Customer Reviews for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Ambient Light Sensor 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.05 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
10 of 20(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:April 19, 2012

Poor support from Vizio

Pros: picture was good
Cons: support
Model Number: 42 "
"Came with a bad sound board. Took three weeks and multiple calls to Vizio to get it repaired. They missed two appts. Costco was awesome in helping resolve issues."
Review 2 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2012

Picture Dark

"I knew I wanted a Vizio after a lot of research reading reviews and talking to other customers in the TV department at Costco. I couldn't decide between the 37" and the 42". I tried the 37" for a month and found the picture dark. I tried adjusting the contrast and brightness and so forth. I was not thrilled with the results but was planning to make do. I decided it was not big enough for the effect I wanted and bought a 42". The size was perfect but it had the added bonus of having a great picture...no adjustment needed. There is a difference in the contrast ratio the 37 is 100,0000/1 and the 42 is 50,000/1. I also like the frame better, it is narrower. Finally, it seems to sound better, maybe the enclosure is a little bigger. So this is more a review of how great the 42" is."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, NC
Date:March 27, 2012

Outstanding Value

Pros: excellent picture quality
Cons: no audio out which is needed for hearing impaired.
Model Number: E370VA LCD HDTV
"It was delivered ON the date stated. Setup was fairly easy although we did have a small problem. We called Vizio and were greeted by an extremely pleasant woman who walked us through our problem very patiently. The picture quality is outstanding; sound could be a little better. The 2nd year of warranty provided us from Costco made our purchase decision."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:March 5, 2012

Never Again

"Worst TV I have ever purchased and by far not the cheapest. Returned the first one for sound quality. The second is even worse. Color changes to so black on night scene can not see anything. Tried working with the conceigne service (who are wonderful) to fix color, but still no good. Will never buy another VIZIO. Only bought this one because I needed a 37 inch."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:March 3, 2012

mixed feelings

Model Number: E371VA
"For the most part, the tv is fine. Good picture and sound, except for the picture going dark occasionally, but doesn't last long. The main problem is the closed captioning. If you hit MUTE on the sound, the captioning goes away. This is stupid.
Called Vizio who claimed it was the cable companies fault. What? No other tv I've ever used has done that, even with the same cable company."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sacramento area
Date:February 29, 2012

SO frustrating

Pros: connects to the internet easily
Cons: unreliable picture and performance
Model Number: E322VL LCD HDTV
"I see from other reviews that this product has failed to perform in many of the same ways we have experienced. Picture goes dark or turns off completely. Vizio folks say it is downloading upgrades, etc. Right.... so we sit there with the tv off and blinking for up to 15 minutes in the middle of watching a show. Volume drops down, and sometimes there are black streaks running through the picture. Would definitely not recommend. SO sad, as we saved up to buy this. Our other Vizio is not so good either, although it is older and maybe that's why."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Carson City NV
Date:January 30, 2012

Great TV

Pros: great sound and picture, ease of setup, cant beat the price of under $400 for a 37 inch tv
Cons: nite lite wont turn off
Model Number: E370VA and E320VA
"We bought two Vizios for our bedrooms.....a 32inch and a 37 inch.....both were extremely simple to set up.....directions are clear and easy to understand.....the pictures are sharp and clear and the sound is great......it does have a night lite on the front that will not turn off.....but we are just going to put a piece of black tape over it......"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 23, 2012

Doesn't Last

Pros: tv did have a great picture when it worked!
Cons: true sound s/b turned off for constant vol. level
Model Number: 37" Visio
"We have had this TV for 11 months & it started to develop picture issues (going black, odd color patterns, or going off then back on), next was sound issues (i.e. sound stops), and now it will not power up unless it is unplugged for a couple days. It then works for only 5-10 minutes before complete shut down again. Worked with Costco concierge to have it returned then with Visio CS. We were informed that it was a firmware (software) issue with that version. They are sending us a fix to install & I’ll need to wait and see if it works. Next time I’m going back with SONY."
Review 9 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:tn
Date:January 19, 2012

Vizio good for two years only

Cons: limited lifespan
Model Number: v370p
"bought the 37" Vizio lasted two years and two months, tech says both boards bad cost more to replace than buy another, fwiw I have a surge protector on the line and cable and the cable installation is grounded through my house equipment ground bar so figure its quality not a spike issue, on perusing internet several costco branded Viziosa mysteriously last only a few month beyond warranty do your homework and buy another brand"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oroville, WA
Date:January 19, 2012

Loss of Picture

Model Number: E370VA
"We love the sharpness of picture, but if you have a Dish Network HD satellite receiver connected to it and are watching an HD program, don't be surprised if you lose the picture for about 15 seconds anytime you pause, fast forward or fast reverse the program. Vizio says this is by design. I say what a crumby design."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:January 19, 2012

I am very satisfied

Pros: great picture, sound
Model Number: VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
"I like the screen size, picture quality and sound. I ditched my cable tv and stream everything through my roku box. The Netflix HD streaming looks great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2012

costco

Pros: great sound and picture quality
Cons: none so far
"what a pleasure- Costco did a tremendous job of shipping and keeping me notified of what was going on. We bought the tv for my 94 year old mother and 71 year old sister and they are thrilled by the quality and the sound. Thanks."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 17, 2011

Not Sure

Pros: nice picture 4 hdmi's
Cons: sound shuts off
Model Number: E370VA
"We've had this tv for a few weeks and I'm debating about returning it. It works well except it will randomly mute itself and you have to change the channel to get the sound back. Very annoying. We called customer service and they won't do anything until we can prove it happens with both the cable box and the dvd. I'm thinking it will be simpler to return it and try a different brand."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mt. Laurel, NJ
Date:December 1, 2011

Second choice

Pros: see review
Cons: delay & loud background music
Model Number: E370VA
"I purchased the 37" Vizio only after the TV purchased the day before proved unsatisfactory. The set-up was so easy a child could do it. The most difficult part was getting it out of the carton. The picture is sharp and clear. And the price is quite reasonable. Two things against it: There is a delay in picture appearing when turned on that I've not experienced with any other tv. Background music so loud it is difficult to hear dialogue."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jax, Fla
Date:November 27, 2011

Great tv

Pros: easy to install, great pic & sound, good quality
Cons: none so far
"Purchased over a year ago at Costco. Love both of my Vizios. Never worry about warranty...Vizio comes with 1 year and Costco is great with extended warranty and returns."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto,CA
Date:November 26, 2011

A Wonderful TV!

"Easy no hassle set up for the 37" for our living room. We got a blue ray as well and the picture quality is sharp and has wonderful crisp images. It is our first Vizio and won't be our last.1 year without a angle problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mt. Laurel, NJ
Date:November 6, 2011

Good Value

Pros: great hd picture, very easy set-up
Model Number: E370VA
"Very easy removal of packaging and set-up of TV. Quick set-up guide provided in the box made set-up a snap. No tools required to attach the stand to TV. Like the placement of HDMI inputs on the side of the TV where easy to connect mulitple devices."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2011

We love both of our Vizio TV's

"We first bought a 42 inch Vizio and fell in love with it and went back for a 37 inch for the bedroom. We love it and have never had 1 problem. Both of them take a couple of seconds to "boot up", but that is nothing to the clarity, color and detail of programs we watch. Plus the baseball and football games are fantastic! Just wish we had a bigger house to get a little bit larger TV. and we would make it a Vizio! We are getting my mother one for Christmas this year! PJ"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northwest
Date:October 22, 2011

something is wrong with its volume and signal

"First time buyer of Vizio. I had high expectations after having owned virtual no-name LCDs for 10 yrs (Westinghouse for 10 good years). I bought the Vizio for a guest bedroom. Didn't really use for 6 mo or so. Then moved it to another room with more use. Too late, 90 days has passed and now I can't return. Something is definitely wrong with the volume/sound. When you turn it on, it takes 30 sec to light up, annoying but OK, I can deal with it. It is hooked up to HDMI, so sound should not be an issue. But when you increase or decrease the sound, it doesn't change, at all?!?! I have to change the channel and then the sound changes. Often, when I switch channels between 1080 and 420 (non-HD), the signal is lost and the TV shuts off like it lost the signal and thinks I turned off the HD cable box. Annoying b/c some commercials are not shot in HD so it could flip off during a commercial. Also, sitting at a 45 degree angle from the screen dramatically reduces the color, quality and image.
Compared to the cheap but reliable Westinghouse I bought 10+ yrs ago, this is #&^%. I don't know what has happened the last 10 years of R&R with other brands but VIZIO clearly does not show it. So much for "technological advancement" and name brands. VIZIO, never again for me.
"
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:October 21, 2011

Don't buy this TV!

Model Number: E370VA
"For the last 7 months, we have been fighting with this TV, the Costco Concierge, and Visio. The sound on this tv will "stutter", then go mute, and then the tv will shut off by itself. Also, the contrast will go dark and the volume will jump several decibels - all by itself. This happens when we are watching TV in real time, on DVR, or a DVD. Save yourself lots of frustration and buy another brand."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.