Customer Reviews for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine

Featuring a wide array of professional features in a lightweight, easy-to-use package, the XR6060 is a computerized sewing machine featuring 60 unique built-in stitches, including 5 styles of one-step auto-size buttonholes. Sew with style as you take advantage of the LCD display stitch selection screen and the super bright LED-lit work area. Effortlessly thread your machine with the Automatic Needle Threading System and begin sewing almost immediately utilizing the Quick Set™ Drop-in Top Bobbin setting system. The XR6060 will give you many years of quality service whether you are doing basic mending, garment construction or even heirloom sewing. Become the fashionista you always dreamed of! Includes:   Instructional Manual   Quick Reference Guide   Z Foot   Zipper Foot   Clear Foot   Overcasting Stitch Foot   Blind Stitch Foot   Button Sewing Foot   Bobbin   Needle Set   Seam Riper   Cleaning Brush   Spool Pressers – 2pcs   Extra Spool Pin   Disc-shaped Screwdriver   Foot Controller   Accessory Bag Features:   60 built-in utility, decorative and heirloom stitches, each with multiple stitch functions   5 styles of 1-step auto-size buttonholes   LCD screen with computerized stitch selection   Super-wide (7mm) zigzag and decorative stitches   Automatic needle threading   Built-in thread cutter   One-step bobbin replacement with quick set drop-in bobbin   Variable needle position   Built-in accessory storage   Electronic foot control   Drop feed for free motion quilting. Create free-form or traditional quilt patterns   Sew fleece, elastic and other stretchy fabrics with the built-in stretch stitches   Use the built-in decorative stitches to embellish clothing, pillows, towels and more. Perfect for creating crazy quilt designs   Create delicate family treasures using the built-in heirloom stitches   Embellish or join quilt blocks with the built-in quilting stitches   "Super Bright" LED illuminated sewing area   Free arm/flatbed convertible sewing surface   Accessories for zipper insertion, darning, twin-needle stitching and button sewing   Quick change presser feet   Stitch width and length control   Adjustable thread tension control   Safety power and light switch   Lightweight with built-in handle for portability   Instruction booklet in English and Spanish   UL/CSA listed   Dimensions: 19.5" L x 10.7" W x 15.9" H   Weight: 12.4 lbs. Warranty: Parts/labor: 1 year Printed circuit boards: 2 years Product casting: 25 years For product related questions please contact Brother Sewing toll free at 1-800-284-4357. Model: XR6060
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
(out of 24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
19 of 24(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 3, 2013

Great Affordable Machine

Pros: easy to use, lightweigh, compact
"Most of my friends have Brother sewing machines which is why I chose this machine over a Singer. It is very robust and easy to use."
Review 2 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque NM
Date:November 17, 2012

poor quality

Pros: light weight
Cons: not good for thicker cloth., under thread is problematic.
Model Number: Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
"Under thread is totally messed up. I have checked other reviews and found that many people have experienced same trouble with this machine. I returned it to CostCo.
Thank you for CostCo's return policy.
I hope you offer sewing machine by "Janome"
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2012

Disappointed

Cons: cheaply made
Model Number: XR6060
"Cannot work on thick or multiple layers of cloth. Jammed then wouldn't work."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:July 27, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: several stitch functions to choose from
Cons: easily malfunctions, no self-troubleshooting on this one!
"I bought this after my other "beginner's" sewing machine "timing" had to be fixed. I took it to Brother authorized repair center but they wanted to charge me almost same price for a new one so decided to just buy a new machine. This model worked fine only for an hour then the timing was off again. It seems it is a common problem for Brother machines when I went online to research how to troubleshoot. Taking this one back and getting the Singer. Thank goodness I purchased from Costco this time so I can just return easily and exchange for another brand!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Monterey, CA
Date:July 8, 2012

Does the job. Threading is a pain.

Pros: does the sawing job fine, good pedal
Cons: awkward threading (take-up), thread guide, feels cheap
Model Number: Brother® XR6060
"The machine does the sawing job fine. Stitches come out the way they should. Fairly easy to operate once threaded.
Threading is a bit difficult. Never figured out how to use the thread guide even though I am not a novice and had a Kenmore machine with the very intuitive guide. Illustrations are helpful for the most part except for needle threading. Also looks and feels on the cheap side.
I think will pay a $100 more and get a nicer Kenmore again. It's like with the car, you've got to upgrade or you will never be satisfied. Will be returning.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:July 5, 2012

Great Machine

Model Number: XR6060
"I am a beginner in sewing and i was able to figure out how to start using this machine. It is very simple to learn and use. It is also very light, making it easy to carry from one place to another. I can sit at the kitchen counter top and move it over to the living room in front of the tv whenever i feel.
It comes with a 25-year warranty. It's great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2012

good purchase

"speedy delivery - as usual with Costco! Nice machine and easy to use"
Review 8 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:June 24, 2012

Wonderful machine!

Model Number: XR6060
"I bought this machine to replace a Singer that I bought from Costco a year ago. I was very dissatisfied with the Singer and was hoping this machine would at least be somewhat better. I have had it now for a few months and have not had one bit of trouble with it. I love the top-loading bobbin...it is so simple to use. I also love the stitch options and the different settings so that I can really customize whatever I am making! The machine is quiet, lightweight, and very user-friendly. I highty recommend it!"
Review 9 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victorville, Ca
Date:June 19, 2012

Very dissatisfied.

Pros: lightweight
Cons: stops working after short period of time
Model Number: XR6060
"I've had 2 Brother machines both worked fine at first. The first macine worked for 3 months before it made holes on the plastic bobbin case which would not allow it to sew smoothly but knotted the thread on the bottom of the fabric, my second which was the brother XR6060 I was happy at first, I used it four times then it wouldn't sew but only make holes in the fabric, troubleshooting didn't help."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, Ma
Date:June 4, 2012

Great Machine

"I love it because it's very simple. I would recommended to others learner."
Review 11 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2012

Brother sewing machine

"The sewing machine performs really well and does every thing it is advertised to do. We received it well within the time promised and are very happy with our purchase. We strongly recommend Costco as a means of online purchasing."
Review 12 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 10, 2012

great purchase thus far

Pros: easy to use
"This machine is easy to use and quite nice. Definitely don't try to convince yourself you can use it on your own if you have never sewed. Take a class or two and let someone teach you how to use it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:May 9, 2012

Great purchase!

Model Number: Brother® XR6060
"I love the machine. I wanted to have some very nice drapes made into a shower curtain. I took them to a seamstress who wanted $100/seam. I bought the machine for a little over that and made my curtain in two days and I didn't even know how to sew. Everything was well designed, easy. great instructions."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:May 8, 2012

Great Sewing Machine

Model Number: XR6060
"I am really enjoying my new Brother Sewing Machine. It's the best one I've ever had. It sews beautifully and it's easy to run."
Review 15 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MAUI, HAWAII
Date:May 8, 2012

Best Purchase Ever

Cons: none
Model Number: XR6060
"At such an incredible price, I purchased this sewing machine while on a 5 month away from home stay on Maui. I needed a sewing machine so I could join a local group who does crazy quilting.
I must say,"it is the easiest machine to learn and does everything my "Phaff" does at home. Runs smooth, easy to follow directions and light to carry. Love it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Florida
Date:April 2, 2012

A Great Buy

Pros: easy to set up, user friendly
"I bought this for simple sewing, torn seams, clothing tears, making simple items, and this machine is perfect for such things. I haven't tried anything more complex, but the way it performs on the tasks I've given it, I think it's capable of much, much more. You can't beat the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2012

computerized sewing machine

Model Number: XR6060
"this is my very first sewing machine. I was very ecxited about it and now that I got it couldn't be anymore happier. It's everything that i was hoping to be. It's a very good quality"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix az
Date:March 28, 2012

Easy to use

Model Number: XR6060
"I had bought many over the years but either it's hard to use or It doesn't work the way it should. This one has very easy instution. Great for begginers."
Review 19 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:rio rancho, nm
Date:March 20, 2012

love it!

Model Number: xr6060
"I just love this machine. It is so easy and works like a breeze. I actually ordered one for my sister in law also!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® XR6060 Computerized Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Medford, OR
Date:March 12, 2012

Good Digital Sewing Machine for the Price

Pros: lots of stiches
Cons: black button feature isn't good.
Model Number: Brother Model XR6060
"I have been enjoying this machine. The one feature that isn't good is the zigzag foot "J" black button that is used for sewing thick material. I used it once and then tried to use it again and it wouldn't work. Brother will replace it after you send it in and they determine if it is defective."
1 2 next>>