Customer Reviews for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership

Limit Four Per Person Not Valid for Super Sport and Ultra Sport Locations
Average Customer Rating:
3.478 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
14 of 23(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Review 1 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 3, 2011

Best Deal Hands Down!

Pros: cheapest dues, easy to setup, no monthly fees
Cons: time commitment, no access to higher end gyms
"I purchased this membership plan two years ago and it recently expired. This is hands down the best deal anywhere that I could find.
How can you say no to member dues that come out to about $15 per month? I was told by the front desk at 24 Hour Fitness that my membership expired so I headed online and voila, 2 days later I was back in business. In fact, the rep at the front suggested I just purchase this same deal online again. I activated it today without a problem. I was scared they would reject me because I activated the same deal in 2009.
What are you waiting for?"
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:September 15, 2011

Costco has Best Customer Service

"This is actually a review for Costco more than the 24 Hour Fitness membership. But I ordered this membership online and got it through the mail. I put it away. But since I have a very neat/tidy wife who throws everything away that looks like junk mail/advertising flyers. This 24hr membership coupon I received looked similar to something like that and when I looked to find it. It was obviously gone. So I went to 24 hr fitness and explained the situation and they pretty much said tough luck. Then during my next trip to Costco(Fullerton, CA), went to the customer service dept and asked them if they could help. They pulled up the online order which showed I ordered it, but no actual 24hr membership number anywhere. So the CSR couldn't really help me at all except give me the I'll have to ask my manager to see if she could do anything. And then here comes the manager. The manager told me she couldn't guarantee anything. But will have to try and track the membership #. And now I get a call from the same manager telling me that she was able to track down the number and now they'll be mailing me out a new 24hr membership again. Major props to Costco but more importantly to this manager who took time from her busy schedule to help me out. Easily could have said there are no records and given me some advice on not to lose things like that next time. But it obviously wasn't anything like that. Thank you so much"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth
Date:September 13, 2011

great deal

Pros: great price / no sales pitches
"I have bought 4 of these for each of my family members. You can activate on-line and avoid those personnal Fitness Trainer sales pitches. I love it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmichael, CA
Date:October 11, 2011

Great value

Pros: lots of locations...very convenient., can't beat the price.
Cons: need more recumbent bikes.
"This is a great value and there are 24 hour fitness locations all over the place. I signed up @ one but will also go to another one closer to my work on weekdays. The person helping me the 1st time was gracious with no pressure to add anything on to the membership. Check out the 24 hour fitness website and look @ their membership prices to see what a deal this really is. The club does get a bit congested after work @ the beginning of the week but still I'm usually able to grab one of the few recumbent stationary bikes, my preferred aerobic workout. I would love it if they would add a few more, but they have lots of treadmills, stair steppers and ellipticals."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2012

Best Deal Anywhere, please don't change

"Read the LARGE print - it says not valid for Super Sport, in my area that is one club out of seven - 1 out of 7. The clubs sell memberships for the Super Clubs at a premium. The best rate the club is offering for Sport memberships is $29.99 per month which is $360 per year - and this is less than 1/2 price!!! I have bought them twice for a total of 4 years and will buy one again in a couple days. Please Costco, don't include Super Sports - it will only raise the price of this deal for those of us happy with it. If you have to then offer two seperate packages - one for those without a Sport location nearby."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodland Hills, CA
Date:January 30, 2012

Do your homework!

Pros: heck of a deal
"The negative reviews are overhwlemingly about this certificate being only valid at Active clubs (you are paying thirteen bucks a month, people). The closest club to me (yes, In LA) is an Active, so this is perfect for me. You can't expect 24 Hour to offer its Ultra and Super Sport memberships at this price. Perhaps they will get with Costco and offer a reduced price at some point, but for what this is, a gym membership for $13 a month, I think it's a heck of a deal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, California
Date:December 30, 2011

BEST PRICE IN TOWN !!

Pros: best purchase ever
Cons: do some research prior to purchase
"Best deal in town! I live in Irvine and there are several 24 Hour Gym facilities that are relatively close. For those of you are unsure about buying the 24 hour membership, I suggest you search how far the nearest 24 hour club is to your home before you make your purchase. Most of the people that have left negative feedback didn't do their research before making their purchase. DOESN'T GET ANY CHEAPER THAN THIS!! GREAT DEAL!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whittier, CA
Date:October 27, 2011

Best Deal around

"I dropped my membership at LA Fitness to take advantage of this offer. Such a better deal than the monthly payments. It was NO HASSLE WHATSOEVER to redeem it at the club. They didn't try to pressure me to buy upgrades or anything, they just put the information in the computer and welcomed me to the club. I have been a member at 24-hour for over 3 months now and I think they maintain good clubs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:December 17, 2011

Disappointing

Cons: not valid at most los angeles clubs.
"Here in the Los Angeles Area, the Hollywood and West Hollywood clubs were just upgraded to "super sport". They just opened new clubs in Burbank and North Hollywood, but are also "super sport" clubs. There are 2 clubs in Glendale, but the one with a swimming pool is a "super sport" club. This membership is NOT VALID at any of these 5 nearby clubs. Why do you sell these certificates at the Los Feliz Costco #130, when it is virtually useless here?"
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 27, 2011

Run Down Equipment

Cons: run down equipment, less & less regular clubs
"I purchased the 24 hr membership about 4-6 months now and must say, much of the needed equipment is broken down, neglected & not even replaced and this is not just at one location. I'm also frustrated that 24 hr has turned a few of the regular clubs into super sport clubs (that costco membership has no access to) while they continue to neglect the regular clubs. I can just see another class action lawsuit coming down the road."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:February 13, 2012

Check with local 24hr Fitness PRIOR to purchase

"Awesome deal if your local 24 hour Fitness accepts certificate! Call to verify acceptance PRIOR to purchasing. Very disappointed in Memphis, TN 24 hr Fitness for NO LONGER accepting certificate!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:December 14, 2011

Terrible experience! Terrible customer service

Pros: good value, convenient location
Cons: poor customer service, run down equipment, no child care until 6 mo. old, child care area is gross wouldn't leave my child, class schedule caters to stay-at-home moms
"My husband gave this membership to me for Christmas the year before last (because I asked for it!). I promptly went and started my membership. No problems there. I continued going to the club for about 16 months at which point my doctor told me I could no longer work out due to pregnancy complications. She wrote a note to the club so that I could request that a hold be put on my membership for the time I was unable to workout. I've had to do this with past pregnancies as well. Typically when you ask that your membership be held they will suspend the account until you're clear to workout again and you don't lose any time on your membership. That was not the case this time around. When I went in and requested a hold, providing the doctor's note, I was told that it would not be a problem and to come back when I was ready. When I was able to workout 8 months later and went to reinstate my membership I was told that my membership had expired. I explained the situation and the manager told me that it's not possible to put this type of membership on hold - that it's a limitation of the membership. I was not given this information prior to this point. He said he was sorry, but that the Costco deal was a really good deal and I should just go buy another one!! I contacted 24 Hour Fitness corporate to discuss the matter after not being able to locate any language in the fine print of the offer that called out this type of situation and never received a response. I'm completely disappointed with the way this was handled and in the awful customer service I received. Not to mention that the club was just OK. The equipment is worn down and frequently out of order. Child care is sorely lacking. We won't take our kids there. It's chaotic, understaffed and unclean."
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By Costco BuyerEntertainmentFebruary 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the 24-hour Fitness Membership. We apologize for any confusion regarding the freeze policy and would like to clarify that 24-Hour Fitness members may freeze their membership if the base membership contract is Active and the member has no past due balance. Month to Month Memberships, Prepaid Memberships and Limited Term Memberships are all eligible to be placed on a freeze. Should you have any further questions or concerns about this policy, please contact the 24-Hour Fitness Member Care Team at #866.417.4946. Again, thank you for your comments regarding the membership.
Review 13 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle (Eastside), WA
Date:January 14, 2012

In 15 minutes, I saved 75% off my Gym Membership

Pros: many locations ... across the us, can't beat the price ... anywhere
Cons: doesn't include super sport
"Really ... I was going to the YMCA (1 location) and was paying $60/month. It was close to my home, but ... physical fitness meets financial fitness!
I did research and found that I could go to a local (Eastside Seattle) gym for $25-$30/month (1/2 price of Y) ... or go National chain to get MORE gyms (especially when I travel).
This gives me gyms all over the US. It gives me FIVE 24 Hr Fitness within 30 minutes from my house that work (plus 2 super sport that DON'T work).
GREAT deal!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:November 7, 2011

Excellent Deal!

Pros: price, cleanliness, service, options
Cons: only good if you have a nice 24 location near you
"I was previously a member at 24 Hour Fitness, which I love. The Sport club has a sauna, steam room, pool, group classes, personal trainers, a masseuse, and the list goes on.
Anyhow, I waited around for a great deal last time I signed up, at $199/year. Those are rare. THIS deal, is beyond awesome! $319.99/2 years!
Right now 24 Hour Fitness is charging roughly $350/year!! Take advantage of this deal if you have a nice 24 in your area. Too good to pass up! :)"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:August 18, 2011

Great no brainer deal

"I picked up this membership to give as a gift. By far the best deal out there for a gym. It works out to ~$13/month. I pay a little less than this/month. So, it doesn't make sense for me to use it. But I've been with the gym for years and had to pay an initiation fee. I would definitely use this if I were just starting with a gym or if my monthly dues were higher than $13/month."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:February 11, 2012

Has potential but not quite a deal

Pros: offer body pump classes, reasonable pricing, several clubs
Cons: clubs aren't kept clean, excludes super sport, many need upgrades
"Agree with others, this would be a good offer if 24 Hour would include the super sport clubs. The clubs accessible with this membership are the more run-down clubs with old equipment, dirty unsanitary carpeting in the group fitness rooms, and the clubs in general aren't kept very clean or updated. When they do any clean-up or renovations on a regular club, they start calling it a super-sport and then it becomes excluded. They need to clean up the available regular clubs and quit turning them into a super-sport based on basic needed renovations. On a more positive note, they do offer Les Mills Body Pump Classes which were a great add."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2011

Worthless with excluded clubs

Cons: club exclusions
"With the exclusions built in to this offer, the membership is basically useless for Los Angeles and Washington-based shoppers. I would have expected Costco to demand better."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012

Mixed review

"My family has been members for 3 years and there have been highs and lows. The highs are the number of clubs in our area of Portland OR, the price, the modern equipment, and the classes. The lows are the high traffic after work (sometimes can't find parking), the cramped locker rooms, and equipment that is broken. So I would say you get what you pay for.
Also this Super Sport exclusion is really below the standards of Costco and can be a real disappointment to a new buyer."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego - North County
Date:February 24, 2012

Awesome Deal!

"I've been a member at 24 hr for almost 2 yrs...and have paid the $30/month and this deal can't be beat! The previous rater said it also....this is HALF the price for 2 yrs.
You don't need a super sport gym if you're active and have a "gym" you go to. If not, be sure to check out 24 hr gyms in your area - they're everywhere...some ARE better then others (newer equip/features/club etc). I'll buy this from now on, as long as it's offered!
"
Review 20 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-YR Adult Membership
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2011

Unfortunate changes

Cons: fewer club options with new club 'classifications'
"24-hour fitness has changed many of their clubs from 'Sport' to 'Super Sport' thereby making these certificates invalid.
I travel a lot and the 24-hour fitness mentioned by the other member in West Hollywood is Anything but a 'Super Sport'. It is the size of Trader Joes. The ArcLight is another story. I can see that being a SuperSport.- great free weight area."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>