Customer Reviews for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System

Contrast Ratio: 3000:1 Full HD 1080P 3x HDMI Imputs
Average Customer Rating:
3.794 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
25 of 34(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Review 1 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:January 22, 2012

Not a good picture whatsoever!

Pros: sound
Cons: everything else!
"The purpose of purchasing this television was for use in my master bedroom. I didn't require the best picture available, but needed a decent size due to the location of the TV vs the viewing area. The Element seemed to fit those requirements and was within my budget. Also, the previous reviews spoke well of the television.
After giving it a month's try, In my opinion, the picture was terrible and I returned it to Costco and bought a 42" VIZIO LED/LCD for $50 more! It is marvelous. For example, the contrast ratio on the Element is 3000:1….on the VIZIO it is 100,000:1….clearly a hugh difference in number and a larger difference in quality! Indeed, the VIZIO does not have JBL speakers, but I'd rather hook up some computer speakers rather than have such an awful picture! Even an employee at Costco wondered why they would sell such a "poor quality product like the Element."
I understand the convenience of having something delivered right to your door, but in this case, it may be worth it to go to Costco and talk to a technician and see the difference (actually, the store doesn't even carry Element…probably because "side by side" comparisons to other televisions on display would guarantee they wouldn't sell).
BTW - I loathe complainers, but as a consumer, I really rely on honest ratings/feedback from others. Therefore, I hope this helps somebody from making a $500 mistake like I did."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern, Ca.
Date:December 1, 2011

Great TV - Great Price

"Replaced a five year old 32" LCD with this TV. I can say I am totally satisfied with the performance of the Element 40". The picture is so much richer and while some are complaining about washed out colors I find I am seeing colors that pop and great contrast. I have 8 TV's (some LED and some LCD) and the picture on this is right up there with the best I have. As far as sound goes: Man, this thing is amplified; almost too much. At one point, I had to have it at its lowest level (1) so not to wake my wife.
I use DIRECTV and the code supplied didn't work. I called them and they had me go into a "scan" mode. This worked perfectly. How to scan remote codes is as follows:
How to scan for TV codes on your DIRECTV remote
Make sure your TV is turned on.
Slide the mode switch at top of remote to "TV".
Press and hold the MUTE button. This is located above the number 1 button.
While still holding down MUTE, press and hold the SELECT button until green light at the top of the remote flashes twice.
Then enter 9911, the green light on remote should flash twice.
Point remote at TV and press CHANNEL UP button. Tap the CHANNEL UP button repeatedly until the TV powers off.
When the TV powers off, press and release the SELECT button.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 4, 2012

Great TV, Great Sound, EXCELLENT PRICE!!!

Pros: good picture quality, good sound quality
Cons: limited component connections
"This is a GREAT TV with good sound. I have several other 40+ size HDTV's (Phillips & Samsung) that were MUCH more expensive and then I had to buy additional sound systems to go with them and then I have all these extra remotes! The ELEMENT has EXCELLENT picture quality, refresh rate, and the SOUND IS GREAT! I hate all the extra wires and speakers all over the room for the other TV's. This is a CLEAN set up and sounds great. If you want the full BOOM of surround sound then you will need the extra speakers and base, but if you just want to watch and enjoy your movies and TV programs at regular sound levels this is a GREAT TV AND it looks great! I love it! ohhhh, and it was easy to program with my direct TV remote (extra bonus, only need one remote control!!)"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:November 21, 2011

Aw yeah!!

Pros: sound, size, price
"I didn't really want to have to buy a sound system, so I went for a little higher price and a tv that bragged about the sound. Well, I was not let down!! I can't believe the sound from this thing. I love the picture. I love that I can hook it up to my laptop. Course, now I have to buy a new DVD player because the one I have is so old I have to hook up with component hookups. I want HDMI!! I know the picture will be even better. Oh, and I love being able to watch video from the internet on the tv. I also knew that if I didn't like the tv I could easily return it to my local costco easy peasy. Look no further! Read no more reviews!! Just buy this one!"
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 29, 2011

Element 40" LED HD TV review

"I actually purchased this TV before there were any reviews. I took a chance since I knew I could return it if I did not like it.The TV was shipped very fast!!! However when I hooked it up, I was not happy with the picture. The colors were pail and the picture was fuzzy. Even connected to an HD cable box with HDMI cable. I tried adjusting the picture with the menus but never got it to look good. The sound was OK. Not great IMHO. I thought that maybe I received a bad product, but now I see some other reviews with similar comments. Usually I am quite happy with Costco products. This was not one of them."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:March 22, 2012

Excellent Quality For the Price

Pros: price, quality, easy set up, features, sound, quite, warranty
Model Number: ELEFC321
"I recieved the 32" which it seems is no longer avaible on here. I got it for the bedroom and it is an excellent TV for the price we paid and has all the features and then some that our VIZIO doesn't. There are so many inhancements you can add or take away,one could very easily get lost. It even has surround sound! The instructions are clear and easy to understand.I had it set up in less than 30 minutes.Great picture,Awesome sound,very well made.And the best part is that it cost almost half of what the Vizio cost in the same size and everything."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:November 26, 2011

Exactly what I hoped for

"My last tv had some sound issues where I would have to crank the volume up really high for some channels. This TV promised good sound and it delivers. I rarely crank it past 20/100 on the sound level and it's already plenty loud.
The picture is also great - I'm only using component and not HDMI so it probably could be even better.
Only downside I've seen is that my AT&T U-verse remote won't connect with any of the Element codes so I have to use 2 remotes. So glad I don't have to change the sound very often."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Homer, Alaska
Date:January 21, 2012

Ummmmmm

Model Number: ELEFC401
"Nice looking TV but didn't work when I turn it on. Got a blue screen and that was it.Called manufacture and ran through the hoops to get it going ,then was inform I had to have a cable box or antenna for signal to make it work.tried em both but still no luck.Called Costco and they said I should have a menu screen come on but still nothing. I bought this TV for the price and the JBL speakers but didn't see or hear how the system worked. I order it over the Internet -free shipping, now I have to return it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SE NC
Date:March 11, 2012

Good Deal

Pros: sound-picture, look
Cons: placement of cable jack
Model Number: ELEFC401
"Purchased the 40 inch with the extended warranty and a mount after much thought after reading the mixed reviews. To date, I have been please with the purchase. The sound is great and the picture is just fine. I have yet to hook it up to a HD cable box, but it can only improve the picture. The only complaint I have is the remote feels cheap and the placement of the cable jack makes it difficult attach."
Review 10 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:December 2, 2011

No problems so far

Model Number: ELEFC401
"Picture quality is great; sound is good. One comment I have is that the dimensions listed in the ad are incorrect. I purchased this TV to fit inside an entertainment center and barely had 1/4" to spare in width. Probably would not have ordered it had I know the correct dimensions. The remote could be a little larger; buttons are difficult to read. However, overall very happy with the purchase so far."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:February 22, 2012

Good picture, great sound

Pros: the sound quality
"Bought this to replace an old Dell LCD TV. The Element was easy to setup and mount on the wall. The sound is superior to other TV's. I customized the sound to reduce the bass and increase the treble. No need to buy a sound bar.
The picture is equivalent to other similarly priced TV's.
I use Comcast Cable.
The Element is a lot lighter than the 2000-era Dell."
Review 12 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:St Louis area
Date:December 12, 2011

A mistake

Pros: built-in jbl sound system
Cons: picture quality
"Picture quality/clarity of this TV is substandard. The JBL sound system, however, is great! I had purchased a Toshiba 40" LCD HDTV from my local warehouse (where I am also employed). The Toshiba's picture is fantastic which made the Element's picture look bad. I have since returned it (the Element TV). I wish my Toshiba had the Element's JBL sound system."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:ZONA
Date:April 12, 2012

Good Value Great Sound

Pros: wired headphones work.
Cons: sony wireless headphones can't cut off tv speakers
"We have the 55" Element model in the living room and love the sound as it requires no additional speakers, so we got the 40" for the (large) master bedroom. With no cable box the picture is much better with an HDTV antennae because you can really see the difference between standard and 480p-1080p over the air signals."
Review 14 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

So-So

"I purchased the 40" Element, in part, because of the reviews of the sound system. I thought the sound system was at best average. Certainly nothing to rave about. Picture also was OK. Colors were a bit washed out looking. I returned it and got a different TV for the same price which I thought was clearly superior."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgia, USA
Date:December 3, 2011

Great sound and picture

Pros: grea picture, great sound, jbl sound system
Cons: never heard of element
"Very happy with this TV. clear picture, especially in HD, love the sound. I managed to sqeeze this TV in my entertainment center, perfect size. Very happy with the purchase even though I hadn't heard ot the brand, the JBL sound system led me to correctly believe this would be a good product."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:January 8, 2012

Not a great TV

Pros: sound
Cons: reliability
"Bought it 0n 12/23/11 and returned it on 1/8/12. Picture quality is what you get for the money you paid but sound is better than a lot of other TVs. Decision to return came on 12th day when there was no sound at all. It came back when I switched it OFF and then ON again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bloomington, MN
Date:November 18, 2011

Great Buy

Pros: sound picture and value
Model Number: Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV
"I am very impressed with my new 40 inch Element flatscreen TV. The sound, picture and value make it an amazing deal.
I paid twice as much for my last TV and this one is twice as good.
I was going to hook up surround sound but I don't need it.
"
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cerritos, Ca
Date:January 5, 2012

A Great Deal Purchase

Pros: good picture and sound
Cons: no time on the screen
Model Number: Element 40" class 1080p Edge Lit LED
"My gabble on this new product is very satisfactory along with the price tag. The picture is good, but not as sharp as the Samsung, however, clear enough. The sound is fantastic and very clear. I will not hesitate to recommend to a friend."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MT
Date:March 12, 2012

No surprises

Pros: good value, extended warrenty option for 29.00
Model Number: element 40 inch
"I choose this for the sound and it is wonderful. Waited to review 3 plus months.
The "Phantom of the Opera" was on and the music was amazing. Excellent graphics-we are on direct tv and maybe that helps but the tv is 5 stars all around.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Element 40” Class 1080p Edge Lit LED HDTV Featuring Built In JBL® 2.1 Sound System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palm Coast, Fl
Date:March 19, 2012

very good product

Pros: great audio and picture
Cons: no cons so far
Model Number: ELEFC401
"It is true when they say like no other flat screen tv. I have another brand and the audio on it is very tinny,hollow ,I guess that is the best way to explain it. But any way the JBL system and picture in this tv are excellent."
1 2 next>>