Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Roomba gets rid of dirt, pet hair, allergens and much more from carpets and hard floors. iAdapt™ Responsive Technology ensures Roomba vacuums every section of your room multiple times, getting into areas you can’t easily reach, including under and around everyday obstacles vacuuming until the job is complete. The Roomba 550 Pet utilizes AeroVac™ technology to maximize air flow through Roomba's cleaning head to pull hair and debris off the brushes and into the bin evenly. Easily schedule Roomba 550 Pet to clean whenever and wherever you want—up to seven times per week. The included Virtual Wall® confines the robot from room to room, then guides it back to its Home Base® to dock and recharge between cycles. Includes: 1 iRobot Roomba 550 Pet (with 1 Robot battery, 1 AeroVac™ Filter, 1 Side Brush, 1 Bristle Brush, 1 Beater Brush) 2 Virtual Walls® (4 C Batteries included) 1 Self-charging Home Base™ 1 Brush Cleaning Tool 1 Flat Cleaning Tool 2 Extra Side Brushes 2 Extra Beater Brushes 2 Extra Bristle Brushes 3 Additional AeroVac™ Filters Product Feature/ Benefits: The new 500 Series robots offer the latest innovations from iRobot with unprecedented efficiency, coverage and cleaning performance AeroVac™ is a single chamber vacuum bin that holds more debris and fills evenly inside the bin, allowing you to empty it less often Auto Virtual Wall® is always on and ready to keep Roomba cleaning where you want it by restricting off-limit area. Automatically returns to its Home Base™ to dock and recharge between cleanings Reaches deep into your carpet to remove dirt, dust and pet hair Efficiently cleans the whole floor, under and around furniture and along walls Automatically adjusts to vacuum carpets and hard floors Roomba senses dirtier areas and cleans more thoroughly in those spots Simple to use - Just press the Clean button, Roomba does the rest Roomba wont get stuck on cords, carpet fringe, or tassels Using clean, hair-free brushes ensures that Roomba always cleans at peak performance UL listed Dimensions: 20" x 17.5" x 5.5" Weight: 12.5 lbs. Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty; 6 Month Limited Battery Warranty For further product related questions please call iRobot at 1-877-855-8593. Model: 55202
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
(out of 82 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
74 of 82(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:September 28, 2012

I'm sold.

Model Number: 550
"Being generally skeptical, I decided to buy this at the local warehouse so I could return it easily. Needless to say, that won't happen. It cleans well, very well. We have all old fir flooring with some area rugs. No problem for the Roomba. Maintaining it is easy."
Review 2 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:September 27, 2012

Love to hate my roomba

Pros: people with health problems need this
Cons: must be run daily because the dirt trap is small
Model Number: 595
"I like to place an invisible wall between the roomba and the charge device so that it can't get to it after it's finished. It's not sadistic- its retribution for what skynet is going to do to us in the near future.
But seriously, I have CHF and its just too much now to vacuum with my dyson animal. So roomba every day does what the dyson did once a week. I don't even need a remote control to get it running - I just use my laser pointer and get my cat to push the button!
And it does a great job too. I mean I can run it after a thorough cleaning with my dyson and it picks up a lot of dirt that the dyson missed."
Review 3 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:So. Cal.
Date:September 15, 2012
Cons: short life
Model Number: 550
"Two years is the longest you can expect this robot to live. I have had three, and they die 'way too soon for the price."
Review 4 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2012

A must for pet owners

"I wish I had bought this a year earlier. It runs 2-3 times a day in my house because I break the 2100 square feet into sections. My carpets and floors always look clean now. It amazes me how much dust, dirt and hair gets picked up even when the carpets look clean! Everyone in my family now owns one on my recommendation. It's important to take the time to clean the parts and bin after every use to avoid excessive wear on the machine and battery. I still use my Dyson to deep clean occassionally and to clean the Roomba parts. If this device last two years, I'll be happy and buy another one because it sure works hard in my home so I don't have to. Have owned it for about three months and no problems so far. I have a black lab and off white carpets and my carpets look great all the time now!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton, MI
Date:August 11, 2012

Love my Romba!

Pros: great helper!
Cons: price- would love to have 2 or 3 of them
Model Number: 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"I love my Roomba. It is amazing how much stuff it picks up. It is so nice to schedule or push the button and leave for work and know your house is being vacuumed. It is even nicer to come home and see the fresh vacuum stripes on the carpet. I have both hardwood and carpet and it transitions well and does a great job on both. Best purchase ever!"
Review 6 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buhl, Idaho
Date:August 9, 2012

Great Invention!

Model Number: 530 Pet Series
"My niece recommended this product to me as she as 2 cats. I have 1 yellow lab and boy what a lifesaver this is. I schedule it to come on everyday at 1pm (as my dog is afraid of it) and when I get home from work, there is no dog hair anywhere! It goes from my bedroom carpet to my hardwood floors to the laundry room. Everything is clean. It works so well, I bought another one for our cabin and I am going to purhcase one for my son this Christmas as he has dogs also. Very impressed and pleased."
Review 7 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:August 8, 2012
Pros: works well (for a little while)
Cons: very limited lifespan
Model Number: pet series 550
"Cool item and works well.....for a little while. Why Irobot didn't make them last longer is a shocker considering how expensive they are. If you have a "pet hair heavy" house these will give out within three months......a lot of money for a very limited lifespan.
Make sure you hold on to your receipt!"
Review 8 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2012

Mom's BFF

Model Number: 550
"Love this product! My house is full of pet hair ( golden retriever & a cat) it sweeps and vacuums every single hair."
Review 9 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2012

I'm addicted

"I'm buying another tonight. It was impressive how much dirt came up with this. I vacuum every other day due to dog and kid. Short haired but shedding smaller dog. I love doing one task and hearing this clean the floor in another room like a personal assistant. I've read on other sites people being disappointed with the Roomba's longevity, which I cannot speak to at this point. I've only had it a week. But I can say, I think cleaning after EVERY use is a good idea. I can see if you didn't do that, it would stress the system and cause early breakage. Once you've done it a few times, it takes less than five minutes. Which I will do any day instead of the 20 it takes me to vacuum and the lugging the vacuum in and out."
Review 10 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Topeka,Ks
Date:August 6, 2012

cleaning lady

Model Number: Pet series--552
"This Roomba works just like they said it would. At least to this point. I'm happy with my cleaning lady, she never complains and neither am I."
Review 11 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:August 6, 2012

great product

Model Number: Roomba 550
"I just love this product.
It works best on hardwood floors.
I have a dog, and sheds hair - like most dogs. On the hardwood floors when you look it almost always seems like there is hair in corners/other. Turn on the Roomba a few times and all hardwood floors are clean from hair. Works OK on carpet, but it's an allstar on hardwood floors if you have a pet.
"
Review 12 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palmdale, CA
Date:July 27, 2012

Wonderful...So Far

"I got this a couple of weeks ago and have used it 4 times. I love it! It does a great job on my laminate flooring and the area rugs. I have been telling many of my friends about how great it is. I have also suggested that anyone interested in purchasing the Roomba do so through Costco.com as the price is the best!"
Review 13 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 25, 2012

Fantastic Product

"I'm not sure how I got by this long without Roomba. He cleans so well, and all while I sleep. My floors have not been this clean in a long time... and I have a cleaning service. Highly recommend."
Review 14 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 24, 2012

Lowered Housekeeping Bill

Pros: programmable so it runs while i'm at work
Cons: is a little noisy so run it while i'm gone
"With three dogs, I couldn't keep up with the floors staying clean so I bought an iRobot. It's amazing, I have it programmed to run each day at 5pm so by the time I come home my floors are clean. The dogs don't mind it at all either!"
Review 15 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, Ca
Date:July 17, 2012

Biggest Surprise Yet

"I admit, I was skeptical at first but since Costco has an excellent return policy, thought I'd give this a shot. I am simply amazed, and being an engineer/electronics geek, this doesn't come easy. The unit is very small, not too loud, and very smart/effective. Perfect for hardwood/laminate floors and very decent on carpets, this thing is awesome. I often find myself just watching it as it is working. It's worth a try and I plan on buying this as a gift to some loved ones. Everyone's positive review is pretty accurate. No major cons that would prevent me from buying again."
Review 16 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA.
Date:July 17, 2012

How Can You Not Love Roomba?

Pros: perfect for cleaning a birdcage area., good for confined non-carpeted areas
Cons: non at the present time.
Model Number: 550
"How can you not love the Roomba Robot? Being a neat freak, I was a skeptic at first. We have a large solarium and a bird cage with 9 lovebirds who love throwing their seed out of the cage plus I have two dogs. I was vacuuming daily in there and it was getting to me. My goal was to try the Roomba Robot and see if it was as good as the reviews said it was. The first try was discouraging. My Roomba never docked and didn't do a very good job. The next day I limited it's wanderings with the two virtual walls to half the solarium area, about 20X14 feet. It worked wonderfully! The bird cage area is no longer a problem. I am careful to empty the bin at the end of the cycle. With all it's bumping into the patio furniture, it looks like it's been through the war. I've had it a month and would recommend it for relatively confined areas on non-carpeted surfaces. I love it and my husband is amused by it. It's perfect!"
Review 17 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:July 12, 2012

I Just Love This!!!!

Pros: runs for a long time between charges., a time saver, my personal helper
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Irobot 550 Pet Vacuum
"I just built a brand new home and have wood floors and area rugs in some places. I have wool rugs so they do shed as well as two white cats so I do get a lot of fuzz.. I would be mopping everyday. I still vacuum the carpets at least once a week but otherwise I use my Irobot. I do empty it several times which is no problem for me and it goes a long time before it goes to it's docking station. It saves me so much time. As an extra perk my 9 month old grandson was visiting and he is just fascinated with the Irobot as well as my cats! It is a purchase I will never regret."
Review 18 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:July 12, 2012

Best Vacuum Ever

Model Number: 550
"We have two Bulldogs and a Boston Terrier. We set timer every night at 11pm. When we are sleeping the vacuum is cleaning. We have dark wood floor for whole house. We could see a lot of dog hair everywhere before even we clean the house twice a week. Now we can not see any dog hair without hand vacuuming ! The product works very well for us."
Review 19 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 9, 2012

Needs too much babysitting

Cons: too much babysitting
Model Number: 550 for Pet Hair--yah right
"Great idea but does not work without total supervision and babysitting. Had to move it from room to room either by hand or set up virtual walls---this was not what I bought it for. Bin filled up very quickly and most days could not even get through an entire cycle without stopping because the bin was full. I have 3 cats and 1 Labador. I believe this product might be useful if you did not have pets. Cleaning the unit which was daily, is very time consuming and messy. Even if the bin was not full the unit would stop because there was a small amount of cat hair wound around the caster or one of it's many wheels that hold the two brushes. Very high maintenance to keep it running and knock the heck out of my fine furniture legs in the dining room. Really rams into the furniture. Unit just kept going over and over the same area while missing pertinent areas such as the area rug!! Never could get it to go into the two bedrooms on it's own. I thought this product would be a savior in my small one level 1500 sq. ft. home with 95% wood floors and a very open floor plan but NOT. Very very very disappointed :( Yes it is noisy but I would have gladly ignored the noise if I did not have to pick it up and move it manually from area to area. Returning today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester Hills, MI
Date:July 7, 2012

excellent

Model Number: Purchased Item iRobot" Roomba" 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"Very nice machine. Cleans really well on carpet and ceramic tile. Very quiet on carpet, a little louder on tile. We wish we bought it earlier. Why do all the work by yourself? We wish the batteries last longer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>