Customer Reviews for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center

4-hour, 4-8 hour & 8-12 hour Precision Forecast of High/Low Temperature and Precipitation
Average Customer Rating:
2.85 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
12 of 20(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Review 1 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ashland, Oregon
Date:September 15, 2011

Not Impressed So Far

"I received the unit today (less than a week after purchase not the 3 to 4 weeks as suggested in the listing). It was nicely packaged and the units seem well made but the documentation was fragmented and unclear. The first order of business was to install the Bridge Adapter (to connect the unit to the internet). After figuring out the instructions (unclear and contradictory) I plugged it in to my router (you need to get one if you don't already have one) and followed the setup instructions. I went to the website as instructed and was on my own from there.
(no further instructions about what to do once you get there). Once I figured out what to do and where to go, I input the code from the bottom of the adapter and filled out all the info and it told me that I either didn't copy the code correctly (I did) or the Bridge Adapter was not available whatever that means. There was no support or contact info on the site so I had to go to the manufacturer's site to find a support contact. I told them what happened and I'm waiting for a reply.
I'm ready to pack up the unit and return it.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:September 30, 2011

works as expected

Pros: easy setup, excellent range
Cons: slight issues with bridge
"This worked as advertised. Sometimes, these relatively inexpensive electronic items, don't always work quite like one might expect. Install required a trip to the hardware store so that I could mount on the side of my house but have the device 2 feet above roof ridge line but would be necessary (or ideal) for any wind measuring device. The remainder of the install was very straight forward. Range of wireless signal is amazing, better than wireless phones and N speed router. The one issue I had was a reboot of the "bridge" which is the device plugged (patch cord) into router or home network. Took about 45 minutes to go to manufacturer’s web forum to find similar issues and get a couple of solutions. Granted this only affected viewing data on smart phone apps and web portal. Basically, all I needed to do was unplug bride for a few seconds to let it reboot and all was good. Others on the forum got their bridge replaced."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silicon Valley
Date:September 27, 2011

A lot for a little

Pros: smart phone app, price
Cons: new product with some rough edges, documentation thin
"5 in one weather station up on my roof - track from my PC or smart phone (Android in my case).
Brand new product - wasn't even on company website to register it when I received it (subsequently fixed).
There are some rough edges, but all of the data goes to the cloud & can be tracked. I've set alerts, but haven't had an occasion to receive any yet - for example, we've had no rain since I installed it.
Data seems pretty accurate from the other sensors I have around the house. Lots of things I want improved & I've posted some of them on their forum. Quick responses from Acu-Rite staff.
Took me about an hour to install on an old antenna pole attached to my chimney.
Overall very positive experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 29, 2011

Put Your Money to a Better Use

Pros: arrived promply
Cons: non-functional forecasting, non-responsive customer service, light plastic
Model Number: 1050c
"First the good - the outdoor unit seems to function well for now but it is made very cheaply. Lot's of thin plastic that is prone to breakage (ok that's not all good...).
Second, the bad - the ability to see real time weather on your computer or iphone seems like a good idea, but it loses connectivity to their server so often, it becomes ridiculous. Every time it loses connection, it has to be reset and the mac address has to be re-entered. Also, it can't forecast because each time it resets, it starts at ground zero again. Doesn't work as advertised Their customer service was responsive for a bit and then disappeared.
Costco should do a better job at screening their products. This is going back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Evergreen Colorado
Date:September 28, 2011

Could have been better

Pros: free apps, compact, solar assist, free internet access
Cons: loses internet connection, limited hardware display, lame web interface
"On paper this looks good. Unfortunately the hardware display only shows one parameter at a time, though it will slowly cycle through them all if desired. While the Android app is probably the best interface the web browser interface lacks flexibility. My unit frequently became unavailable on the network, requiring frequent re-initialization. The barometer didn't seem to work properly either."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2011

Very Cool Weather Station

Pros: push upgrades through the internet, mobile app is super cool, sensor is really easy to mount, great concept
Cons: documentation needs work, webpage needs more widgets
Model Number: 1050C
"As previously stated this unit packs a lot of very slick technology into a very inexpensive product. No doubt the documentation needs work but what consumer electronics products even come with instructions anymore? I'll give them an "A" for effort and all the stuff they packed in for the price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central TX
Date:September 19, 2011

Good but needs some improvement

Pros: easy to mount, remote monitoring for your home
Cons: needs clearer instructions and troubleshooting
Model Number: 1050C
"Purchased this weather station the day it was available at Costco. I have waited years to get a quality unit. Unit arrived in 4 days, not 2-4 weeks as the website mentions. Overall the weather station is accurate, but it could use some improvement. The instructions are too vague and not detailed to the extent of troubleshooting. After connecting the link to my router, you are supposed to hold down the link button below the link unit for 4 seconds. This is supposed to give you the flashing mode which the unit is already flashing for pairing. The link unit flashes blue back and forth on the sides and continues to do so even when the computer is turned off. I find this annoying as it lights up my entire computer room with a blue strobe light. Once you link the unit, sign up online with Acu-Link and then you must enter the code for pairing. You must delete the Headquaters for Aculink or it will fill up your entire screen with the Illinois based company weather. You can share your unit with friends and family which is a nice feature. You must add the individual weather features you want to a homepage or nothing will appear. Once you set up your unit, the screen appearance is clear. I added the app for my ipad and it works well, however you must hit a refresh button for the unit to send the latest current stats. You must also rotate the ipad back and forth from portrait to landscape to view the homepage or each individual feature. I added the app for my wife's droid phone but it kept crashing the connection. The stand alone unit which you can have anywhere in your home is nice, but the lcd screen is top heavy and if you sit it straight vertically, it tips over. The screen must also be viewed at the proper angle or the display nearly vanishes. Temperature, humidity, pressure, wind, heat index appears accurate so far. I would recommend this to a friend if they are computer savvy and have troubleshooting capabilities."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix Arizona
Date:September 30, 2011

Great Weather Center.....except

Pros: easy to set up, clear easy to read display panel
Cons: questionable internet connectivity
"Very easy to set up and get running. The display panel starts right up and immediately you can start veiwing weather data clearly on the very slick display panel. The problem is the internet bridge. This is the device which picks up your weather data and allows you to transmit over the internet via your router. Despite numerous repositioning and resetting, the bridge repeatedly dropped the signal to the internet. If you desire the ability to post your data on the internet for say "The Weather Underground" you're going to require a more sophisticated unit.
If however, having your data displayed on a bright ,easy to read panel is what you need, this is your station.
"
Review 9 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson Arizona
Date:September 30, 2011

Big Problems

Cons: very poor quality control
Model Number: Acu rite 1050C
"Received this weather station 3 weeks ago.
Put it in operation 2 weeks ago. The Bridge will not register on line. Humidity reading goes to 1% at temps over 90 degrees, and the Barometer reads low and there is no way to compensate for my altitude.
After numberious calls to tech support, no Joy! They have made lots of excuses and promises but still no results. If you go on the ACU RITE web site and look up the model 1050C you will see I'm not the only one with problems. There seems to be a large Q/C problems. If I cannot get any satisfaction in another two weeks I will talk to Costco Customer service and see if I can return it for a refund."
Review 10 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Casco, MI
Date:October 8, 2011

Good for the price

"I like the features this offered, but was disappointed when the inside temperature does not show up on my acurite backyard weather online. I have had some problems with the bridge staying connected. I had to look online help to find out that you must plug it in, then wait until it blinks before hitting the reset button to connect. It says nothing in the manual about this. It stays online with my router but looses connection with acurite. I always have to reset it. The weather station fits perfect on a piece of 3/4 black or galvanized pipe. I would recommend that over the small plastic bracket that is included."
Review 11 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chimacum, WA
Date:September 24, 2011

Too many glitches

Model Number: 01050
"Basic functions and display work nicely but weather prediction is non-functional as it has been predicting rain in the 3 time periods when we have had clear and sunny weather in the 70's and 80's. Unit will not recognize PST on the Intelli-Time Clock. Unable to clear rainfall reading of 0.06" on display. Instruction Manual is difficult to follow. Could not get the Backyard weather function to connect to my weather center..it was giving readings somewhere in Wisconsin and after 2 hours of trying and re-registering I gave up. It's going back to Costco."
Review 12 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Central CA
Date:September 22, 2011

Needs some work

Pros: sophisticated approach to network access., lots of technology for the price., support is good., software needs some improvement., updates to the "bridge" are automatic.
Cons: documentation needs lots of work., software needs improvement.
Model Number: 01050C
"It's a lot of sophisticated technology for the price; try finding a weather that will report weather via the Internet without being connected to a local computer and you'll see what I mean. I bought it to show inside and outside conditions at my place in the mountains. Having said that, I think the product was rushed to market, and is suffering from start up pains. Mine is now working as advertised, but it was a bit of a struggle. Go to the Acurite web site and look at the Support area; you'll see what I mean."
Review 13 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Date:October 9, 2011

Great Weather Station for the price!

Pros: can check weather when away from home
Model Number: AcuRite Pro Weather Center #01050
"Having had a much more expensive weather station for years, decided to purchase the AcuRite because of its web-based features. Delivery from Costco was within days! Had trouble setting up the bridge to communicate with our router but manufacturer's customer service was outstanding and replaced it when we determined the bridge was at fault. Setting up via internet a breeze and the data is comparable to our $500 weater station that is still set up but only available manually."
Review 14 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:October 4, 2011

Disappointed

Model Number: Model #01050
"I love all of the features of this weather station, but it has some issues that have not been resolved by Acu-Rite yet. They are working on them. I have needed to reset the bridge a number of times. Also the signal does not go as far as they claim. I had to move the bridge much closer to the weather station. We'll see if that helps. If they get the issues solved them then I would recommend this unit."
Review 15 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bethany Beach, DE
Date:September 28, 2011

An Improvement

Pros: simple to install
Cons: can't replace components, internet bridge suspect
"Had an Oregon weather station. Same functions as this one but requires 4 separate components, 4 solar panels and a lot more installation. And it didn't woork well from the outset.
This one is simple to install, has been in for 2 weeks and seems to be working fine. The manufacturer IS having a problem with the internet bridges but is working thru them and is providing a replacement for mine.
"
Review 16 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:September 22, 2011

Accurate Unit

"I also decided to purchase a quality unit and this hasn't disappointed so far. It also arrive in less than a week and wasn't too difficult to set up. It is transmitting well and the iphone app is very unique. The manual could definitely use some work but I'm fairly tech saavy and haven't had any issues so far - other than getting the time to update correctly."
Review 17 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 9, 2011

It could use some improvements

Pros: great concept. when it is set-up and funcitoning
Cons: not user friendly for set-up
"They need to work on the ease of connection between the sensor and the desktop. The lcd display that comes with the unit frequently displays different information then the online connection through your computer. Also, you have to pick a very large region for the weather forecast so the forecast is usually not correct for where you live."
Review 18 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:September 29, 2011

Great concept product not so great.

Model Number: 01050
"Saw a simple installation video but when it came time to connect not so simply. Finally got things going then bridge stopped working. Being temperature sensor in sun at least 10 degrees off. Loved the idea of Iphone and internet access but different readings on different units. I will be returning the unit."
Review 19 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Carson City, NV
Date:September 27, 2011

weather

Pros: the tem is ok
Cons: see above
Model Number: weather station
"it does work,BUT the pridiction says 100% chance of rain and we haven't had but a trace since mid June. I haven't yet given them a chance to fix."
Review 20 for Acu-Rite® Professional Wireless Weather Center
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2011

Most good, some needs a fix!

Model Number: Acu-Rite #01050
"All with this product went mostly smooth, but the internet part needs some fixin'!"