Customer Reviews for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster

Provides Next 4 hr., 4-8 hr. and 8-12 hr. Forecasts
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
(out of 63 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
10
41 of 63(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Review 1 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Coeur d'Alene, ID
Date:November 15, 2011

Great Purchase!

Cons: brochure needs detailed info regarding geo.
Model Number: 02015
"The display unit is large, which makes it easy to read the many details. Love that it lights up (blue) with the touch of a button. Really like knowing the outdoor temp *and* humidity, along with the indoor info.
Be sure to call the manufacturer's Customer Service if you have questions, which I did. The "micro forecast" was not working right; it consistently showed there was a 99% chance of rain. You need to press the GEO button (inside, behind the batteries) and go completely thru A thru G and *then* go to your correct Region. Now my weather station works perfectly!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2011

Good purchase

Pros: easy to set up, easy to read big numbers
"So far, we really like this weather station. We've had several in the past and this one is by far the easiest to set up; much simpler to get it up and running than LaCross or Weather Channel unit. The numbers are big and easy to read from across the room. It would be nice if the history covered a longer period than 12 hours. Also, it would be nice if the unit could read from more than one sensor. You can set the channel to A, B or C, but not to A&B or A&B&C."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:November 8, 2011

A perfect gift!

"I bought this Weather Forecaster for my quite elderly parents. My father has short term memory loss but still engages in activities that have been lifelong habits and favorites. Keeping track of the weather has been one of those enjoyments. This device provides indoor and outdoor temps so he stays knowledgeable related to both, can dress appropriately for outdoors and have facts about indoor temps when arguing with my mother about the weather indoors! The device sits on the dining room table and the large readout can be seen from their favorite chairs in the livingroom. There is a light button on the top of the device that nicely lights the screen. The device tilts as well. Simple to use, as advertised. Stick in the batteries, set time zone, hang the outside monitor, and it works!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:December 3, 2011

Numerous Flaws

Pros: costco's return policy for this item.
Cons: see review
Model Number: 2015
"I own several Acu-Rite but this is the worse model. The display is difficult to see, outside temp is inaccurate, forecast feature is ok if you have no intention of using it. Otherwise, makes a good paper weight."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2011

Simple and Good

Pros: easy to set up accurate and provides lots of info
Cons: large size light dims too rapidly
"Both my wife and I are weather junkies and knowing how things are and how things will be in the next hour, day, week, etc. is important to us. This device did not disappoint. It virtually sets itself up and the readings are clearly visible. We found two negatives. First, it is rather large and takes up a lot of room on a wall or on a table. Secondly, when you push to light the display, the light does not stay on long enough for you to read all the information on the screen. If it stayed on a few seconds longer, and was a third smaller I would have given it five stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:November 17, 2011

Just OK

Pros: displays outdoor temp and humidity wirelessly
Cons: display screen too small, protrudes too much when mounted on wall, the forecast predictions are a joke
"AcuRite has another model with a larger screen.
Unfortunately that model was too simplistic and I returned it to Costco in favor of this model.
While it does display more information, the two things that I miss from the previous model are:
The larger display screen (this one is too small) and
The ability to hang in flush on the wall (this one hangs by the cradle, which makes it protrude about 4" from the wall. really ugly).
In both models, the future forecast are inaccurate. I guess there's a reason why weather forecasters use super computers.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 9, 2011

weather details accurate, not impressive otherwise

"Pros:
1) easy to set up
2) large, easy-to-read display of weather details
Cons:
1) wall mount not flush, sticks out about 4 inches
2) display is dim when backlight is off, visibility varies greatly with angle of view
3) forecast is accurate about 50% of the time
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:February 10, 2012

Excellent product

Pros: simple set up instructions and immediate results.
Cons: none
Model Number: 02015
"we have a rule in our house, if Costco carries it it's got to be excellent! Enough said!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yonkers, New York
Date:November 8, 2011

Mostly good

Pros: comprehensive forecasting
Cons: no ability to adjust display contrast, no atomic clock for perfect time all the time.
Model Number: Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
"This replaced a LaCrosse forecaster which died after about five years. Though this Acu-Rite has, on balance, more features than the LaCrosse, it lacks two that I miss. The first is the ability to adjust the contrast of the display. Without that, the display is sometimes hard to read. The second thing I miss is the atomic clock. This clock had to be set manually, despite the makers claim that it comes preset. Though it self adjusts for daylight savings, it may not keep perfect time. It will take some time to determine how accurate it is. Despite these omissions, I would still recommend the unit."
Review 10 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2011

Acu-Rite blamed the batteries

Pros: super quick shipping
Cons: blamed the batteries on the kirland brand...
"Let the buyer beware! After following the instruction to the letter, the device was defective. I called Acu-Rite to make sure it was not operator (me) problem. After hearing that it must be the batteries (newly purchased Kirkland (costco) batteries) and they should be exchanged. I tired to explain the batteries were new..the rep. then admited the fault maybe in their sensor and said they could replace the sensor but not the entire unit after they received their sensor back. Needless to say..sorry Costco this is going to be a return with no fault to you."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 8, 2011

Worthless

Model Number: Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
"I live in San Bernardino County and with weather hovering around 85 degrees, all 3 weather icons on this forecaster show heavy rain with 99% precipitation. I have read the manual and contacted their tech support, which gave an answer of "I don't know" about the extreme weather inaccuracy. The closest I can get this thing to being somewhat close to weather here in Southern Calif., is to set the switch for Florida State temps.
Any setting (which are 3 of them) for the west coast areas, will give you constant rain icons. Poor choice for a forecaster.
"
Review 12 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:November 17, 2011

Best indoor/outdoor thermometer.

Model Number: 02015
"Good range on the outdoor sensor. Nice large display. It's also nice to have the accurate time--which we use to set the other clocks in the area. I have the weather history display showing the trend for barometric pressure (but you can set it to show trend in temperature or humidity). You can press a button to back-light the display. The micro forecast display at the bottom is not really necessary (rarely accurate in AZ), but it doesn't hurt anything. Nice value too."
Review 13 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Date:November 2, 2011

Forecasts rain & snow all the time

"I really wanted to keep this unit because it had everything I was looking for but when I set it up the forecast feature at the bottom of the display read 99% chance of precipitation and cloudy with rain changing to snow in all 3 time frames and never changed, even when it was sunny for days. I thought it might have been because I live at 7k feet and the barometer was not compensating correctly even though I was set to the correct "Geo" zone. Unit was returned."
Review 14 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:February 22, 2012

Mostly Doesn't Work

Pros: easy to setup, nice display
Cons: useless weather forecast it's not even close, air pressure stopped working, clock isn't atomic
Model Number: 02010
"It's a nice looking unit and was easy to setup, but beyond the temperature and humidity the rest of the features simply don't work.
After installation the air pressure sensor falls way way below anything seen on Earth and this is no doubt part of the reason the unit always predicts storms and rain. This means that 1/3 of the display is useless.
It was a nice concept but very poor execution. I recommend getting something else."
Review 15 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 11, 2011

poor visibility

Cons: poor visibility
"I am disappointed in the visibility of the display. If you press the button for the back-light, then the display is easily visible, but if you want to glance at it from across the room then I find it hard to read unless there is bright lighting in the room, and even then the viewing angle is quite limited.
As far as the basic functionality of the unit and the remote sensor, I am pleased with the operation of the unit."
Review 16 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:November 8, 2011

I have been wanting one forever

"I have been looking every where for barrameter/weather forecaster and could not find one that had everything I wanted. I tell I love Costco it seems like I have found so many things I want from the online services. It has been easy and I always get the product promptly and returns are never an issue. But I am enjoying my Wireless Micor weather forecaster. It was very easy to get all the information set up!
I love it!!
"
Review 17 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, Mi
Date:November 14, 2011

Acu-Rite

Pros: great for the money
"There was no directions with this item. I did find them on line. Some of the information regarding the air pressure is still unclear to me. However, we love the accuracy of the inside outside temp. It takes a few days for the instrument to acclimate. It is amazing! It was even aware of the time change. Another nice feature is that it has a button that can light up the screen for a night time view. A great gadget."
Review 18 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, NM
Date:January 12, 2012

OK for temperature

Pros: big readout
Cons: useless forecaster, poor quality control
"It arrived with a defective outdoor sensor. After having me try various tests, the mfgr. finally replaced it and it seems to be OK now. The display is large, easy to read, gives reasonably accurate temperatures. The forecaster is worse than useless -- its forecasts are completely implausible; precip. forecast is stuck at 99%; temp. forecasts are rediculous. Buy it for temperature readings, nothing else."
Review 19 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2011

Get what you pay for

Pros: 12 hr tracking, large display, back lighting
"You get what you pay for. For the price I was willling to pay I'm satisfied with my purchase. Your going to get a better quality weather station if you buy a LaCross but this one works just fine. I'm very satisfied with this weather stattion and would recomend it to somone who does not want to spend a lot of money. I think its a great bargain.
I think for the price I got my monies worth.
"
Review 20 for Acu-Rite® Wireless Micro Weather Forecaster
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago "Burbs"
Date:November 7, 2011

Nice, compact, accurate weather station

Pros: good barometer readings ., will cycle through 12hrs. past, easy to read., easy set up.
"Keep in mind that this unit might take (up to 14 days) to get used to and adjust to your locale. After first setting up, which basically requires you to install the batteries, GEO location and time zone I was amazed how fast the time set itself and weather related items.
We like the up to 12 hour forecast as that's helpful when planning work in the yard and other outdoor activities.
"
1 2 3 4 next>>