Customer Reviews for US Stove Ash Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

US Stove Ash Vacuum

Cleanup is a breeze with the new AV15 Ash Vacuum from USSC. With a 2 horse power peak motor, and a 6 gallon capacity, you can easily shorten your maintenance time. This Vacuum is specifically designed to handle both warm and cool ashes to make cleaning up your fireplace, wood burning stove, Pellet stove or any other dirty job simple and easy.  Regular maintenance is essential to keep any wood stove or fireplace operating at its peak efficiency. USSC recommends cleaning your wood and pellet heaters at least once per week throughout the heating season Safe for warm or cold ashes   2 HP peak motor   8 ft power cord   6 gallon capacity    3.25 foot suction hose with 8" aluminum wand   3 layer fine dust filter with Mesh cage   Darcon Prefilter bag   Plastic Crevice tool   Integrated cord and hose storage If you have questions regarding this product, installation, or operational use, please call US Stove 800-750-2723, Monday - Friday, 7AM - 5PM EST Model: AV15
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 of 10(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Review 1 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Mathews, CA
Date:November 12, 2012

US Stove Ash Vacuum

Pros: easy to set up.
Cons: none really; could have a slightly longer hose.
Model Number: AV15
"This was a good buy from Costco. I was looking for a vacuum for my fireplace and BBQ's and received a sale flyer from a major internet tool/supplies firm. I was going to buy but did a search on the product first and found Costco selling for $20 less, shipping included. This vacuum performs as advertised and is easy to set up and use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parker, Colorado
Date:November 16, 2011

awesome vacuum

Pros: great price great vacuum
Cons: none
"Incredible, I can vacuum the ash from my pellet stove in just minutes. So very clean no dust just fantastic. Have bought two, gave one to my daughter as her early Christmas gift, she was so delighted and happy that santa's gift was so outstanding. How did we ever manage about this vacuum. Costco you did it again, thanks for this product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:December 16, 2011

Makes dirty work easy

Pros: easy set-up ease of use ease of emptying
Cons: would like an attachment brush
"I have used this 4 times to clean out our fireplace. I used to use a hand broom and a dust pan. Dust would blow everywhere and i didnt like breathing it in. I dreaded when my husband would light a fire (he never cleaned up the ashes.) now it is quick and easy and best of all, no dust! He even cleaned up after the last fire. I decided to empty the drum thinking it might be filling up, but to my surprise, it was only about a third full. It was very easy to empty, however, i suggest you do this outside. Ash does fly a bit! So far i think this was a great purchase. Read the other reviews and i am glad Costco has such a generous return policy. Hopefully i won't need to use it. In fact, bought a second to give as a gift."
Review 4 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2013

Nice idea

"This unit was great for about 2 uses. Then I was unable to get the "ash filter" which is simply a piece of fireproof fabric to keep the ash from recirculating back out the top of the vacuum. Sadly this filter does not go all the way around my Bucket and is too small. Don't know how this got through Quality Control. Upon Vacuuming now it promptly spits out the ash it picks up through the top, all over my house. I am still dusting and trying to get the ash cleaned up. I will return it and give it another chance. This device is not any more different than any Wet/Dry vac except the fireproof filter."
Review 5 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2013

COLD ASH VACUUM AT BEST

Pros: cheap & returnable
Cons: only for cold ash, suction is weak
Model Number: US Stove Ash Vacuum
"I tried 2 of these units & within 1 week fried the motor on both (thanks Costco for the worlds best return policy). I have a wood burner stove & run it 24/7 & was hoping to lightly pull some ash out each AM prior to getting the fire started. Unfortunately the vacuum is NOT at all designed to take up warm ash. Both units just stopped working after sucking up ash with a SMALL amount of coals. I could feel the tank getting warm/hot & then the motor fried. There should be a thermal fuse cut off that would reset but this is a cheap unit for COLD ash only. Additionally, the suction is quite weak but it should work (ok?) if used for cold ash only."
Review 6 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011

Usable but not good

"Motor is not powerful enough. It is very noisy . The hose should be two inch instead of one inch since chunks of ash get stuck in it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northeast Oregon
Date:March 12, 2013

works like advertised

Pros: not as noisy as expecting it to be
Cons: website for ordering replacement parts when needed
Model Number: AV15 ash vacumn
"Just used to clean our pellet stove and it made it so much easier. Removed the ash from the ash tray and where the pellets burn. I also hooked up the vacumn to the flue pipe when I used the brush to clean it and so did not have to deal with soot flying around. Made the job go so much easier and better for my health"
Review 8 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mid-Atlantic
Date:January 18, 2013

Not bad!

Pros: easy and clean
Cons: no slot attachment
"This is the first ash vacuum I've owned after 35 years of DIY clean-up. This gets the job done cleanly (no "blow back"), efficiently and it's not too loud. I do wish that it had a slot attachment for those spaces between the grates, but using the open hose works (therefore the 4 stars). It is big enough to hold at least two big roaring fire ashes."
Review 9 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boston, Massachusetts
Date:February 22, 2013

Good product good price

"I bought one last year for my pellet stove.
Works good overall but the cartridge filter needs to be clean or you will reduce the amount of suction. Like anything else needs to be maintain and cleaned
"
Review 10 for US Stove Ash Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:BEDFORD, NH
Date:December 2, 2011

LOW QUALITY PRODUCT BROKE IN 2 MIN

Cons: bad welds junk product
"THE CLAMP THAT HOLDS THE TOP DOWN BROKE OFF. IT WAS NOT WELDED ON PROPERLY. IT HAD TWO SPOT WELDS.
PREDICT COSTCO IS GOING TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THIS PRODUCT.
THE FIRST TIME I WENT TO PUT THE UNIT TOGETHER THE CLAMP BROKE OFF - UNIT IS TOTALLY USELESS NOW.
NICE THING IS COSTCO RETURN POLICY - DONT CHANGE THAT.
PRODUCT IS JUNK."