Customer Reviews for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi

Elegant, Easy-to use VIZIO Internet Apps Plus™ User Interface
Average Customer Rating:
3.231 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
13
39 of 65(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Review 1 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:November 3, 2011

Great Value -for entertainment

Pros: price -can't beat it, works as expected
Cons: accessories aren't cheap
"Only had this 1 day, but am very impressed. It looks and functions like a tablet; not a $500 tablet, but what it does do, it does well.
Haven't yet programmed my home theater components into it, but am looking forward to that.
It found my network without a problem.
It surfs the web flawlessly.
It will do Skype-like video chat.
It will do streaming video.
It will show pictures from a micro-SD card.
It feels good in your hand.
Like the Ford Model T, in comes in any color you want, provided you want black...
And like the Model T, it is for the average user.
If you are a power user, or want to play complex, graphic intensive games, FORGET IT.
It isn't meant for you, so don't complain about it.
For those who just want a handy tablet that allows email, skype, Facebook, Angry Birds, and web surfing IT'S PERFECT.
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:November 3, 2011

Excellent Value

Pros: features for the price
Cons: screen viewing angles, app support, older version of android
"With the new price drop you can't beat what this tablet can do.
The Good: 1024x768 screen, 1 GHz single core processor, 512 MB RAM, 4GB storage with 2 GB user accessible, GPS, WiFi B/G/N, bluetooth, microHDMI out, microSDHC slot, plays 1080p video, headphone jack, front facing camera, decent sound volume, IR blaster for controling home theatre! You CAN use this as stand-alone GPS without WiFi if you install the correct type of navigation app that includes a database. I use NavDroyd and it works fine. Battery life is good. Just sitting it will last 36 hours before going dead. I can get a good day of heavy use on it.
The Annoying: Screen is hard to view from the left side in landscape view. Some apps are not currently supported, but there are easy workarounds to get them put on the device and more and more are getting "fixed". Android 2.3.2 installed. Come on Vizio, where is Honycomb or Icecream Sandwich? Processor isn't blazing fast, but I didn't expect it to be for the price. Camera is pretty low resolution but it works (sorta) with skype."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 1, 2011

Very Nice Surprise

Pros: easy to use!
Cons: a bit heavy & is warm after 1 hour.
Model Number: VTab 1008, Jul 18, Kernel, 2.3.2 GRH78C
"The Vizio Tablet is not the fastest, brightest, or lightest, but the display is better than decent and features and information are well organized and easy to access. Videos are very high quality, reading quality is good, and in the device is fast enough that it does not often feel like speed is an issue. Best of all, it just works. Access to a Win 7 PC and transferring of files to SD Card worked without a problem. Apps downloaded and installed in seconds, voice & music were quite good, voice to text work well.
Again, this is not a high end product. Howevery for me, it does the basics well, is thoughtful and clever in design, and so far no substantial issues.
Battery charge time from depleted was 6.5 hours."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pemberton, NJ
Date:August 8, 2011

Great Product for the Money

"Got this item and followed the instructions to charge before use, which is common with most electronic products. Fired it up logged into my network and it updated the VIA Plus immediately. I am pleased with the speed once powered up. Downloaded a few apps including ACADWS, worked better than expected. Was able to modify drawing and send back to Company and they were able to see the mods. Downloaded books direct from my local library with no problem when setup properly. (You need your library login)...Would I recommend this product, in a heart beat. I feel that this is a good entry level to the tablet world. It also plays movies and my music, which can be handy on trips..."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:August 8, 2011

Good tablet for the price.

Pros: inexpensive, runs most androis apps, performs well, sounds great
Cons: a bit heavy, no rear camera, does not have honeycomb
"This tablet is pretty good at doing a lot of things right out of the box. It plays music, plays movies, can read books and browse the web(with flash even) and has a built in IR blaster so it will work as a universal remote. It's definitely not the fastest Android tablet you can buy, but at this price it's pretty decent. It feels solid and well built. It's got a MicorSD slot so I can upgrade it to 32GB for around $40 which I plan on doing soon. One thing I wish it had though is the rear camera, but i have one on my phone already, so it's not a deal breaker or anything."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So. Cal.
Date:August 21, 2011

Great Little Tablet

Pros: 3 speakers that switch based on orientation, great video playback, high resolution screen for 8" device, great battery life, andorid market
Cons: a bit heavy, remote control app is not so great, 4:3 screen instead of 16:10, single core processor, very little storage unless you add a mico sd card
"What lead me to buy this Vizio Tablet was the Remote Control app but that was a disappointment. Sure the tablet is a bit heavy for its size but it is built very well and has great battery life. The fact that it has three speakers that provide stereo in portrait or landscape mode makes this a great device for Pandora Radio and playing videos. This tablet plays 1080p video much better than my more expensive 10.1" Honeycomb tablet assuming low bitrate. The Android Gingerbread OS version is not as nice as Android Honeycomb but it works very well once you get used to it. Also works great as an eBook reader with the Kindle app which I installed from the Android Market. Nook app is installed but I have not used it. Web browsing with Flash can be very slow with the single core processor so apps are preferred. I will keep this on my coffee table in front of the TV most of the time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:October 30, 2011

Good Value -

"Bought unit at the store. Had trouble 2nd day with turning on/charging but Vizio's customer service solution worked just fine. Unit uploaded new software the next day and has worked well ever since.
Don't buy this if you need to ENTER data into a complex spreadsheet or write documents - this is NOT a laptop. Apps can be purchased but they are cumbersome and inadequate for anything other than short entries (e.g; create and transfer a simple spreadsheet you made at home to allow data entry on the road, no problem, just don't expect to number crunch complex spreadsheets).
Works well for short emails and short input.
Voice recognition works but typing is probably just as fast.
Unit displays pictures and video nicely and WiFi works well at home and in most "away" situations (Starbucks, McDonalds, etc.). Grandson loves playing games and watching movies. However, battery can go fast if you have wifi, gps, and a movie all running (3 hours?). So, I just turn off wifi and gps unless I'm using them. Also, set the screen brightness to suit your needs... indoors, 1/4 - 1/3 is PLENTY bright and the battery will last about 7 hours.
Driving using the navigation system works but in daylight requires full screen brightness to be seen.
In my job I refer to data tables and charts when dealing with clients. I do not need internet access for constant updates. I just update the tablet from my PC as needed - PDF's work great.
I don't understand the fusing about the weight of the unit... I've never seen a laptop or tablet that I couldn't EASILY carry and use in any situation. The last thing I want is something fragile that gets bent or crushed because the manufacturer was trying to make it "tin-foil" thin for aesthetics! I want something SOLID that can hold up through the trials of a portable electronic device's life. Also, it does get warm under heavy use... THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM!
If you need a computer, buy a laptop, don't buy a tablet...
For my purposed, the unit has proven very useful and convenient. I use my laptop 75% less."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati
Date:November 18, 2011

Great deal for the price

Model Number: VTAB1008
"Have had for several weeks and I am very pleased with this tablet. Have had absolutely no issues.
It was easy to setup and use. Tons of apps can be downloaded. Memory is small but buy a 32gig SD card and you are set.
Perfect size (fits easily into a small bag or purse). Connects to wi-fi's with no problem. Battery life is better than my laptop. Charges quickly.
I have watched movies and TV shows without a hitch. Email and internet surfing is smooth.
Is it an ipad or a replacement for a laptop/netbook? No, but it costs a fraction of the price.
I would defintely recommend."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glenview, IL
Date:November 19, 2011

GREAT TABLET

Model Number: VTAB1008
"Don't think it's an iPad killer. It's not and it doesn't pretend to be one. It's a non- expensive tablet that has:
* great speakers (for a tablet) that work in both orientations
* accessories including stylus, great for drawing
* ALL functions of an Android tablet
* 4:3 screen, just like an iPad
* Netflix, Hulu Plus
* ooVoo and Tango video conference
* a lot more
* you can't get more for that price!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 29, 2011

Needs refinement

Pros: solid piece of equipment, decent audio, plays games, plays flash videos
Cons: freezes, apps crash, frustrating to use
"This is my first Android device and I thought this would be fun to play with but I'm find it more frustating than anything else. I had it sitting here charging and then realized the screen hadn't turned off. When you plug it in to charge the screen automatically comes on. Not sure whose bright idea that was. When you do turn it on, it is unresponsive and freezes often. I held the button to turn it off but then it came back on by itself, not what I wanted. Wifi range is a bit short. I think all these problems can be worked out, seems like the product was pushed out before any real testing was completed. Technology can be frustrating but I don't want to be back in the days of Windows 95 where apps crash all the time and unstable was the norm."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:OR
Date:November 11, 2011

Good value

Pros: a lot of features for the price
Cons: can't get latest flash player heavy.
Model Number: VIZIO
"This is my first tablet and it's sufficient for the average user. It does way more than I really need. I really just wanted an E-reader but why settle for just an E-reader? The WIFI is not as good the Nextbook8 I purchased a few weeks prior to buying this one. I saw this and had to compare these two. being my first tablet, I didn't know one from another. They were the same price and I'll be returning one or both soon, not sure if want to keep either yet. Vizio has a lot more features. The battery doesn't last very long though. I am having trouble updating the flash player, the newest version will not download to Vizio, and the current flash player on Vizio is unable to play some flash videos or some of the videos that do play, the colors are weird where everything has a blue hue to it. I like the size but it doesn't get a bit heavy to hold for too long. My hand tends to cramp up."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Norwalk, CA
Date:September 4, 2011

Vizio Tablet almost there...

Pros: good price easy to use.
Model Number: VTAB1008
"I found that this tablet is good for beginners. Good price. However, there is a flaw with the design of the charging connection on the tablet. It is very fragil. After a month of use, it broke and would no longer charge. I went through two tables in 2 months."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:August 29, 2011

Good for some, not good for others

Pros: cheap, coscto's great 90 day return policy
Cons: un-natural colors, slow response to "normal" programs, the glass wan't as easy glide across
Model Number: Vizio
"I bought this from the warehouse not expecting too much but a decent working tablet (my wife has the Ipad 2). Unfortuantely, it's processor is lagging and it shows in the most basic sense. I fired up Angry Birds and it was painfully laggy. The wifi had a hard time finding my own network (I assume a weak receiver), and the whites of the screen were a light hue of blue. This is a great price for people who don't care about the thing I noted here, but I'm taking mine back. The Ipad is $215 more but in my opinion more than double the benefits of the Vizio. Don't give up Vizio - this was a good start."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:April 28, 2012

Good buy for the money

Pros: nice inexpensive android device, excellent sound, lots of apps available, apps install easily, bluetooth & wifi work well, nice size
Cons: micro sd slot is a pain, is a tad unresponsive on some apps, a bit heavy for its size, does not work out of the box with linux
Model Number: VTAB 1008
"First off this is not an iPad. If you are looking to match the quality and responsiveness of the iPad look elsewhere. That said, if what you want is a decent tablet with all of the basic features offered by Android then this is a good product. The Android App Store is replete with software for this machine and I had no problems with the installation.
On the downside, I had to return the first one as it would not load the micro sd card. The opening for the card is not well engineered and it is difficult to insert and extract the card from the slot. This is a major defect as installing the card turns into a real challenge for those with only average eye sight. I had to put put on my jeweler's magnifier in order to install the card. Once I got the card in correctly it worked like a charm.
I had a 16g card I had used for a camera and once installed it gave me more space for my books and music. The App Store is the Google Play site that was once called the Market. It has lots of free and modestly priced apps available by the thousands. Just about anything you can think of is there. This tablet was for my wife and I installed Skype, a todo list, a shopping list, a free book reader, Kindle Reader etc. It also has a nice calculator and a decent browser. My wife likes the Opera Browser and I found that available for free and installed it.
So far so good. The screen has decent resolution and the book reading function is good but not excellent. I feel it could use better resolution but it may be that we have yet to set it properly, in any case this is minus one star. The music player is pretty good but I added Realplayer to the tablet and found I like that one better. I also found Winamp available and was able to play music using Soundcast. The small speakers are very nice and sound is better than I expected for the small tablet. Rotating the tablet doesn't change the sound you get as it comes with 3 speakers to adjust for any rotation.
Yesterday while at Costco I picked up a nice accessories set that included an attractive cover, a pointer with a rubber end to prevent having to use your fingers (so as to not smug the screen) and some nice earbuds that plug in to the earphone jack. They sound really good too! I recommend getting this.
I also was able to connect the wireless without much problem and was able to connect a wireless blue tooth keyboard for use with the notes apps I downloaded and installed. All worked without any hassles. I found the tablet fairly responsive but there were times when it did lag a little bit. It was ever so slight but it was there. It syncs easily with Win 7 but I did have a problem getting it to work with Ubuntu. I finally got it to work albeit slowly using a program from the Ubuntu repositories called gMPT. It was able to recognize the device and I was able to successfully load music and books on it but again it was a slow process.
This is a nice little machine and well worth the money. For less than two hundred bucks its hard to beat. It works reliably once you get it all set up. For those using Android on their phone the interface will look very familiar and you won't have many problems navigating the device. If you are looking for the same quality as the Apple then you will be disappointed. If you want a nice tablet that will do 95% of what the iPad will do but with less screen resolution and a bit more slowly then this is not a bad machine to buy."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:August 8, 2011

good value

Pros: infrared remote control, 3 speakers
Cons: feels a little heavy in your hand compared to ipad
"I'm an iPad user, but a friend of mine bought a Vizio Tablet and I spent a few hours playing with it today. I haven't used Android for any length of time before, so I didn't know where everything was, but it was easy to get it up and running. I downloaded a few apps and they all worked well. The web browser worked just as you would expect and loaded complicated web pages without a problem. All in all, I'd say it's a very good value for the money especially if you plan on using it as a remote control for your TV (I didn't get to try out that feature though.) Battery life seems solid too."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2011

great tablet once its on

Pros: great pics, great sound
"I love this tablet ...very great picture it has great sound...and is so much fun.
My son cannot spend a day without playing with it and I love it. Only thing I don't like is that it doesn't turn on supper fast..but in stand by mode it turns on really quick and is great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:October 26, 2011

Surprisingly good

Pros: great price, perfect size, nice display that plays video well, hdmi out, expandable storage with external micro sd card, feels well constructed
Cons: vizio "v.i.a." skin dumbs down android, limits customization, and makes the tablet a bit sluggish, not much internal storage, takes longer to charge the batt than to drain it, kinda heavy
Model Number: VTAB1008
"Dollar for dollar. this tablet makes a case for being the best tablet value out there today. I would highly recommend that buyers install a launcher app (like Launcher Pro or Zeam) to improve the interface and the performance."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Union,nj
Date:August 7, 2011

Good Value for Price

Model Number: VTAB1008
"Worked out of the box.Setup WiFi with no prodlem and immediatly installed a update from Vizio.Easy enough for the beginner or casual user.Not as many whistles and bangs as a IPAD but better features in some areas"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So. California desert
Date:November 3, 2011

Has 95% of features of other pads for 40% of price

Pros: well built, versatile, costco return policy
Cons: memory, battery doesn't charge very quickly during use
Model Number: VTAB1008
"Given that the Android operating system for this Vizio is intended for smart phones, not pads, it is still remarkably useful. Very few common functions are not spelled out. For example, bookmarks. These can be created by finding the web page you wish to bookmark, then tapping the "menu" (3 bars on lower right corner of frame) and tapping "bookmark" when it pops up. My single call to Vizio support (my call answered in North Dakota in 30 secs) answered all questions quickly and completely. The purchase includes lifetime free tech support. Range of wi-fi is as good as my Apple Macbook."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO VTAB1008 4GB Tablet High Resolution 8" 1024x768 Multi-Touch Screen WiFi
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Delaware, tech skills - good
Date:April 13, 2012

Good as a stand alone

Pros: price, size, memory card slot, front facing camera
Cons: lack of pc compatibility, weight, so-so display, slow to boot, one camera
Model Number: Vtab 1008
"Just purchased this tablet which automatically upgrades OS from Gingerbread to Honeycomb. Problem is, there are no drivers from Vizio to allow tablet to work with XP...based on internet search, similiar problems with Vista and W7. Tried every option to fix (3 day effort), which I could find on the internet...after multible system restores, it is evident that only the MTP application will work, which is not acceptable for me. Vizio site was useless in helping me to resolve this problem."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>