Customer Reviews for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

The Vienna Plus puts Saeco’s patented removable brew group technology into an easy-to-use interface. You can now make espressos, cappuccinos, lattes, and tea all from one machine that grinds, tamps, and brews gourmet coffee. The pump driven steam and hot water wand has an exclusive Pannarello to make frothing milk simple. The adjustable conical burr grinder creates the perfect grind for gourmet coffee. The OptiDose adjustable doser feature enhances your flexibility to make an ideal cup of coffee. Not only can you change the fineness of the grinds and the amount of water used but also the amount of ground coffee used to make each individual cup from 6 to 9 grams. The easy access front service door simplifies general maintenance and cleaning. Features:   Color: graphite   Push button display with indicator lights   Saeco Aroma System: Pre-brewing cycle to maximize the flavor extraction   Opti-Dose dial adjusts amount of coffee ground into each cup brewed   Built-in conical burr grinder with 18 adjustable grind settings   Adjustable dispensing head to manually adjust for taller coffee mugs or small espresso cups   Pannarello wand for milk frothing and hot water dispensing   Fully removable brew group, for easy and thorough cleaning   57 oz. removable water tank   Water filter compatible (recommended)   Includes 1 packet of Saeco Dezcal™ descaling powder   12 oz. bean hopper   15 puck dreg drawer capacity   Stainless steel boiler   ABS plastic housing   CSA certified   UL listed   Dimensions: 15”W x 14”D x 15.5”H   Weight: 18 lbs.   1-year limited warranty   Made in Italy  
Average Customer Rating:
3.738 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
31 of 42(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:north carolina
Date:December 5, 2012

SO FAR WE LOVE IT

Pros: excellent espresso with nice crema
Cons: plastic housing
"Just got it going today and am thoroughly impressed by the espresso, which is top notch. The machine is in a plastic housing so if that bothers you... but I seriously can't remember better espresso I've had, there is a learning curve."
Review 2 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:September 7, 2012

just returned it

"After having a more expensive Saeco Machine for several years I bought this one in January. Right away we noticed that it was cheaper made then the other one. Today, after nine month I took it back to Costco because it gave us so many problems, hardly ever working anymore."
Review 3 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san francisco, ca
Date:August 7, 2012

Fantastic Machine

"Makes delicious european syle long coffee or espresso/cappucino.
Saeco is a good italian company. Best bang for your buck.
"
Review 4 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:san diego
Date:July 21, 2012

lemon

Model Number: vienna
"plugged in the machine, turned it on and steam started coming out of the wand with out it being open. went to make a cup of espresso and the hot water was coming out of the steam wand and the valve to the wand was closed, coffee grinds were dry. sending it back!"
Review 5 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sterling, VA
Date:July 21, 2012

Disappointed With Vienna Plus

Model Number: Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
"I bought the Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine exactly 11 months ago. It just quit working last weekend. It will grind the beans and immediately dump the grounds into the waste bin without ever pumping water through the grounds. I never really was satisfied with the flavor of the coffee it produced even after 11 months of trying various settings and various brands of coffee/espresso beans. It also never gets the coffee piping hot, highly warm is more like it. I do realize that this is not a $1500 espresso machine, but I did expect more from it and for it to last beyond 11 months at the very least given the 1-2 cups per day that I was making."
Review 6 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:July 12, 2012

buying another one!

Pros: excellent coffee quality, years of service at a great price, costco's generous customer service
Cons: would love a 'dressed-up' version of it
"I've owned 5 of these espresso makers and I couldn't be happier with price/performance ratio! Buying another one now for my home in AZ.
The first one I bought in 2005 is now at my brother's house where it's still being used on a daily basis. I've also owned 2 other Saeco models that were much more expensive but since most Saeco espresso makers seem to share the same brewing group there's not much of an advantage in spending twice as much money, or even more. I do not need programming features on an espresso maker - having the option of pushing the button twice for two shots is all I need! ;-)
Granted, the Vienna Plus does look a little utilitarian and the plastic housing isn't a great match for my stainless steel appliances but given the great price and the many years of trouble-free service I have gotten out of each one I happily live with that.
We drink a lot of espresso/latte at my house, four of those a day on average. Not spending $4+ each time but about $0.30 makes the Vienna pay for itself in no time at all. Less than 1 month in our case, not a bad investment in my book...."
Review 7 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert Ca
Date:July 3, 2012

Broken on Arrival

Model Number: Saeco 4038
"Besides the above ..was disappointed in the
graphite material..espeacially since we were
2 time buyers of Saeco's Aroma machines and expected better quality for the upscale
model & price.
"
Review 8 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:May 20, 2012

Poor Steam System Quality

"I enjoyed this machine when i first got it. I had upgraded from the manual Starbucks version and liked the automatic features. After 4 months the steam system failed. Apparently, according to CS, it probably blew a gasket. They sent me a return label (that I had to request to get prepaid) and it went to their repair center. A short week later it was back but not repaired. They did other repairs but did not address the original complaint. It wasn't even't noted on the reapir order. I called CS again and they decided to upgrade me to another model (which as not yet arrived). THe problem I had is apparently common with this machine. I would spend a bit more $$ and get a better machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2012

Great machine

Pros: convenience and taste
Cons: can't think of any
"I formerly owned a Saeco Spidem Villa which is almost identical to this machine. After using the Spidem for about two years, I passed it on to my daughter who continues to it. The replacement Saeco Vienna makes great espresso and coffee. The coffee temp could be hotter but we get around this by using hot water to warm the cup first and warm the milk before putting it into the coffee. It lacks some of the bells and whistles of more expensive machines but you don't need all that stuff. I used to own a $1200 espresso machine until it broke. I found that the quality of drinks from this machine is very comparable so it did not make sense to me to pay for frills I don't need to enjoy great espresso."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, WA
Date:January 13, 2012

Great Machine

Pros: easy to clean, easy instructions for use
Model Number: Vienna Plus
"Have purchased 2 of these machines, one for work and one for home. It is easy to use and makes great coffee. Fast and easy to clean too. Would highly recommend."
Review 11 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:McLean, VA
Date:January 12, 2012

Great & Convenient coffee machine

Pros: quick to make coffee, hot water at your fingertip, easy to add water, attractive appearance
Cons: manual adjustment to quantity of coffee required, not intuitive for dial adjustments
"This machine came with improper outer case assembly so I had to exchange for another one. So QA was not impressive. But overall was very pleased with this machine. Fresh grinds for each cup is very convenient and fast too. Except when I want only half a cup I need to manually adjust the amount of coffee grinds so it is proportional."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 22, 2011

Great Value

"Only con is that the steamer stopped steaming after a few months. I have had other Saeco's and this steamer issue is a problem with all their models that I have owned. That is a bit off putting and the reason I did not give this 5 stars. But I have had this model for appx. 5 years and it still makes great coffee with a minimum of care. Easy to clean."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 7, 2011

DOA

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: defective out-of-the-box
"Unfortunately, the machine we ordered shorted out the first time we tried to use it. It went through the motions of brewing the first cup, but the water did not heat up. We tried to brew a second cup, and we smelled burning plastic and then the machine shut off and wouldn't start again. I love the fact we didn't have to wrestle with the manufacturer over it and were able to immediately return it to Costco and order a different model."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mercer Island
Date:November 27, 2011

Resilient

"I absentmindedly poured water into the coffee bean hopper. I took the machine apart to dry it, then put it back together and it worked again, for a few years now. I am no mechanics, and found that the machine is easy to handle. The recommendation is to clean it weekly, I think, and we need to follow that, or coffee dusk builds up. It takes constant checking: water level, bean level, the waste box, the bottom water tray... Being absent minded, I foul up often, for example, if I don't dump the coffee waste often enough, when I pull out the box, the waste would scatter all over the counter. Then I forget to check the water level, so the machine grinds and give out a few drips plus a red-dot error. When I put water it, the machine grinds a new batch. Pulling out the assembly inside to clean (once a week) is a little tricky: I apparently did not see the instruction to pull out the coffee waste box first, so I struggled for a long time and thought that it's a bad machine.
I really wish there is an optional component to flip a switch to change between regular and decaf. Now I have a feel for exactly how many coffee beans a brew takes, and I add just enough, in case I want to switch from regular to decaf for the next cup.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2011
Cons: wish it could brew directly into a travel mug!
"This Expresso Machine works well for me. Easy to set up and use straight out of the box. So far makes consistently great coffee without any problems. I wish the design included being able to brew directly into a travel mug, although given that I believe this is an Italian product, Europeans may be less likely to travel with mugs in their cars then we Americans do. The machine will quickly pay for itself as I am making many fewer stops for lattes at high-priced coffee shops. I would highly recommend if you want to make lattes at home!"
Review 16 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 18, 2011

Works well for me

Pros: super convenient, easy to clean, good brew
Cons: no warming tray, not black, made of cheap plastic ( even the brew group), rather big and tall, small water tank
"I've had this machine for a month, and so far so good. I love how little time and supervision it takes to make my morning cup. The quality of espresso seems good to me ( however, I don't consider myself an espresso expert) with fair amount of crema (foam) that lasts fair amount of time ( about a minute). There are 3 variables you can change on this machine: (1) coarseness of the ground; (2) amount of grounds per shot; (3) amount of water per shot. Out of the box, everything is set in the middle. The medium water amount setting produces about 3-4 oz of brew,which, according to some articles I read on-line, can't be "real" strong espresso. Wasn't to my taste either ( too weak, little crema), so I played a little with all the settings and arrived at 16 grind, lowest water amount, 1 setting higher than medium coffee amount. Press the brew button twice and walk away. In 20 seconds, get 2 separately ground and brewed shots of espresso in one cup. Amidst making breakfast and packing lunches, that's exactly what I want.
2 pieces of advise: (1)buy good beans; no machine can brew good coffee from lousy beans; (2) read the manual- there is a note saying that the machine has been tested in the factory with coffee beans, therefore it may appear to be used; also, the troubleshooting section helped me to get the amount of crema I wanted ( more than what I got with the factory settings).
I have to say that I don't use the frothing wand at all ( have a Capresso free-standing frother- no supervision and so much easier to clean).
Here is why I take a star off: (1)I wish it had a warming tray ( I am yet to figure out a quick and efficient method of warming my cup); (2) I have only had the machine for a month and praying for it to last for at least 6 months ( by then it will have paid for itself); (3) it is neither black nor stainless steel and therefore hard to match other appliances; and (4) looks rather cheaply (plasticky) made, but for the price I paid at Costco, I can easily leave with that. I had a Saeco Via Venezia before ( a manual machine). IMHO, it made better espresso than Vienna Plus and was all black metal outside ( looked great and sturdy), but , on a weekday morning, I will take this machine with it's automatic process over that one any time.
Also,Vienna Plus is rather big and tall (check you counter space), but has a smaller water tank. I think you'd have to refill it after 4-5 drinks. I refill it every morning anyway, because I like to use fresh water.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2011

returned within a week

"Product came broken. A piece was broken that did not allow me to brew anything. The internals are all plastic. I wonder about the sturdiness of the unit. Nice thing is costco.com and costco have a wonderful return policy. Although by forewarned take your receipt with you as the 'system' will have it priced much, much lower."
Review 18 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shelton,Ct
Date:October 17, 2011

Same great product

Pros: heats fast easy to use
Cons: does not swivel
"Replaced a 10 year old Vienna that still worked fine, but leaked water from the plastic tube that connects to the frother. This new Vienna Plus heats much faster, has more adjustments to the grind and is still very easy to use. It continues to make excellent cappuccino and espresso. Hope to get 10 years out of this one."
Review 19 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tenakee Springs, AK
Date:October 16, 2011

Best deal for the price!

Pros: easy to use easy to clean excellent crema!
Cons: flimsy exterior drip tray could be wider.
"I had a Saeco Villa that finally died after 5 years. In a panic, I was looking for the best price and similar product. I found the Vienna Plus. Identical operation as the Vienna, and a couple of hundred dollars less. In order to get a hotter shot of espresso, run the hot water in a cup for a few seconds until it has thoroughly primed through the system, 15 seconds or so. You only have to do this when you first turn the machine on. THEN you will have a much hotter coffee shot. This machine actually steams milk much faster than the Vienna did, and is a much easier wand to keep clean. Quieter than my Vienna by far. LOVE IT!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, Ca
Date:October 3, 2011

Fantastic Espresso without leaving the house!

Pros: it is easy to clean., simple to use.
Cons: haven't figured out how to connect filtered water.
"Just bought this machine three weeks ago. So simple to use it is amazing.
At the Costco price (cheapest I could find), it will pay for itself in about three months.
The adjustments make it easy to prepare a cup of coffee or espresso to your taste and size.
Just fill with beans and filtered water and push the button for great espresso or coffee.
"
1 2 3 next>>