Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. For as little as the cost of one visit from a professional carpet cleaning service, you can have the power of a professional-grade Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 at your fingertips—whenever you need it! With the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3, you'll get the advantage of powerful 1-pass cleaning. Where other machines take 4 or more passes, the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 takes just one pass and still cleans more effectively! Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 comes completely assembled and includes a full upholstery kit featuring the Universal Hand Tool. Included: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Machine Upholstery and stair tool 1 96 oz. of Oxy-Steam Carpet Cleaner solution 1 24 oz. Urine Eliminator solution Specifications: Weight:  39 lbs. Fill Coverage:  136 sq. ft. Dimensions (handle folded for storage) 25.75 "H x 11.5" W x 22" D Adjustable Handle Height:   32.5" - 37.5" Brush Width: 10" Brush Type:  Vibrating Vacuum Path Width: 10.8" Solution Pump:  Single pump and jets Pump Pressure: 3 psi Solution Tank Capacity: 3 gal Recovery Tank Capacity: 3.9 gal Vacuum Motor: 1.9 hp Water Lift: 99" Electrical Requirement: 120 volt Universal Hand Tool Hose Length: 12 ft. The Rug Doctor Advantage: Upholstery Kit The Rug Doctor comes with a complete Upholstery Kit featuring the Universal Hand Tool. Powerful suction equal to the machine's normal intake makes cleaning quick and easy. The 12' hose attachment also lets you clean stairs, tight spaces, cars, boats and RVs. Large Capacity More than twice the capacity of many machines, the Mighty Pro X3 has a 3 gallon solution tank and 3.9 gallon recovery. That means less refilling and emptying. Durable Construction Every Rug Doctor is manufactured with heavy-gauge, impact-resistant, virtually indestructible material to assure a lifetime of use. Exclusive Vibrating Brush Unlike any other brand, the Rug Doctor uses a vibrating brush with back and forth motion to thoroughly clean each fiber as it lifts and fluffs the nap leaving a soft, clean, refreshed look to your carpet. Bigger, Stronger Vacuum Motor At 1.9 hp, the Rug Doctor motor has the power to pull out even deeply embedded dirt. More vacuum power means less moisture in your carpets when finished. Carpets dry quicker. The Carpet and Rug Institute Seal of Approval The Rug Doctor Mighty Pro is the only extractor for the consumer market that is approved for superior cleaning by the Carpet and Rug Institute (CRI). The CRI Seal of Approval program identifies effective carpet cleaning solutions and equipment that clean carpet right the first time and protects a facility's carpet investment. Model: 9602
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
(out of 37 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
3
26 of 37(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Review 1 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern CA
Date:January 31, 2014

dissapointed. Did not pull up water efficiently, l

"I liked the fact that I could lift it myself, the name brand was familiar, and was compact. Unfortunately, after two uses, the vacuum pump did not consistantly pick up the water enough. Heavy duty rental units are better."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:January 17, 2014

Outstanding

Pros: convenient and very effective
Cons: none
"We used to have a Bissell that stopped working. This was a huge upgrade. We couldn't be happier. Also, you don't have to worry what the last renter used it for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:January 14, 2014

Excellent for older folks

Pros: you can clean on your schedule not the rental
"We decided to buy this because we rent them often and find them very good. The one we got is just as good as the rental units. Maybe it's made with more plastic parts, but it doesn't matter to us as we don't plan on using it 350 days per year. More important for us was that we can take our time to clean the carpet and furniture. We don't have to have a marathon 24 hour session of pickup, work, and return. We can do one room a day or a week. Much easier on us. Since we work together, one holding the cord and assisting with filling the fluid, it goes a lot faster, too. We have bought and used a bunch of these carpet cleaners over the years. Rug Doctor is the only one that does a fine job, even on stains that we thought would never come up, but they did. This version is even easier to use that the rentals. Somebody said in one review that theirs tips over. We don't see how that happens. It has never happened to us. You need to make sure you can store it as it is quite large. Highly recommended."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Visalia, CA
Date:November 30, 2013

No More Rental

Pros: quickly finishes the job, chemicals are very effective against stains, hand tools very effective on stairs and upholstery, great price, very sturdy construction material (not brittle)
Cons: the handle reach is short, the water reservoir is only 2.5 gallons
"I have been waiting to purchase a Rug Doctor and finally there was one I could afford. I have owned three Bissell's and they have all broke down and have been very frustrated. Now that I purchased the Rug Doctor I will never have to rent one and they are way more reliable than Bissell."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:November 27, 2013

Heavy, awkward, and not effective

Cons: heavy, difficult to fill/empty reservior
"I had high expectations for this cleaner. The first thing I noticed was how heavy it is. The tank is easy enough to fill, but you need to use a container to fill it, otherwise it's awkward to carry the reservoir. I had a very large room to clean, and the unit needed to be filled/emptied 3 times! It was not very effective against stains, nor was it easier to maneuver during use. Cleanup was not easy as the whole unit needs to be turned up-side-down (it's heavy!). I immediately returned the Rug Doctor and purchased the Bissell Pet and have been extremely happy (and have completed 3 more rooms since). If you like the Rug Doctor Rental unit - stick with that, or buy something else. This one doesn't stand up to the reputation of the rental model"
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:November 25, 2013

Did not live up to the hype

Pros: quality build, simple return policy with costco!, long power cord
Cons: does not do the job as well as even my old bissell, more expensive for just average peformance, not the easiest to manuever, cleaning process is slow, uses a lot of water and soap, no option to rinse with just water
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3
"Did not work as well as the old Bissell that this Rug Doctor replaced. It is not the easiest to use, although still not difficult. The Rug Doctor took longer to clean but just did not get out fresh pet stains completely. Returned this unit and replaced with a new Bissell which did the job extremely well and at half the price...wow. Disappointed that the Rug Doctor could not do the job well, even after multiple attempts. The new Bissell that now replaces the Rug Doctor was so much more efficient, quieter, quicker, easier and it did a much, much better job."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 21, 2013

Great Cleaner!

Pros: simple to use., cleans carper and apholstry very well.
Cons: none at this time.
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3
"For many years I have owned various models of the Bissel brand carpet cleaners. As many other people have mentioned, my experience with the Bissel machines is that they last a year or two and then they stop working. I really like the fact that this Rug Doctor machine keeps it simple. There are not a lot of fancy accessories that come with it but in my mind that is a major plus. Less parts = less things that can break down.
This Rug Doctor does a great job. I was using a Bissel machine and it broke down while I was right in the middle of cleaning my carpet. I ran to Costco and bought the Rug Doctor and was back to cleaning my carpet in no time. I ended up re-cleaned the areas that I had just used the Bissel machine on and I could not believe how much more dirt the Rug Doctor was able to get out of the carpet. When I finished the job my wife was shocked at how good the carpet looked. She said "wow, I don't think our carpet has been this clean in years!"
Yes, the Rug Doctor is a little bit more expensive that some of the other carpet cleaners available but I think that the Rug Doctor is worth every penny."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Homer, MI
Date:June 30, 2013

Great Product

Pros: good mechanical quality, handle folds down for compact storage, upholstery / stair tool is very useful, cleaning solution and spot solution included
Cons: cleaning solution reservoir too small
Model Number: MP-C3
"Did a great job cleaning my carpets.
The upholstery / stair tool works well for cleaning close to furniture, under tables, and in places that can't be reached by the larger machine (this especially applied to me, because I did not move some of my larger furniture).
The machine could benefit from having a larger cleaning solution reservoir. It would typically last me only about 2/3 of a room before I had to fill it again (not a large inconvenience, because it is very easy to fill). (However, at the same time I respect the fact the manufacturer had to fit a lot of machinery in a small space and there is only so much room available inside the machine. Having a small reservoir may be better than having a larger machine that is more awkward to use and harder to store when not in use.)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:May 22, 2013

Best Carpet Cleaner In my Opinion

Pros: excellent carpet cleaning!, looks just like the rental and works the same, same dependability of rug doctor you know, better cleaning then other cleaners, does shave off as much carpet as other cleaners
Cons: can only use rug doctor products, does not hold as much as rentals in my opinion, price****
"I believe this is the best carpet cleaner out there. My brother owns the bissell pro heat 2x and it cleaned my carpet but shaved too much carpet in my opinion. Also I needed to go over multiple passes with that carpet cleaner. The Rug Doctor is the only carpet cleaner with TRUE "One Pass" cleaning. Of course if you have dirtier floors/carpet it will need additional touch ups such as pre-treatment. Get it! You won't regret it. Plus they have great warranty!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 24, 2013

Compared against the others - Much better

Pros: cleans most effectively, removes much more water than other methods, does not remove as many fibers as other cleaners, true 1 pass cleaning
Model Number: Mighty Pro
"I have used the rental version of this unit, and I own the top of the line Bissell unit (albeit a 7+ y.o. model).
While the Bissell does a better job than most spot cleaners (and even several commercial contractors), the Rug Doctor's benefits that I have found are as follows:
It removes more dirt, but more importantly, the rug doctor extracts more of the water, which I have found creates more problems over time.
It really is a ONE pass cleaner. The Bissell and all other hand spot cleaners take several passes and/or applications and much more time.
The rug doctor is gentler on rugs and carpets than the other methods, excluding removing the rug and gentle hand cleaning . The GENTLENESS is the main reason why I choose to both try the Rug Doctor and write this review.
After each use with my Bissell unit, I have found that its brushes and the inside of the vacuum is covered by bits of fibers. The Bissell's brushes are a lot more aggressive than the Rug Doctor.
Unless you inspect the unit in detail, you may not notice all of the fibers removed by the Bissell after each cleaning. That being said, the Bissell is so aggressive that I started getting wet 'hair balls' made up of the rug's fibers spit out on the carpets AS I was cleaning.
Please understand that several years passed before the Bissell started spitting out the 'hair balls,' but, after I started seeing these WHILE I was cleaning, I started inspecting the rug and carpets and noticed the thinning, even in low traffic areas.
The thinning became really apparent when I moved heavy furniture away and saw the difference between the area under that furniture vs. areas that I cleaned but were not walked on (i.e. under wing backed chairs).
I am currently planning on replacing my carpets not only because of traffic wear, but also, because of what the Bissell and the other cleaners have removed.
With regard to the comment about the unit getting plugged up, the first rental unit that I brought home had the same issue, but then again, it was a rental unit. I talked to the manufacturer who recommended just sticking a thin wire into the nozzles, but because I didn't want to end up paying for more than my rental, I took it back and the second unit worked perfectly.
For what it is worth, the kind of carpets that I have been cleaning are three bedrooms of a wool/poly blend Berber carpets (made by one of Shaw's companies), and a sisal look, all wool, large area rug (made by Karastan).
One last note, if you own a hand made rug, whether Persian, Turkish, or whatever, please ONLY have it removed and HAND washed. These rugs will last for generations it handled properly."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:February 26, 2013

Thank You Rug Doctor!

Pros: lightweight easy to use and cleans deep, power cord & uphols. tool are perfect length
Cons: none
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3
"After 20 yrs in the cleaning industry, using multiple truck mounted carpet cleaning units and portable carpet cleaners, I found it necessary to buy a unit of my own for my home. After doing much research and a great deal of trial & error, I finally found the perfect home carpet & upholstery cleaning machine in the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3.
While upright carpet cleaners advertise their ease of use and deep carpet cleaning, I have yet to find one that does more than a surface clean and nor have I found one with such ease of use as the Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3. This, hands down was the best purchase of my life.
We recently purchased a century home and the carpet within was old, but were also well made, very durable wool berber. Upon moving in, we believed the carpets were originally a light brown color dirtied to a dark brown, with numerous stains and spills. After using the Rug Doctor one pass, we realized the carpets were originally a beautiful, bright white color. And unlike upright model carpet cleaners, this machine cleans deep and there was no more wicking up of the stains when completed.
The machine is lightweight, easy to use and easy to maintain. The upholstery/stair tool is well made, sturdy and affords the same deep suction as the machine itself.
If you are tired of the upright systems that dont do as they claim, invest in this machine... it is fantastic.
Also, I must add, for someone with severe back issues, this is the easiest machine to use.
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:February 9, 2013

Useless machine

Pros: worked ok
Cons: poorly made and quick to breakdown, terrible customer service
Model Number: MP-C3
"Do NOT buy this unit. Had it a week and it quit spraying.Called customer service, of course a foreign country and absolutely no help at all."
2 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler AZ
Date:January 27, 2013

Simple

Pros: not very heavy very simple works really well
Cons: none
Model Number: MP-C3 Mighty Pro X3
"This can be done every 3 months and prolongs my carpet. It is not top heavy as I can do this with one hand. I have not had the problem with screws as noted on one commentary and yes I do use hot water alone at times. It is nice that I am able to move furniture and do one part of the room and then another part later--furniture can be heavy so this works out well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, Virginia
Date:January 25, 2013

OKAY

Pros: cleans ok
Cons: solution supply container not the size stated
Model Number: MIGHTY PROX3
"CLEANS OK BUT SOMEWHAT AWKWARD TO USE.
DIRTY WATER TANK IS TRICKY TO REMOVE WITH OUT MACHINE TIPPING BACKWARDS.
CLEANING TANK ONLY HOLDS 1 1/2 GALLONS OF CLEANING SOLUTION NOT THE 3 GALLONS THEY ADVERTISE IN THE INSTRUCTION BOOKLET WITH THE MACHINE.
tAKES LONGER TO KEEP THE FRESH SOLUTION CONTAINER FILLED THAN IT DOES TO CLEAN THE CARPET!
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 25, 2013

Average purchase

Pros: heavy duty, hand held portion has good suction, easy to empty and fill
Cons: heavy, suction on low carpets minimal
"This works wonderful on thicker carpeting, low carpet it doesn't suck the water out of the carpet enough and leaves it wet.Its' heavy, so a quick clean up job isn't as quick. The hand held portion is nice and does have decent suction. Good for stairs and furniture.So for the price, it will last longer than some brands, but it's tough to get up and down stairs if you're not a large or strong person. Great for people with children or pets."
Review 16 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:January 22, 2013

Performance exceeded expectations.

Pros: easy to operate
Cons: could be wider to cover more rug area
Model Number: Rug Doctor Pro X3
"The machine was easy to use with professional results. Far better job than the service I previously used. It paid for itself the first time."
Review 17 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 30, 2012

Just so-so. Taking it back.

Pros: solid. seems well-built., upholstery tool., easy enough to do - just awkward.
Cons: didn't clean well., goes through solution and water really fast., left carpet wet - not soaking - but plenty wet., tall people are going to get a back ache.
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3 (Built: 8/2012)
"I've had experience with a few cleaners in my lifetime (4) and was very excited about the Rug Doctor. Unfortunately, it didn't measure up at all to the hype.
The Mighty Pro X3 has a 3 gallon capacity which is great, but you will use every bit of it for even the smallest areas. It goes through the water and solution very quickly - not at all economical.
I think the CRI (Carpet and Rug Institute) must have rated the rental version, because this one only did a so-so job cleaning my carpet. The dirty water wasn't that dirty (but trust me, it should have been!). Other than the carpet nap being brushed and the dampness of the carpet, I couldn't really tell our cream colored carpet had been cleaned at all.
It recovered barely over 3/4 of the water, so the remaining water is sitting in my carpet and pad. I did make two passes - one to clean and another to suck up any extra water left behind, but didn't make any difference. My Hoover did a much better job of recovering the water than the Doctor, but it died after about 3 years.
I do see where this one could last much longer - it does seem quite sturdy. Not as sturdy as the rental, but it is a solid machine. However, I'd be less apt to use it because of the amount of solution and water it goes through, the amount of water it leaves in/on your carpet, and the labor involved.
As another reviewer said, it does only work on the draw. You push the brush/spray button and draw the cleaner backward to clean. You release the button when you're a few inches from where you want to end, tilt the machine back a bit, and then roll it forward to reposition it for your next path. While it is pretty easy step-by-step, it is awkward - especially if you have a large room to do. I much prefer the vacuum-style cleaners you can go back and forth with.
It's really too bad it didn't perform better. I much prefer to spend more to buy a better product once, than to spend less on a cheap one twice.
I'm off to hunt for another machine! Hope this helps.
Oh! If you plan on cleaning upholstery, buy the foam reducing solution now!! You're not supposed to use that tool without it - and it doesn't come with this package!!!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:December 11, 2012

NOT like the model you can rent

Pros: hmmm. no drive to hardware store to rent.
Cons: 2 gallon tank - too tiny for a real job., the bucket design - difficult to get debris out., suction not as strong as rental model., construction is cheap and poor design., 3.5 gal mixing bucket only 2 gallon capacity ???, has no drain tube - like rental., poor substitute for the commercial model.
Model Number: Mighty Pro X3
"I have rented the rug doctor for years and am extrememly pleased with the RENTAL unit.
THIS IS NOT LIKE THE RENTAL UNIT.
I will return this unit after only 1 use."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clayton, CA
Date:December 9, 2012

LOVE IT!!!!

Cons: none
Model Number: Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3
"Do not hesitate to purchase one of these. White carpet, aging dog, many accidents. Tried to clean with Hoover Steam Vac and results were poor. Used my new Rug Doctor today and carpet looks new again. Easy to use, easy on the back also. Highly recommend."
Review 20 for Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 Carpet Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 23, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Pros: great warranty., works well., doesn't soak carpet.
"I have bought and used several of the "other" carpet cleaners out there only to have them flame out within a short time. I decided to get this one because I have used the rental ones and they always worked well.
So does this one! This machine works!
We just did our carpets for the first time with this machine, AFTER they had previously been cleaned with those other machines (Bissel, Hoover). We went to empty the recovery tank and found birdseed! My daughter hasn't owned birds for over 3 years! It pulled EVERYTHING out of the carpets that those other machines left behind.
As someone else pointed out it is top heavy so put the handle down as a "kickstand". Clean up is easy and the solution they provided in the box smells wonderful.
Yes, you have to walk backwards in a straight line to clean (not swivel around like a vacuum cleaner) but that actually makes it easier to see where you've been and where you need to overlap your lines.
You do have to refill the tank often but I didn't find that a bother.
This is my new favorite cleaning tool and I won't do without it.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>