Customer Reviews for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System

Contrast Ratio: 3000:1 Full HD 1080P 3x HDMI Imputs
Average Customer Rating:
3.794 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
25 of 34(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Review 1 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ZONA
Date:April 12, 2012

Good Value Great Sound

Pros: wired headphones work.
Cons: sony wireless headphones can't cut off tv speakers
"We have the 55" Element model in the living room and love the sound as it requires no additional speakers, so we got the 40" for the (large) master bedroom. With no cable box the picture is much better with an HDTV antennae because you can really see the difference between standard and 480p-1080p over the air signals."
Review 2 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Haven CT
Date:March 29, 2012

Good Set For The Money

Pros: good set for the money
Cons: mediocre, poorly written manual
Model Number: ELEFC401
"Picture quality is very good but the sound is disappointing given that it has JBL speakers."
Review 3 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:March 23, 2012

Disappointed

Model Number: ELEFC401
"Poor picture quality. My OLD tv had a sharper picture. Installed by a professional."
Review 4 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:March 22, 2012

Excellent Quality For the Price

Pros: price, quality, easy set up, features, sound, quite, warranty
Model Number: ELEFC321
"I recieved the 32" which it seems is no longer avaible on here. I got it for the bedroom and it is an excellent TV for the price we paid and has all the features and then some that our VIZIO doesn't. There are so many inhancements you can add or take away,one could very easily get lost. It even has surround sound! The instructions are clear and easy to understand.I had it set up in less than 30 minutes.Great picture,Awesome sound,very well made.And the best part is that it cost almost half of what the Vizio cost in the same size and everything."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Coast, Fl
Date:March 19, 2012

very good product

Pros: great audio and picture
Cons: no cons so far
Model Number: ELEFC401
"It is true when they say like no other flat screen tv. I have another brand and the audio on it is very tinny,hollow ,I guess that is the best way to explain it. But any way the JBL system and picture in this tv are excellent."
Review 6 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MT
Date:March 12, 2012

No surprises

Pros: good value, extended warrenty option for 29.00
Model Number: element 40 inch
"I choose this for the sound and it is wonderful. Waited to review 3 plus months.
The "Phantom of the Opera" was on and the music was amazing. Excellent graphics-we are on direct tv and maybe that helps but the tv is 5 stars all around.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SE NC
Date:March 11, 2012

Good Deal

Pros: sound-picture, look
Cons: placement of cable jack
Model Number: ELEFC401
"Purchased the 40 inch with the extended warranty and a mount after much thought after reading the mixed reviews. To date, I have been please with the purchase. The sound is great and the picture is just fine. I have yet to hook it up to a HD cable box, but it can only improve the picture. The only complaint I have is the remote feels cheap and the placement of the cable jack makes it difficult attach."
Review 8 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2012

Best Purchase At A Great Price!!!!

Model Number: Element 40 LED HDTV.
"Best picture and sound ever. Easy set up. Fast and speedy delivery. No need to hook stereo system to unit. JBL sound system is the best. Able to set with universal remote for cable system. A great buy at a great price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:February 22, 2012

Good picture, great sound

Pros: the sound quality
"Bought this to replace an old Dell LCD TV. The Element was easy to setup and mount on the wall. The sound is superior to other TV's. I customized the sound to reduce the bass and increase the treble. No need to buy a sound bar.
The picture is equivalent to other similarly priced TV's.
I use Comcast Cable.
The Element is a lot lighter than the 2000-era Dell."
Review 10 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Date:February 13, 2012

picture quality

"picture was not too clear, but not a bad deal for the price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2012

A good buy!

"This is a great TV for the price. The picture is good and the sound is excellent! No extra's to buy with this TV.
So far so good !
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA Gold Country
Date:January 25, 2012

Very Bad Decision

Model Number: Element 40"
"Got this tv yesterday, taking it back today. Picture is very blurry and not clear and sharp. I guess the old addage of you get what you pay for holds true here."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Temple Hills, MD
Date:January 24, 2012

First Flat Screen

"Disappointed with the picture, still trying to adjust to get the best visual images. Nice added surruound sound."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:January 22, 2012

Not a good picture whatsoever!

Pros: sound
Cons: everything else!
"The purpose of purchasing this television was for use in my master bedroom. I didn't require the best picture available, but needed a decent size due to the location of the TV vs the viewing area. The Element seemed to fit those requirements and was within my budget. Also, the previous reviews spoke well of the television.
After giving it a month's try, In my opinion, the picture was terrible and I returned it to Costco and bought a 42" VIZIO LED/LCD for $50 more! It is marvelous. For example, the contrast ratio on the Element is 3000:1….on the VIZIO it is 100,000:1….clearly a hugh difference in number and a larger difference in quality! Indeed, the VIZIO does not have JBL speakers, but I'd rather hook up some computer speakers rather than have such an awful picture! Even an employee at Costco wondered why they would sell such a "poor quality product like the Element."
I understand the convenience of having something delivered right to your door, but in this case, it may be worth it to go to Costco and talk to a technician and see the difference (actually, the store doesn't even carry Element…probably because "side by side" comparisons to other televisions on display would guarantee they wouldn't sell).
BTW - I loathe complainers, but as a consumer, I really rely on honest ratings/feedback from others. Therefore, I hope this helps somebody from making a $500 mistake like I did."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Solvang,CA.
Date:January 22, 2012

good buy

Pros: easy return
Cons: hard to read remote
Model Number: 40" Element tv
"I was a little skeptical before order,sight unseen, but am overall happy with purchase,good HD picture and great sound easy setup, good price"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Homer, Alaska
Date:January 21, 2012

Ummmmmm

Model Number: ELEFC401
"Nice looking TV but didn't work when I turn it on. Got a blue screen and that was it.Called manufacture and ran through the hoops to get it going ,then was inform I had to have a cable box or antenna for signal to make it work.tried em both but still no luck.Called Costco and they said I should have a menu screen come on but still nothing. I bought this TV for the price and the JBL speakers but didn't see or hear how the system worked. I order it over the Internet -free shipping, now I have to return it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:January 17, 2012

Good after receiving 2nd one

"The first one we received appeared to have been previously used---dusty base, the cable hook up was loose and flopping around. Returned it and got another one and it seems to be fine ! The speakers are very good sounding!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:January 8, 2012

Not a great TV

Pros: sound
Cons: reliability
"Bought it 0n 12/23/11 and returned it on 1/8/12. Picture quality is what you get for the money you paid but sound is better than a lot of other TVs. Decision to return came on 12th day when there was no sound at all. It came back when I switched it OFF and then ON again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cerritos, Ca
Date:January 5, 2012

A Great Deal Purchase

Pros: good picture and sound
Cons: no time on the screen
Model Number: Element 40" class 1080p Edge Lit LED
"My gabble on this new product is very satisfactory along with the price tag. The picture is good, but not as sharp as the Samsung, however, clear enough. The sound is fantastic and very clear. I will not hesitate to recommend to a friend."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 4, 2012

Great TV, Great Sound, EXCELLENT PRICE!!!

Pros: good picture quality, good sound quality
Cons: limited component connections
"This is a GREAT TV with good sound. I have several other 40+ size HDTV's (Phillips & Samsung) that were MUCH more expensive and then I had to buy additional sound systems to go with them and then I have all these extra remotes! The ELEMENT has EXCELLENT picture quality, refresh rate, and the SOUND IS GREAT! I hate all the extra wires and speakers all over the room for the other TV's. This is a CLEAN set up and sounds great. If you want the full BOOM of surround sound then you will need the extra speakers and base, but if you just want to watch and enjoy your movies and TV programs at regular sound levels this is a GREAT TV AND it looks great! I love it! ohhhh, and it was easy to program with my direct TV remote (extra bonus, only need one remote control!!)"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>