Customer Reviews for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi

Elegant, Easy-to use VIZIO Internet Apps Plus™ User Interface
Average Customer Rating:
3.231 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
13
39 of 65(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Review 1 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:nc
Date:May 22, 2012

basic, lacks refinement

Pros: has a remote feature kinda cool, expandable memory, more features than base ereader, cheap but doesn't feel flimsy
Cons: front facing camera only, inconsistent waking from sleep, crippled android interface, limited features compared to most tablets
Model Number: vtab1008
"was looking for something a bit more useful than a car dvd player without the ipad pricetag so i can hand it to the 4 year old without fear. this plays movies ok, has the expansion sd slot (fire doesn't), and can be hooked to a tv via hdmi so not so bad for that, but i've had issues getting it to wake up consistently, the microSD is a bit difficult to eject, and i hate the camera setup, not useful at all if you have that moment that you look up from a movie and the kid is doing something you want to capture real fast as all you'll get is your face. also the wrapper they placed on android is weak on pizzazz, no desktop, just a widget board and a list of apps."
Review 2 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:May 16, 2012

Loosen power socket

Model Number: VTAB1008
"I've been used this tablet for 5 months.
Occasionally it failed to charge fully.
Finally it cannot be charged any more.
I fount that there is a problem in power connect socket in the tablet body.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SAn Juan Capistrano, CA
Date:May 6, 2012

Great potential, but charging problems

Pros: speakers, sturdy
Cons: won't charge, slow
Model Number: VTAB1008
"Went through four tablets before giving up. Three would not charge after the first few weeks, and the fourth had a melt-down after a system upgrade. It should have been the perfect tablet, but ended up being a frustrating nightmare. Vizio would not even acknowledge this is a design issue. When I finally asked for a refund they wanted to charge me a 10% restocking fee - I pushed back and they relented, but still. Really disappointed."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 30, 2012

GREAT product

"This little tablet is a great product and we love it! We also have an iPad2 and don't think it's as good as the Vizio. This Vizio has everything you would expect and is a great tablet, and very user-friendly (unlike the iPad2). These always sell out fast at Costco, which shows what kind of reputation they must have, and you can never find them for sale at other stores.
Netflix works great on here.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:April 28, 2012

Good buy for the money

Pros: nice inexpensive android device, excellent sound, lots of apps available, apps install easily, bluetooth & wifi work well, nice size
Cons: micro sd slot is a pain, is a tad unresponsive on some apps, a bit heavy for its size, does not work out of the box with linux
Model Number: VTAB 1008
"First off this is not an iPad. If you are looking to match the quality and responsiveness of the iPad look elsewhere. That said, if what you want is a decent tablet with all of the basic features offered by Android then this is a good product. The Android App Store is replete with software for this machine and I had no problems with the installation.
On the downside, I had to return the first one as it would not load the micro sd card. The opening for the card is not well engineered and it is difficult to insert and extract the card from the slot. This is a major defect as installing the card turns into a real challenge for those with only average eye sight. I had to put put on my jeweler's magnifier in order to install the card. Once I got the card in correctly it worked like a charm.
I had a 16g card I had used for a camera and once installed it gave me more space for my books and music. The App Store is the Google Play site that was once called the Market. It has lots of free and modestly priced apps available by the thousands. Just about anything you can think of is there. This tablet was for my wife and I installed Skype, a todo list, a shopping list, a free book reader, Kindle Reader etc. It also has a nice calculator and a decent browser. My wife likes the Opera Browser and I found that available for free and installed it.
So far so good. The screen has decent resolution and the book reading function is good but not excellent. I feel it could use better resolution but it may be that we have yet to set it properly, in any case this is minus one star. The music player is pretty good but I added Realplayer to the tablet and found I like that one better. I also found Winamp available and was able to play music using Soundcast. The small speakers are very nice and sound is better than I expected for the small tablet. Rotating the tablet doesn't change the sound you get as it comes with 3 speakers to adjust for any rotation.
Yesterday while at Costco I picked up a nice accessories set that included an attractive cover, a pointer with a rubber end to prevent having to use your fingers (so as to not smug the screen) and some nice earbuds that plug in to the earphone jack. They sound really good too! I recommend getting this.
I also was able to connect the wireless without much problem and was able to connect a wireless blue tooth keyboard for use with the notes apps I downloaded and installed. All worked without any hassles. I found the tablet fairly responsive but there were times when it did lag a little bit. It was ever so slight but it was there. It syncs easily with Win 7 but I did have a problem getting it to work with Ubuntu. I finally got it to work albeit slowly using a program from the Ubuntu repositories called gMPT. It was able to recognize the device and I was able to successfully load music and books on it but again it was a slow process.
This is a nice little machine and well worth the money. For less than two hundred bucks its hard to beat. It works reliably once you get it all set up. For those using Android on their phone the interface will look very familiar and you won't have many problems navigating the device. If you are looking for the same quality as the Apple then you will be disappointed. If you want a nice tablet that will do 95% of what the iPad will do but with less screen resolution and a bit more slowly then this is not a bad machine to buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Date:April 27, 2012

Fantastic Affordable Tablet!

Model Number: VTAB1008
"So I have a vacation coming up very soon and I wanted to get a tablet to keep my 5 year old and myself entertained in the airport and on the airplane. My husband tried to hold me off because the popular ones start at $500. That's a lot of money especially when a kid is going to be using it. I read the reviews on this tablet and decided to give it a try. Considering the cost I thought it would be an OK enough tablet. I was so wrong. First off my husband is Apple and I'm DROID. I am familiar with both but I LOVE that this has the Android platform. I feel like it is extremely user friendly and since I am already set up with DROID the set up on this was super east and fast. My daughter platys with my phone all of the time and she figured this tablet out within seconds. I owned a Vizio TV previously and it is the same idea. You think you're going to get an OK electronic because it's so cheap and you are amazed at how good it is. I do have a few complaints. At initial start up there is a man's voice giving you a walk through of the tablet. After the tutorial I have not gotten sound from the speakers or through the ear phone jack at all. My tablet is defective. the sound only comes out of the speakers when the head set is halfway plugged into the jack. Also I think the micro USB slot may have been installed poorly. It will connect and disconnect itself if you merely touch the area that it is plugged into. I think I may have gotten a tablet that was manufactured poorly. I still rated Good because I did buy it from Costco. I am returning my tablet today and ordering a new one online. I just hope that it comes in time for vacation in 9 days. Don't bother with Vizio technical support. They want me to take pictures of the tablet, email them and wait to hear back on the next step. Costco always surpasses my expectations with products and most importantly customer service."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Near Seattle, WA
Date:April 26, 2012

Showing its age

Pros: 8" screen, ir blaster, standard micro usb connection
Cons: no ice cream sandwich, a little big for a remote
"The Vizio is a fairly average mid-price Android tablet with two standout features- the 8" size and the IR blaster. Unfortunately, the two offset each other. The 8" size offers more screen real estate for movies, books and web surfing, which is great, but makes it unwieldy as a remote control. And without the remote control benefit, this tablet is just so-so vs the competition. Vizio skins are clunky, there's no Swype and it lags sometimes.
And now, Samsung has come out with a 7" tablet with an IR blaster, dual core 1 Ghz processor and twice the ram for only $60 more. Plus Ice Cream sandwich out of the box, which may or may not (heard conflicting rumors) come to the Vizio. So it's hard to say who this would appeal to now at this price. Afraid mine is going back.
"
Review 8 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:N. CA
Date:April 25, 2012

Lousy Camera

Pros: over all the quality and the android system was fi
Cons: camera was really bad
Model Number: VTAB1008
"If it wasn't for the lousy camera, I would have kept it. The camera video quality had to be some of the worst ever."
Review 9 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:April 23, 2012

Not Working

Model Number: VTAB1008
"After using it for about one week, it just stopped working. Complete dead, no hard reset, nothing worked. Returned.
Another issue I saw during that week of use us that it got uncomfortably "warm". Maybe mine was a dud, but I did not want to replace it, it was heavy and the OS on it was a bit outdated. Will wait for the next '10 Vizio tablet coming out soon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dallas Texas
Date:April 20, 2012

good

Model Number: VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB
""Just purchased this tablet which automatically upgrades OS from Gingerbread to Honeycomb. Problem are I can't install any applications from Sd card , there are no files from SD card is readable with any file managerh, it is evident that only the MTP application will work, which is not acceptable for me. Vizio site was useless in helping me to resolve this problem.""
Review 11 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gaithersburg, MD
Date:April 20, 2012

Low-cost components ruin this one

Pros: price, quality of construction, accessories
Cons: embarrassingly poor performance, lengthy charge time
Model Number: VTAB1008
"I really wanted this purchase to work out. This tablet appears well-built and reasonably well-spec-ed. Thoughtful touches abound. Yet this price turns out to be too good to be true.
This device is simply grossly underpowered, both with respect to RAM and processing power. I actually crashed this device twice turning off the alarm clock. The "Widget Board", which is what Vizio calls the Android Home Screens, cannot support functioning widgets, unless you don't mind waiting a while for them to load, which defeats the purpose of widgets. No wonder you can't make the normal Home Screens the default display. You have to settle for the app grid, as pictured.
I bought this not expecting much. I only planned on reading pdfs and doing some light web browsing. Yet in the hand, the potential of the OS was apparent, but just out of reach. I decided I wanted to use all the features of a tablet, and that means spending more. And I decided I wanted an electronic device that can actually allow its alarm to be turned off. Pretty sad. I showed this tablet to an iPad-owning friend and he was truly surprised by how bad the performance was.
On a side not, the earphones in the case/stylus/earphone bundle have the best mic of any earphone I've tried. They are worth the price of the bundle alone."
Review 12 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:April 19, 2012

Great for the Money

Pros: price
Cons: heavy
Model Number: VTAB1008
"Had the VTAB1008 2GB for about 4 months. I bought it because of the price and the reviews. I would be a casual user and knew I didn't need one of the tablets costing two to four times as much. I have not had any problems with it. It does its job without any fanfare. I bought the accessory bundle and a 16GB Micro SD card at the same time.
I could compare it to the wife's IPad, but it wouldn't be fair to the VTAB.
Don't buy it if you're looking for an IPad product for less than $200. If you're looking for a basic tablet and are a casual user -- this is it. You could spend more for an Ereader that doesn't have the functionality."
Review 13 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Queens, New York
Date:April 19, 2012

Excited, love it, great price

Pros: great price nice design, great apps, nice size
Cons: a little too heavy
Model Number: VTAB1008
"I received my tablet yesterday and I am very excited and happy. Really nice piece, love it, love it, love it and the price is great. Yes a little heavy but can deal with it. And dont complain about the memory - it is right there before you made the purchase (4GB) - so why now complain about it - just upgrade. Love the product - getting around how to use it. Already downloaded books and of course added facebook. Doing my music now."
Review 14 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield
Date:April 15, 2012

Best for the price

Pros: best price fast response good size screen
Cons: heavy for it's size cant find accessories for it
Model Number: VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB
"Looking for a tablet for my daughter and I first purchase a cheap version (pan digital) and returned it. I just got this Vizio and for the price you can't go wrong. I love playing with it, I use it more than my daughter LOL"
Review 15 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Norfolk, VA
Date:April 13, 2012

Really want to love it!

Pros: love the size and durability, well built, great price
Cons: wifi very hard to connect
Model Number: VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB
"I would give it a five star rating, but having a lot of problems with wifi connection. I am tech savy and use wifi a lot. In the same area I have several devices that connect with strong signals, but my new vizio tab has a really hard time connecting. Other than that I am pleased with it. We have a much nicer tablet that is definitely a higher end product. But for the money this is a good deal. I may return this one and get a new one. Could be a defective device that is causing wifi connection problems."
Review 16 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Delaware, tech skills - good
Date:April 13, 2012

Good as a stand alone

Pros: price, size, memory card slot, front facing camera
Cons: lack of pc compatibility, weight, so-so display, slow to boot, one camera
Model Number: Vtab 1008
"Just purchased this tablet which automatically upgrades OS from Gingerbread to Honeycomb. Problem is, there are no drivers from Vizio to allow tablet to work with XP...based on internet search, similiar problems with Vista and W7. Tried every option to fix (3 day effort), which I could find on the internet...after multible system restores, it is evident that only the MTP application will work, which is not acceptable for me. Vizio site was useless in helping me to resolve this problem."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2012

<3 my Vtab!

"Have had this since Christmas and honestly think I use it more than my laptop. Great battery, great apps from the full Android market and has recently been upgraded to Honeycomb. (I heard they have not been shipped with HC so it will update when you start it up) Over all a great buy for under $200!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:April 11, 2012

Good Intro Tablet

Pros: good intro tablet, plays netflix well, good sound
Cons: usb file transfers disabled after latest update, not much in the way of support, low end tablet that won't run some software/games
"Bought this tablet a while ago and have been pretty happy with it. Use it for music (good sound), Netflix, web surfing and streaming shows off a home media server.
I have a big problem where the recent update to Honeycomb (Android 3.2.1) has basically disabled transferring files (such as my music and some movie files) from my PC to the tablet. From searching the internet, there doesn't appear to be a solution to this problem and Vizio support for it is non-existant, like it is a problem they don't want to fix. Was able to transfer files via 3rd party software, but would love to have full USB capability back. (note: Vizio recommended USB driver updates and other tasks didn't work)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:November 24, 2011

poorly designed

"Slow, unstable, limited storage, heavy, unresponsive, battery does not last long, impossible to work smoothly with even one app from market place."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 23, 2011

Nice for the price

Pros: nicely hardware built quality and good looks, good size lcd for folks who need a bigger screen, touch buttons that move / re-orient from portrait, price & costco assurance / 90 days return policy
Cons: 2 gb hard disk space, slightly customized android user experience, vizio's reputation (compared to amazon fire etc.), no rear facing camera
Model Number: VTAB-1008
"I recently brought two of these for my parents and in-laws and played with these for a few days before giving it to them (Set them up with Gmail, Facebook and the usual for folks).
I really liked these tablets and they are not bad for the price. There is a lot of choice these days in this product category but the bigger screen size was the determining factor for me."
1 2 3 4 next>>