Customer Reviews for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras

1TB HDD, HDMI Output, Internet Set-up Wizard, iPhone, Blackberry, Android, PC & MAC Compatible
Average Customer Rating:
2.52 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
11
12 of 25(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Review 1 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lynwood, CA
Date:January 30, 2012

Excellent Product!

Pros: features remote viewing set up
Cons: dvr made a noise but customer service replaced it
"Owner of a Tire Retail Store, we first invested in a camera monitoring system years ago with a professional company. I remember spending an arm and leg for it and very hard to use. I never used any of the features like record to a cd, monitor remotely, and much more. NOW with this product, I was able to set it up with on my own. I do recommend you get someone who understands your router or network at the business to assist when setting this device up. You will need to know some network configurations and its meaning. So if you don't know this, I would undestand how it maybe a little difficult. I left off stating how easy it was to set up. In addition, I've added 6 more cameras to the bunch, I'm able to record to jump drives, and most recently view my cameras remotely! The coolest thing is that I'm able to view my cameras remotely from my iPhone. This really added the cherry on top. Again a lot of this took trial and error but at the end and all the work / patiance - I'm a very happy customer! Good luck in your install!"
Review 2 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Spokane WA
Date:January 25, 2012

Adequate...you get what you pay for

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: stringing wires, internet set up, limited mac support, motion sensing a joke
"If you are comfortable stringing wires in the attic or basement you will do fine getting the cameras set up. Have to think carefully about placement. Can't use them in locations that have a mix of high and low light. Make sure they are close enough to the subject to be able to see details. At night this is particularly important. Had to move cameras after I reviewed the output and realized that the quality was low enough that no ID could be made. Over the garage will probably be much too high. ANY motion triggers the email function, including rain or snow. The masking function and sensitivity functions for motion sensing during set up is a joke. For straight continuous recording it works fine. I use Apple products at home and the software really doesn't work well with them. The Mac world was an afterthought for the company. More than anything else, the cameras are visible, the alarm system I had installed is visible so hopefully the bad guys will stay away."
Review 3 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:January 18, 2012

Nothing but headaches!

Model Number: LH 110 ECO
"Bought this system in early September, I worked with Customer support, and had the system working fine. until all heck broke loose, First it started loosing cameras -- they would and still do come on then shut off randomly, The Day Night switching is sporadic at best, sometimes switching and sometimes not. The screen developed a Horizontal Hold problem and the screens keep flipping. I called Support only to hear we will work on your problem we are busy right now. I will be tearing out this system and flinging it into the garbage can and replacing it with a much costlier and better system."
Review 4 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Date:January 17, 2012

Unit Keeping Reboot

Model Number: LH 116000
"The unit works for 3 months, then keeping reboot every 2 minutes."
Review 5 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Woodinville, WA
Date:January 13, 2012

Don't Buy...Incoming Headache If You Do

Pros: infrared is nice...when it works
Cons: customer service/support is terrible, not well made - failed after a short period
Model Number: LH118000
"Nothing against Costco on this...it's Lorex that has caused me issues.
Bought from Costco 2/11 and received it quickly and installed it. Unit worked fine for a few months, but then I could no longer access it. Upon doing so, it would reboot and continue to. Did some research and found this to be a common thing. Called Lorex for support and after several attempts, they finally responded and gave me a sequence of buttons to push to try to reset the unit...it didn't work.
Contacted them again and after 3 attempts finally received a response that they would RMA it. Sent all requested info and sent 3 emails afterward with no response. Still trying to get this figured out, but it's been a battle trying to get customer service/support to respond...my unit has been unusable for MONTHS. Considered returning it to Costco, but hesitant as I spent so much time laying out and tacking up the wire and cameras.
Overall, the cameras work fine...although once in awhile one seems to lose resolution randomly (not the same one...it migrates from camera to camera). Also, the switch between infrared and daylight modes doesn't work sometimes. Found that shining a flashlight at the camera for a few seconds seems to fix the problem for that night...but who wants to walk around their house every night shining a flashlight at their security cameras to get them to work? Not I.
Did some research online and found similar stories to mine...not sure why I didn't do that to start with.
Bottom line...the price is nice, but the customer support is TERRIBLE! Consider another company if you're looking for a surveylance system. Just hopes this saves someone from wasting a ton of time and money."
Review 6 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:January 5, 2012

very poor QC and tech support

Pros: not earlly
Cons: poor qc and need experienced tech support
Model Number: Lorex 16-channel ECO
"I spent whole weeks to get to tech support and customer support to fix the problem
//hw
1. 2 out of 8 BNC cable is defected.
2. 1 out of 8 camera is not working
3. highly doubled about the quality 600 TVL camera. outout is not clear at all
//SW
1.can't find updated fw from their web.
2. remote playback is not working at all.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Chicago
Date:December 16, 2011

It's a junk

Model Number: Lorex eco+ 16 channel recorder system
"I purchased this unit along with a Q-see.
2 out of eight camera does not work at all. Two more does not switch from day to night mode properly. ALL 8 of the camera does not have the rated 600line resolution. The Q-SEE cameras rated at 540lines only, by far sharper and has better resolution and they work fine.
Lorex IS A GARBAGE. I don't even know why CostCo sells it.
Costco please get a read of this junky product.
BY THE WAY I WAS FORCED TO GIVE IT ONE STAR, IT DESERVES NONE
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:October 24, 2011

Lorex needs finished product testing

Model Number: Lorex 16 channel ECO DVR w 8 super resolution security cameras
"I recently purchased this system and had it professionally installed. Of the 8 cameras in total, only 2 function properly. 3 cameras have no night vision at all. 3 cameras are blurry during the day and are far worse at night. To date, we are very disappointed with the system. I would return the system however, after the investment in the install, I would like to replace the defective cameras and try to make it function as advertised."
Review 9 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:October 21, 2011

Pass on this product

"WAN, and internet access do not function with the latest browsers or with MAC. Cameras functioned fine but could not view over the local network or over the internet.
Returning it to Costco.
"
Review 10 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northern Arizona
Date:October 14, 2011

Good, but not great

Pros: good price
Cons: reliability questionable, didn't work with current browser, awkward programming interface with mouse only
Model Number: LH126 ECO series
"This is my 8th Lorex unit. I use one at home and installed others for my clients. I chose this one (ECO126) since it supports a Mac browser, where the others didn't. Well, sort of.
I installed it, followed all instructions and when I went to test on my Mac with Safari, it wouldn't work. Said I was missing a plug-in. Installed it again, same issue. Contacted Lorex support via email, 24 hrs later a note telling me it doesn't work with the current version of Safari, had to downgrade (a bit of a chore) to use it.
That behind me, I find that the recordings have a problem. The lower 1/4 of the screen distorts every so often, and this triggers a motion recording event. You don't see it in the live feed. I contacted Lorex support via email again. 48 hours later, no response. I sent another note, and still nothing.
BTW, I had two other units fail within a few weeks. One began restarting constantly and the other started reporting "no hard drive" and wouldn't record. I have a big concern about quality and reliability, and I am the one supporting them for a bunch of clients.
Wish they were better, the price is great. The reliability, not so much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 4, 2011

It's Ok!

Model Number: LH-12600
"Ease to install, program and great in the network. poor video quality but it will do the job."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cromwell ct
Date:October 3, 2011

cameras are not good

Pros: price is very cheap
Cons: cameras are of very low quality
Model Number: LH126ECO+SERIES
"I bought this package because of the 600 tvl of resolution cameras, I am very disappointed the cameras are more like 480 rather than 600 as advertised and the color of these cameras are very faded and not brilliant, I have purchased many Lorex products, all of which have been good, This product is not what's advertised."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:September 29, 2011

Tech. Support is Good but Bad Night Vision Cameras

Pros: good tech. support, good daylight cameras, fast shipping
Cons: not worth the price, bad night vision, bad wide angle cameras, missing part - allen wrench
Model Number: Lorex 16CH 8CAMERA 600TVL, #592291
"I don't care that much about the cameras, all the subjects seem too far than usual to recognized the facial feature. I don't realize that it come with allen wrench until I read the feedback (so it is missing in my camera package). I installed the cameras outside and it's all pit dark at night. I know I will return it since the first night (I only install 2 cameras for a test)."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunset Bch, NC
Date:September 29, 2011

Great system

Pros: value package
Cons: difficult to configure internet access
Model Number: LH 12600
"I spent a fair amount of time researching systems before purchasing this one. My research payed off as this is a value packed system. Configuring internet access required several tech support calls, the manual was weak in this area. Picking the correct android ap that supports this system also required tech support. I am really glad to have gotten the better cameras, and the expansion capability of the system is a nice feature as I am looking for additional cameras."
Review 15 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:September 26, 2011

Not worth the price

Pros: detailed manual, allen wrench supplied to adjust camera angle
Cons: dvr can't record all channels at full resolution, wide angle lense distors image, camera went to black/white while too early, camera clicking when changing modes
Model Number: LH16811B - 8 camera, 16 channel security system
"I bought this to use the 8 cameras, and found out that you can only record all 8 cameras at 15 FPS on D1 quality (480 FPS at CIF (320x240) = 120 FPS at D1 (704x480)). If you go to 16 cameras, you could only record D1 at 7.5 FPS (you have to split the FPS by the number of channels - 120/16 = 7.5).
The "super resolution" cameras picked up more video area than normal cameras, but at a price - the objects seemed further away, and the details seemed to be distorted, kind of like looking through a door's peep-hole. It seemed like details were lost because of the extra video.
The camera made a fairly loud click when switching between day and infrared mode. I don't know if this is normal or not. It also switched to night vision (blank/white) while there was still enough light in the room to see the video.
The manual seemed to be complete, but the pictures in the manual were too small to be useful. The camera angle is adjusted using a supplied allen wrench, which is much better than the phillips-head adjustment of the less expensive models."
Review 16 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 26, 2011

incomplete system

Model Number: Item# 592291
"They didn't supply camera power! The system was purchased with 8 cameras but they only supply 2 power adapters so I got 6 cameras that don't work as shipped! Couldn't get past that.
Costco doesn't usually sell stuff that is incomplete (in my experience).
"
Review 17 for Lorex 16-channel ECO DVR w/ 8 Super Resolution Security Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 24, 2011

Stay away...

Pros: has a lot of features.
Cons: very poor image quality
Model Number: LH16811B
"The security system has a lot of features and they work as expected. The image quality is very poor both during day and night. The power consumption is 32 watts and not 12 watts as stated in the description. I’m returning it and I would not recommend this system."