Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras

500GB Hard Drive Monitoring on PC, Mac iPhone/iPad, Android Windows Mobile & Blackberry OS
Average Customer Rating:
2.656 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
13
15 of 32(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Review 21 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2011

Q-See = Poor Customer Service

Model Number: Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
"If you are computer savvy and have the time to re-install the hard drive and format it, check their website for update and download firmware update to a USB and hope you have a jump/USB drive handy. NOT TO MENTION ALL THE CABLES ARE 60'"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 19, 2011

Not as good as previous version

Pros: cheap, functions as a dvr
Cons: ipad app is not free, macos veiwing doesn't work, remote doesn't work, terrible user interface
Model Number: QT428
"I have a QC444 4 camera system. I thought I'd get this and and add the old cameras to the new system and make it a single 8 CH system. Well, the interface is terrible, I can't get the remote to work with it at all, the Mac OS integration doesn't work, the iPhone app is terrible and if you want the pro version they charge for it and the seperate iPad version is $9.99. My old Q-see DVR uses a different app which is for both iPhone and iPad, was free and of course is not compatible with this model. Swann has a free app. I think I'm going to return these and try the Swann instead."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2011

Stopped working within an hour

"I had a few problems getting this unit going. At first, I could live-view, but it would not record. I finally looked at the hard drive status and it said "unformatted". Seriously?
I formatted the hard drive and it began recording. This would have been a useful item to include in the instructions, but it wasn't.
After hooking up a couple of cameras, I tested some of the playback options. Then I let it run. After about 30 minutes, I noticed no video on the monitor. Both cameras had stopped working. I tried other cameras and cables and no go.
I am thankful I tested the unit in the house without going through a complete installation. I returned it today for a refund."
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2011

Keep Looking

"If you think this is a system for you I would keep looking. My Q-see system hasn't worked for 30 continuous days in the past year. The hard drive crashed and I sent it back and they installed a new one which also crashed. Their customer service is only avaialbe M-F during the day which makes it difficult to talk to anyone. Download speed over the internet is extremely slow, they blamed my connection but this is the only device with issues. Stay away from this product."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:November 27, 2011
Cons: does not work
Model Number: QT428
"DOA out of the box. Tech support does not answer the phone during business hours."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2011

Very poor quality

Cons: very poor quality
Model Number: QT428 dvr & CCD 480 TVL camera's
"Packaging was excellent and order was received in very short time. When first connecting system up to check it out and get familiar with the unit there was a lot of troubles. Out of the four 60 foot camera cables two were bad. The first one being bad caused a lot of extra time trying to make it work since there was no video to see. Both bad cables were bad at the BNC connector on the dvr end. The remote to control the dvr did not work and trying new batteries had no effect. Never got the remote to work. The dvr unit hung/locked up and it could not be controlled or even shut down. The power cord finally had to be pulled to reset the unit. This unit is being returned to Costco."
Review 27 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 28, 2011
"If you need technical help there is a very long wait to get someone on the phone and their knowledge is liminted. Also if you need repairs on your equipment that is over a year old, forget about it. They will not give you a RMA# to return it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:December 26, 2011

Good Hardware, Bad Software

"After HUNDREDS of hours on the phone with both Q-See and Comcast ISP, I gave up trying to view cameras online. I am very technical (in the IT field) and have written Internet applications. This just would not work."
Review 29 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2011

No customer Service

Pros: no pros
Cons: worthless
Model Number: QT428
"The DVR menu doesn't work, so I have no control over it. The remote control does not work (I tried my own batteries as well as those supplied).
Customer service is non existant!!
Don't buy this item."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

does not work on a Mac

Pros: hardware is good
Cons: software non-existant, does not work with mac lionion, q-see website does not even mention lion conflict
Model Number: QT-428
"all the technology seems to work well. problem is that you have to cob together, from essentially no customer support, about 15 workarounds so you can get minor functionality with a Lion version of OSX.
after three days i was able to get it to work on my iPhone (sorta) with multiple trips to the headache pills. the iPhone app still does not work on anything other that a wi-fi that i can only use at home.
when i'm on the road it is non functional and it also does not work on my iMac as the Mac software is only Snow Leopard compatible.
fact is most Mac users upgrade their OS as soon as the latest comes out.
this should not be advertised as "Mac Compatible""
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:portland, OR
Date:December 5, 2011

Don't buy until I get update on focus issue

Model Number: QT428
"The software is much improved. I liked it. The problem is in the cameras. The focus is bad. Try holding it in front of the monitor. One can barely make out the letters. I have installed two Q-see systems before. I am replacing the first system since the cameras start to go bad after two years. not bad for coastal area. I tried to install the new system. I installed one camera and saw bad focus compared with the cameras I installed two years ago. At night, there is white halo due to light bouncing back from the dirty lens cover.. I tired other cameras at home and same focus issue. I tried to look at the lens at an angle and saw chemical film. I called support. They want to leave a phone number. I sent an email. Hoping to get replacements. If no answer, it goes back to Costco. I'll update if I hear anything. ."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Q-See 8-Channel Security DVR 4 CCD 480 TVL Cameras
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013

Great price, but you pay for what you get

Pros: great price through costco
Cons: dissapointing image, irritating camera clicks on/off, unreliable you will need fix it support
Model Number: dont recall
"OK, I have had a Q see product for 2 yrs, so this review is a general one and not necessarily applies to this product but to the brand in general. Installation pretty easy but it’s not if you have little to no technical knowhow.
The image is not at all impressive. It’s just like those poor images you see from a 711 store flashed across your TV screen asking if you recognize this wanted person. In fact over the last yr, numerous cameras have either lost their color and just become black and white or it gets stuck on a setting turning it dark black. And yes I have reset the camera according to the instructions and it didn’t fix it. What's most irritating, is that it makes an audible click on and off continuously when it switches back and forth from daytime to night vision and this continues on all cameras depending on the lighting conditions in that particular area.
Now, their support may have changed but when I called support in Feb. I was on hold for ever. Eventually got a response and and email…telling me if the reset doesn’t work to do the following…. ‘If that does not reset the camera you can try to power the camera with a larger power supply’ I have no idea what that means? Do you?
All in all great price but don’t have any high expectations.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2