Customer Reviews for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit

Introducing the phil&teds® S3™ inline stroller made exclusively for Costco. phil&teds® is the originator of the inline stroller concept; meaning that your S3™ single stroller (for one child) can be adapted to become a double stroller.  As your family grows, your stroller grows with you!  The S3™ combines refined styling and intelligent functionality.  You can use the S3™ stroller in six different configurations for one or two children.  This is the only stroller that your family will ever need.    Stroller: Car seat not included Recommended use: For infants from birth to max weight of 44 lbs.   Bundle includes: S3™ inline stroller and second seat The S3 stroller is compatible with Classic/ Explorer accessories Can be used with or without the peanut bassinet (sold separately) Attach a car seat to make the S3 a travel system Compatible with Graco Snugride, Chicco Keyfit, Peg Perego Primo Viaggio, and Maxi Cosi (car seats not included and adapters sold separately) Main seat has three positions for snooze and cruise possibilities: from upright to 140 degrees to full lie-flat for a newborn 5-point, adjustable safety harness Removable, “follow-the-sun” sun hood for coverage where you need it Front bumper bar included Large underneath storage basket with 11 lb. weight capacity Braking mechanism for easy wheel locking Compact fold with auto-lock for easy storage Quick-release removable wheels to stow stroller in compact spaces Air-filled pneumatic tires for comfort ride and navigating rough terrain Front wheel can be locked or put in swivel mode for easy maneuverability Second Seat:   Turns the S3™ inline stroller into a double stroller for two   May be installed on front or on back of stroller   Attaches to stroller quickly and easily with push & lock pins   Weight capacity: When installed on rear of stroller is 33 lbs.   Weight capacity: When installed on front of stroller is 44 lbs.   5-point, adjustable safety harness   Recommended use when installed in front: For infants 6 months up to max weight of 44 lbs.   Recommended use when installed in back: For infants 6 months up to max weight of 33 lbs.   Specifications: Stroller dimensions: 44" L x 24" W x 43" H; Weight 26.5 lbs.   Stroller folded (wheels off): 30" L x 20" W x 9" H Second Seat: 9.5" L x 17" W x 21" H; Weight 4.5 lbs. Warranty: 1 year. Contact phil&teds directly for claims at 800-839-4953 or uscare@philandteds.com
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Review 1 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2012

Disappointing

Model Number: S3
"I wanted an all-terrain in-line double stroller, that would fit a tall 2 1/2 year old (37" tall and 29 pounds) as well as a 2 month old to be used as an all-purpose stroller (power walking outside over pavement and grass, and mall strolling). I thought the S3 was going to be perfect. Unfortunately, it was not. The majority of the assembly was easy, but was unable to figure out how to attach the sunshade. (Husband couldn't figure it out either). I think it was meant for a different model. The brake is a metal long bar. When wearing sport sandals, it is painful on the top of the foot when trying to release the brake. The seats are nice and tall. My toddler would have plenty of room to grow taller and still fit in it. She still had 4 inches of room from the top of her head to the top of the main seat. I test drove it on my first floor that has all hardwood floors. With the toddler in the second seat, (with the main seat empty) it was easy to push, but felt like the stroller wanted to tilt back a little. Toddler was unable to get into the second seat by herself. But she preferred the seating in the second seat since it felt like a fort to her. With toddler in the main seat (with second seat empty) it was much harder to push and there was a noticeable drag. This lead me to believe there is a weight distribution issue with the stroller. The front wheel has the ability to lock. If it is unlocked and you make several turns with it, it will switch into the locked mode and you are unable to turn. I was unable to figure out if it was just user error, or if it was a flaw with the stroller. It has air tires but appears not to have struts. One would think that struts would be a necessity for an all-terrain stroller going over rugged terrain for a smoother ride. All strollers have trade-offs. There are not many strollers out there that can fit tall kids. If you have tall kids and do not mind a hard stroller to push, than this may be an option for you. I returned it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2012

fairly good double

"With our first child, we bought a BOB Revolution, which we LOVED. However, we didn't want the double wide stroller when we had our second child. As a single, I very much prefer the BOB. For an inline double stroller, this Phil & Teds is the best one I found for both price and features. That is why I gave it 4 stars.
However, it does have a few positives and quite a few negatives:
PROs:
1) the inline doubles seat make this stroller very narrow (it is even narrower than the single BOB)
2) my toddler doesn't mind the lower double seat
3) in rolls and steers wonderfully
4) the adjustable handle bar is great
5) it folds down compactly
6) you can lay your baby down and keep the double seat on the front
CONs:
1) you have to remove doubles seat and car seat adapter to fold it down
2) you kick/run into the double seat on the back unless you are very careful
3) the sun shade is in the way of the handle bar when using the car seat adapter (we have the Peg Perego infant seat)
4) when sitting in the lower seat, my toddler reaches over the sides and can touch the spokes, even with the wheel guards
5) my toddler loves to play with the extra length on the buckle straps. This is just irritating and a complete design flaw.
6) this is NOT a jogging stroller, since there are no shocks/suspension
7) there is no storage with the double seat in back
8) removing the double seat and car seat adapter requires both hands.
If you are looking for a nice inline double stroller this is probably the best you can find. Just be prepared for a few annoyances that you wouldn't have with a double wide stroller."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Erie, CO
Date:March 30, 2012

Very nice stroller, but not perfect for a double

Pros: stylish, compact, durable, smooth one handed steering, easy to collapse
Cons: very little storage, back seat too tight
Model Number: S3 Inline
"I love this P&T stroller, so I am really bummed to consider returning it. While it would be excellent for just one kid/baby, or two (of the right size/weight), it just does not work well for my situation, with a 2.5 year old toddler, and a 4 month old. We have a Chicco Keyfit car seat carrier, and the front seat needs to be fully reclined to fit it. That makes the back seat very tight on headroom, too tight for a 2-3 year old. The back of the front seat is literally touching my son's face when sitting in back. He is at the max weight of 33 lbs., so while I would prefer to have him sit up front right now, my 4 month old is not yet ready to sit in the back without a lot of support (I'd like to keep him in the car carrier a bit longer). That said, it maneuvers great, looks really nice, and folds up to a small size - perfect for a small car trunk (I have a Hyundai Sonata). If it was a bit bigger on space for the back seat while being used with my infant car seat, I would give it 5 stars, but sadly I am looking for something that will keep my toddler much more comfortable for long walks to the park, and other outings (i.e. zoo) that would require something more spacious for the second (back seat) child."
Review 4 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:July 13, 2012

Does the job!

"Now a mom of 2 I knew I needed a double stroller and was terrified of how I would be able to navigate daily life 2 kids wide - the double wide strollers just seem enormous. The Phil & Ted's is certainly not enormous, in a side by side comparison it is actually smaller than my single jogging stroller.
My 2 year old loves the Phil & Ted's so much that when she's the only one on a walk she still wants to take that stroller AND sit in the back. I have found her sitting in the back seat while the stroller is parked in the house (which isn't terribly safe because it will tip if your kid is over 25ish lbs).
The few drawbacks are that the big seat only has 2 seat positions, it's either up or flat (the basic Phil & Ted's model sold elsewhere has an adjustable reclining seat). There is also virtually no storage when the doubles kit is on the back unless your back rider is really small.
Overall, we like it. It maneuvers well on bumpy streets/sidewalks and is great for us. This particular model may not be as tricked out as the basic model sold elsewhere, but it's $200 less - great value for the money. Thanks Costco!"
Review 5 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:April 25, 2012

Has issues

Pros: folds small
Cons: hard to start, access to storage space, hard to remove back child, see review
"Only 2 of 6 positions can be used for double. Couldn't use when my smaller baby was 4-6 months as he outgrew 60 cm cocoon. Cannot access storage with both babies in seats. Pushing handle down for break makes it almost impossible to get back baby out. Awkward to push as you need to lean over back baby to not bump his seat with shin. It hurts my back after a while. Hard to start rolling as front wheel gets stuck. No sun coverage for back child included (see baby in video).
Not a jogging stroller (says not for running in instructions, tho they show woman in jogging outfit on their website).
No fighting over who's in back. It's the smaller child per instructions. Heavy child throws off balance.
You need two hands to get safety bar off.
This is good in a pinch when one person needs to take both babies out for short walk. You can't use as double with carseat, so you need to carry it or use two strollers. There are a lot of optional accessories for extra purchase if you want to cover the kids from rain, sun, wind, etc. but it adds up.
"
Review 6 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 16, 2011

LIFESAVER

Pros: aesthetically pleasing, easy to steer, doesn't use a lot of trunk space, kids liked it, can recoup costs on resale, easy to jog with
Cons: needs more shade coverage, backseat does not recline, green color while striking got dirty quickly, front footrest is fabric-should be rubberized, not a lot of storage
Model Number: ?
"I purchased one of these just after having my son. We have a daughter just 17 months older than him and this stroller was the greatest for them. Easy to maneuver, skinny enough to get through tight shopping racks, simple to open and close. At first, I used the front seat all the way reclined, as a bassinet for the newborn with the extra seat mounted above it for the toddler. As they got older, we switched to the standard double mode with the baby up front and the toddler in the back. She loved it back there...as they got older they fought over who would get to sit in the back. This is a great price at Costco...I actually sold mine this summerwhen we were done with it (after 4 years) for almost Costco's price.
All of my cons may have been addressed in this new version of the stroller.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Jersey Shore, NJ
Date:May 2, 2012

Overall great product

Pros: comfort
Cons: poor assembly instructions
Model Number: S3
"We purchased this directly from Costco because we read a review that stated it was cheaper than Phil&Ted's website, but after we purchased the stroller, we saw it for the same price directly on Phil&Ted's website under the "Specials" category. It is very easy to roll but it should come with a standard cover for the smaller seating area. You can buy it as an option, but normally going through Costco.com gives you additional options at no extra charge (except with this purchase of course). All in all a good stroller but not too user friendly when converting the seats from rear or front. Would be a GREAT single stroller, but then again, single strollers are a dime a dozen and I wouldn't pay this much for a single stroller. I am babbling. :-)"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 1, 2012

Not so hot

Model Number: S3
"I was very excited to find a P&T stroller for a great price. I had one previously with my first 2 kids and loved it. But after buying it used and 5 years of service, it was done. The design is hauntingly the same. There are very few changes to this model, even some for the worse. There is no window to see baby when the sunshade is down, the front wheel has a tendency to lock on its own. I mounted the second seat to the front and nearly was stuck leaving it there forever, it took 2 people to get it to release. The older model that I had even had 2 recline positions this one does not. Overall we were very dissapointed that P&T would put a product out there inferior to a 7 year old predecessor. It's going back."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012

Great Stroller

"Great stroller, for both jogging/walking and everyday use. We have four little ones under five and this is our second phil&teds. We bought a used phil&teds a few years ago, liked it so much, that when we saw this deal at Costco, we bought it. Unlike many doubles strollers that are double-wide, you can use this stroller for every day and actually fit through doors. The colors are conservative gray/black with simple logos..very tasteful. Wheels are sturdy and equal to a solid bike tire. Great stroller all around and well worth the investment."
Review 10 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 26, 2012

Great Value

Pros: large tires make for easy pushing
Cons: no sunhood for second seat
Model Number: S3
"Great value on this stroller! Looked around online and found that I saved by purchasing from Costco.com plus you can't beat Costco's satisfaction guarantee and hassle free returns at your local Costco if not satisfied. Assembly was fairly simple and stroller looks great! Air filled tires make for a smooth ride and easy push. Seats seem comfortable for both front and back passengers. Sunhood for main seat is very large, I only wish it came with a sunhood for the second seat. I expect this will be a great stroller for many years to come!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carmel, IN
Date:March 22, 2012

LOVE

Pros: 1 or 2 seats depending on needs, size and weight, maneuverability
"This stroller had everything I wanted in a double stroller plus features I didn't think were possible to include in a stroller that would hold two children! The ease of opening and closing, collapses very small (even smaller than our single Chicco stroller). Love having options as to where to put the second seat depending on if my infant is sleeping or awake.
We are taking this stroller with us to the UK since it is maneuverable enough to handle the underground and buses.
"
Review 12 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 8, 2012

Worth every penny

Pros: both kids are very comfortable and content
Cons: doesn't fold down as easy as an umbrella stroller
"This is my first review. We already had a Quinny that we had purchased for my 2 1/2 year-old son, so we really hated to purchase another stroller, but had to do it in order for one person to successfully handle both. I would not have purchased it, due to expense, but when I saw it on Costco for this price, I could not resist. My husband gave me a look when the box arrived into the house, but now he is the one who likes pushing it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:March 7, 2012

Great Stroller

Pros: smooth ride, great design, costco price is awesome!
"I purchased this stroller so I could go jogging with my two little ones. I love the way it rolls down the bumpy roads and sidewalks. It folds up smaller than my single stroller which is very handy. My two year old loves to ride in the front and the rear seat making it a battle free way to take two small children. Overall I'm very happy with the compact size and ease this stroller offers my busy lifestyle."
Review 14 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:June 17, 2012

Great Purchase

"This stroller is great! It rides easily even over old bumpy flagstone sidewalks like I have in my neighborhood. Only downside is it is not as "light" as they advertise it. I still find it heavy to load in and out of the car. Also, the additions (cup holder, car seat conversions) are very expensive. Overall, I would highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for phil&ted's® S3 Inline Stroller Bundle With Doubles Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2012

Its like a BMW

Pros: good price, smooth for the kids, easy to steer
"The Stroller is a like a BMW, maneuvers great, smooth ride and looks stylish. Its fairly light weight for its size."