Customer Reviews for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine

The Vienna Plus puts Saeco’s patented removable brew group technology into an easy-to-use interface. You can now make espressos, cappuccinos, lattes, and tea all from one machine that grinds, tamps, and brews gourmet coffee. The pump driven steam and hot water wand has an exclusive Pannarello to make frothing milk simple. The adjustable conical burr grinder creates the perfect grind for gourmet coffee. The OptiDose adjustable doser feature enhances your flexibility to make an ideal cup of coffee. Not only can you change the fineness of the grinds and the amount of water used but also the amount of ground coffee used to make each individual cup from 6 to 9 grams. The easy access front service door simplifies general maintenance and cleaning. Features:   Color: graphite   Push button display with indicator lights   Saeco Aroma System: Pre-brewing cycle to maximize the flavor extraction   Opti-Dose dial adjusts amount of coffee ground into each cup brewed   Built-in conical burr grinder with 18 adjustable grind settings   Adjustable dispensing head to manually adjust for taller coffee mugs or small espresso cups   Pannarello wand for milk frothing and hot water dispensing   Fully removable brew group, for easy and thorough cleaning   57 oz. removable water tank   Water filter compatible (recommended)   Includes 1 packet of Saeco Dezcal™ descaling powder   12 oz. bean hopper   15 puck dreg drawer capacity   Stainless steel boiler   ABS plastic housing   CSA certified   UL listed   Dimensions: 15”W x 14”D x 15.5”H   Weight: 18 lbs.   1-year limited warranty   Made in Italy  
Average Customer Rating:
3.738 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
31 of 42(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Review 21 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2011

I love my Saeco

Pros: makes a perfect cappuccino in no time!
Cons: only one bin for coffee beans
Model Number: Saeco Vienna Plus Expresso Machine
"My husband purchased this machine as a gift so he did all of the research. I use it every day and have had no problems. Quick learning curve, too."
Review 22 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:September 23, 2011

love this machine

Pros: ease in filling water and beans, makes great lattes, have a strong cup of coffee or latte one machine
Cons: can't change to decaf easily, not enough space for large mugs
"i have had two machines. I wish I could combine the best of both. The Vienna is loud but I like its water fill and been hopper filling ease. There is not enough space for a large travel mug to fit under the filling port so I use a smaller cup and pour into the travel size.
I would love it if there were a way to switch from Caf to Decaf.
Overall I like the machine, it makes a great latte and I am pretty picky!
"
Review 23 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 22, 2011

my first espresso machine

Pros: good coffee
Cons: very loud
"I only have this machine for less than 2 weeks. Not even sure what the 18-adjustable settings do yet. It's working well for what I need now. I'll have to read up on the manual to see what else it does.
The manuel is not comprehensive.
The only thing that I would say is that it is a very LOUD machine. nothing quiet about it!
but for the price and the quality of coffee - thumbs up.
"
Review 24 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011

Great coffee at home

"The Vienna plus is our third Saeco machine and very similar to our first which was a Vienna earlier model. Hold on to your receipts, if you use it as much as we do ours, it will be failing in a few years. Still, the quality of the espressos and cappucinos is great, not to mention the advantage of a single fresh brew for every cup. The old coffee pots can't come close for flavor. The steamer foams milk well, probably better than the previous two machines. I recommend the Mayorca coffee for it or our second choice Seattle Mountain Blend."
Review 25 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Camarillo, CA
Date:September 20, 2011

Nice Espresso Machine

"This is my first pump-driven espresso machine. I've always had a steam-driven machine because they are usually a lot less complicated. This machine is easy to use and doesn't require a lot of thought before you've had your first cup of coffee. It seems fairly straightforward; although, some of the directions are a little confusing."
Review 26 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 18, 2011

Works well for me

Pros: super convenient, easy to clean, good brew
Cons: no warming tray, not black, made of cheap plastic ( even the brew group), rather big and tall, small water tank
"I've had this machine for a month, and so far so good. I love how little time and supervision it takes to make my morning cup. The quality of espresso seems good to me ( however, I don't consider myself an espresso expert) with fair amount of crema (foam) that lasts fair amount of time ( about a minute). There are 3 variables you can change on this machine: (1) coarseness of the ground; (2) amount of grounds per shot; (3) amount of water per shot. Out of the box, everything is set in the middle. The medium water amount setting produces about 3-4 oz of brew,which, according to some articles I read on-line, can't be "real" strong espresso. Wasn't to my taste either ( too weak, little crema), so I played a little with all the settings and arrived at 16 grind, lowest water amount, 1 setting higher than medium coffee amount. Press the brew button twice and walk away. In 20 seconds, get 2 separately ground and brewed shots of espresso in one cup. Amidst making breakfast and packing lunches, that's exactly what I want.
2 pieces of advise: (1)buy good beans; no machine can brew good coffee from lousy beans; (2) read the manual- there is a note saying that the machine has been tested in the factory with coffee beans, therefore it may appear to be used; also, the troubleshooting section helped me to get the amount of crema I wanted ( more than what I got with the factory settings).
I have to say that I don't use the frothing wand at all ( have a Capresso free-standing frother- no supervision and so much easier to clean).
Here is why I take a star off: (1)I wish it had a warming tray ( I am yet to figure out a quick and efficient method of warming my cup); (2) I have only had the machine for a month and praying for it to last for at least 6 months ( by then it will have paid for itself); (3) it is neither black nor stainless steel and therefore hard to match other appliances; and (4) looks rather cheaply (plasticky) made, but for the price I paid at Costco, I can easily leave with that. I had a Saeco Via Venezia before ( a manual machine). IMHO, it made better espresso than Vienna Plus and was all black metal outside ( looked great and sturdy), but , on a weekday morning, I will take this machine with it's automatic process over that one any time.
Also,Vienna Plus is rather big and tall (check you counter space), but has a smaller water tank. I think you'd have to refill it after 4-5 drinks. I refill it every morning anyway, because I like to use fresh water.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:McLean, VA
Date:January 12, 2012

Great & Convenient coffee machine

Pros: quick to make coffee, hot water at your fingertip, easy to add water, attractive appearance
Cons: manual adjustment to quantity of coffee required, not intuitive for dial adjustments
"This machine came with improper outer case assembly so I had to exchange for another one. So QA was not impressive. But overall was very pleased with this machine. Fresh grinds for each cup is very convenient and fast too. Except when I want only half a cup I need to manually adjust the amount of coffee grinds so it is proportional."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:August 13, 2011

good deal!

Model Number: Saeco Vienna Plus Espresso Machine
"after 2 years we finally decided on an "expresso" machine.
Pros: good price, good coffee, easy to clean, effective with coffee amounts
Cons: water tank on the small side (4 large cups only), not brewing fast IMO, coffee could be hotter, you can drink the coffee immediately (should not be the case). fine grind seems to be slowing down the brew. all plastic (but what can you expect for the price!). grind and coffee amount dials are in the grinder (annoying if you want to change settings on a regular base)
We drink VERY strong coffee and a lot of it. This machine seems to be able to do this. Got coffee quantity dialed in to max and cup size to 3/4 giving us the right taste (depending on beans). heat up time is good in my opinion.
Overall good machine, let's see if it last as long as another Saeco my mom has in europe (7 years now)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2011

good machine for the money

Pros: easy to use, great tasting coffee, heats really quickly
Cons: water container hard to get to if not freestanding, steam spigot starts with hot water, made for small cups, does not recognize low water level before starting
"This is a great machine if you're looking for an entry level automatic coffee maker and don't expect or want bells and whistles.
We put ours on the kitchen counter where it slid nicely under the cabinets. It's a bit of a hassle to fill the water tank. It would have been more convenient on the side rather than back. It does have a decent grip on it although the lid does not. It really should have that so you don't have to hold it by the edge.
It would have been great if this machine had two coffee bins, one for leaded and one for decaf. A bit much to ask for the price.
Forget making a large mug 'o morning joe with this machine. Even at the largest setting the amount of coffee is pretty low and what's more large mugs don't fit under the spigot. This machine is really made for European coffee and it's great at that. The picture shows two espressos made at the same time, not sure if that's possible. A single espresso is tiny (as it should be) and when you make two like in the picture it'll be just coffee, not espresso.
Super easy to use. Turn it on and you're ready to go a few minutes later. Warm up time is minimal. You'll have a cup of coffee quicker than you'll get from a MrCoffee. Start with a full water reservoir and you can make coffees for guests pretty quickly."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 22, 2011

Great Value

"Only con is that the steamer stopped steaming after a few months. I have had other Saeco's and this steamer issue is a problem with all their models that I have owned. That is a bit off putting and the reason I did not give this 5 stars. But I have had this model for appx. 5 years and it still makes great coffee with a minimum of care. Easy to clean."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:September 6, 2011

Decent espresso machine for the price

Pros: fast, good espresso, brew group cleans easily, price
Cons: cheap external materials, very loud, no auto-off feature, no spent grounds full indicator
"Flimsy front panel and sloppy switches are more or less made up for with easy operation, good coffee and a great price. Coffee is hot and the machine warms up quickly, both for steam and coffee. It does make some incredibly loud noises and there is no spent grounds container full indicator which can lead to a mess if you forget to empty. Assuming it holds up, not bad for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2011

returned within a week

"Product came broken. A piece was broken that did not allow me to brew anything. The internals are all plastic. I wonder about the sturdiness of the unit. Nice thing is costco.com and costco have a wonderful return policy. Although by forewarned take your receipt with you as the 'system' will have it priced much, much lower."
Review 33 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sterling, VA
Date:July 21, 2012

Disappointed With Vienna Plus

Model Number: Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
"I bought the Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine exactly 11 months ago. It just quit working last weekend. It will grind the beans and immediately dump the grounds into the waste bin without ever pumping water through the grounds. I never really was satisfied with the flavor of the coffee it produced even after 11 months of trying various settings and various brands of coffee/espresso beans. It also never gets the coffee piping hot, highly warm is more like it. I do realize that this is not a $1500 espresso machine, but I did expect more from it and for it to last beyond 11 months at the very least given the 1-2 cups per day that I was making."
Review 34 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Date:May 20, 2012

Poor Steam System Quality

"I enjoyed this machine when i first got it. I had upgraded from the manual Starbucks version and liked the automatic features. After 4 months the steam system failed. Apparently, according to CS, it probably blew a gasket. They sent me a return label (that I had to request to get prepaid) and it went to their repair center. A short week later it was back but not repaired. They did other repairs but did not address the original complaint. It wasn't even't noted on the reapir order. I called CS again and they decided to upgrade me to another model (which as not yet arrived). THe problem I had is apparently common with this machine. I would spend a bit more $$ and get a better machine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:September 29, 2011

Saeco Let Down

"Was excited to get this product, generally love Saeco and their technology but, this machine has to be their lowest grade "all in one" machine they have.
Does not know when the water runs out, no advanced sensor, instead it will grind a full portion of coffee and brew you two drops, then show an error (duh, no water) so you fill up the water but don't think you can just hit the brew button, oh no, if you do it will grind and waste a second full portion of coffee. You must prime the pump, since the idiot machine let itself run dry. I have wasted a significant amount of coffee to to this problem.
Also the coffee ground collection system overflows, if I did not have a dyson cordless hand held vacuum I don't even know how I would clean this mess up.
Needles to say this is going back. Nice try Saeco, I consider this design a total failure. I have had a Saeco comfort + and own 2 odea II for my offices. Generally they make an amazing products, wouldn't even pay $100 for this one, in fact you couldn't pay me to keep it. Can virtually guarantee that 6 months from now this model will be gone from Costco's rotation. And Costco ALWAYS rocks!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 7, 2011

DOA

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: defective out-of-the-box
"Unfortunately, the machine we ordered shorted out the first time we tried to use it. It went through the motions of brewing the first cup, but the water did not heat up. We tried to brew a second cup, and we smelled burning plastic and then the machine shut off and wouldn't start again. I love the fact we didn't have to wrestle with the manufacturer over it and were able to immediately return it to Costco and order a different model."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2011
Pros: good when working
Cons: does not work for long
"Bought it , injoyed it, right up to when it would not grind anymore coffee. phoned in told that it was a common proplem,it would need to be taken in to get fixed. could be a month or more. we have only had it for 3 weeks"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2011

Didn't Work

"This machine didn't work when received. The grinder appeared to be broken. It appears the machine wasn't checked out at the factory to ensure everything worked properly. I read the enclosed manual thoroughly to make sure I wasn't missing anything. A call to customer service couldn't help. The representative had no idea why it wouldn't grind coffee beans. I returned the machine to Costco and obtained a refund."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:san diego
Date:July 21, 2012

lemon

Model Number: vienna
"plugged in the machine, turned it on and steam started coming out of the wand with out it being open. went to make a cup of espresso and the hot water was coming out of the steam wand and the valve to the wand was closed, coffee grinds were dry. sending it back!"
Review 40 for Saeco Vienna Plus Automatic Espresso Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:September 7, 2012

just returned it

"After having a more expensive Saeco Machine for several years I bought this one in January. Right away we noticed that it was cheaper made then the other one. Today, after nine month I took it back to Costco because it gave us so many problems, hardly ever working anymore."
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>