Customer Reviews for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System

Automatic Continuous Backup Powerful Encryption Software GoFlex Desk USB 3.0 Desktop Adapter
Average Customer Rating:
2.391 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
12
8 of 23(35%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Review 1 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lowell, MA
Date:November 23, 2011

Used on Mac, make sure you update bios

Pros: it's very cheap
Cons: still has issues with macos 10.7.2
Model Number: PN 100627824B 06/10
"I had read the FreeAgent GoFlex had issues with MacOS 10.7 and so when I bought the 2TB model mid-November 2011 I made sure to check for updates via its web interface. Its bios needed to be updated which was easy via its web interface once it was online. There is apparently some quirks still with MacOS 10.7. Here are some speed tests: The setup is the FreeAgent GoFlex hooked up to local 1000BT ethernet. Coping via a MacBook under 10.6.8 over 1000BT ethernet gets a throughput of 28.0 MB/sec (megabytes in the sense of the Finder's 10^6 bytes not 2^20 bytes) for a 9.25 GB Parallels Windows disk image (5 1/2 minutes to copy). Copying the same file via a MacMini running 10.7.2 Server over 1000BT ethernet gets a pretty nice . Same machine connecting via and Airport extreme 802.11g (i.e. 54 mb/s) was of course slower but still moved along at 3.4 MB/sec (46 minutes). However, when doing a copy from a brand new MacBookAir running 10.7.2 just copying a little over 400MB via the same 802.11g wifi took four hours before I gave up. So there is something still a bit tricky with 10.7.2 and its new AFS. So far I am just using it for a network drive to backup files or do incremental backups via SuperDuper so I can not comment on the other features or the included software. To backup a 300+GB laptop via wifi took days so next time I'll do the first via ethernet and only the incremental via wifi."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2011

Avoid! Returning This Evening. Not Recommended.

"Yikes! I really wanted this to work and didn't listen to the bad reviews. I should have. Device forces you to back up over the network. No option at all to attach the drive directly to a computer. The "USB 3.0" statement in the title is the connection of other things to this device, not this hard drive to your computer. You can only access the drive over a network connection. The device wants to use UPNP services to open network ports from the Internet into your local network and shutting this off slows it down, degrades performance. Why is it going out to the Internet on its own? Software is not user friendly, it's slow, difficult to configure for multiple computers to back up to it. Because it cannot be attached like a regular hard drive, many backup software packages do not recognize the drive as a backup destination and you're kind of forced to backup with the included software. The included backup software is very restrictive on what gets backed up. This is going back to Costco as soon as possible. Not a good experience. I didn't even scratch the surface of the supposed media serving this is supposed to do. The way the hard drive space is presented to you, you get these three strange folders, it's just a mess. Any further trying to figure it out really sounds like more headache after the way this initially went and I just want it returned."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2011

It works well for me.

Pros: easy connection, very affordable for what it does
Cons: instructions vague, limitations of device not clearly outlined
"I'm quite shocked to read the bad reviews for this product. It's a simple device, it does what it's supposed to (for me) and it's pretty affordable for what it does. I think the bad reviews are a result of poorly written descriptions on the box = people expect too much out of this device. It's a hard drive that connects to your router and backs up files you specify on any computer on your network. If that's your expectation, then that's what you'll get.
My win 7 computer has no problem recognizing this device. Also, my Pioneer Elite receiver has network connectivity and can see this device without issue. I can even play mp3 audio directly from this device through my receiver without any problems. I've never tried to play a movie through this - If I needed a media server, I would have bought one. Maybe I will have a media server some day, and if I do I am sure this device will back up those files too.
I have several gig's of music and pictures backed up on the drive. It's a bit slow - but my network is only a wireless G connection! I started the back up before I went to bed and it was done when I got up the next morning. I did my back up manually but the device includes software so back ups are managed automatically. The software installs on each computer you want to have backed up."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2011

Strange and inconsistent network server

Pros: low cost
Cons: flaky installation, requires connection to seagate server
Model Number: STAM2000101
"I purchased this as a backup solution for my home computers. I connected the drive to my router per instruction, very easy. The nightmare started when I turned it on. For some reason, Seagate wants users to register the drive with them via internet connection (why, it's my backup, not seagate's), and although the popup windows indicated failed connection, on it would occasionally indicate a good connection and tell me the username and drive names were already used. Ridiculous. This part of the solution was probably outsourced by Seagate, since they do not offer live assistance with network storage products.
Never got it to work. Unlike poor slogs on various forums who wasted 7+ days only to return the drive for a different solution, I am calling it quits after a couple of hours.
IMO there is NO reason why Seagate should require me to register to their server just to set up a backup drive for my local network, so with that strike against I won't waste any more time with this.
Poor work, Seagate. Spend a little more and get an Iomega NAS!"
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lenexa, Kansas
Date:September 18, 2011

Beneath consideration

Pros: it did not explode.
Cons: is not a true backup hard drive., data transer rate incredibly slow, poor user interface., poor instructions.
"I should have looked at the reviews on CNET before buying this -- there certainly was not enough information on the packaging to tell us whether or not it would fit our needs. The word "backup" really should not be used on the product packaging. This product does not function as a backup hard drive although it might work as a personal drive and maybe as a small file server for some people.
The initial "backup" (mirroring) of only 65 gigabytes of data from my new (also from Costco) Windows 7 HP PC took an amazingly long 24 hours -- this was even with the PC hardwired to the wireless router to which the GoFlex was also attached.
The instructions and "dashboard" that come with this product are just as bad as indicated on CNET and other review websites.
We've been Costco members since 2003 and shareholders about that long. In all those years and sometimes daily shopping at Costco, this will be only the second product we have ever returned -- and the other product returned was spoiled food.
This "turkey" is going back to Costco today."
Review 6 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 20, 2011

Time wasted

Pros: pros: not too sure.
Cons: cons: too many to list.
Model Number: STAM2000101
"I spent at least two hours, probably more, trying to get this working. Problems started when the CD would hang up. I was instructed in the little piece of instructions that really were confusing, to go online and download from there. The online help was worse than vague and confusing. Just trying to find and locate the model number on the product or packaging was also confusing, Why not put the word "model number" on the package or product? When I finally figured out the model number and typed it in, online help did not recognize their own model number. By now I was not too pleased. I eventually learned there was no way to download the CD information from their site, but I had to write a letter and explain why. After all this time of wandering around the site, I finally read the reviews at Costco online and boxed it up. Taking it back today. Amazing waste of time. There is very little logic on the product web site."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 29, 2011

Hard to use

Pros: seems to have a lot of bells and whilstles, lots of cheap nas.
Cons: how does this thing work?
"I have had this little drive for a while now, a few months, and am just getting around to working with it. It is an old school device - not very user friendly with lots of bells and whistles that may or may not actually work.
First and worst is the documentation and support. I think it may have come with a month of telephone supports, but I let that window close without using it. If the online experience is any indication, I didn't miss much.
A name is required for the Home. If you forget it, you can't find it. If you do not have it, you cannot hook up an IPad. Nothing on the seagate site tells one where to look. Trial and error does work. Under preferences - networks, if you are interested. Very old school, hacking around with a new toy.
My new relationship with apple has kind of killed the joy of that "Hours of trial and error" approach to electronics, and now I expect them to work out of the box rather easily.
"
Review 8 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

Not good for iPhoto

Pros: ethernet connection to wireless router
Cons: could not get it to work with iphoto, required proprietary software
"I have to agree with the bad reviews here. I bought this drive so that I could transfer my large iPhoto library to it, then access it via different laptops. First off, it is very slow. Even when I hard-connected my computer directly to the router with an Ethernet cable (there is no option to connect directly via USB). Second, you have to use their propriety software to get the drive to work via Ethernet. What are you going to do when that software corrupts (and it will) and locks you out out of your lifetime of photos?? I tried to transfer my iPhoto library (80GB file) to it, but it kept failing after about 30 minutes. I called tech support. They were nice, but of no help. I would NOT recommend this drive for use with large Mac files such as iPhoto or iTunes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Columbus, OH
Date:April 7, 2012

Worked fine for about 1 month

Pros: easy setup
Cons: not dependable, not capable of usb connection
Model Number: 9YBAP1-520
"I purchased this for storage of backup images for a desktop computer. I have used Norton Ghost with several other external drives USB and NAS with no problem. The ghost software was able to write to the drive for about 1 month and then every backup failed from that point on. The task will run to about 80% and then fail.
If you are considering this drive for backup or external storage, I would go with the USB GoFlex drives or the Seagate BlackArmor NAS devices.
The USB port on this is not for connecting to your computer. It is for connecting a printer or other USB drives like flash drives. I did not try this function because I was so dissapointed with the failing backups."
Review 10 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Date:October 9, 2011

Exactly what we wanted, huge disappointment

Pros: easy set up easy use
Cons: cannot stream from the device too slow, getting information onto the device takes forever, overall disappointed
Model Number: STAM2000101
"The features of this device was everything that we were looking for and the description on the box promised to provide us just that. Unfortunately, we didn't do the research on the product before hand.
The set up was really easy and the interface was user friendly.
When we went to transfer our files we discovered it was EXTREMELY SLOW! For all of the hype and possibilities of the device we were really disappointed. Transferring a 1gb file took more than an hour and forget streaming anything from it, way too slow. We didn't even get one file onto it!
I don't recommend this to anyone!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland OR
Date:September 20, 2011

So far I'm impressed

Pros: once set up it just runs in the background.
Cons: poor documentation
"Bought for multiple computer back-up. Easy initial set-up on first computer. Had to call Seagate (real person) for adding other computers - docs and web site not as clear on this. Shared directory makes it easy to pass files and photos between computers. Initial backup took 2 hours each computer - one through ethernet, the other wireless (no real difference for about 30GB each computer). Have not tried the windows system back-up to the personnal drive section - supposed to be able to do it... Will ONLY use this drive for back-up, no plans to store one of a kind files on it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 23, 2011

Bitter customer service

Cons: slow response time, unacceptable resolution
"This product worked for me for about 2 months only! It failed on me and when I contacted Seagate for help, they told me that I was looking at a 3-4 week wait for a replacement to be shipped to me! I expected that Seagate, being in the business of BACKUP hard drives, would have had some sort of expedite process so that my data would not be compromised. However this was not the case. I would suggest to spend a little more and go with a different manufacturer. The way Seagate handles warranty issues on their Failed products is unacceptable."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2011

safe yourself the trouble and skip this one

Pros: good idea
Cons: didn't do what it was supposed to do
"I have been very happy with Seagate in the past, but after this experience, will need to see 4.5+ stars to give another one of their products a chance. Ended up purchasing and returning 3 of these drives over the course of a couple months (because who has the time to keep running back to Costco?). Trouble shooting over the phone with Seagate tech support confirmed that all 3 drives were defective! My computer couldn't reliably detect the drive (with two of the drives, not at all), and that's not what you want with external backup."
Review 14 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:September 8, 2011

DON'T WASTE YOUR Time & Money

Pros: none
Cons: slowed my computer to a crawl
Model Number: 2TB Go Flex Home
"This is going back tomorrow. HOW HARD is it to use an external Hard Drive? VERY HARD with this drive. I SHOULD HAVE read the reviews before buying this. SO MANY others are having the same issues I am having and even more problems IF they actually could get it to work. I was 4 hours into trying to set this thing up, but my i7 Windows 7 computer keeps crashing, which it did not do BEFORE installing this program. I did get a few photos transferred over but it was taking FOREVER. Remember dial up days, this was slower."
Review 15 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 14, 2011

WORST PRODUCT EVER - Stay Away

Cons: lousy technical support online and live, says mac compatible - big lie
"TRASH - stay away. my daughter has a brand new mac book pro. we bought this to backup her mac and our pc. took over 3 hours for her mac to get installed and run TimeMachine and 3 days to back up my pc (more files). then the DISASTER - her mac had to be reformatted and the Seagate drive would not work with TimeMachine - I have spent 8 hours on the phone with Apple and Seagate + 3 trips to the Apple store. No luck - could not recover 3 months work of school work on the Mac."
Review 16 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2011

Do not buy for a Mac!

"Despite claims, this does not work on a Mac. It got through about 200 GB of my backup and then cleared it and started over, after multiple errors. Now it does nothing. Check the Seagate forums for validation of this. If I had read them before, I would not have bought it. There is no way to over-ride the wireless mode and use it as a "normal" external drive with a hard (USB) connection. I will be returning it, unfortunately."
Review 17 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:September 24, 2011

Great Product

"I am extremely happy with this product. It was easy to install, setup, and is working great. There are two reasons I didn't give it 5 stars. First it seems to be a bit of a memory hog and second I am disappointed in the iPad App because I can't use Pages or Numbers to work with the files when I access them on the iPad. If those two minor issues were fixed it would get 5 stars hands down."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2011

Avoid This Unit

Pros: price is right
Cons: so slow it's unusable
"The unit took a while to set up. It really is fairly easy to set up but the instructions were so vague it took much longer than it should.
The real problem is the transfer speed. Slow doesn't really cover it. Thought ethernet would fast but not so. Backing up my Itunes took hours. Had to return the unit. Think I'll just go for a USB 3.0 drive."
Review 19 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delano, CA
Date:September 8, 2011

Excellent device

Pros: excellent device, easy to install, easy access from anywhere
Cons: none
"hey sbjonny, if you would read what this drive does their is a purpose for u to register online, THAT IS SO YOU CAN ACCESS YOU DRIVE FROM ONLINE IVE USED IT AND WORKS GREAT IF YOU WANTED A PERSONAL DRIVE WHICH IAM NOT SAY THIS IS, THEN YOU SHOULD READ YOUR DESCRIPTIONS BETTER!
This is an excellent device works great,"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Seagate 2TB FreeAgent® GoFlex™ Home Network Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Philly Area
Date:November 9, 2011

Does the Job

Pros: ability to access files remotely, ability to share select files with friends
Cons: it took a long time to set up on win xp, seagate forum online wasn't too helpful
Model Number: PN 100627824B 06/10
"It took me a while to get it to work with Windows XP. I later found out that my firewall, Zone Alarm, was blocking access to/from the hard drive. Now it works like a charm. I also have two linux laptops that can access the hard drive without any problems."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>