really a great value."
Review 15 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunny Isles Beach, FL
Date:July 31, 2011

tiny camera big punch

Pros: battery life, quality video, waterproof housing, easy to use
Cons: variety of camera mounts
"For the price I wasn't expecting the quality of video produced and will not head out on the water without it."
Review 16 for Swann Sportscam Waterproof Mini Video Camera with Mounts
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Puente, CA
Date:July 25, 2011

LOVE IT!!!

Pros: waterproof, ultra portable, battery great for small size, easy to view pics after, crystal clear picture, lots of accessories for portability, saves all waterpark memories, works deep inside pool
Cons: nothing love it
Model Number: SPROTSCAMERA
"Took the kids swimming and always wanted to have videos of them in the water but those underwater cameras are expensive. UNTIL I FOUND THIS ONE! I LOVE IT! for only 79.99 this thing records crystal clear. Its small also so we can take it to the water parks and their aunt's pool. At Raging Waters it was so tiny, which gave us no hassle to carry around and get on slides.
I definitely recommend it if you don't want to spend too much on underwater camera and want something ultra portable."