Customer Reviews for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed

Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed

BEFORE ORDERING – Be sure to check your local building and zoning codes to ensure that all appropriate permits have been acquired.  Always check with your local building authority & homeowners association for any restrictions/requirements before finalizing your purchase. At this time orders for this item cannot be delivered to Florida addresses Paint and shingle to match your home or suit your taste (paint & shingles shown, but are not included) It is recommended that all seams be sealed with caulk prior to painting
Average Customer Rating:
4.081 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
(out of 124 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
36
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
11
104 of 124(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2015

Terrible kit

" This kit had warped, unusable lumber. The hardware included is poor quality and we had to purchase our own. No roofing material is provided. We spent an additional $700 on this kit to make it a quality shed for us. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:August 3, 2015

Poor Quality

Pros: all wood is precut
Cons: warped lumber, poor quality fasteners (screws)
" Some of the wood is so badly warped you cannot use it. The screws are so soft they bend, break or the heads strips out before you get them in. I just threw them away. I gave up looking for markings on boards and just measured them looking for the ones needed for each step. Spent an additional $500 not including the concrete pad to finish the building. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas
Date:August 2, 2015

Excellent Purchase

Pros: excellent customer service
Cons: poor quality of screws and nails
Model Number: Everton #33411
" I purchased this kit in mid 2014, due to weather issues and time constraints the kit stayed in my garage until this summer. Even with the time in storage I had minimal problems with warped wood. A few boards needed to be pulled into place but were not bad enough to replace. I did replace the tie 2x4's with 12' replacements for ease of installation. I also chose to have a slab poured replacing the supplied floor. As others have stated, the average person will spend more than a few days completing this project. Still very few issues complicated the construction. Phone calls to the 800 # were helpful; providing clarification as needed. The customer service people were positive and well versed. I stuck to the instructions and all worked out well. I am down to painting now and am more than satisfied with the end results. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MOdesto, Ca.
Date:July 5, 2015

Skip this product

Pros: quick delivery quick response from the supplier.
Cons: warped and twisted wood., more then a wekend project for an average handyman
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
" First, check everything as soon as you arrives. So after reading some of the other reviews, I decided to take my chance. I should have stuck to the others.
The wood came in, around 1/3 was so badly warped and twisted, I could use it. The supplier was very friendly and sent out replacements right away, but as the remaining wood sat waiting for the next steps, those also started to warp and twist. The supplies are horrible. The screws twist and bend. There's no way this can be done in a weekend, unless you are a carpenter and have plenty of tools. Either way, with some trips to the lumber store, we're making it work.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:No. Lake Tahoe, CA
Date:July 2, 2015

Serious Flaw !!!!!

Cons: flawed design warped wood and rude tech support!!
" I bought this shed and am in the precess of installing the rafters. When I got to the back wall I discovered that there is no rafter to go on top of the back wall. The plans show no way to attach the siding at the roof line. the last 21" of the roof hang free without any support. I live in snow country and feel this is a serious design flaw. I called Yardline discussed this with their Rep. when I told him that this was a serious error on their part, He hung up on me. Very bad Tech support!!!!!!!! If you live in snow country you will need to strengthen the walls and rafters. This is not a project for an average home owner, you need some construction experience to make rafters. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:June 15, 2015

Very Nice Shed

Pros: great finished product!
Cons: takes some time to build
" I knew this would be a big project. It took us 3 weekends to complete but that wasn't working full days. It comes with everything pre cut (except the two vents). You have to buy paint ($90), roofing paper($30), drip edge($15), shingles ($180) and roofing nails($10). The instructions were pretty good, just a couple spots that had the wrong thing but it is easy enough to figure out. I would recommend buying your own 3" screws as the ones it comes with bent and broke fairly easily. We have major gopher problems so we dug down, laid gopher wire and filled about 2 truck loads of baserock ($70) in stamped it down. We bought eight 12" pavers ($16) and two 4x4s ($30) to build it on. Overall, I absolutely love it and enjoyed building it! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:June 6, 2015

Horrible - Good for fire wood.

Cons: waste of money & poor quality.
Model Number: 596416
" The packaged materials were not only left unmarked, they were warped. They were too lazy to stamp the ends or sides of the 2x4 or siding along with not separating hardware, (screws - nails). We spent more time and energy than expected measuring what pieces were not stamped to make sure we're using the right pieces. The wood rafters were warped which I later replaced, along with a warped piece of sheet wood. I pre-drilled holes in the wood that came with the shed and some of it split so much, it was useless. We were also missing a section of the roof that was included according to manual. Tearing it down to get money back is more money, time, & energy than it is worth. I spent an additional 200.00 to fix this hunk of junk. Don't waste your time. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:May 26, 2015

Nice shed for the price when you build it yourself

Pros: nice looking sturdy shed for the price
Cons: assembly instructions are complex
" This is a nice shed when you compare it to similar sized sheds that can cost much more. The shed is not actually 8x12 - we built an 8x12 platform and have come to find out it's about 8x 11 7 & 3/8", which created some issues for us.
As mentioned in other reviews, the long screws are cheap and bend easily. Also, the kit comes with over 1000 nails, and really should require a nail gun rental and just come with nail gun nails. We have used very few nails that came with the kit.
With two to three people assembling it at a time, it is taking about 3 days, not including finishing the roofing. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Acworth, GA
Date:May 25, 2015

Great Shed. Great buy on sale

Pros: great quality once it's built properly.
Cons: it's more challenging than you think., i hate painting..
" Many of the other reviewers have good info that I used so read through them. Read the manual a few times online before you attempt this project. Def buy the 3 extra studs and beef up the floor. I'm 6'2 -285. The floor that comes with this is very strong once you add those studs.. If you are not in and out with a riding mower the floor will be just fine.
Important!!! Be sure that the floor panels end up on a stud if you decide to add the 3 extra studs under the floor.
I just built the whole shed this Memorial Day weekend. It took me four days and I did every step alone with no help.
I used a framing gun with 2-1/4" nails for all the areas where it calls for 3" and 2" nails... And I also used a 2" finish nailer. I stress that you've GOT to use a gun or this project or it will take forever.. There's like TWO THOUSAND nails alone on this project and the nails they give you stink. Imagine hammering two thousand nails and trying to hold pieces of wood in place while you hammer..?? . Unless your a skilled carpenter... Heed my advice. If not you will regret it..I promise..
The roof takes 6 bundles of shingles no question.. And you will have a good amount left over.. Not 7. Some guy wrote it takes 5... There's no way he did the roof correct with 5 bundles..
Be prepared on this roof. It has a steep pitch so it's very difficult to shingle because you can't get up there and walk around.. Be very careful and safe..
The instructions are pretty good. However, they could be better. With a few more details.
The markings aren't the best on some pieces. But you can figure them out with a tape measure.
For those who complain about twisted pieces.... That's just the nature of the beast. Wood is a natural product and once they cut and pack this stuff up. For how inexpensive this shed is... They have NO control over what the wood does once it leaves the factory. You've got to start at one end of a twisted piece and bend it back to straight as you nail it in place. It's easy. This is yet another reason to use a nail gun.
There are two 2x4 braces that they want you to put up inside the ceiling towards the end. The back one gets in the way of the top shelf and will limit you putting large items up there like a cooler shown in the fancy online pictures . These are not shown in the online pics of the shed...
I don't think these are needed... I'm going to save them and if the roof sags over time I will add them.. But I think they are overkill ..of course I don't live in the snow belt... If you live in Buffalo you might want them..
Lastly, don't throw ANY wood away!!! Save every piece that seems like it might be scrap wood because it all gets used on the shed. Some pieces are used as braces and they seem like scrap... But later on they will be used agan... Set everything aside..my hats off to the engineers that designed this and their ingenuity... It's a great shed! Love the overhanging eaves and the window.. And the shelves inside are Glorious!!!
I hope I helped some people out! Good luck America!!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:May 24, 2015

Didn't shed a tear. ;-)

Pros: it is bigger than you think., it is solidly constructed, it looks professional., it can be a great diy project
Cons: the nails/screws are cheap, they should have precut the openings for the vents, sorting through the screw/nail bag is tedious.
" I am very happy with how this turned out. Like many others, I read all of the reviews, and took the suggestions that made a lot of sense to me.
1) I used 3 4x4's for the runners. I miscalculated when I dug the trenches for the outer runners, so the 12' sides of the floor deck rest on the runners, but the runners stick out an inch. This turned out to be a happy accident, as it looks like I have two floors- I painted the runners grey and the edge of the floor foundation red to match the trim(also painted red) it looks very neat and ties the lines together.
By the way, I bought about 10 bags of gravel to line the trenches, which made it much easier to level the 4x4's. Do not rush this step, it is key that the foundation be level. When I constructed the floor frame, I used lots of old shingles from the shed I will be knocking down and replacing with this to serve as a buffer between the floor frame and the runners, it serves to ensure the floor is level, and adds a bit of protection from moisture seeping up from beneath. On the sides of the shed that can't be seen normally, I used some of these shingles to cover the space between the side walls and the foundation.
2) I bought 4. 12' pieces of wood for the long sides of the floor and top of the wall frames
3) I used 5/8 inch plywood for the floor
4) I used star center deck screws wherever I joined wood to wood. This came in handy, as once or twice I drilled two pieces together in the wrong end, and this made correcting that much easier than if I used nails. Plus, the nails and screws they give you are pretty poor, very weak and constantly bend, so I figured to avoid frustration it's worth it to buy two boxes of screws.
5) you only need 6 bundles of shingles. Why they suggest 7 is beyond me, the square footage of the roof is what it is. I'm actually convinced that with the right cutting of the first row, you might actually only need 5- I only had to open the 6th bundle to do the center capping.
6) there are some things that need self-improvement: the screws they suggest you attach the door trim with are not long enough, so I used finishing nails from front to back in addition to the screws back to front.
7) since the price of a roll of roofing paper is the same for 30 grade as for the reccommended 15 grade, and you get enough to cover with 30 grade, I bought that. It's slightly thicker, and what are you going to do with half a roll of leftover paper (as opposed to about 1/4 roll of 30.
8) even with the vents, the ceiling gets very hot. You'll notice this when you paint the inside. I'm painting it white, as one suggested, to reflect the light and add some protection to the wood. Plus, it just looks nicer.
9) I bought floor paint for the floor
10) I didn't use the hook and eyes, as my doors stay open by themselves.
11) I bought a drip line for the roof. The dimensions they suggest are spot on.
12) I'm not exactly crazy for the way the doors "lock", basically you have to ignore the instructions here for where you drill the holes in the floor and top of doorway and line them up yourself before drilling. Even so, a good yank will probably break open the doors
13) I painted the trim before hanging. In retrospect I would have painted the interior side of the walls, too, but I understand the desire to get the thing constructed first.
14) the only help I had was my son helping me by holding the roof panels in place while I hammered them in, and my daughters holding the walls up while I screwed them into the floor. The rest can be done solo. And in fact, as the pieces come together, you get a great sense of accomplishment, that this thing is going to turn out exactly right.
15) painting the outside walls was slow going until I used a padded roller actually designed for deck staining. The texture of the faux wood grain was covered in one pass with the deck stain roller, which is designed for getting into the grain of wood.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2015

Great Shed - Great Value

Pros: price - value, quality
Cons: a few twisted pieces, longer screws are cheap and some missing
" Comparable sheds that are pre-built or built on site are closer to $3,000. If you are doing this by yourself, as I did, plan on 80 hours of work from leveling the foundation to painting the trim. It is quite a bit of work. It is worth reading the reviews because people's experiences are all different. The shed was shipped promptly. I have never built a shed but consider myself an advanced home improvement person. I don't think building this shed is for the average homeowner with little building or home improvement experience.
1. I printed the manual from Costco website and placed in a binder. The pictures are bigger and it keeps the pages organized. Read through it several times before you begin.
2. You will need a helper in several spots. Lifting the walls and getting roofing on the roof.
3. I had three 2x4's that were twisted so bad that I could not use them. Simple replacements. I suppose I could have asked the company to replace.
4. This comes in a big box. 1600 lbs of materials that has to be moved several times. I laid everything out in my garage to keep it out of the weather since I knew this was going to take a couple of weeks.
5. Many people complain about the markings on the pieces. Overall, I did not have an issue. There are pictures and dimensions of every piece in the instructions. It is easy to figure out which piece is which from either the markings or from the drawings. If you can't do that, you probably will not be able to build the shed.
6. I was missing some screws and the longer screws were cheap so several bent. Simple enough fix to purchase better screws. Otherwise the Hardware was all there and decent quality.
7. I added two floor joists as recommended in the instructions to have a stronger floor. Otherwise I did not add any other parts.
8. Plan on spending about $500.00 in additional materials. Roofing, paint etc.
9. It was a fun and worthwhile project.
10. The instructions were easy to follow in about 90% of the situations. A few left me scratching my head and I did it my own way. It worked out.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SE Idaho
Date:May 4, 2015

Nice looking, sturdy, very complex to build

Pros: sturdy, attractive, spacious
Cons: complex, difficult
Model Number: EVERTON
" First the "bad":
1: The interior image of the shed shows items stored on the back shelf, but doesn't show the collar ties that block putting large placement. See for yourself on page 56 of the instructions.
2: The shed design is very complex for a shed. Not recommended for those without kit without framing and construction knowledge. For those with such a background, the design has you do some weird stuff. Follow the instructions and don't second-guess the designers.
3: The kit is very unforgiving of imprecisely cut wood. Fortunately most cuts are very good. My kit's roof panels were off by enough that I had to correct them.
The good:
A: This shed is not "cheap junk". My former contractor friend said that it was build in some ways up to the code for homes. Great! I won't have to worry about it collapsing due to heavy snow...or a tornado.
B: The benefit of the long and laborious construction process is that much of that labor covers trim pieces and other touches that make the shed look decorative rather than just a place to put a lawn mower. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:May 3, 2015

Great Shed

Pros: complete system, looks great, easy to follow construction instructions
Cons: it doesn't build itself
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
" Great shed, very happy with the purchase. Took a friend and me about 7 house to construct the shed, we both have some construction and framing experience. Painting and roofing both take about 4-5 hours for someone to do alone. You really don't have to cut anything, very complete and well thought out by the manufacturer. The delivery guy dropped it right in my driveway where I wanted it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whidbey Island, WA
Date:May 1, 2015

Very nice shed kit

Model Number: Easton 8x12
" Overall this was a nice shed kit for a very reasonable price. The direction book is in micro print so I printed out a bigger copy off my computer. Everything was precut which is a nice touch for a 'Do It yourselfer', and fit nice together. This is a great kit for someone with good handyman skills. My suggestion is to get stronger screws... The 3" screws in the kit are cheap and bend as you are driving them in. I used a framing nailer and other tools for the assembly of the framework. That really sped things up. Other than a few twisted and unuseable pieces of lumber and the cheap screws this is a nice shed for a nice price. "
Review 15 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:April 27, 2015

Great Everton shed

Pros: great building materials!
Cons: would like it to come with shingles.
Model Number: 16773
" The instructions were easy to follow and very detailed, so there was no question about what order to do things in.
The shed looks great now that it is finished. It is a sturdy build and should hold up to a lot of use.
The loft area and shelf are also very useful to store items that you don't want on the floor.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, Michigan
Date:April 9, 2015

Awesome Shed - Awesome Value

Pros: entire shed kit was a great value
Cons: none
" Arrived faster than expected, packed perfectly - made a bunch of upgrade revisions but still used all of the supplied components. Doubled-up to residential stud / floor spacing, treated lumber sills, joists, flooring deck, added additional beams & foundation pilings. Finished with slate style roofing, copper gutters, face brick and Tudor trim. Everything in the kit was square, precise, and overall excellent! "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:N. VA
Date:December 16, 2014

Overall - pretty well done

Pros: high quality finished product, great sense of accomplishing something vs. buying
Cons: included nails and screws, some materials warped
" Instructions are better than most. Nearly every instruction refers to pre-cut material that has (should have) markings on it to identify it. The markings on the materials are pretty bad. It would speed things up if the materials were more clearly marked. Once in a while, the instructions are not completely clear as to how to line things up, etc. but overall, it was a great project to put together. Did the whole thing solo - the only time I had a helper was standing up the left and right walls. One bit of advice, do not attempt to construct during windy conditions!!
Would definitely do it all over again but would almost surely secure the help of a friend. Lastly, while nails and screws are included, I'd STRONGLY recommend you buy decking screws in various lengths that have the special screw head (star or square) to keep them from stripping. The included philips head screws made life much harder than necessary - and hammering things while suspended can be a challenge. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:portland, or
Date:November 27, 2014

very nice

Pros: looks great sturdy
Cons: none
" I bought this shed to replace a plastic one i had for a number of years. wanted something more sturdy that i could add shelves too etc. i was lucky enough that the driver recommended a person to assemble at at very reasonable rate so I skipped the DIY. He has done dozens of these and assembled in a few hours and came back for a few hours more to do the roof. i didnt customize which had i done myself i probably would have considered but i am in no way disappointed. i added tons of shelves on one wall and hooks for garden tools on the other. freed up tons of room in garage and as i said very happy. i went ahead and caulk everywhere because its really rainy in portland plus painted to match house. i did paint the floor with a couple coats of floor paint which is nice because its been muddy back there. neighbors want one too. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sf bay area, ca
Date:November 17, 2014

Very fun project - awesome shed

Pros: super fun project awesome shed
Cons: i can't wait to build another one :)
Model Number: 596417
" This is a terrific shed and a really fun project. I emphasize BOTH. For those reviewers that complain that it took too long, you are better off getting someone to build shed for you. You are not the type who is going to like this project. But many/most people buy a shed like this BECAUSE they enjoy DIY building and customizing and that is just as rewarding as ending up with an awesome shed.
As many have done, I replaced the 8' 2x4s where 12'er where appropriate. I built the floor frame atop 3 4"x4"s instead of 2, put the floor studs on 12" center, the wall studs on 16" center, and built/added 3 extra trusses to match the wall stud spacing. I opted not to use the supplied 5/8" OSB on the floor and instead bought 3/4" treated plywood, at $50 x3 sheets, not cheap but rock solid. Like others I had a number of studs that where a bit twisted, no big deal, just replaced them. But instead of complaining like others, I ran the "unused" OSB flooring thru a table saw and used the twisted studs cut properly and made beautiful shelving in the interior. In the end I did not have any wasted wood and the extra I spent would have been needed to buy shelving material anyhow. So there you go!
Once fully assembled, roofed and painted, this thing is solid and gorgeous! Sure it took over a month, but I enjoyed every minute of it. That was the point of buying a kit. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colchester ,VT
Date:November 2, 2014

lots of room for storage

Pros: very sturdy and when painted will look great!
Cons: build time for two men was over 40 hrs, three 2+4 where twisted beyond use, only 3 stars because of some bad lumbar, and estamated build time would recommend, spending the extra money for the plywood, flooring
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
" over all this is a very nice shed, and when completely built is pleasing to the eye, the base of the shed is pressure treated 2+4 but other flooring is pressed plywood, when completely built i would suggest buying 3 sheets of pressure treated 1/2" plywood ,this will give your new shed longer life, and a very sturdy floor "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>