Customer Reviews for HappyLight® Energy Lamp

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

HappyLight® Energy Lamp

Improve Your Mood and Energy Naturally Beat the "Winter Blues" & the Effects of Seasonal Change The HappyLight provides up to 6000 LUX of Natural Spectrum Daylight to combat the effects of seasonal change, "Winter Blues", shift work, jet lag, and fatigue. Improve Mood and Energy Natural Spectrum Daylight cues the body's natural energy enhancers, improving mood and energy levels and creating an overall sense of well-being. Regain Focus, Concentration & Productivity Balanced Natural Spectrum Daylight gently helps the body recalibrate and stabilize, reducing fatigue and lethargy, improving focus and concentration. The HappyLight® 6000 features:   Up to 6,000 LUX of Natural Spectrum® Daylight lifts spirits, sharpens concentration and improves energy levels   Helps recalibrate and normalize Circadian Rhythms for a healthy night's sleep   Emulates natural sunshine to improve mood and well-being   Sleek, space-saving design is ideal for home, office or dorm room   Energy efficient bulb uses only 36 Watts to produce 300 Watts of Natural Spectrum light   Dimensions: 12” H x 3.9” W x 5.6” D   Weight: 2 lbs   UL listed in United States and Canada Instructions for Use: Light therapy consists of sitting close to the HappyLight® 6000 with your eyes open, while staying oriented toward the light. Feel free to engage in other activities such as reading, writing, hobbies and crafts or working at your computer or desk. While it is not required that you look at the light, the HappyLight® 6000's light must be directed at your eyes; therefore your eyes must be open to achieve the full benefit. Note: Tinted glasses reduce the amount of light reaching your eyes. Optimum time depends on how your body uniquely responds to light. Typical recommended usage time is 1 to 6 hours per day.
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
21 of 28(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Review 1 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:November 8, 2012

Bright Light

Pros: bright intense light that is hard to adjust.
Cons: bright intense light that is hard to adjust.
"Too bright for my desk area, I had to manipulate it as it will light up my desk, my neighbor's desk, and anyone within 15 feet of it. Used for 7 days and no problem. Overall it seems to be a good buy and would take a chance again."
Review 2 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 8, 2012

JUST SIT IN A ROOM WITH FLUORESCENT LIGHTING

Pros: none
Cons: does not help in my opinion
"WHEN I REC'D IT AND TURNED IT ON, IT WAS LIKE SITTING IN AN OFFICE SETTING WITH FLUORESCENT LIGHTING. TO ME I CANNOT SEE HOW IT WOULD HELP - NEVER LIKED FLUORESCENT LIGHTING AND NO WAY DOES IT RESEMBLE ANYTHING LIKE THE SUN TO MAKE YOU FEEL BETTER. IT WAS RETURNED."
Review 3 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 15, 2012

Bulb lasted one use

"I thought the lighting was great until it burned out after the very first use. Looks like I'm not the only one that had a problem with that. Now I'm trying to find a time in a really busy schedule to return it."
Review 4 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Carmel, IN
Date:March 7, 2012
Model Number: VT05
"This products does not hold up, the first light worked for about 1 month and the second light only worked for 1 week before it failed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 8, 2012

Seems to be working

"I bought this lamp for my sister-in-law last year and she loves it, then another sister-in-law bought one too and loved it. I have been spending more time inside with winter and also traveling to help an ill family member and felt a bit low. I bought this one for home where I sit for tv, reading, and crocheting, and bought a different travel-sized one to take with me. Am pleased as my "blue funk" seems to have lifted in about a week and a half."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 25, 2012

Gives me a boost

Pros: easy to use, it works
Cons: could be more attractive
"I keep this on my desk at work and turn it on in the afternoons when my energy level is low. It gives me enough of a boost to be productive the rest of the day. I've recommended it to many others in my office."
Review 7 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

Portable, but unsure if it works

"First, the good: small size makes it portable, easy to use. It's quite bright--use it according to directions, about 30 minutes and no longer is probably all you'll need.
Now, the bad, at least for me: It made only a small difference, but I only used it for about 3 days before having to stop, because it regularly caused headaches for me, as it did for some other reviewers (sift through the reviews on Amazon). i do have a history of migraines which are medically controlled, but even so, after thinking about it, I realized that this light was probably another trigger for me. Unfortunately, I decided that I just couldn't keep it.
"
Review 8 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orland PArk, IL
Date:January 7, 2012

VERILUX HAPPY LIGHT

"This is a great purchase for me! I was not sure when my doc. suggested it from Costco. Used about a month and definately feel better. I used it too much in the beginning and my sleep pattern was distruped. Everyone needs a different level. Start low and move up gradually."
Review 9 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville,KY
Date:December 8, 2011

Great happy light!

"After enduring many long, cold, dark winters, I decided it would be a good idea to try this light. It is very easy to use and has made a difference with those dreary days. It is not very big, so you can pack it away when it is not being used."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, Wa
Date:December 2, 2011

Works great, when it works

"I was pretty "happy" with my light until it just stopped working three weeks after I received it. It looks cheap and I guess it really isn't all that sturdy. I ordered two, one for home and one for office. I'd buy a better quality, higher priced model in the future."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 1, 2011

Would Buy Again

Pros: no set-up needed just take it out the box., it is a good size smaller then most table lamps
Model Number: Happy Light Energy Lamp, 6,000 lux
"I bought this light, hoping it would help with the dreary days of winter here in Michigan. I liked it so much that when I was talking about it with my in-laws they wanted one also, so I ordered a second one for them. I have it by my computer which I use most every morning. But since all you do is plug it in, I can easily move it anywhere I want it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warrington, PA
Date:November 30, 2011

HappyLight® Energy Lamp LOVE IT!!!

"Love it! It really helps give me energy. It's the best!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Michigan
Date:November 30, 2011

Good value

"In Michigan it gets dark early. I'm not sure the light has made me happy, but it keeps the energy level elevated."
Review 14 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:November 29, 2011

Helpful with my moode and concentration

"Can't say much since I am using it just for one month but I think it has a positive effect on gloomy days that we have outside. I don't feel down as much."
Review 15 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:November 28, 2011

HappyLight

Pros: good price, nice bright light
Cons: on-off button a bit tricky, needs a handle
Model Number: 6,000 Lux
"Got this lamp for myself to help with the Winter's blues. Started using it about 4 days ago; I still do not know if it really works against the blues, however, the intensity of the light is great for reading."
Review 16 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, Washington
Date:November 22, 2011

Great winter substitute for the Sun

Model Number: Happy Light 600
"This light provides us with the opportunity to see and read items that the regular lighting in the house does not allow."
Review 17 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:November 22, 2011

It Works

"I was skeptical, but this light really works. I use it on my desk at work."
Review 18 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 18, 2011

Happy not enough light

Pros: nice clean natural light
Cons: not enough light to work by
Model Number: Happy Light 6000
"Although the light was very mellow and natural, there just was not enough of it."
Review 19 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 18, 2011

Amazing difference!

"The seasonal change bringing shorter days has bothered me most of my life. A friend suggested I buy a light box to use this winter and I happened to see the Verilux HappyLight on Costco.com. I am SO pleased with my purchase. After just three days I felt a huge increase in energy. It's only been a week but the difference in my mood is like night and day (pun intended). I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who feels sad and depressed during the dark months."
Review 20 for HappyLight® Energy Lamp
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Juneau, AK
Date:November 10, 2011

Great Product for Seasonal Blues

Pros: cost, effectiveness, size, energy efficiency
"Purchased this light one month ago to counter the darkness of the rainy fall/winter in Southeast Alaska. The lumen output of this light is below the threshold suggested for clinical effectiveness but the price can't be beat. I have the light visible in my peripheral vision as I work on the computer. I leave it on the low setting for ~ 4 h per day in the morning. Having the light does not bother my eyes. Has resulted in improved mood and energy throughout the day. Be aware that overuse of the full spectrum lights can result in overstimulation/ sleeplessness so start slow and find the right amount for you.. As a bonus my plants have also perked up and are growing measurably faster :) Thanks Costco!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>