Customer Reviews for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter

Model: WN2000RPT
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Review 1 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay area, CA
Date:April 11, 2012

Wifi in my whole house now !

Pros: small in size and not conspicuous
Model Number: WN200RPT
"Very easy to set up. Wifi reaches every corner of the house, and our house has 3 stories."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:January 26, 2012

Difficult

"Still trying to set up after multiple attempts by me and a computer geek. Hoping to figure it out before I stomp on it in a fit of rage!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:April 20, 2012

Gets the job done

Pros: easy to install, performance meets my needs
Cons: control interface somewhat limited
Model Number: WN2000RPT
"I bought this to extend wireless coverage into a part of my house where it was too weak to support streaming video. Installation was easy and it is doing the job intended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Lafayette, IN
Date:January 12, 2012

Great Alternative to a Sony Wireless Connector

Pros: extends the network signal for multiple devices
Cons: none
"I purchased the Extender to connect my TV to the internet, rather than buying a branded Sony interface. The Extender is a great alternative. The TV has a connection AND I've strengthened the signal for my other wireless devices. It was easy to connect and relatively easy to configure."
Review 5 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:January 19, 2012

Range Extender Does What it Says

Pros: connects as advertisded, operates as advertised
Cons: could be just a little more powerful
"I am quite happy with this product, works seamlessly with my netgear router. 1 button handshake to join my wireless network, improved signal strength from 1st to 3rd floor with the extender on the second floor.
Signal strength improved from sometimes low to good to a steady very good status. I was hoping for excellent!"
Review 6 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:fredericksburg tx
Date:May 4, 2012
Model Number: WNDR3700v3
"We are very well pleased with this item. We
ve had internet reception problems because of so much metal and stone in our home--now that is solved. My only complaint w/this piece of equipment is the wi-fi button. We had to return a previous purchase because the button slipped out of place. Otherwise, the adapter would receive 5 stars.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 9, 2012

Range extender

Pros: doesnt need a network wire connection
Cons: power is low
"When hooked up to the LAN for configuration purposes it created a IP conflict. Also, one has to understand that this unit does NOT have any more power than your Wi-Fi router. The only thing that it has is that it essentially is an Access Point without the cat6 wire hookup. It picks an on-air signal and repeats it. Albeit at lower power than desirable."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:January 19, 2012

Powerful & Easy to setup

Pros: very good signal strength, quick setup
"Took 10 minutes to go over the manual and set it up to work with my D-link router. The signal strength is so good that I use the same extender wifi to connect my devices throughout my house - so that I do not have to keep switching it back & forth. Kept the extender on 2nd floor where the signal from original router is low. Its so powerful that now I can catch it full strength all the way to my basement. Good product."
Review 9 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Centreville, VA
Date:January 19, 2012

Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi

Pros: setup is easy
Cons: does not work well
Model Number: 589807
"It does do what it says but like a lot of other reviewers say, it tends to drop the signal a lot. My router is in the basement so I placed this device directly above it on the 2nd floor to utilize the port for my Blu Ray player. The renter in the room up on the 3rd floor says the signal strength is stronger coming directly from the router. I try clearing the bandwith and it seems to help a little, sometimes, but I think I will return this device and get a better one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Beaumont, TX
Date:March 22, 2013

Wireless Service Stops Automatically

"I have had this router for 1 year now. I have installed it over my entertainment system to provide wired connection to all my devices. Connection speed is good with base router. I can easily watch streaming HD movies. But the extended wireless network service stops working after every 2-3 days and I have no option but to restart the router. It has become a pain now. Works great for the four wired devices, but I am not sure what is wrong with the extended wireless network."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:L.A.
Date:March 8, 2012

Super product

Model Number: Netgear Wifi Extender
"Copied from another review. almost fits my experience exactly:
Pros: very good signal strength, quick setup
"Took MY COMPUTER GURU 10 minutes to go over the manual and set it up to work with my D-link router. The signal strength is so good that I use the same extender wifi to connect my devices throughout my house - so that I do not have to keep switching it back & forth. Kept the extender on 2nd floor where the signal from original router is low. Its so powerful that now I can catch it full strength all the way to my basement. Good product."
I TOTALLY CONCUR, BUT COULD NEVER TRY TO SET IT UP MYSELF.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:September 1, 2011

Excellent product - super easy setup

Pros: easy setup, nice extension of range
Cons: none
Model Number: WN2000RPT
"I got this to use with my new sling player with my dish network.
I needed a Wired connection so I can plug it into the Sling. However my router is upstairs and I had no ethernet ports in my house. My TV and Sling are downstairs on opposite ends of the house.
So, I got this Netgear Universal Wifi Range Extender 4-port Wifi item - with much doubt and not being sure. However I am extremely pleased with it now.
The setup of this extender is sooo simple.
1. Plug it into power outlet
2. Wait about 1 minute - you will see a wireless sign light up - If you dont use Encryption in your Wifi then go to step 6 else 3.
3. Now if you use encrypted setup like WPA2 or WPA, then Press the only single button on the extender and hold it for 10 seconds. It will start to Flash.
4. Within 2 minutes, go to your original router and press the WPS setup button for 5 seconds (this button exists on almost all new routers)
5. Now go back to your extender and you should see the flashing light turned solid and you will also see another wireless light green.
6. Plug in your computer or Sling in my case into the extender's 4 available ports.
Done!!
Another thing this does is that it allows to EXTEND the wireless signal (as you would expect from its name).
It shows up as xxxx_EXT wireless network. For example if you Wireless network is named " KINGOFHEARTS" then you will see "KINGOFHEARTS_EXT" network in your computer.
So cool!!!
I would definitely recommend it. Gives excellent range and all... It is Wifi N compatible."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Netgear Universal WiFi Range Extender 4-PORT WiFi Adapter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:September 29, 2012

Its going back to the store!

Pros: seems to work fine for some folks....
Cons: ....but not for me. very unpredictable results
Model Number: WN2000RPT
"I figured being that this was from Netgear and that I have a Netgear 3500 modem/router that is less than a year old that the two would get along fine. Not so. It could be something that I did wrong--though I don't know what it could have been--but the extender repeatedly changed both the 3500's device name and password so that everything else was unable to link with the 3500 and I was unable to log in to the 3500 to reset it. Each time I had to reboot the 3500 from the backup netgear.cfg file saved in February when I first installed the 3500. Also, each time the device name was changed by the extender the randomly generated device name got longer and longer, to the point that it was between 20 and 30 characters when I finally gave up. I have no idea what the new password became with each attempt--it didn't see fit to tell me that. By the way, I did do a factory reset using a paperclip on the extender several times to see if that would help, but the problem only got worse.
In addition to the above, I was trying to use the extender as a Wi-Fi source for two smart phones, and even though I was never able to do that successfully, as I walked around with the phones they were constantly switching back and forth from one router to the other. I can't help but think that this would have caused problems for the phones because of the delay in the signal from the extender compared to the 3500. As someone else said in a review, the extender only repeats the signal from the base unit, and there is a slight lag.
I did finally get the extender to work on the PC setting where it apparently completed a handshake with my desktop, and I would have been willing to leave it at that, I suppose, except that I would have had to leave my desktop powered on all the time for the process to work. Not willing to do that.
Netgear makes a darned good router and router/modem, but my recommendation is for you to forget this extender. In fact, I think I may try to use the old AT&T router/modem that I replaced with the 3500 as an extender by plugging it into an unused jack downstairs. The AT&T unit was not speedy, but it worked, and that likely would be OK for patching through to a couple of smartphones."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.