Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Roomba gets rid of dirt, pet hair, allergens and much more from carpets and hard floors. iAdapt™ Responsive Technology ensures Roomba vacuums every section of your room multiple times, getting into areas you can’t easily reach, including under and around everyday obstacles vacuuming until the job is complete. The Roomba 550 Pet utilizes AeroVac™ technology to maximize air flow through Roomba's cleaning head to pull hair and debris off the brushes and into the bin evenly. Easily schedule Roomba 550 Pet to clean whenever and wherever you want—up to seven times per week. The included Virtual Wall® confines the robot from room to room, then guides it back to its Home Base® to dock and recharge between cycles. Includes: 1 iRobot Roomba 550 Pet (with 1 Robot battery, 1 AeroVac™ Filter, 1 Side Brush, 1 Bristle Brush, 1 Beater Brush) 2 Virtual Walls® (4 C Batteries included) 1 Self-charging Home Base™ 1 Brush Cleaning Tool 1 Flat Cleaning Tool 2 Extra Side Brushes 2 Extra Beater Brushes 2 Extra Bristle Brushes 3 Additional AeroVac™ Filters Product Feature/ Benefits: The new 500 Series robots offer the latest innovations from iRobot with unprecedented efficiency, coverage and cleaning performance AeroVac™ is a single chamber vacuum bin that holds more debris and fills evenly inside the bin, allowing you to empty it less often Auto Virtual Wall® is always on and ready to keep Roomba cleaning where you want it by restricting off-limit area. Automatically returns to its Home Base™ to dock and recharge between cleanings Reaches deep into your carpet to remove dirt, dust and pet hair Efficiently cleans the whole floor, under and around furniture and along walls Automatically adjusts to vacuum carpets and hard floors Roomba senses dirtier areas and cleans more thoroughly in those spots Simple to use - Just press the Clean button, Roomba does the rest Roomba wont get stuck on cords, carpet fringe, or tassels Using clean, hair-free brushes ensures that Roomba always cleans at peak performance UL listed Dimensions: 20" x 17.5" x 5.5" Weight: 12.5 lbs. Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty; 6 Month Limited Battery Warranty For further product related questions please call iRobot at 1-877-855-8593. Model: 55202
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
(out of 82 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
74 of 82(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 41 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester Hills, MI
Date:July 7, 2012

excellent

Model Number: Purchased Item iRobot" Roomba" 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"Very nice machine. Cleans really well on carpet and ceramic tile. Very quiet on carpet, a little louder on tile. We wish we bought it earlier. Why do all the work by yourself? We wish the batteries last longer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:October 31, 2011

not perfect but worth the $ w/ right circumstances

Pros: clean floors and carpet with little effort/time, extra parts and virtual walls
Cons: small amount of maintenance, disappointment when you realize bot got stuck, reliability unknown, pricey
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"owned for 1 month and bot cleans about 2,500 sqft. - for hard surfaces and low pile carpet like berber the bot works extremely well. you will be equally pleased and shocked how much material is captured. very fine dust and hair are handled easily. floor rugs are left with border of hair/dirt on hard surface as the bot cannot capture material as it transitions on/off the rug or as it is straggling rug. very quick handheld vac around borders grabs this stuff quickly and easily. the bot bangs into things and gets stuck at times so you will learn how/what to prep based on acceptable risk - not a challenge. once you get this bot running everyday to full battery discharge you will be extremely pleased with the results and ashamed how much dirt was left when left to manual vaccuming."
Review 43 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2011

excellent technology

"This is my second one. They last about two years at full function. Worth it for the seamless job it does in vacuuming. I never have to run my upright vacuum."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pioneer, CA
Date:March 7, 2012

Easier to just sweep

Pros: easy to return to costco!
Cons: didn't work very well!, lots of effort to maintain.
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"Noisy, fills up too fast, gets stuck, and the list goes on. I listened to my heart instead of to my head. It would have been so nice if it worked well but the exhaust vent blew dog hair away from intake.
High concept with great promise but low on results. After hours of it running on our hardwood floors, saving it from getting stuck, and dumping the tiny dust,hair collection tray, my wife and I looked at each other and said this is going back. Sweeping the floor is easier and better than the results we got from the Roomba "Pet" vacuum.
If only it was as good as the description..."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2012

I'm addicted

"I'm buying another tonight. It was impressive how much dirt came up with this. I vacuum every other day due to dog and kid. Short haired but shedding smaller dog. I love doing one task and hearing this clean the floor in another room like a personal assistant. I've read on other sites people being disappointed with the Roomba's longevity, which I cannot speak to at this point. I've only had it a week. But I can say, I think cleaning after EVERY use is a good idea. I can see if you didn't do that, it would stress the system and cause early breakage. Once you've done it a few times, it takes less than five minutes. Which I will do any day instead of the 20 it takes me to vacuum and the lugging the vacuum in and out."
Review 46 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:September 27, 2012

Love to hate my roomba

Pros: people with health problems need this
Cons: must be run daily because the dirt trap is small
Model Number: 595
"I like to place an invisible wall between the roomba and the charge device so that it can't get to it after it's finished. It's not sadistic- its retribution for what skynet is going to do to us in the near future.
But seriously, I have CHF and its just too much now to vacuum with my dyson animal. So roomba every day does what the dyson did once a week. I don't even need a remote control to get it running - I just use my laser pointer and get my cat to push the button!
And it does a great job too. I mean I can run it after a thorough cleaning with my dyson and it picks up a lot of dirt that the dyson missed."
Review 47 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 18, 2011

Returned it

Model Number: 550 pet series
"I have 1 corgi dog and 2 cats. I bought Roomba to pick up the fur on tile floors and get under the couch. Surprise, it didn't fit under the couch or most of my other wood furniture. I thought it was great at first, but then I spent more time pulling the fur off the ends of the wheels because I kept getting an 'ERROR'. Keep in mind I only had it for about 3 weeks. I have a cheap Bissell upright ($40) that has never jammed in over 2 years and I've never had to pull fur off it's wheels or brushes. So, $279 seemed too much for the aggravation. I also didn't like the track marks it left on my carpet Andthe dog barked at it constantly."
Review 48 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:los angeles, ca
Date:June 25, 2012

i love it

Model Number: 550 pet series
"Between the Roomba, the Eureka 71B hand vac and my steam mop, my house has never looked better and i've never been so happy to keep it clean! The Roomba does most of the work, and I get the hard to reach places with the hand vac. Steam cleaning the hardwoods once a week is no big deal now.
My cats don't mind the roomba at all. I was hoping they'd want to ride on it, but so far they are just very curious or indifferent. Even the spooky one will hang around while its doing its thing.
Would recommend this to everyone with hardwood floors and/or shedding pets.
If only it could dust and do my dishes, i'd be in heaven."
Review 49 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2012

Since My Dog Won't Vacuum...

Pros: easy to clean
Cons: a bit noisy on hardwood
Model Number: 55202
"...this is the next best thing. I have a 65 pound dog that sheds year round. I was having to vacuum at least three times a week, or else the hardwood looked carpeted. Now I can set the iRobot to vacuum one room a day, mainly high traffic areas. The iRobot needs regular cleaning/emptying after each use, but it is easy and can be done mindlessly while watching TV. If you have a lot of hair accumulated on the floors since your last vacuuming, the iRobot won't get far before it needs emptying. If you have a heavy shedder as I do, I recommend using a larger vacuum on the floors before your first run with the iRobot."
Review 50 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brookline, MA
Date:April 20, 2012

I love iRobots

Pros: time-saver, extra filters and brushes
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"Not much more to say than... clean floors! This is our second Roomba and I'm planning to get a Scooba too. I love having clean floors."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond, Ca
Date:July 17, 2012

Biggest Surprise Yet

"I admit, I was skeptical at first but since Costco has an excellent return policy, thought I'd give this a shot. I am simply amazed, and being an engineer/electronics geek, this doesn't come easy. The unit is very small, not too loud, and very smart/effective. Perfect for hardwood/laminate floors and very decent on carpets, this thing is awesome. I often find myself just watching it as it is working. It's worth a try and I plan on buying this as a gift to some loved ones. Everyone's positive review is pretty accurate. No major cons that would prevent me from buying again."
Review 52 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:July 12, 2012

I Just Love This!!!!

Pros: runs for a long time between charges., a time saver, my personal helper
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Irobot 550 Pet Vacuum
"I just built a brand new home and have wood floors and area rugs in some places. I have wool rugs so they do shed as well as two white cats so I do get a lot of fuzz.. I would be mopping everyday. I still vacuum the carpets at least once a week but otherwise I use my Irobot. I do empty it several times which is no problem for me and it goes a long time before it goes to it's docking station. It saves me so much time. As an extra perk my 9 month old grandson was visiting and he is just fascinated with the Irobot as well as my cats! It is a purchase I will never regret."
Review 53 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance , CA
Date:January 23, 2012

Love the bot

Pros: great job on carpet pretty good job on tile, quieter than i imagined
Model Number: Roomba 550 Pet Vacuum
"Bought this little bot for Christmas. With 3 cats, we needed it. The bot does a pretty darn good job, never complains, or wants a day off. I have followed the instructions to the "T", keeping the bot on the charger when not in use and cleaning the brush and bearings after each use. I was shocked at how much hair wraps itself around them. Anyway, a small price to pay to allow me time for other things while the house is getting vacuumed. I like this little bot so much, I now want the Scooba to wash my floors. I'm really hoping Costco will have the Scooba soon."
Review 54 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 19, 2012

Can't believe I didn't buy this years ago

"I am the type that always reads reviews but never writes one. This product is so amazing I am taking the time to write a review. I purchased this after several months (years) of debating and researching them. I have a crippling bad back and have not been able to vacuum my house for a long time. I would have to ask others to vacuum for me. I own a large Shepard dog, which sheds DAILY. I was afraid that I would spend money on this and then have it blow up from the amount of hair it would have to pick up....I was WRONG! I set the Roomba to vacuum the down stairs of my house every night while we sleep, I have ti vacuum the upstairs every couple days, due to the fact my dog isn't allowed up there. I wake up every morning with a freshly vacuumed home! It makes me smile and feel great when I start my day. I do not know how I ever lived without this vacuum. I am making sure I clean it after every use, it only takes about 15-20 mins and I am a very "ocd type" person. I am sure you could do it in less time. The only reason I did not give it 5 starts but because a couple times I have woke up to find it stuck under a coffee table. I have learned to put up the invisible walls or move my objects it has problems with and then I wake up with the Roomba on the home base charging when I go down stairs. I would recommend this to anyone that loves a vacuumed home everyday! I also purchased it in the warehouse because I was so eager to start this new adventure."
Review 55 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Buhl, Idaho
Date:August 9, 2012

Great Invention!

Model Number: 530 Pet Series
"My niece recommended this product to me as she as 2 cats. I have 1 yellow lab and boy what a lifesaver this is. I schedule it to come on everyday at 1pm (as my dog is afraid of it) and when I get home from work, there is no dog hair anywhere! It goes from my bedroom carpet to my hardwood floors to the laundry room. Everything is clean. It works so well, I bought another one for our cabin and I am going to purhcase one for my son this Christmas as he has dogs also. Very impressed and pleased."
Review 56 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:October 17, 2011

Definitely better than expected

Model Number: 550
"Like another reviewer, I bought the Roomba fully expecting it to not live up to expectations, that I'd be returning it. Suffice it to say it's been in our house 3 months and it's not going anywhere! We have a golden retriever and two active kids and our floors were always a mess, and I HATE vacuuming. Then, we added a baby to the mix on the cusp of crawling. The Roomba has saved the day and I'm not skeeved out to let the baby play on the floor even if I haven't run the upright vacuum cleaner in a couple days."
Review 57 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 27, 2011

Keeps up with the dog hair daily

Model Number: 550
"This is a great product for dog hair. I have a large home with mostly wood floors and a golden retriever. The daily dog hair floating around my floor was driving me crazy. The Roomba keeps up the hair by doing half my house daily. The battery lasts around 1 1/2 hours and picks up everything it runs over. The only issue seems to be that it gravitates toward awkard corners and can become stuck. Also, it does much better if you set it up to do a room at time and not the entire floor. Now, love my wood floors."
Review 58 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:February 20, 2012

Love it! Love it! Love it!

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: battery life : (
Model Number: 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"This is my second roomba. Love this Pet model. I run it every day! We have a Rotti and a grandson. Roomba stays on top of all the dog hair and the sand they bring in. I also have a Scooba and run it every couple of days. When I first started using the Scooba I was shocked at the filthy dirty water I poured out after each use for a few weeks. I use a Bissell steam mop on our tile (2000 sq') and thought the floor was pretty clean. Scooba got up dirt I didn't know was there."
Review 59 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 15, 2011

The Gift of Time

Pros: easy to clean
Cons: replacement parts are expensive
Model Number: 560
"I received my Roomba last year as a Christmas gift and is referred to as the gifft of time. Our family includes 2 girls and a Golden Retriever. Roomba vacuums every day with out complaining! The main room "he" cleans is dark hardwood and shows every speck of dust and fur. Afterwards, the floors are spotless. And the robot is very portable, carry it upstairs and turn it loose in the bedrooms. No more dust under the beds! Best gift I have received!"
Review 60 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NE California
Date:June 22, 2012

ROOMBA REVIEW

Pros: very efficient, very reliable
Cons: does require periodic cleaning.
Model Number: 550
"I own 4 Roomba's as my house is large and a back injury won't allow me to vacuum without pain. My Roomba's keep our floors dirt, dust and dog hair free. The only maintenance is regularly emptying the bin and keeping the wheels and brushes cleaned out. The company is great to deal with too. I bought a competitive brand and was very disappointed in it's performance, noise level and returned it to Costco."
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>