Customer Reviews for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed

Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed

BEFORE ORDERING – Be sure to check your local building and zoning codes and ensure that all appropriate permits have been acquired. Always check with your local building authority and homeowners association for restrictions/requirements before finalizing your purchase. At this time orders for this item cannot be delivered to Florida addresses For questions regarding these items, please call Yardline at 1-800-844-9273 Paint and shingle to match your home or suit your taste (paint & shingles shown, but are not included) It is recommended that all seams be sealed with caulking prior to painting Assembly Required:  All parts are pre-cut and ready for assembly.  Assembly requires intermediate carpentry skills and will require 2 people 2 days to complete: 1 day to assemble the shed and 1 day to paint, caulk and shingle the shed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
(out of 105 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
6
90 of 105(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sf bay area, ca
Date:November 17, 2014

Very fun project - awesome shed

Pros: super fun project awesome shed
Cons: i can't wait to build another one :)
Model Number: 596417
"This is a terrific shed and a really fun project. I emphasize BOTH. For those reviewers that complain that it took too long, you are better off getting someone to build shed for you. You are not the type who is going to like this project. But many/most people buy a shed like this BECAUSE they enjoy DIY building and customizing and that is just as rewarding as ending up with an awesome shed.
As many have done, I replaced the 8' 2x4s where 12'er where appropriate. I built the floor frame atop 3 4"x4"s instead of 2, put the floor studs on 12" center, the wall studs on 16" center, and built/added 3 extra trusses to match the wall stud spacing. I opted not to use the supplied 5/8" OSB on the floor and instead bought 3/4" treated plywood, at $50 x3 sheets, not cheap but rock solid. Like others I had a number of studs that where a bit twisted, no big deal, just replaced them. But instead of complaining like others, I ran the "unused" OSB flooring thru a table saw and used the twisted studs cut properly and made beautiful shelving in the interior. In the end I did not have any wasted wood and the extra I spent would have been needed to buy shelving material anyhow. So there you go!
Once fully assembled, roofed and painted, this thing is solid and gorgeous! Sure it took over a month, but I enjoyed every minute of it. That was the point of buying a kit."
Review 2 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colchester ,VT
Date:November 2, 2014

lots of room for storage

Pros: very sturdy and when painted will look great!
Cons: build time for two men was over 40 hrs, three 2+4 where twisted beyond use, only 3 stars because of some bad lumbar, and estamated build time would recommend, spending the extra money for the plywood, flooring
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
"over all this is a very nice shed, and when completely built is pleasing to the eye, the base of the shed is pressure treated 2+4 but other flooring is pressed plywood, when completely built i would suggest buying 3 sheets of pressure treated 1/2" plywood ,this will give your new shed longer life, and a very sturdy floor"
Review 3 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern NJ
Date:October 21, 2014

I DON'T RECOMMEND buying this shed

Pros: good customer service, shed looks nice
Cons: 3 panels came demaged 2 panels were missing, 6 feet hight, dimensional lumber warped/bowed/twisted
Model Number: 19235-7
"Model Name: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed.
I don’t recommend buying this shed!
Almost all dimensional lumber came twisted, bowed, warped beyond usability. Many cuts were off and not square making alignment difficult. As a result extra $$ spent on trips to buy the replacement and extra time spent on cutting them to size. Two small panels were missing and four large one came damaged, though Yardline shipped the replacement promptly.
I regret I bought this product.
"
Review 4 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

One word, "screws"

Pros: price
Cons: screws and nails sizes are mixed together
Model Number: Everton 8x12
"Lets just say you get what you pay for. I assembled this myself, had to ask the wife to help when standing the walls up. Most of the reviews are accurate as far as time to install. Didn't really care for the quality. Very thin particle board. But my biggest gripe is would it be too much trouble to separate the different size screws and nails? I had to buy 3" and 2" screws. I seemed to run out. Other than that , price was good."
Review 5 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Near Corvallis, OR
Date:September 24, 2014

DON'T BUY THIS SHED

Pros: looks nice.
Cons: build time is under-stated., additional materials needed to beef up some areas, at 6' 1" i have to bend over to enter shed., many more cons
Model Number: Item #596417 - Model Name: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
"Building this has been the most frustrating thing I've ever built and I have a lot of experience. Build time is 10 days minimum and you WILL need at least 2 people. You'll spend twice the money for the Sub-par materials (warped lumber, low grade wood, etc). Making sure all pieces are primed is essential. I'm 6' 1" and I have to duck to enter the shed. Cubic ft. is mis-leading due to roof pitch. Some cuts in the instructions are off and some alignment is difficult. The flimsy doors need extra lumber to make more sturdy. I added 2 extra roof trusses to compensate for the way roof sheathing was cut. Living in an area with lots of rain, I believed gutters were a smart addition. That said, soffits / fascia board size made installation difficult. I'll be very curious how the "15yr warranty" will work. This is the dumbest purchase I've made. I would love to return this item."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:West Texas
Date:September 19, 2014

Worth the time and money

Pros: well pleased with the finished product.
Cons: warped and twisted lumber in critial applications., shipping was slow on this product.
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
"I have had this shed up for 13 months now and it is solid and rain proof. And it still looks like new.
I anchored a 4X4 ground contact pressure treated base and built the reinforced floor.
I highly suggest purchasing four 2 X 4 X 12 boards to substitute for the top and bottom boards used for the sides.
Also, purchase a few good 2 X 4 X 8 boards to replace some of the warped pieces you will get.
The roof used two fewer packages of shingles than recommended and it took two gallons of paint for two coats, which was well worth doing.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Front Royal, VA
Date:September 15, 2014

A good buy, but...

Pros: price, looks good
Cons: some part alighment problems, the "loft" is just a higher shelf., some warped wood parts
Model Number: #596417
"This shed is a very good value for the money. But, as others have noted, it takes WAY longer than two days to construct. It tool a full day just to do the leveling and floor setup. I also ran into problems with things not lining up properly. Sometimes that was due to warped studs (we ended up "sistering" a couple to solve the problem), but I and my helper found it impossible to get the roof rafters to meet properly and uniformly. And we seriously questioned the order in which the instructions had us doing things. But, the shed is up, is attractive, and is weather tight for a price and size that I couldn't find a match for anywhere else. I REALLY wish I had known that I could have had it built through Costco/Yardline. I ended up paying my helper over double what I originally offered/thought. Definitely add the extra floor joists suggested in instructions (bought separately) for additional strength."
Review 8 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tahoe City, CA
Date:September 6, 2014

Look no further, buy this shed :)

Pros: professional assembly available
Model Number: Costco: 596417 Yardline:19241-8
"If you're shopping for a shed, stop looking and buy this one, we couldn't beat the quality and cost for the size we got!
The original idea: my friend agreed to build the shed with my boyfriends help. When the pallet arrived on May 23rd, our friend freaked out and told us he wasn't interested in the project. We ran the project by a few other uninterested friends and came away with no takers......and a pallet still in the driveway.
I called Costco customer service the second week of June to ask about returning the kit, and was shocked that there was NO CHARGE to pick up the unopened kit. What was key in the conversation was when the clerk asked why I was returning the shed. When I told him my building crew fell apart, he told me we could pay someone to build the shed.....NO WAY!!! It was one price to build the shed, a bit more to include roofing. I opted for roofing inclusion, paid over the phone and was told the folks at the closest Yardline facility would call to schedule our build.
At the end of June, we got a call from Yardline with a July 25th appointment. My boyfriend marked and leveled off the build site so when John arrived on the 25th it was ready to go. This one guy banged out the shed in a day; I guess when you don't have to read the directions you can go super fast! We painted it to match our house the next weekend.
The shed is AWESOME, all of our neighbors were wowed, we're very happy with the size, quality and overall experience of having the shed built - it only tool about 2 months!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:August 16, 2014

Happy with this solid shed

Pros: all pre-cut, solid, looks great.
Cons: door a little flimsy, takes way more than 2 days to complete
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
"Bought and built this shed in the Summer 2014 mostly by myself over a 3 week period. This is a 1 week job with 2 people so schedule time accordingly. I had help putting up the walls and roof. The instructions were good and everything lined up to a 1/4 inch gap at the back - no big deal. Do reinforce the floor with an extra 4x4 and two 2x4's. Use wood temporary straps to hold the roof gables/trusses in place if you don't attach the plywood to the roof immediately (they hold everything into place). I used just over 5 packages of shingles (5 won't do it if you do it correct). I had to reinforce the bottom of the doors as the heavy duy staples seperated from the door frame after a week."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:August 8, 2014

Low end materials

Pros: large shed for the price
Cons: low end materials lack durability.
Model Number: Everton
"Mine was built by the manufacturer in one long day--about 10 hours.
This is a pressed-wood product, including the floor, that will deteriorate quickly if not kept well-sealed. Should be both primed and painted immediately.
They installed the shingles without using roofing paper to protect the pressed wood roof. They said roofing paper (despite it being very inexpensive, as well as standard building technique for shingle roofs) was an "extra" which I had not ordered.
Shelving (which is at additional cost) is a joke--build your own, or use free-standing. Attractive, sturdy shelving is available at Costco.
I have been told one can "upgrade" to plywood. If I had to do over, I would definitely do so, for the sake of strength and longevity.
I suggest any purchaser carefully review the available "extras" before buying. You will probably want some of them--like roofing paper!
Of course, this pushes up the price."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Date:July 23, 2014

Great Shed!

Pros: nice simple looking shed, high ceiling & loft area.
Cons: took longer than 2 days, spent an extra $500 on materials
Model Number: Everton 8x12 wood shed
"After buying our house over 3 years ago, we've accumulated a lot of yard/outdoor equipment but had nowhere to store it besides the basement which is a pain to get large things in and out of. We checked out so many other sheds and websites and after reading the reviews on the Everton, decided to save ourselves a couple thousand dollars and purchase this (partial) DIY shed.
As other reviews mentioned, you do not need to cut anything. Eveything is cut to size.
My husband and his friend did most of the work building the shed. I helped out a little bit by holding things in place and whatnot. For those who were able to finish in 2 days, wow! Including leveling the land (keep in mind!), taking the kit apart, building it, painting and adding shingles, I would say a GOOD week or more. Some days were a few hours (after work, before sunset), others were a good 8 hours but not even close to 2 days and he's very handy!
You'll need to purchase shingles, paint, roof felt, wood glue and caulk - totaling close to an extra $500. For an 8x12x10 shed, $2,000 total is a great deal compared to everything else we saw out there.
Overall we are very happy with this purchase!"
Review 12 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014

What a great shed for a great price!!!

"This shed is what the novice builder needs. It says 1 day to build with two people but it took me a little longer because I did most of it myself. The directions are very easy to follow and having everything pre-cut was a huge advantage. I would recommend this to anyone!!!!"
Review 13 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arlington, WA
Date:July 6, 2014

Great Shed - Take your time.

Pros: excellent instructions., materials perfectly cut., well designed.
Cons: best if you are (or have) experienced help.
Model Number: Model: 19235-7
"I bought this shed based on the reviews and the discounted price. I am thrilled with the value.
Everything was measured and cut perfectly... absolutely nothing to cut.
The only advice I'd give is to allow for and take as much time as you need. Some reviewers said they finished in two days. Clearly they have more experience than I do. Disclosure: I suffer from 'analysis paralysis', so I naturally take longer.
Don't rush or settle on fit. Precision will pay off. I made a few decisions regarding fit and alignment (e.g., 'it'll be okay') that bit me later down the line.
Bottom line, the finished shed is beautiful and high quality. Neighbors are totally jealous :-) I highly recommend this company.
Couple hints:
-Paint the body panels & trim pieces before you attach trim. Saved me effort and looks awesome.
-Remember to account for cost of un-included materials (foundation; roofing shingles, felt, drip edge; paint; ramp) this added about 30% to the cost of the shed for me."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Big Bear Lake, CA
Date:June 20, 2014

Upgrade the Trim for a great look

Pros: good instructions, well designed kit
Cons: warped rafters don't have a good work-around, 3/4" screws don't quite grip
"First, thanks to previous reviewers for some good suggestions. Yes, buy the 12' 2x4's for floor and wall top plate, which gives you some room to discard a warped or twisted stud or two. I live in snow country, so we added blocking on the roof at the horizontal seam, and cut in some supports for the overhang as well. We used a third center 4x4 runner and put the outer two at the edge rather than 1 foot in.
What really improves the look is upgrading to 1x3 corner trim - I was able to find it in the woodgrain stamp texture - and using the thin little strips in the kit to cover seams at the sides and back. My wife made me use the last 2 to cover the plastic z-bar, not necessary but looks OK. Then a nice finish is running textured 1x4 to hide the exposed 2x4s of the floor frame. I had cut the corner trim long enough to go the extra width of the 1x4, and the combination results in a nice overall look.
Like some of the other folks, we used all screws. I would have hit my thumb a thousand times if I'd tried to do it all with nails.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:June 8, 2014

Do Not Recommend

Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
"First, I will say Costco should identify the reviews where there is a verified purchase because clearly a lot of these reviews are the polar opposite of my experience.
It took nearly a month to assemble with two people. All the panels (i.e., floor boards, walls, and roof) are particle board so you need to make sure they do not get wet which requires several tarps. Most 2x4's were warped and either not labeled or illegible. A few 2x4's were split even the ones marked "premium" wood. Nails and screws were so cheap I ended up replacing them. I also bought six straight 2x4x12's instead of splicing for the floor frame and walls. Good luck aligning everything up especially the gables and roof panels with the wood supplied in this kit. I even called Yardline to ask about H-clips for the roof panels to allow for expansion and contraction and why most roof panel installation begin at the edge and work upward contrary to the directions which they had no information other than no H-clips and begin with the first panel at the rafter peak to align the roof.
Keep in mind I had to buy gravel, masonry blocks, two 4x4's (regret not using four), six tubes of caulk, several boxes of nails and screws, 60ft drip strip, tar paper, shingles, exterior paint, floor paint, door threshold (otherwise you'll tear up the particle board in no time), hurricane ties to strengthen the flimsy rafters, three tarps w/ bungee cords, replaced several 2x4's, and built a ramp. Added a solar fan to dissipate the heat instead of cutting into the wall and gable to install vents which was ridiculous with how Yardline wants you to install over the gable frame.
Do yourself a favor and either buy a shed preassembled which is cheaper in the long run or build the shed yourself where you can select your own lumber and use plywood for the panels which will be cheaper and much higher quality than the purchase of this shed kit.
It's really sad because this project could have been a rich and rewarding experience but once again company profits and cheap materials prevail at the expense of the consumer. I will not buy a shed kit in the future based on the bad experience encountered with this shed and I do not recommend this shed to anyone."
Review 16 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:June 1, 2014

Nice Shed Good Instructions

Pros: nice design good instructions good price
Cons: warped rafters
"Nice Shed at a great price
Shed assembly time is underestimated.
It took 2 guys 2 days to level the lot and create the gravel bed.
1 Day - 2 guys for Floor and Wall Assembly
1 Day -1 guy for Gables, Roof, Trim, Door
1 Day - 1 Guy for Drip Edge, Roofing felt and Shingles.
I did not have a framers gun so we screwed the whole thing together with 3" and 2" exterior screws.
Warped wood is a fact of life but I do think that some effort should be made to ensure the rafters are straight.
Overall the Shed came out square and level but I would not say it was perfect.
Too bad I did not check my local building code because this shed requires a permit with a roof exceeding
120 sq ft. I hope I don't have to take it down now.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 24, 2014

Love our new shed

Pros: great value
Cons: build time greatly underestimated
"I'll start by saying that the Everton, with all of its small aesthetic upgrades, seemed to be the best value that we could find in an 8x12 unit.
As many other reviewers have suggested, we chose to upgrade some of the structural elements of the shed. We replaced all of the 12' dimensions that consisted of 4' and 8' sections with single 12' 2x4's (sides of the floor system and top & bottom plates of the sidewalls). Additionally, we went 12" OC for the joist spacing and doubled the number of 4x4 runners to 4. Contrary to several reviewers, the vast majority of the lumber that we received was straight. If I were to nitpick one item, I would offer that a good number of the treated lumber was hardly stamped and you we had to locate the faint discoloration left by the (light) pressure treatment to identify those pieces.
As to build time, it took us two weekends and a couple evenings thereafter to go from building the foundation to shingling and caulk (we still need to paint). We used a framing nailer for just about everything not trim. Frankly, I don't see how anyone can construct the shed in two days hammering just about everything as instructed by the manual.
We've already had our electrician power the shed and plan on adding some additional shelf space - the lower shelf is pretty comical.
All in all, construction time aside, building the shed was an enjoyable little project."
Review 18 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Arizona
Date:May 4, 2014

A superb shed

Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Shed Item ##596417
"We have just finished assembling this shed and put in most of the stuff we wanted to store. I had been concerned that it would be too small for us. However, I added a number of things. I added another loft at the front end. I added a large (from wall to wall and about 36” deep) shelf at the back. Along the right side, I added three 8’ x 16” shelves at equal separations. I left the left side free to hang garden implements such as shovels and rakes. Not only did we get all our stuff in but there is room to spare. We haven’t really used the second loft yet. I emphasize that we tend to accumulate things, so I am not talking about a modest amount of stuff.
I found the directions extremely well written and easy to follow. But I agree with many of the other reviewers about the time required to assemble the shed. I estimate that it took a minimum of 6 man-days to complete the shed. In addition, we had to prepare the foundation (we did the 4” x 4” x 12’ lumber on cement posts) including leveling the ground. Our construction was inhibited a bit because we built the shed in an open areas surrounded on all four sides by bushes. We had three narrow paths through the bushes from front, left and right leading to the front of the shed assembly area. This made it difficult to do some of the tasks because we didn’t have a nice flat area on any side of the shed for laying things out.
As other reviewers, I emphasize the necessity of reading the instructions thoroughly and following all the instructions. For example, I did not check to make sure there was uniform separation between the rafter peaks before attaching the roof. There was no problem until I went to install a skylight. The skylight went in all right but it is clear that the rafters are not parallel which makes the job look not so nice. I like one reviewer’s suggestion to buy 12’ 2” x 4”s for the top and bottom of the side walls rather than splicing as the instructions call for. Given my limited work space it was difficult to keep everything tight with the splicing.
I also ran electricity to the shed which I think will be very important because now we can work with power tools in the shed and nearby. I hung a shop light in the peak of the rafters.
Some reviewers have indicated they were able to do this job alone. I complement them but I really recommend there be an additional person available. On the other hand, the rigidly sequential way in which the shed is constructed makes it hard for two people to work all the time. One person would often be standing around. However, that might have been dictated in our case by the confined space. If we had had more space, two people could have worked on the walls (one person build the left wall while the other builds the right, and so forth) and other things simultaneously. However, be very careful not to get ahead of the sequential nature of assembly. At the end, it was possible for two people to work together because of the separate nature of adding all the finishing pieces.
I was very impressed with the quality of the lumber and the hardware including screws and nails. Having very high quality lumber ensured there were no problems with knots or splitting wood.
As to the future, I think I will add an external plug box to make it easier to access the electricity for outside work. We live in the desert and even at 80 degrees (in early May) the shed is getting really hot. I think I may add a small exhaust fan at the upper rear wall vent opening to keep the shed from becoming an oven when the temperatures start going over 100 in the summer.
In writing this review, it is hard to be too analytical because I have nothing to compare to. This is the only shed I have constructed. Having said that, I found very little to complain about. The shed is a solid, sturdy building that, I am sure, will provide many years of satisfactory service.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Isabella, CA
Date:May 1, 2014

great looking shed

Pros: a nice looking and very solid wood product
Cons: too many pieces
Model Number: 19235-7
"This is a great looking and very sturdy little shed with a lot of room. Only draw back, There were way more pieces to assemble than expected and did take 2 people more like 3 days rather than 2."
Review 20 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LI, NY
Date:April 29, 2014

Great Shed for Great Price

Pros: great price
Cons: some pieces were not marked
"amazing shed for the price. the extra storage space due to 10 ft peak is great. very easy to build. took 8hrs with the help of one other person. saved time using a nail gun. will need another few hrs for paint and shingles."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>