Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Roomba gets rid of dirt, pet hair, allergens and much more from carpets and hard floors. iAdapt™ Responsive Technology ensures Roomba vacuums every section of your room multiple times, getting into areas you can’t easily reach, including under and around everyday obstacles vacuuming until the job is complete. The Roomba 550 Pet utilizes AeroVac™ technology to maximize air flow through Roomba's cleaning head to pull hair and debris off the brushes and into the bin evenly. Easily schedule Roomba 550 Pet to clean whenever and wherever you want—up to seven times per week. The included Virtual Wall® confines the robot from room to room, then guides it back to its Home Base® to dock and recharge between cycles. Includes: 1 iRobot Roomba 550 Pet (with 1 Robot battery, 1 AeroVac™ Filter, 1 Side Brush, 1 Bristle Brush, 1 Beater Brush) 2 Virtual Walls® (4 C Batteries included) 1 Self-charging Home Base™ 1 Brush Cleaning Tool 1 Flat Cleaning Tool 2 Extra Side Brushes 2 Extra Beater Brushes 2 Extra Bristle Brushes 3 Additional AeroVac™ Filters Product Feature/ Benefits: The new 500 Series robots offer the latest innovations from iRobot with unprecedented efficiency, coverage and cleaning performance AeroVac™ is a single chamber vacuum bin that holds more debris and fills evenly inside the bin, allowing you to empty it less often Auto Virtual Wall® is always on and ready to keep Roomba cleaning where you want it by restricting off-limit area. Automatically returns to its Home Base™ to dock and recharge between cleanings Reaches deep into your carpet to remove dirt, dust and pet hair Efficiently cleans the whole floor, under and around furniture and along walls Automatically adjusts to vacuum carpets and hard floors Roomba senses dirtier areas and cleans more thoroughly in those spots Simple to use - Just press the Clean button, Roomba does the rest Roomba wont get stuck on cords, carpet fringe, or tassels Using clean, hair-free brushes ensures that Roomba always cleans at peak performance UL listed Dimensions: 20" x 17.5" x 5.5" Weight: 12.5 lbs. Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty; 6 Month Limited Battery Warranty For further product related questions please call iRobot at 1-877-855-8593. Model: 55202
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
(out of 82 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
74 of 82(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:September 3, 2011

I Love My Roombas But...

Pros: does a great job on hardwood or tile, keeps me from having to vacuum often
Cons: requires technical ability to keep it going, does a marginal job on carpet, takes a little time to "rombaize" your house
Model Number: Roomba 550
"The Roomba 500 series vacuum is the greatest thing since sliced bread. It does a surprisingly good job of picking up dirt and pet fur. Running it once a day on my tile floors keeps the fur bunnies away and keeps me from having to do normal vacuuming more than every couple of weeks. I’ve had two of them for years and I love them. But.....
Buyers should really have some technical ability and be ready to maintain them if they want to keep them going. In a heavy fur environment (we’ve got a Corgi), run once a day a new Roomba will work for 6 to 9 months before breaking down. This assumes you’re cleaning the brushes every day. Fur will get inside the brush gear box and gum it up to the point where it will eventually stop working. At that point, assuming it hasn’t gotten torn up or burned out, you’ve got to pull out the brush deck module, disassemble the gearbox, take out all the fur, and put it back together. It’s really not that hard assuming you’re a bit mechanical. The Roomba 500s are very modular, but it’s a pain. Eventually the brush deck will wear out and you’ll have to order a new one (maybe $90). They seem to last me about 2 years. Also, run once a day, the battery will last about a year, with cleaning time decreasing as it gets older. Eventually you’ll get maybe 15 minutes of cleaning time out of them and you’ll need to order a new one. Again, replacing it isn’t hard, but a bit of a pain. Other things go wrong. You’ll need to replace the side-brush every few months, which is easy. I had to replace a cliff sensor assembly which was hard. The first Roomba I got wouldn’t even run so I returned it.
So, if you’ve got some time to invest keeping your Roomba going, buy one and join the cult."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brandon, FL
Date:September 13, 2011

High maintenance, but still worth the money

Model Number: 550
"My first one lasted 3 years and thank goodness, I registered it because after 1 year, the cleaning module plastic around the brushes "melted" from the friction. Covered under warranty, so iRobot sent a new module. After another year, the battery failed. iRobot replaced the battery for free. Having purchased this through Costco, the warranty was actually extended! This machine works great if you use it every or every other day, and does best on hardwood, tile or linoleum floors. It will not run over high rugs. I have a dog and a cat, so I had to make sure I cleaned the chamber and brushes well after each use, keep changing the little filter, and take the machine apart every 6 months or so to get rid of dust and hair. It's only takes removal of a few screws, but if you don't take care of the regular "maintenance', this robot will break on you within a year."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 20, 2011

Lasts us a year

Pros: cleans under couch without moving, cleans rooms completely, cleans at the push of a button
Cons: battery life, requires constant cleaning, becomes "finicky"
Model Number: 550
"We have had two of these now. We use it in a 15x25 room regularly (somewhere between daily and every other day), occasionally in other rooms. We have a dog with small ~1/2" hairs, and four small children.
The wife absolutely loves this thing, and recommends it whenever the subject comes up. It is super easy to clean the floor, just turn it on at night, in the morning the floor is clean...even under the couches It is nice that the Costco pack has the "walls", our house requires these to keep it where we want it.
Now onto the reason for three stars: I have had vacuums last ten years or more before needing to be replaced or significantly serviced. This one lasts us a year, it is not cheap, and it requires constant cleaning. The things that go wrong:
1. Battery life for us is about a year...it stops running long enough to clean the room completely.
2. Hair constantly gets wrapped around the brushes at the bearings (on both sides of the small yellow bearings), I have to get out a sharp pick to reach into the crevices and get it out. The pivot wheel gets hair wrapped around it and requires removal and cleaning. The brushes and dirt reservoir require cleaning each use. After several months it requires cleaning the eyes (it will constantly run in tiny circles on the carpet, as it if were at the stairs), it requires cleaning the contacts (it won't charge on the base anymore). Once we have to take these steps it seems like the fix lasts only a couple weeks and it is finicky.
We "play" with it for a while, get tired of the hassle and go get another. Sure we use it extensively, I don't mind having to clean it, but it stops working consistently as intended in a shorter time than I'd like..."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:November 2, 2011

A God Send

"I've waited to own this product for about six months before making this review...
My wife and I were in the market for a vacuum. The one she wanted from the Costco warehouse was a name-brand hand-held that was more expensive. I told her that, with this one, we could have our house vacuumed at least once a day, and let's face it, if the wife or I were to vacuum ourselves, it'd be done once a week, at best.
So, we opted for the vacuum that was cheaper AND knew would vacuum more often (our Roomba!).
There is minimal setup. Just charge it and go. The first time this baby went around the house, we all watched in amazement, including the dog. The dog just watched the thing pass by over and over. When we heard the vacuum alert us that it was done with its job, we were very excited to see how much junk it had picked up.
This thing picked up so much dust, hair, and dirt. We have tile and hardwood floor with one rug laid out. Everything was spotless. We ran this thing again the next day, and similar results. Spotless, and the tray was full.
My wife figured out how to program this thing so that it would run automatically during the midnight hours while we sleep.
Now, as much hair and junk as we have around the house, it's important to note that stuff will stick to the brush heads. It's recommended that these heads are cleaned after every few cleanings. Well, I'm lazy and do it once every couple of months. It's a very easy 10-minute task, and the kit includes the tools you need to clean the brush heads.
Then, if you're dumb enough to allow the brush heads to get to a point that's impossible to clean (which I don't see how that's ever possible with the tools provided), you're given extra brush heads in the box.
Folks, there's no need to hesitate buying this product. In fact, I'm trying to convince the wife to get a second just cause...
I'd also like to get these as Christmas gifts. This thing will change your life and free up your time to do something else productive...or watch TV. This noise factor of this thing isn't too bad, considering it IS a vacuum, but watching TV isn't out of the question.
From one Costco consumer to another, I say, enjoy this product folks. It's one of the best purchases you can make."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lewisville, TX
Date:April 21, 2012

Started great, but did not last long

Pros: worked great at first, loved the auto schedule
Cons: not working well after 2 months, expensive
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550
"I purchased this item for Christmas for my family to reduce our cleaning efforts. For the first 8 weeks, I was the hero of the family. It reduced our floor cleaning by 80%. Then all of the sudden, the floors were not getting as clean. In addition, the vacuum was not always coming on( Just the brushes moving along the floor but no suction) We changed the filters and cleaned/replaced the brushes, however, no difference... If this item was reliable for 12 months I would have given it top honors. However, after only 8 weeks... I can not give it good marks.... Will buy the other Robot on Costco's website and give it a try..."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2012

ZOOMBA ROOMBA

Pros: cleans well, does carpet, docks itself to recharge
Cons: can get stuck under certain objects
"OMG, I cannot believe that this thing works as well as it does. We vacuum every weekend but probably should do it twice a week but alas…we are lazy and really don't want to do it more than once a week since it takes about 1 1/2 hours to do the whole house. So we bought this for our downstairs which is all tile and has an area rug. We have a dog and a cat and they hang out downs stairs mostly so figured this would help especially with summer coming which means they are going to start shedding....WHOLLY COW we have had this for 3 weeks now and this thing rocks, it gets the tile and the area rug spotless. We program it to run while we are at work and come home to a clean floor everyday and just empty the catch bin which always has some hair and dirt in it. The programmer lets you do each day at a different time too so we do early morning runs on the weekends while we are out walking so we don't have to hear it. It isn't super quiet but it is less noisy then a regular vacuum. The more we have been using it the less dirt and hair is in the collection bin since it is cleaning every day. We cleaned out the brushes and the front wheel every time it ran when we first got it but now that there is less hair building up we do it now just every few days or weekly. This thing even cleans under our couch which is now spotless. We put this thing to work when we first got it and we hadn't vacuumed for two weeks..:( and it was full for the first 3 days getting all the dirt and animal hair. We decided to try it upstairs in our carpeted area and it works great up there too. It has a sensor for stairs so it knows to stop before it goes over the edge. It leaves nice vacuum tracks all over our carpet so we know where it has been. We have about 800 sqft down stairs and the same sqft upstairs and it takes about 45 mins to do each floor but since we are gone we don't care and it docks itself when it is done! It goes around EVERYTHING too, it did get stuck under one of our bookshelves once but we just put a small door stop in front of it so it goes around it now instead of trying to go under it. It even has a blue light that comes on and says "dirt sensor" and does extra circles around certain spots that have dirt ( like the cat's litter box) to get the extra dirt picked up. And the litter box is on carpet so that is sometimes hard to get picked up but the Roomba gets it all. I even went over our upstairs with our Dyson vacuum afterwards and it hardly picked up anything other than some hair and dirt on the base boards. I know we will still have to vacuum but we can do it less than we used to. I even noticed since it picks up hair and dirt everyday there is less of a chance for the hair and dirt to collect in the corners of the rooms or near the baseboards which is always a problem with pet hair. And keeping both floors free of hair and dirt keeps us from tracking it up and down the stairs as well, keeping those cleaner longer since our Roomba can't clean our stairs for us. The best part of this thing is buying it through COSTCO, you always get extra replacement parts when you get it through them. Extra brushes , collection filters, cleaning tools etc. If you are going to get this I would get it here, we did in case we didn't like it or it broke and we know we could take it back no questions asked…Now we want to get another one for our upstairs so we can have both areas cleaned while at work. Thoroughly impressed…some smart technology for sure!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:April 10, 2012

Love this Roomba!

Pros: works brilliantly and thoroughly freeing your time
Cons: must clean it every time for optimal maintenance
Model Number: 550
"I had a Discovery refurbished Roomba which was given to me as a gift. It was horrendous. I think it must have been defective because it never worked properly. The whole thing was a complete waste of money. It's sad because the gift was given to me by someone who absolutely loves her Discovery Roomba. In any event, I decided to try this one because I understand the battery is different and superior to the original series. This Roomba is such a delight because I don't have to stand over it. This one goes over my Oriental carpets without getting tangled in tassles. Plus, the battery lasts an hour each time. It is such a fantastic aid. I figure my original upright vacuum can be used for its attachments to clean baseboards, window sills, upholstery and other non-floor areas. People with deep pile rugs may feel differently about a traditional vacuum, but I adore Roomba. I don't use the scheduling feature, but others might find this of great value. The bin is not as big as in the original series, but I don't do the whole house at a time anyway. It's mind boggling how much dirt it picks up. I love how it goes under beds and under furniture. If Costco had the new 700 series, I would have paid more for that because that one has Hepa filter technology and a bigger dust bin. However, this is a phenomenal value and it really works great. They give you extra brushes and filters in the pack, plus the cleaning tools. I used to mind paying for new batteries on the Discovery one because mine was a piece of junk. It never occurred to me it was defective because I was new to Roomba. This one works sooooooo great! Now when it comes time to buy a battery for the 550 I won't think twice. I love my Roomba. It truly makes life easier."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2011

Technology that works? Since when?

Model Number: 550
"I bought a Roomba, fully intending to return it after it failed to vacuum my house. Unfortunately, it worked great. My kids love it.
Tons of dirt and hair picked up. Easy to clean rollers (A couple spots could be easier). I run it all the time, though the carpets are too clean now to give up much of the good bad stuff.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:September 28, 2011

Does what it says!

Model Number: Pet Series 550
"Before Roomba, I had to vacuum multiple times a day to keep pet hair off the floor. I have a black short to medium haired dog that sheds a lot. Sometimes it felt like we had a black carpet in the house. The floor looks and feels much cleaner now. The automatic scheduling feature is very nice and the vacuum is suprisingly strong. Don't expect to be able to throw away your regular upright vacuum, but it sure is nice to be working on my laptop while my floors are being cleaned. Empty the dust from the canister once a day (very quick process) and you're good to go. It also comes with replacements for the wear parts, so you're good for a while. If it's in your budget, its a good buy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:January 17, 2012

Best Vacuum Yet!

Pros: great for under furniture especially beds & sofas, great customer service by irobot, programming feature works well
Cons: side brush does rather flimsy, should include spare side brush since it breaks, somewhat loud
Model Number: 550
"We hate vacuuming but love clean floors. This is the 3rd Roomba we bought for ourselves; this time from Costco. We have been VERY pleased at the improvements that make it do MUCH better with cords and other obstacles that used to stymie prior models. Scheduling on the machine is intuitive & easy to do.
S bought his own Roomba when he moved into his own apartment & used his as an alarm assist--had it run every morning at 10 to help wake him up while it cleaned their place. My brother & SIL love it so much they have acquired a fleet of three to keep their large home spotless! We bought one for my mom & she loves hers too.
We were having some trouble with it not holding a charge after owning the 550 for about a year. After some unsuccessful trouble-shooting, iRobot sent us a free exchange Roomba, battery and charging station! We will send our malfunctioning original equipment back with their pre-paid label. We're VERY pleased with the customer service. We're all also very fond of Roomba--great products!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CALIFORNIA
Date:April 27, 2012

Good robot

Model Number: Roomba 550
"We loved this robot, We did not have to vacuum the floor nor cleaning dust on my TV screen, speakers etc.. since we purchased it. I like the cleaning schedule, works well on hard wood floor, under furniture, bed. However, few issues we didn't like Roomba: noisy, the brush needs to be cleaned every 2,3 days for best performance. Bumps to furniture, knocked off the sensors and broke 2 vases in the last 2 months, cleaning randomly instead of room by room. Does not work well on carpet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prescott Valley, Arizona
Date:April 9, 2012

This is absolutely great!

Pros: does a terrific job!
Cons: none
Model Number: 550
"I bought this from Costco because I was afraid it would turn out to be a gimmick, and it would be easy to return.
I could not have been more wrong. We have two dogs which shed tons of hair, and have both hardwood and carpet surfaces. Vacuuming was a full time job to keep up with the hair, and it was driving me and my wife nuts.
"Harriet" the Roomba was the solution to the hair problem. She goes about her business with no fuss, goes everywhere, and is very easy to clean and recharge. No complaints about capacity or any other features.
We use Harriet daily on a rotation through the various rooms in the house, and it's a pleasure to have it clean for a change!
I would recommend this without hesitation. Where have I been?
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 21, 2011

Life changing!!! please bring more in stock!

Model Number: 550
"Life changing product at a extremely reasonable price! I own a couple, but need more for the rest of my family. Please get more in stock. Pretty please:)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:September 28, 2011

Amazing Technology

Model Number: 550
"The Costco Roomba 550 is made for Costco and is great for houses with pets. It has the automatic programming feature found in the more expensive models and runs on battery for almost an hour. It comes with extra beater bars, filters and cleaning tools. Very easy to set up and program. Very pleased with this purchase."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Spring, TX
Date:February 3, 2012

Cool, but room for improvement

Pros: cleans under bed and around chair legs, extra brushes included, virtual walls included, picked up a full bin of dust every time
Cons: slams into furniture, gets stuck in a corner, have to clean brushes and empty daily, only clean about 25% of the floor space, gets caught on rugs, knocks vases and pictures off tables, leaves black scuff marks on furniture
Model Number: iRobot Roomba 550
"Conceptually, I love the idea of a robotic vacuum cleaner, even though my spouse didn't agree. After using this model for a few months, I will share some pro's & con's:
Pros:
* It's cool.
* Each time Roomba was operated, it ended up with a full bit of dust. That meant it was doing its job.
* I thought it was great that it could clean some hard-to-vacuum locations, such as under the bed and in a forest of dining-room chair legs. (It was too tall to clean under the sofa though.)
* Roomba successfully detected the edge of a raised floor automatically (did not fall off).
* I like that this model came with extra filters, brushes, and two virtual walls, which were helpful for keeping it away from certain rugs that it didn't agree with.
Cons:
* In spite of the many sensors, Roomba continuously slams into cabinets and furniture. Particularly anything with an overhang that it can see under (cabinets, chests, sofas), and anything less than ~2" wide, such as table legs, chair legs, plant stands. Black plastic scuff marks also rubbed off onto the base of an off-white freestanding floor lamp, not sure why it kept slamming into it since it's about a foot in diameter. You will basically need to "child proof" your home, since Roomba will knock over plant stands, slam into table legs enough times to knock off glass vases and picture frames, and move chairs around.
* After slamming into an object, Roomba sometimes starts making a "hobbling" sound as it moves around; possibly a sweeper brush popped out of the groove instead of turning. It doesn't stop running, but it needs human intervention to rescue it at that point.
* Roomba pushes rugs around the floor and gets tangled up in them.
* Roomba gets confused in some spaces, particularly near the base, and cannot "escape" even when it is free to move in any direction except one. If Roomba has decided that it wants to go in that direction and it can't, well it just slams into the obstacle for about an hour until the battery goes dead.
* In a large space, I'd estimate that Roomba cleaned only 25% of the floor each time it was operated, and it seems like it cleaned basically the same 25% each time it was operated (when started from the identical base position). It seemed to make no attempt at mapping which areas it had actually cleaned.
* Sometimes Roomba doesn't make it back to the base (this model seemingly keeps no map of its movement and just hopes to encounter the IR LED from the base during its "random" movement). You need to watch your step so you don't trip over it when it stops running at a random location.
Other considerations:
* It's a little tiresome having to empty the small dust bin and clean hair from the brushes on a daily basis.
* Noise level seemed fairly high, but much less than a standard vacuum cleaner, and even less than most handheld vacuums, and the good part is that you don't need to be next to it when its operating.
* We did not try it on carpet, just on tile and wood floor.
* The lightweight plastic base slides around and needs to be affixed to a wall. When selecting location for the base, make sure that its invisible beam does not reflect off of a glossy-finish baseboard. (It was amusing to watch Roomba stuck repeatedly trying to mate with the reflecting baseboard until its battery died, but not very productive.)
I love the concept, but it didn't turn out to be as practical as I would have hoped. Hopefully some of the "cons" above will be resolved in future product generations."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 31, 2011

Like Having a Cleaning Service

Model Number: 500
"I never would have believed how efficient this Roomba is. My house is cleaner now than it has ever been with a lot less work on my part. The Roomba gets under all the furniture, picks up all the dog hair and generally keeps my floors spotless. I wish I hadn't waited so long to get one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2011

Great product

Pros: clean floors well, good price compared to competition
Cons: bumps furniture with force, must clean brushes (high maintenance), small dirt bin
"Overall, a great product for the price
Cleans carpet and tile well. However, if you have delicate furniture, I wouldn't recommend. The vacuum will bump objects with force.
The random cleaning pattern is good and bad. It's good, because it goes over a spot more than once and in different directions. It's bad, because it takes long to clean a room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2011

Easiest way to clean up messes!

"We bought this for Grandma at the lake house and it has been so helpful. We turn it on when we go to church and come home and all of the mess (including the grandkids donut crumbs) are all vacuumed up! Very helpful if you have small children or pets that shed. It's a perfect asset to the lake house and saves us all a lot of work cleaning up. While it's suction power can't replace that of a truly good vacuum, it gets the general job done with NO effort. You'll just need to vacuum with an upright here and there to make sure you're getting all the dirt. That's the reason for the 4 stars, if I could give it 4 1/2 I would. Overall, extremely satisfied and saves us from vacuuming!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:March 17, 2012

Love it!

Pros: great for dog hair, scheduling feature
Cons: won't reach under sofa
Model Number: 550 Pet Series
"This is my second roomba - my first was destroyed after a water pipe broke and flooded the floor. I love the machine for what it does. I have a pug that sheds an incredible amount of hair continuously, and the roomba robot is a lifesaver for me. Here are my comments after using the product for some time-
What it does a great job at:
1. Cleaning dog hair, dust, light dirt from hard floors and carpet.
2. Getting around furniture, as long is there is room in between.
3. Schedule to clean while you're away. Nothing better than coming home to a floor free of dog hair!
4. Surprisingly thorough at getting to all areas of room.
What it won't do:
1. New models are too tall to get under most sofas.
2. Doesn't do deep cleaning -- "real" vacuuming is still needed to get ground-in dirt out of carpets.
A couple of additional comments:
1. Don't worry about the "logic" of the cleaning pattern. Although it appears pretty random, the robot seems to reach almost all accesible areas.
2. Spread out dining chairs away from table so it can get in between the legs.
Overall, I am happy with it and would buy another. Wish there was one for sofas!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Pet Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2012
"Since I am no longer able to run the regular vacuum cleaner, I purchased the Roomba. This robot does an excellant job of vacuuming my rugs. I have it programed to vacuum twice a week so my house always looks fresly cleaned.
I love sitting in a chair and watching it clean my floors. Best gadgit I've bought in a long time.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>