Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Roomba gets rid of dirt, pet hair, allergens and much more from carpets and hard floors. iAdapt™ Responsive Technology ensures Roomba vacuums every section of your room multiple times, getting into areas you can’t easily reach, including under and around everyday obstacles vacuuming until the job is complete. The Roomba 550 Pet utilizes AeroVac™ technology to maximize air flow through Roomba's cleaning head to pull hair and debris off the brushes and into the bin evenly. Easily schedule Roomba 550 Pet to clean whenever and wherever you want—up to seven times per week. The included Virtual Wall® confines the robot from room to room, then guides it back to its Home Base® to dock and recharge between cycles. Includes: 1 iRobot Roomba 550 Pet (with 1 Robot battery, 1 AeroVac™ Filter, 1 Side Brush, 1 Bristle Brush, 1 Beater Brush) 2 Virtual Walls® (4 C Batteries included) 1 Self-charging Home Base™ 1 Brush Cleaning Tool 1 Flat Cleaning Tool 2 Extra Side Brushes 2 Extra Beater Brushes 2 Extra Bristle Brushes 3 Additional AeroVac™ Filters Product Feature/ Benefits: The new 500 Series robots offer the latest innovations from iRobot with unprecedented efficiency, coverage and cleaning performance AeroVac™ is a single chamber vacuum bin that holds more debris and fills evenly inside the bin, allowing you to empty it less often Auto Virtual Wall® is always on and ready to keep Roomba cleaning where you want it by restricting off-limit area. Automatically returns to its Home Base™ to dock and recharge between cleanings Reaches deep into your carpet to remove dirt, dust and pet hair Efficiently cleans the whole floor, under and around furniture and along walls Automatically adjusts to vacuum carpets and hard floors Roomba senses dirtier areas and cleans more thoroughly in those spots Simple to use - Just press the Clean button, Roomba does the rest Roomba wont get stuck on cords, carpet fringe, or tassels Using clean, hair-free brushes ensures that Roomba always cleans at peak performance UL listed Dimensions: 20" x 17.5" x 5.5" Weight: 12.5 lbs. Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty; 6 Month Limited Battery Warranty For further product related questions please call iRobot at 1-877-855-8593. Model: 55202
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
(out of 83 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
4
74 of 83(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 41 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:March 17, 2012

Love it!

Pros: great for dog hair, scheduling feature
Cons: won't reach under sofa
Model Number: 550 Pet Series
"This is my second roomba - my first was destroyed after a water pipe broke and flooded the floor. I love the machine for what it does. I have a pug that sheds an incredible amount of hair continuously, and the roomba robot is a lifesaver for me. Here are my comments after using the product for some time-
What it does a great job at:
1. Cleaning dog hair, dust, light dirt from hard floors and carpet.
2. Getting around furniture, as long is there is room in between.
3. Schedule to clean while you're away. Nothing better than coming home to a floor free of dog hair!
4. Surprisingly thorough at getting to all areas of room.
What it won't do:
1. New models are too tall to get under most sofas.
2. Doesn't do deep cleaning -- "real" vacuuming is still needed to get ground-in dirt out of carpets.
A couple of additional comments:
1. Don't worry about the "logic" of the cleaning pattern. Although it appears pretty random, the robot seems to reach almost all accesible areas.
2. Spread out dining chairs away from table so it can get in between the legs.
Overall, I am happy with it and would buy another. Wish there was one for sofas!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pioneer, CA
Date:March 7, 2012

Easier to just sweep

Pros: easy to return to costco!
Cons: didn't work very well!, lots of effort to maintain.
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"Noisy, fills up too fast, gets stuck, and the list goes on. I listened to my heart instead of to my head. It would have been so nice if it worked well but the exhaust vent blew dog hair away from intake.
High concept with great promise but low on results. After hours of it running on our hardwood floors, saving it from getting stuck, and dumping the tiny dust,hair collection tray, my wife and I looked at each other and said this is going back. Sweeping the floor is easier and better than the results we got from the Roomba "Pet" vacuum.
If only it was as good as the description..."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonora, California
Date:February 20, 2012

Great purchase!

Pros: low costco price
Cons: none
Model Number: 550
"This little bot does the job without a complaint. My living room set is too low for it to go under but it goes under other tables, chairs, and the beds."
Review 44 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:February 20, 2012

Love it! Love it! Love it!

Pros: easy to use.
Cons: battery life : (
Model Number: 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
"This is my second roomba. Love this Pet model. I run it every day! We have a Rotti and a grandson. Roomba stays on top of all the dog hair and the sand they bring in. I also have a Scooba and run it every couple of days. When I first started using the Scooba I was shocked at the filthy dirty water I poured out after each use for a few weeks. I use a Bissell steam mop on our tile (2000 sq') and thought the floor was pretty clean. Scooba got up dirt I didn't know was there."
Review 45 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Spring, TX
Date:February 3, 2012

Cool, but room for improvement

Pros: cleans under bed and around chair legs, extra brushes included, virtual walls included, picked up a full bin of dust every time
Cons: slams into furniture, gets stuck in a corner, have to clean brushes and empty daily, only clean about 25% of the floor space, gets caught on rugs, knocks vases and pictures off tables, leaves black scuff marks on furniture
Model Number: iRobot Roomba 550
"Conceptually, I love the idea of a robotic vacuum cleaner, even though my spouse didn't agree. After using this model for a few months, I will share some pro's & con's:
Pros:
* It's cool.
* Each time Roomba was operated, it ended up with a full bit of dust. That meant it was doing its job.
* I thought it was great that it could clean some hard-to-vacuum locations, such as under the bed and in a forest of dining-room chair legs. (It was too tall to clean under the sofa though.)
* Roomba successfully detected the edge of a raised floor automatically (did not fall off).
* I like that this model came with extra filters, brushes, and two virtual walls, which were helpful for keeping it away from certain rugs that it didn't agree with.
Cons:
* In spite of the many sensors, Roomba continuously slams into cabinets and furniture. Particularly anything with an overhang that it can see under (cabinets, chests, sofas), and anything less than ~2" wide, such as table legs, chair legs, plant stands. Black plastic scuff marks also rubbed off onto the base of an off-white freestanding floor lamp, not sure why it kept slamming into it since it's about a foot in diameter. You will basically need to "child proof" your home, since Roomba will knock over plant stands, slam into table legs enough times to knock off glass vases and picture frames, and move chairs around.
* After slamming into an object, Roomba sometimes starts making a "hobbling" sound as it moves around; possibly a sweeper brush popped out of the groove instead of turning. It doesn't stop running, but it needs human intervention to rescue it at that point.
* Roomba pushes rugs around the floor and gets tangled up in them.
* Roomba gets confused in some spaces, particularly near the base, and cannot "escape" even when it is free to move in any direction except one. If Roomba has decided that it wants to go in that direction and it can't, well it just slams into the obstacle for about an hour until the battery goes dead.
* In a large space, I'd estimate that Roomba cleaned only 25% of the floor each time it was operated, and it seems like it cleaned basically the same 25% each time it was operated (when started from the identical base position). It seemed to make no attempt at mapping which areas it had actually cleaned.
* Sometimes Roomba doesn't make it back to the base (this model seemingly keeps no map of its movement and just hopes to encounter the IR LED from the base during its "random" movement). You need to watch your step so you don't trip over it when it stops running at a random location.
Other considerations:
* It's a little tiresome having to empty the small dust bin and clean hair from the brushes on a daily basis.
* Noise level seemed fairly high, but much less than a standard vacuum cleaner, and even less than most handheld vacuums, and the good part is that you don't need to be next to it when its operating.
* We did not try it on carpet, just on tile and wood floor.
* The lightweight plastic base slides around and needs to be affixed to a wall. When selecting location for the base, make sure that its invisible beam does not reflect off of a glossy-finish baseboard. (It was amusing to watch Roomba stuck repeatedly trying to mate with the reflecting baseboard until its battery died, but not very productive.)
I love the concept, but it didn't turn out to be as practical as I would have hoped. Hopefully some of the "cons" above will be resolved in future product generations."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:fabulous northwest
Date:February 3, 2012

What a great invention!

Model Number: 550
"I bought this when my son went to college, since he used to do the vacuuming. I have it scheduled for six days a week and does a better job than the kids ever did. =) It does a great job on the wood floors and rugs. I still have to get out the old vac now and again to get where Roomba can't . What a great buy. I'd recommend it to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Torrance , CA
Date:January 23, 2012

Love the bot

Pros: great job on carpet pretty good job on tile, quieter than i imagined
Model Number: Roomba 550 Pet Vacuum
"Bought this little bot for Christmas. With 3 cats, we needed it. The bot does a pretty darn good job, never complains, or wants a day off. I have followed the instructions to the "T", keeping the bot on the charger when not in use and cleaning the brush and bearings after each use. I was shocked at how much hair wraps itself around them. Anyway, a small price to pay to allow me time for other things while the house is getting vacuumed. I like this little bot so much, I now want the Scooba to wash my floors. I'm really hoping Costco will have the Scooba soon."
Review 48 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

AWESOME!

"This is the best this ever invented! she works great and doesnt complain! shes like a part of the family now!"
Review 49 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:January 17, 2012

Best Vacuum Yet!

Pros: great for under furniture especially beds & sofas, great customer service by irobot, programming feature works well
Cons: side brush does rather flimsy, should include spare side brush since it breaks, somewhat loud
Model Number: 550
"We hate vacuuming but love clean floors. This is the 3rd Roomba we bought for ourselves; this time from Costco. We have been VERY pleased at the improvements that make it do MUCH better with cords and other obstacles that used to stymie prior models. Scheduling on the machine is intuitive & easy to do.
S bought his own Roomba when he moved into his own apartment & used his as an alarm assist--had it run every morning at 10 to help wake him up while it cleaned their place. My brother & SIL love it so much they have acquired a fleet of three to keep their large home spotless! We bought one for my mom & she loves hers too.
We were having some trouble with it not holding a charge after owning the 550 for about a year. After some unsuccessful trouble-shooting, iRobot sent us a free exchange Roomba, battery and charging station! We will send our malfunctioning original equipment back with their pre-paid label. We're VERY pleased with the customer service. We're all also very fond of Roomba--great products!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:January 11, 2012

Excellent Choice

Pros: picks up dog hair, hard floors, easy to clean, hit go and walk away
"Large loft with bamboo floors. The Roomba makes it look like I spent hours cleaning. It picks up dog hair very well. It stops if it gets entangled and docks itself. Cleaning is very fast. I use a virtual wall to keep it from going under the dishwasher where it gets stuck."
Review 51 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

LOVE IT!!!!

Pros: cleans while i do other things!
"I have a husky that sheds a lot and this Roomba cleans it all up! I do clean my brushes everyday but it's simple to do. I absolutely love it and recommend it to all my friends. Should have gotten it long ago :)"
Review 52 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, tn
Date:January 10, 2012

Best purchase ever

Pros: changes your life
Cons: doesn't serve drinks like gordon geckos robot
Model Number: 550
"This was my first experience with irobot, or any robotic vacuum cleaner. I've had it a month now, and run it at least 3 times a day most days. It works. Doesn't have any problems with getting stuff caught in the bearings like some of the other roomba models. Easy to maintain. Even if I have to buy a battery every year, it is well worth it. I've started picking food up off the floor and eating it, because the floor is now the cleanest surface in my house, and possibly the neighborhood."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Va
Date:January 10, 2012

Scratched floors

Pros: can work while you are asleep or at work
Cons: scratches floors
"It worked ok but the wheel on the front has scratched my brand new Brazilian
Cherry floors BAD! It is something that should work when you are sleeping or at work as it takes quite a while to do what u would take a few minutes to do yourself. Not sure if I want to use it again, although someone said they put tape on wheel to stop the scratching.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:January 8, 2012

We love it!

Pros: does a great job vacuuming.
"We have had it for about 3 months now. It is set to vacuum 6 days a week. We have 3 dogs. It works great! It vacuum's under chairs and tables! You need to clean it every 3-4 days. The only thing I wish it had is a way to find it when it's stuck somewhere. When it picks up something that jams it, it stops and is sometimes hard to find. They really should have a way to make it beep from the base."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 8, 2012

Don't hesitate.

Pros: no problems going from floor to throw rugs.
Cons: wish it could do windows!
Model Number: 550 - pet series
"We got our Roomba just before Christmas and have used it many times. We were surprised that it does such a good job cleaning our carpet, throw rugs and tile floors. It gets all but the tightest corners. It does just as good or better job than I did with my cumbersome, heavy upright! Wish we had gotten one a long time ago!"
Review 56 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF bay area
Date:December 31, 2011

Best Thing EVER!!

Pros: it picks up everything without any complaints., easy to maintain., detect stairs so it won't fall down., easy to setup and program.
Model Number: 550
"Got this neat little roomba for my wife's X-mas gift. She's been talking about this for couple of years. So, got it home, opened it on X-mas day morning. Setup was a breeze. Let it charge for couple of hours. Set the time and schedule (easy) and let it do its thing overnight. Next morning, I was shocked to see so much that was picked up by this little guy. We were both so impressed, I went back to Costco to get another one for upstairs. After doing the same with the 2nd unit, I did something that made my eyes go wide open. Just for kicks, I put the unit under our bed, which has not been vacuumed in YEARS!! I watched it go do its thing, making sure that it stays under the bed, pulled it out and checked the tray, and again I was shocked to see the amount of dirt and stuff it picked up. I emptied it, and set it loose again under the bed, thinking it won't pick up much, and boy was I wrong! It picked up just about the same amount!! To those who've been procrastinating to move the bed so that you can vacuum underneath, this is a back saver!! Go out there and get this unit NOW!!!
The only thing left is to come up with a smart names for these two iRobots.
"
Review 57 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ripon, Ca
Date:December 28, 2011

Awesome!

Pros: automatic, gets in places we don't
Cons: a bit loud
"This is the best purchase we've made all year. My wife has nicknamed our Roomba 'Charlie' because she loves it so much. We run it in every room, every day and absolutely love the results. We have an ultra thick living room rug which gives 'Charlie' a bit of a challenge. We have to go over the rug with a regular vacuum because we have two dogs that shed. Overall, I'd recommend at least two for every house."
Review 58 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 20, 2011

Should have done it sooner

Pros: requires little supervision, brushes sweep the corners, floors look really clean
Cons: must stay on top of brush cleaning, looks "banged up" after one week of daily use, seems to enjoy going after the dogs
Model Number: 550
"My house has never been cleaner--with two dogs and a five year old this is a big deal. The Roomba really does cover the majority of the space if you let it run a full 25 minutes and if you run it every day the rooms just become cleaner and cleaner (including under the sofas where the dog hair likes to accumulate). I admit that I bought one of the earlier Roomba models a few years ago and ended up taking it back because it clogged and one of the sensors got messed up right away, but that wasn't a pet hair model. I'm glad I decided to give it another try because I've had no problems with the 550. You do have to stay on top of cleaning the brushes etc, but small price to pay! I love it, love it, love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 15, 2011

The Gift of Time

Pros: easy to clean
Cons: replacement parts are expensive
Model Number: 560
"I received my Roomba last year as a Christmas gift and is referred to as the gifft of time. Our family includes 2 girls and a Golden Retriever. Roomba vacuums every day with out complaining! The main room "he" cleans is dark hardwood and shows every speck of dust and fur. Afterwards, the floors are spotless. And the robot is very portable, carry it upstairs and turn it loose in the bedrooms. No more dust under the beds! Best gift I have received!"
Review 60 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 6, 2011

Love it!

Pros: works great for hard surface., works ok for carpet., requires very little attention
Cons: a little loud
Model Number: Roomba 550
"It is the greatest.
I was always dealing with the battle of the dust bunnies. Seemed to show up each day no matter what I did. No longer though. I set Roomba to go clean once a day and no longer do I see dust bunnies. I love this product and would recommend to anyone.
"
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>