Customer Reviews for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed

Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed

BEFORE ORDERING – Be sure to check your local building and zoning codes and ensure that all appropriate permits have been acquired. Always check with your local building authority and homeowners association for restrictions/requirements before finalizing your purchase. At this time orders for this item can not be delivered to Florida addresses. The Everton storage building by Yardline offers the space you need and the styling you’ve been looking for. The Everton is an 8’ x 12’ building that features an extra tall 10’ roof peak creating storage space rarely seen in a gable style unit. The steep roof pitch and extended overhangs provide a styling normally found only in expensive custom designs. The double doors on the Everton are 28” wide creating a 56” opening that allows access for virtually any riding lawn mower. A transom window and decorative strap hinges add class and elegance to the front of the Everton. Style, Versatility, Functionality and Elegance are just of few of the adjectives that describe the Everton by Yardline.     For questions regarding this item, please call Yardline at 1-800-844-9273   Everything is pre-cut…nothing to saw!   Includes the most solid floor system in its class. Constructed of treated 2” x 4” framing with 16” joist spacing. OSB decking is an engineered wood product designed for strength, durability and consistency, 5/8” sheets covers the floor frame providing years of safe and dependable storage. 6’ tall walls are constructed of solid 2x4 lumber and provide ample space for long-handled tools, ladders and more   Includes a storage loft that measures 8’ long and 3’ deep   Includes a shelf that measures 8’ long and 12” deep   Factory primed wood siding is treated to resist decay and termites      Features pre-assembled, 2 pre-hung 28” doors (generous 56” opening)   Doors operate on strong piano hinges and include decorative faux strap hinges   Includes locking T handle and assembly hardware   Raised transom window over the doors   Extended roof overhangs provide style and protection from water runoff   Includes two wall vents   Paint and shingle to match your home or suit your taste (paint & shingles NOT included)   740 cubic feet of storage   Floor size 96” x 140 5/8”   Side wall height 6’ (nominal)   Peak height 10’ (nominal)   Total weight approximately 1300 lbs.   15-year limited warranty Assembly Required: All parts are pre-cut and ready for assembly. Assembly requires intermediate carpentry skills and will require 2 people 2 days to complete: 1 day to assemble the shed and 1 day to paint, caulk and shingle the shed.   Furnished by Homeowner:    Approximately 1.5 gallons of exterior latex paint for siding   Approximately 1 quart of exterior latex paint for trim   Approximately 1 quart of exterior latex paint for doors   7 bundles of roofing shingles and appropriate nails/fasteners Tools Needed:    Hammer   Phillips   Screwdriver   Tape measure   Level   Stepladder   Cordless drill   Painting tools Model: 19235-7
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
(out of 84 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
3
71 of 84(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2014

Classiest Kit Design on the Market

Pros: nice design with finished soffits high pitch, unbeatable price, good quality hardware, pressure-treated wood, roomy loft, product arrived early
Cons: more time-consuming than advertised, pieces not always clearly marked, roof connections could be stronger
"I'm a carpenter and enjoyed building this kit although Costco's 2 day/2 person estimate is very optomistic as it took several hours just to unpack & sort the many pieces/understand the directions and a full day to site and prep the raised foundation. I chose the Everton because the style matched our home roof pitch and having an overhang with closed soffits looks classy on a shed and protects the siding. The structural design is good except for the roof & joist toenail connections which I thought were weak. To strengthen I added blocking at the gable peak (since there is no beam) and Simpson offset hurricane ties to secure the joists inside to the studs in case of high winds. The shed looks dynamite with a colored metal roof. Spray painting the inside white also helped reflect the light and gave it a nice finished look and adding a few extra shelves was easy. I took the advice of a reviewer and bought two 12-foot pressure-treated 2 x 4's for the base perimeter to eliminate the seam. The new shed with some flower beds added a nice focal point to our back yard and visitors think it's a custom building. Costco hit a home run with this product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, Missouri
Date:March 22, 2012

Very Nice Shed and Nice Quality

Pros: easy to assemble, decent quality everything comes primed to paint, nice quality, definitely proud to own, neighbors have commented about the quality, can't touch the price elsewhere
Cons: two mismatched plywood pieces, requires a separate purchase of roofing material
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Shed
"I spent a great deal of time shopping around before I bought this shed. The first thing I noticed was that I couldn't touch the price at any other home center. This same size and quality is at least twice to three times the price elsewhere. It was delivered very quickly and sooner than promised. The entire kit is band strapped in a 4' by 8' by 3' high rectangle and I couldn't believe that all the parts were present. It took me two weekends to assemble it and I had a lot of fun putting it together. I am very proud of the results. I spent about 30 hours assembling everything and the instructions were exact, easy to read, and very simple to follow. I did have to purchase roofing material but that's not a problem because I wanted the roof to match my house. There was only one glitch in the entire process. A piece of plywood for the floor was too thin and a narrow piece on the roof was too thin. Not a big enough concern to warrant making any changes."
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 21, 2012

This shed is the way to go.

Pros: great instructions and quality materials., elaborate design
Cons: not a weekend job.
"I wasn't sure if I wanted to tackle building this, so I contacted Yardline first and they sent me the instructions right away. I am not a carpenter but I do a lot of the projects around the house, so I wanted to make sure this was something I wanted to do. I decided I could handle it so I ordered and it arrived in about a week. I was impressed with the quality of the lumber they used in the kit. All said, I have 30 hours into building it exclusive of painting and shingling. The only area where I needed a second person was tilting the walls up in place after I built them. The detail they designed into this shed is amazing. I spent half a day just installing the trim and soffit pieces. People are having a hard time believing that I built this myself. I have to say that I enjoyed the experience very much.
There were two instances where I had questions and both times I was able to quickly reach a representative on their customer service line. They were able to answer my questions right there and get me going."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis MN
Date:June 11, 2012

fabulous shed

Pros: excellent manual great design favorably priced
Model Number: Item #596416, Everton 8'X12' Wood Shed
"This was a terrific shed to buy. I liked it last year but waited until this year to buy it. Two of us got it done in the 2 day time frame (for the most part).
A retired physician stopped by to see it last weekend as he took a break in his scratch-built effort and exclaimed "'this was the shed I looked for and could not find!" He had bought books and searched the web only to find inadequate product and designs that lacked proportionality. He loved the engineering and overall appearance of the Everton. He lamented that he had not 'found' this option.
Another retired engineer in our RV park said nearly the same thing. Having finished his own, he said he liked this Everton better.
Good job Everton! Buyer's should know that beyond the obvious features and function that the manual was exacting and well done. Use of the the King's english (instead of a foreign writer and poor translator), Everton has a 1st rate manual that is nearly idiot-proof. Anyone with the will can do this construction job.
Thanks Everton!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victorville, CA
Date:June 21, 2013

waste of time and money

Pros: it's decent looking when completed.
Cons: warped and twisted wood
Model Number: 16773
"I consider myself a craftsman and have built many projects including garages, sheds, porches etc. This kit I thought would save me time by having all the wood precut. The wood that came in the kit was so wet that it was warped and twisted, it also had bugs that I believe were termites on the sheeting, oddly not on the boards. I spent more time straightening boards or replacing them with ones I had left over from an addition we did about 5 years ago. These boards sat on my porch for years and were still straighter than the ones in the kit. The engineering of this kit leaves a lot to be desired, especially the front over hang and the rear wall. I would recommend that anyone wanting a shed of this size that they find plans and a material sheet and buy their own wood and cut it themselves. The top and bottom sill plates were so twisted they needed replacement and it is so important that these be straight and true. They expect the rear wall to be strong enough with only one upright that holds two 4' wide sheets together. It should also have an overhang on the rear wall as it does on the front."
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverton, OR
Date:April 7, 2014

Great shed

Pros: everything was pre-cut with step by step, instructions.
Cons: it did take longer to build than suggested but i, didn't mind & enjoyed the project.
Model Number: Everton 8 x 12 garden shed
"The shed arrived 2 weeks from purchase, really fast. One piece was smashed so I called & they immediately shipped replacement boards. We did reinforce the center of floor but strictly because a heavy riding mower was going to be sitting on it. Also we put 2 more studs in back wall. It took a total of 4-5 days to assemble with two people. I was able to customize the shed with cedar shingles in peaks & a cupola on top. All in all I would say this is a very good value! I am very happy with purchase."
Review 7 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southwest Utah Mountains
Date:April 11, 2014

Kit Makes a Great Base for a Mountain Shed

Pros: steeply pitched roof sheds snow better, assembly instructions easy to follow for novice, window lets you see inside - great feature, quick delivery of kit with helpful driver, all my toys fit through the door
Cons: i added a few more roofing joists for strength, really needs more floor joists for heavy loads
Model Number: 19237-7
"My mountain cabin needed a shed to store my family's motorized toys and other items too dangerous for the garage (e.g., gasoline). To conform with our HOA rules I needed to add a metal roof and log siding after putting the kit together.
I put the basic kit together myself including raising the walls. It was tricky but can be done. I spent a lot of time preparing the foundation since I built it on a slope. Once the floor was installed I built the walls on top of each other using the floor to support them since I didn't have a big enough flat surface to lay them out. The floor was exactly the right size.
I purchased metal roofing material and log siding from a local hardware store and installed them after watching DIY videos on the Internet. The metal roof was not that expensive but the log siding was. Climbing on the roof to screw the roof to the roofing plywood was awkward but I managed using a long ladder sloping from the roof to the ground. I had to add a couple of extra 2x4s to the inside walls to nail the edges of the log siding to.
I am pleased with the result. It could look better but I am not a professional carpenter and it still looks pretty good. I put several ATVs, gas cans, tools, etc. in the shed for the winter.
One of the great aspects of the shed is its peaked roof. When it snowed this winter I noticed the snow would slide off the roof unlike other sheds that didn't have the steep slope this kit has.
In summary, it took me a lot longer to build the kit and make my modifications than the sales literature says but the result is good looking and extremely functional. Similar sheds built by professionals in my area cost four to five times more than I invested in my shed.
Adding a vertical sliding door is the only thing that I would think would have made the shed better looking. But these doors are costly and the kit doors work well and look good with the wood siding."
Review 8 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:August 28, 2012

Good looking shed

"This is one good looking shed. The material is good quality and the assembly instructions were detailed. When purchasing, you must know to add the extra cost of about $400-$500 for the material not included but needed for completing your shed. e.g. Shingles, Paint, 4X4 runners, gravels, cement blocks, drip edge, roofing nails, caulk, wood glue, extra lumber for floor etc. On the top of that, you may also need to budget cost for building the ramp . In my case, I chose to go with professional help which cost me extra $500 for labor (not including the ramp). It took a carpenter and a helper 2 long days (11 hours on day 1 and 12 hours on day 2) to finish the shed, including painting the outside. The detailed instructions make it easy but time consuming. Sorting out the pieces by each section in the beginning would have helped a little bit more. Overall, I am happy with the design and extra space it provided."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 30, 2012

Excellent Shed - Easy to Assemble

"We love the look of this shed versus some of the other options, and the price was great.
I used this as a "bonding" experience for me and my 12-year old son, and we had a great time building this shed. If the two of us can build this shed, then anybody can do it!! I don't know how many hours it took us to build because we took a lot of breaks (it was HOT here in Atlanta), but we were able to do it over a weekend. I spent a couple hours prior to the weekend getting the "block and skids" foundation prepared, but we cut the package open on Saturday morning and we were finished by Sunday night.
We used deck screws instead of nails in most cases, and we added extra 2x4s to the floor structure. Caution - if you put the joists 12" apart versus 18", it makes a much stronger floor, but then the seam between two floor pieces is not on a floor joist - so plan accordingly.
We had two pieces of lumber that were a little warped, but it was no big deal and they worked just fine (one was a shelf support beam). I was very impressed overall with the whole kit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:October 25, 2011

High End Look for a Great Price!

Pros: includes free loft and shelf, great look, easy to construct
Model Number: 596417
"Last week we received our new shed from Costco... the Everton. After a weekend of construction, caulking and paint we are now the envy of the neighborhood.
It's a great shed with a overhang and a very high end look that fit nicely in our smaller backyard. It is easy to put together with basic tools and a little elbow grease. My wife helped with the painting and now have a shed we can be proud of for years to come.
The loft and shelf provide much needed storage space and help get the smaller "clutter" off the floor and out of the way. The window above the door lets in light but is high enough to deter snooping and keeps contents out of sight. Nice touch!
Thanks Costco for another great product at a really good price!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Small Town, NJ
Date:May 14, 2012

Good Stuff. Made to last.

Pros: tough and meant to last
Cons: takes a while getting the floor and walls aligned
"One sentence summarizes it all - very good product and meant to last. Just be aware, this is not a trivial project. The shed is made of wood making it heavy. I had to move the pieces up on an incline, which made it really tough. If you do not have a level ground, you will need to get extra material – gravel, timber, asphalt. We started the project on Friday around 4 PM. We could barely get the floor ready by 8.30 PM. You need a nail gun for sure; a powerful one that can drive 3 inch nails. I cannot imagine completing this project without the nail gun. The three walls took the rest of Saturday. Sunday was spent on the roof, the front and the finishes. We have not yet completed the roof – the roof ‘felt’ and shingles are far from complete. Roughly 20 hours with a nail gun, two sets of drills, extra 3 inch timber – just to get the exterior. The shed, even without a completed roof and any exterior paint looks excellent – there is no doubt about its quality; I would be really surprised had Costco compromised on the quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Draper, UT
Date:June 13, 2012

Expect work

Pros: good looking and sound
Cons: time consuming to construct
Model Number: 596417
"Product arrived 2 weeks ahead of promise date. Hard to believe an entire shed was contained in such a small package. Directions were easy to read. The materials were acceptable, but a couple warped 2x4's required replacing. I would recommend purchasing four 98" 2x4's to replace any warped lumber you may encounter and to beef up the rear wall structure. If you elect to use warped lumber you will regret when it comes to achieveing a plumb and square shed that has a tight fit & finish. I am handy person who has all tools. The shed, including some upgrades of my own, took 49 hrs. to 100% complete single handely. I recommend upgrading the spliced 12' floor rim by scabbing 4', or purchasing two 12' treated 2x4's. The treated floor lumber was questionable and poorly marked. Have a tape measure handy to validate parts as there is no lumber ID to compare with drawings #'s. An air nailer would speed up construction considerably. All in all I am happy with the finished shed. Would I build one again....No if you figure your time is money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:June 10, 2012

Like a really big puzzle.

"After looking long and hard for the perfect shed, my husband and I finally broke down and bought this shed when it went on sale last month. Neither of us had much experience building anything and it took us 3 weekends to complete. Granted, we probably could have done it in 3 solid days working from sun up to sun down but, not 2 days. (We started late almost everyday and took lots of breaks.)
The instructions are super easy to follow and all of the wood is clearly marked so, it really is like playing with a big set of legos or linkin logs. We had a great time, actually. We ran into a few bumps along the way, the back wall is designed sort of weird but all things considered, it was an easy project.
The only items not included that are manditory are shingles, paint, blocks for leveling the structure, and of course the tools you need. Everything else is included.
I would definitely recommend this shed to any do-it-yourselfer that can read and swing a hammer. And the price and quality is better than most other pre-built backyard sheds."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:August 26, 2013

Cute shed

Pros: well engeenered and strong., not like anyone elses., rafters
Cons: supplied floor may not be the best
Model Number: Everton 8x12
"I had a great time getting the shed built. I upgraded the floor (3/4 pressure treated plywood) and put it on 6x6 timbers sitting on 6 concrete columns 8" round with imbedded brackets. It ain't going anywhere. I used decking screws everywhere and lots of caulk. I had a bit of difficulty with the roof panels getting them square. I should have started at the base of the roof rather than at the top. It would have been easier to fix my misalignment. You must pay attention to the details of the manual. Follow the directions. If something is not fitting - it's your fault. Don't let yourself be convinced by an impatient helper - a relative for example - that it is just a milling issue or was cut wrong. That did not happen where it mattered. I put in soffit vents - 8 of them - and a ridge vent. The shed stays cool and ventilated. I did not install the 2 vents supplied. I did not want to cut holes in the walls. I had a roofing contractor install the roof. He had done my main house and brought his crew over after a local job. I used the same singles as on my main house. (total cost about $500.) The foundation and upgraded floor was about $300 including the upgraded hardware. The loft and shelf are great and I have everything in it I needed to put in it, although someone has said you can always use more room. I did not want to store stuff I could have gotten rid of."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Massachusetts
Date:July 9, 2012

Tastefully Elegant and Practically Useful

Pros: looks great and has plenty of storage space.
Cons: novices beware (may require some building skill)
"I will admit it, I simply did not have time to build a shed, even one as straight forward as Costco's Everton 8' x 12' Wood Shed. We shopped around and bought this one when it went on sale ($999.00) in May. When it came, my wife and I unpacked, inventoried and labeled every part and then wrote a check ($500.00) to our handyman for him to assemble. He showed up shortly thereafter with another gentlemen and began working at about 7:30 AM one morning – they used nail guns, etc, and carefully followed the instructions. By 2:00 PM, everything was done with the exception of the roof shingles, which they finished in about an hour and a half the next day. The following day we moved our power washer, generator, snow blower, lawn mower and yard tools (all CostCo purchases) into the shed and actually put both cars in the garage for the first time in a long while (yippee!!!). We just came from our local county fair and similar sheds are selling for $2,500 plus! At $1,500 (purchase and installation), this was a GREAT Deal!!! It looks great and complements our yard. Thanks again CostCo!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:December 30, 2013

Don't bother unless you build homes for a living

Pros: sturdy once built, looks nice once completed, lots of space inside
Cons: warped boards and cheap lumber used, way understated on the labor hours required
Model Number: 19235-7
"2 people 2 days to assemble???? And that is 1 day to assemble and 1 day to paint?? I have an actual carpenter friend that helped me and together we put in over 20 hours each to assemble. Some of the boards were so warped and cut crooked that we had to use clamps and pulleys to twist as we screwed them together. This took care of some of the twist and bow but not all of it. We also discarded all the provided screws and bought the brown lifetime "star" drill bit screws. The provided ones are cheap and would not provide the needed strength for this shed. Once it is put together using the new screws, it is a very sturdy shed. But the time it took and the amount of labor to correct all the warping was ridiculous.
p.s. there are also a few errors in the instruction manual in the detail pictures...I am so lucky that I had an actual builder available to me to help...
"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Frisco, Texas
Date:October 14, 2012

Be Carefull

Pros: cheap, good material
Cons: you will spend more $$$$ to finish, high skills required
Model Number: Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
"This not a shed is not for everyone. Don’t be fooled being handy is not enough to build this shed. You must be a builder. The direction must have been written by someone whose is an expert, written for experts. The illustrations are poor and hard to follow. The directions are a joke.
Not all items are included or cut to exact shape. Some panels and wood warped.
I quickly realized it’s a project much bigger than I can handle, so I hired someone, but that’s not all you must buy material for the foundation, shingles, siding, caulking, nails, etc net net be ready to spend another $1000. I spent $150 for foundation, $350 for shingles and roofing material, about $100 for misc, and the person who helped me in install I had to pay him $400
I regret this whole project and will never ever do that again. If you know what you’re doing, it’s worth it if you’re not a builder. FORGET IT
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oxnard, CA
Date:November 14, 2012

Love it!

Pros: feels like it will last a long time!, was able to add additional overhead storage.
Cons: roofing materials not included
Model Number: 19235-7
"I purchased this shed after reviewing many online and in store products. My dad was trying to get me to lean towards a plastic shed because of maintenance, but I had my heart set on a wood shed. Which I am glad I did as I am very satisfied with the purchase. The delivery arrived on time which was a plus. I'm a single Mom and although mechanically inclined and love to "build" things, there is no way I could have built this product on my own. The end product is wonderful I extended the top shelf out which doubled the overhead storage (this would not have been possible with a plastic or metal shed). If the roofing materials were included that would have been even better. Although there are cheaper sheds, you definitely get what you pay for and I’m glad I spent the extra money. My only regret is that I didn't buy a bigger shed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2012

Beautiful Shed, please make a bigger one

Pros: very attractive compared to anything at lowes/ hd
Cons: 10x12 would be perfect
"i paid a couple of guys $200 to put it together, and it came out great. They struggled at first but once they were finished they said they could do it again in half the time (isn't that always the case). It is the best looking shed I have ever seen and I planted a bunch of bushes around it. I like looking at it. Its sturdy and quite function (i had them build-in a work bench). I live in California and most of the counties allow 120' square foot storage sheds (without having to permit). i wish these companies would do better research as to things like this. Offer a 120' square foot one and I'll buy it tomorrow."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Everton 8' x 12' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond VA
Date:December 31, 2011

Very Spacious Shed

"This is a very nice and roomy shed! It replaced our 4 x 7 plastic shed that we had also purchased from Costco. It is very large but doesn't look overbearing since it is deeper than wide. We had the company build it for us which included supplying shingles and it was well worth it. The loft and shelf add to the storage space and keep the floor clear. We are painting it today to match our house. Definitely recommend it!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>