Customer Reviews for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

The Vienna Plus puts Saeco’s patented removable brew group technology into an easy-to-use interface. You can now make espressos, cappuccinos, lattes, and tea all from one machine that grinds, tamps, and brews gourmet coffee. The pump driven steam and hot water wand has an exclusive Pannarello to make frothing milk simple. The adjustable conical burr grinder creates the perfect grind for gourmet coffee. The OptiDose adjustable doser feature enhances your flexibility to make an ideal cup of coffee. Not only can you change the fineness of the grinds and the amount of water used but also the amount of ground coffee used to make each individual cup from 6 to 9 grams. The easy access front service door simplifies general maintenance and cleaning. Features:   Color: graphite   Push button display with indicator lights   Saeco Aroma System: Pre-brewing cycle to maximize the flavor extraction   Opti-Dose dial adjusts amount of coffee ground into each cup brewed   Built-in conical burr grinder with 18 adjustable grind settings   Adjustable dispensing head to manually adjust for taller coffee mugs or small espresso cups   Pannarello wand for milk frothing and hot water dispensing   Fully removable brew group, for easy and thorough cleaning   57 oz. removable water tank   Water filter compatible (recommended)   Includes 1 packet of Saeco Dezcal™ descaling powder   12 oz. bean hopper   15 puck dreg drawer capacity   Stainless steel boiler   ABS plastic housing   CSA certified   UL listed   Dimensions: 15”W x 14”D x 15.5”H   Weight: 18 lbs.   1-year limited warranty   Made in Italy  
Average Customer Rating:
3.738 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
31 of 42(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2011

good machine for the money

Pros: easy to use, great tasting coffee, heats really quickly
Cons: water container hard to get to if not freestanding, steam spigot starts with hot water, made for small cups, does not recognize low water level before starting
"This is a great machine if you're looking for an entry level automatic coffee maker and don't expect or want bells and whistles.
We put ours on the kitchen counter where it slid nicely under the cabinets. It's a bit of a hassle to fill the water tank. It would have been more convenient on the side rather than back. It does have a decent grip on it although the lid does not. It really should have that so you don't have to hold it by the edge.
It would have been great if this machine had two coffee bins, one for leaded and one for decaf. A bit much to ask for the price.
Forget making a large mug 'o morning joe with this machine. Even at the largest setting the amount of coffee is pretty low and what's more large mugs don't fit under the spigot. This machine is really made for European coffee and it's great at that. The picture shows two espressos made at the same time, not sure if that's possible. A single espresso is tiny (as it should be) and when you make two like in the picture it'll be just coffee, not espresso.
Super easy to use. Turn it on and you're ready to go a few minutes later. Warm up time is minimal. You'll have a cup of coffee quicker than you'll get from a MrCoffee. Start with a full water reservoir and you can make coffees for guests pretty quickly."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:September 20, 2011

Best Cappuccino Maker in US

Pros: easy to use, the no mess built-in coffee grinder
Cons: the water reservoir is too small, the meaning of the red warning light is not clear, the manual is lame and not sufficiently clear
Model Number: Seaco Vienna Plus
"I should preface my remarks by stating I lived in Rome for seven years while studying for my doctorate. There I learned that Maxwell House, Folgers and the like just don't cut it for percolated coffee. Farberware Percolators where still the state of the art. I walked past the two best Cafes (coffee houses) in Rome, Tazza D'Oro off of the Piazza Navonna and San Eustachio. I got hooked immediately on the Italian coffee cutlure and the fine difference between a cafe latte, a cappucino and a cafe macchiato. I returned to the US in 1994 and I have been trying to duplicate the experience ever since on a host of different expresso/cappucino makers: Krups, Starbucks machines (made by Saeco, De Longi, Breville and finally the Saeco Vienna Plus. I still import the coffee from Rome (Tazza d'Oro) and can finally duplicate the taste with this easy-to-use machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 4, 2011

Buying it again!!

Pros: durability with a great cup of espresso
"I have had this same machine for 8 years making coffee for up to 6 people a day. It has worked flawlessly until today. I cried this morning! The pump finally broke. We will be making a shrine to it. Needless to say, I am ordering a new one today!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mercer Island
Date:November 27, 2011

Resilient

"I absentmindedly poured water into the coffee bean hopper. I took the machine apart to dry it, then put it back together and it worked again, for a few years now. I am no mechanics, and found that the machine is easy to handle. The recommendation is to clean it weekly, I think, and we need to follow that, or coffee dusk builds up. It takes constant checking: water level, bean level, the waste box, the bottom water tray... Being absent minded, I foul up often, for example, if I don't dump the coffee waste often enough, when I pull out the box, the waste would scatter all over the counter. Then I forget to check the water level, so the machine grinds and give out a few drips plus a red-dot error. When I put water it, the machine grinds a new batch. Pulling out the assembly inside to clean (once a week) is a little tricky: I apparently did not see the instruction to pull out the coffee waste box first, so I struggled for a long time and thought that it's a bad machine.
I really wish there is an optional component to flip a switch to change between regular and decaf. Now I have a feel for exactly how many coffee beans a brew takes, and I add just enough, in case I want to switch from regular to decaf for the next cup.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:August 13, 2011

good deal!

Model Number: Saeco Vienna Plus Espresso Machine
"after 2 years we finally decided on an "expresso" machine.
Pros: good price, good coffee, easy to clean, effective with coffee amounts
Cons: water tank on the small side (4 large cups only), not brewing fast IMO, coffee could be hotter, you can drink the coffee immediately (should not be the case). fine grind seems to be slowing down the brew. all plastic (but what can you expect for the price!). grind and coffee amount dials are in the grinder (annoying if you want to change settings on a regular base)
We drink VERY strong coffee and a lot of it. This machine seems to be able to do this. Got coffee quantity dialed in to max and cup size to 3/4 giving us the right taste (depending on beans). heat up time is good in my opinion.
Overall good machine, let's see if it last as long as another Saeco my mom has in europe (7 years now)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:May 20, 2012

Poor Steam System Quality

"I enjoyed this machine when i first got it. I had upgraded from the manual Starbucks version and liked the automatic features. After 4 months the steam system failed. Apparently, according to CS, it probably blew a gasket. They sent me a return label (that I had to request to get prepaid) and it went to their repair center. A short week later it was back but not repaired. They did other repairs but did not address the original complaint. It wasn't even't noted on the reapir order. I called CS again and they decided to upgrade me to another model (which as not yet arrived). THe problem I had is apparently common with this machine. I would spend a bit more $$ and get a better machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 18, 2011

Works well for me

Pros: super convenient, easy to clean, good brew
Cons: no warming tray, not black, made of cheap plastic ( even the brew group), rather big and tall, small water tank
"I've had this machine for a month, and so far so good. I love how little time and supervision it takes to make my morning cup. The quality of espresso seems good to me ( however, I don't consider myself an espresso expert) with fair amount of crema (foam) that lasts fair amount of time ( about a minute). There are 3 variables you can change on this machine: (1) coarseness of the ground; (2) amount of grounds per shot; (3) amount of water per shot. Out of the box, everything is set in the middle. The medium water amount setting produces about 3-4 oz of brew,which, according to some articles I read on-line, can't be "real" strong espresso. Wasn't to my taste either ( too weak, little crema), so I played a little with all the settings and arrived at 16 grind, lowest water amount, 1 setting higher than medium coffee amount. Press the brew button twice and walk away. In 20 seconds, get 2 separately ground and brewed shots of espresso in one cup. Amidst making breakfast and packing lunches, that's exactly what I want.
2 pieces of advise: (1)buy good beans; no machine can brew good coffee from lousy beans; (2) read the manual- there is a note saying that the machine has been tested in the factory with coffee beans, therefore it may appear to be used; also, the troubleshooting section helped me to get the amount of crema I wanted ( more than what I got with the factory settings).
I have to say that I don't use the frothing wand at all ( have a Capresso free-standing frother- no supervision and so much easier to clean).
Here is why I take a star off: (1)I wish it had a warming tray ( I am yet to figure out a quick and efficient method of warming my cup); (2) I have only had the machine for a month and praying for it to last for at least 6 months ( by then it will have paid for itself); (3) it is neither black nor stainless steel and therefore hard to match other appliances; and (4) looks rather cheaply (plasticky) made, but for the price I paid at Costco, I can easily leave with that. I had a Saeco Via Venezia before ( a manual machine). IMHO, it made better espresso than Vienna Plus and was all black metal outside ( looked great and sturdy), but , on a weekday morning, I will take this machine with it's automatic process over that one any time.
Also,Vienna Plus is rather big and tall (check you counter space), but has a smaller water tank. I think you'd have to refill it after 4-5 drinks. I refill it every morning anyway, because I like to use fresh water.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:July 12, 2012

buying another one!

Pros: excellent coffee quality, years of service at a great price, costco's generous customer service
Cons: would love a 'dressed-up' version of it
"I've owned 5 of these espresso makers and I couldn't be happier with price/performance ratio! Buying another one now for my home in AZ.
The first one I bought in 2005 is now at my brother's house where it's still being used on a daily basis. I've also owned 2 other Saeco models that were much more expensive but since most Saeco espresso makers seem to share the same brewing group there's not much of an advantage in spending twice as much money, or even more. I do not need programming features on an espresso maker - having the option of pushing the button twice for two shots is all I need! ;-)
Granted, the Vienna Plus does look a little utilitarian and the plastic housing isn't a great match for my stainless steel appliances but given the great price and the many years of trouble-free service I have gotten out of each one I happily live with that.
We drink a lot of espresso/latte at my house, four of those a day on average. Not spending $4+ each time but about $0.30 makes the Vienna pay for itself in no time at all. Less than 1 month in our case, not a bad investment in my book...."
Review 9 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 22, 2011

Great Value

"Only con is that the steamer stopped steaming after a few months. I have had other Saeco's and this steamer issue is a problem with all their models that I have owned. That is a bit off putting and the reason I did not give this 5 stars. But I have had this model for appx. 5 years and it still makes great coffee with a minimum of care. Easy to clean."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2012

Great machine

Pros: convenience and taste
Cons: can't think of any
"I formerly owned a Saeco Spidem Villa which is almost identical to this machine. After using the Spidem for about two years, I passed it on to my daughter who continues to it. The replacement Saeco Vienna makes great espresso and coffee. The coffee temp could be hotter but we get around this by using hot water to warm the cup first and warm the milk before putting it into the coffee. It lacks some of the bells and whistles of more expensive machines but you don't need all that stuff. I used to own a $1200 espresso machine until it broke. I found that the quality of drinks from this machine is very comparable so it did not make sense to me to pay for frills I don't need to enjoy great espresso."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tenakee Springs, AK
Date:October 16, 2011

Best deal for the price!

Pros: easy to use easy to clean excellent crema!
Cons: flimsy exterior drip tray could be wider.
"I had a Saeco Villa that finally died after 5 years. In a panic, I was looking for the best price and similar product. I found the Vienna Plus. Identical operation as the Vienna, and a couple of hundred dollars less. In order to get a hotter shot of espresso, run the hot water in a cup for a few seconds until it has thoroughly primed through the system, 15 seconds or so. You only have to do this when you first turn the machine on. THEN you will have a much hotter coffee shot. This machine actually steams milk much faster than the Vienna did, and is a much easier wand to keep clean. Quieter than my Vienna by far. LOVE IT!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:September 29, 2011

Saeco Let Down

"Was excited to get this product, generally love Saeco and their technology but, this machine has to be their lowest grade "all in one" machine they have.
Does not know when the water runs out, no advanced sensor, instead it will grind a full portion of coffee and brew you two drops, then show an error (duh, no water) so you fill up the water but don't think you can just hit the brew button, oh no, if you do it will grind and waste a second full portion of coffee. You must prime the pump, since the idiot machine let itself run dry. I have wasted a significant amount of coffee to to this problem.
Also the coffee ground collection system overflows, if I did not have a dyson cordless hand held vacuum I don't even know how I would clean this mess up.
Needles to say this is going back. Nice try Saeco, I consider this design a total failure. I have had a Saeco comfort + and own 2 odea II for my offices. Generally they make an amazing products, wouldn't even pay $100 for this one, in fact you couldn't pay me to keep it. Can virtually guarantee that 6 months from now this model will be gone from Costco's rotation. And Costco ALWAYS rocks!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:September 10, 2011

Great espresso machine

Pros: easy to use, makes great espresso, foam is excellent, user friendly
"I have purchased six espresso machines over the past ten or twelve years. The Saeco Vienna beats them all. It is very easy to use. I was making an espresso within five minutes after unpacking the machine.
You can easily add water or beans without pulling the machine out from under the cupboard. I remove the cover for the water container and use a 16 ounce bottled water container to load the water.
The espresso is dark and rich. The steam wand makes a high quality foam.
I am very happy with the machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:September 12, 2011

Great machine

Pros: fast heat up, wonderful crema., easy clean up., compact.
Model Number: Saeco Vienna Plus Espresso Machine
"After my Saeco Majic Deluxe (~$800) finally bit the dust after 9+ years of faithful service, I was shopping around for a new machine that was fully automatic but wouldn't break the bank. After much research, I settled on this as I had the best experience with my previous Saeco fully automatic.
I am NOT disapointed. The price is great and not a bunch of features to pay for that I never used on the last machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:September 1, 2011

Great coffee, great machine!

Pros: ease of operation, great tasting espresso
Cons: none
Model Number: Saeco Vienna Plus
"We've had our Saeco Vienna Plus for over 10 years now.
We just had some service done recently (boiler gasket was leaking - we found a local Seattle that did a great job for a reasonable price) and hope to get another 10 years out of it.
Easy operation, easy cleaning, great crema on the coffee and, of course, great taste, too!
We always use filtered water, and have never had a scaling problem.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:September 6, 2011

Decent espresso machine for the price

Pros: fast, good espresso, brew group cleans easily, price
Cons: cheap external materials, very loud, no auto-off feature, no spent grounds full indicator
"Flimsy front panel and sloppy switches are more or less made up for with easy operation, good coffee and a great price. Coffee is hot and the machine warms up quickly, both for steam and coffee. It does make some incredibly loud noises and there is no spent grounds container full indicator which can lead to a mess if you forget to empty. Assuming it holds up, not bad for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:McLean, VA
Date:January 12, 2012

Great & Convenient coffee machine

Pros: quick to make coffee, hot water at your fingertip, easy to add water, attractive appearance
Cons: manual adjustment to quantity of coffee required, not intuitive for dial adjustments
"This machine came with improper outer case assembly so I had to exchange for another one. So QA was not impressive. But overall was very pleased with this machine. Fresh grinds for each cup is very convenient and fast too. Except when I want only half a cup I need to manually adjust the amount of coffee grinds so it is proportional."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:September 10, 2011

DOA

Pros: less expensive than some other machines
Cons: should be a whole lot cheaper for this quality
"Device did not work on arrival, apparently due to a faulty sensor. During trouble shooting it was apparent that the device is nearly all made of cheap plastic, and made very poorly. Fit of parts was sloppy and much of machine was flimsy. Not worth the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2011
Pros: good when working
Cons: does not work for long
"Bought it , injoyed it, right up to when it would not grind anymore coffee. phoned in told that it was a common proplem,it would need to be taken in to get fixed. could be a month or more. we have only had it for 3 weeks"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:greensboro NC
Date:September 20, 2011

best buy for the money

Model Number: saeco vienna plus
"brews excellent foamy coffee, easy to install, look forward to get my cup of coffee every morning, and share it with friends. Until now very happy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>