Customer Reviews for QuickBooks® Pro 2012

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

QuickBooks® Pro 2012

*This item may be found at your local warehouse for a cash and carry price. Limit 1 PER ORDER Everyday tasks just got more efficient. Easy to set up, learn and use, QuickBooks Pro can quickly organize your business finances and show you exactly where you stand. Easily create and customize estimates, invoices and statements. Quickly locate any account, report, or invoice with just a keyword in QuickBooks Search. Complete transactions faster with convenient access to your customer’s or vendor’s balance and transaction history. Questions along the way? Get step-by-step tutorials show you how to create invoices, record expenses and more. Guaranteed easy or your money back. Easy to set up, easy to learn to use The New User Setup includes coaching tips to help you navigate through your first tasks so you can get up and running easily. Plus, you can import your contacts from Excel or other email address books.1 Organize your finances all in one place See how your essential business tasks fit together on the QuickBooks Home page. Tasks are organized by group, like Vendors, Customers, and Banking. Workflow arrows show you how tasks relate to each other, helping you decide what to do next. Easily create invoices and track sales & expenses Create invoices quickly and save time tracking your sales, bills, and expenses. QuickBooks organizes everything in one place, so you can access all past invoices, payments, and bills with just a few clicks. Get reliable records for tax time Gain insights into your business and prepare for tax season with one-click tax reports. Drill down to see the details behind the numbers, and export your reports and all of your QuickBooks formatting to Excel.1 Manage customer, vendor, and employee data Use the Customer, Vendor, and Employee Centers to manage key data easily. The Customer Center, for example, gives you a single place to edit a customer's billing address, company name, phone number and more, and gives you quick access to related transactions. Get a consolidated view of your business with Company Snapshot Stay on top of your business by customizing your Company Snapshot. See at a glance year-over-year income and expense trends, along with details, and top customers. Go paperless with online banking Securely download bank and credit transactions directly into QuickBooks. Additional Features:   Import data from Excel, Quicken, Microsoft Office Accounting & prior QuickBooks versions   Allow multiple users to work in QuickBooks at the same time (Up to 3)    QuickBooks Pro 1 User: Requires purchase of a license for each additional user. All copies of QuickBooks       must be the same version-year. Manage your bills   See your invoices, billing, and other important tasks in a calendar view   Send invoices and estimates right from your business Yahoo, Gmail or Hotmail account   Track sales, sales taxes & customer payments   Download your bank & credit transactions into QuickBooks   Stay on top of your receivables with the Collections Center   See all your key customer information at a glance with the Customer Snapshot   Search and access industry-specific reports   Track inventory, set reorder points & create purchase orders System Requirements:   Windows XP (SP3), Vista (SP1 inc 64-bit), 7 (inc 64-bit)   At least 2.0 GHz processor, 2.4 GHz recommended   1 GB of RAM for single user, 2 GB of RAM recommended for multiple users   Minimum 2.5 GB of available disk space (additional space required for data files)   250 MB for Microsoft .NET 4.0 Runtime (provided on the QuickBooks CD)   Minimum 1024x768 screen resolution, 16-bit or higher color   4x CD-ROM   All online features/services require Internet access   Product registration required Integration with Other Software:    Microsoft Word and Excel integration requires Word and Excel 2003, 2007, or 2010 (inc 64-bit)   Synchronization with Outlook requires QuickBooks Contact Sync for Outlook 2003, 2007, and 2010 (inc 64-bit) (downloadable for free at: www.quickbooks.com/contact_sync   E-mail estimates, invoices and other forms with GmailTM, Yahoo!® Mail, Windows®   Compatible with QuickBooks Point of Sale version 7.0 and later   MULTI-USERMicrosoft Windows XP (SP3), Vista (SP1 with UAC on), 7 (with UAC on), Windows Server 2003 (SP2), Windows Server 2008, Small Business Server 2008 Model: 416963
Average Customer Rating:
3.067 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
8 of 15(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Review 1 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palmdale, CA
Date:March 8, 2012

QB 2012 Upgrade

Pros: works as expected
Cons: could add a few more features.
"Upgrade went very smooth, no problems, longer than I expected, but OK. Have used QB since v 1, and it's been good to me for my home based business. Intuit does put a bunch of "junk" in the install, but it's easy to get rid of it, although it is a pain and takes time. Interface pretty much the same as my previous QB 2009. Only reason I did the upgrade, besides the online price, is QB 2009 won't support payroll and online banking, so they kind of have you there."
Review 2 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 6, 2012

Easy way to keep books

Model Number: Pro 2012
"I always check on costco.com for deals. They have some of the best prices on items we all need in our offices and homes. Saved $79 on Quick Books. I was delighted to see how easy the program was to follow and do my reports from. Thank you Quick Books and Costco."
Review 3 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sequim, Wa
Date:February 21, 2012

Updated just fine

"I haven't really used products new features. I needed to update my 2003 version for a new computer."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 19, 2012

Check for better alternatives

Pros: industry standard, good community support, hard to navigate, requires training not self-intuitive, hard to troubleshoot issues
"If you use other accounting software do not switch to QuickBooks. I have switched to QuickBooks a year ago and it was average for basic scenarios, but once you go beyond basic the software becomes time waster. Save yourself some stress and stick with you current accounting software.
Here are some issues with QuickBooks 2011:
•You can only have one online connection to a financial institution. I have 2 Amex Cards, but have to load second manually.
•You can’t import transactions from common file types, such as Excel or CSV and have to use a special IIF files. I followed the instructions, but the software still corrupted the data file…thankfully it was able to self-recover.
•Asset management is a nuisance. You have to manually perform journal entries or use Fixed Asset Manager available in higher-end versions. Today Fixed Asset Manager stopped showing drop-downs and handle section 179.
I’ve had it with QuickBooks now..."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westlake Village, CA
Date:February 18, 2012

The proof is in the numbers..

"QB is the most widely used accounting software because there's nothing else available that works so well for the end-user & the CPA.
QB has been releasing editions for over a decade without any competition. It's so good, no other company wants to compete.
The only reason the newer versions have more "cyber bloat" is because they sell to a society that is addicted to cyber. It's a great way to advertise their add on services which are all appropriate enhancements for some business owners.
The only and sure way that you can totally blow your QB experience is by thinking that buying the software makes you a bookkeeper.
If you're going to invest in the software, you should bring in someone with a strong bookkeeping background to set up your company file and run you through the basics.
The good news is that all 21st century bookkeepers know QB.
The end result is well worth the investment. You will always have access to your financial position at the touch of a button! Without this ability, "Running a Business" is an oxymoron."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas City MO
Date:February 15, 2012

It works well. Just tired of the ads.

Pros: user friendly
Cons: too many pop up ads
"I've been using QuickBooks for about 10 years now. I currently have 2005 - 2012 on my computer with Windows XP. I'm not sure why people are having to upgrade with Windows 7 per the other reviews. It shouldn't have anything to do with it.. They probably heard they had to upgrade from a QuickBooks sales rep. If they use Qbks payroll, that's another issue and they do have to upgrade every three years.
I like Quickbooks, in general. It's great software for the money. However, the ads and add on service pop ups are getting on my last nerve. They keep getting worse with every version.
if you are wanting more inventory power, I would do some research first. I know one of the complaints on here was about drop shipping. QuickBooks Enterprise might be best for someone with lots of inventory needs. Or... some other software. I have heard Fish Bowl Inventory works well with QuickBooks but have never tried it.
QuickBooks 2012 does have more items running in the background and it does seem to be more closely connected to the internet than ever before. This, I don't like. because it does seem to slow it down a little bit. Not enough for me to switch to Peachtree, though.
I also had a heck of a time installing this version. More problems than any other year. Fluke, maybe. My coworker, though, also had problems. I keep wondering if this is a Windows XP thing or because we hold so many multiple years' versions on our computers.
In general, it works the same as usual. It's user friendly. And this year they have tried to make it dummy proof. This can be good, or bad, depending on how annoyed you get at being told what you already know.
I highly recommend going to Edit, Preferences, find General (on the left) and check the box to turn off pop-up messages for products and services. This would be my greatest tip to you!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:February 9, 2012

stuck with it

Pros: can add figures
Cons: outsourced crapola, bloated beyond belief, works on one cpu only, outrageously priced
Model Number: Pro
"the software is bloated, slow, outdated. the company that makes it milks it for all it's worth...which isn't nearly half what it costs. It only will run on ONE machine too...don't try to do work at home...forbidden unless you buy more 'licenses'. For a product this expensive to be locked into one machine is outrageous. But the company basically sucks at customer service so it's understandable. You'll talk to India when you call. And you'll call! Don't even think about starting with Q-books, you'll regret it."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norfolk, VA
Date:February 2, 2012

Great software for price

"Ignore the complaints - most of those are people that don't know how to taylor the software to their needs (or they need to get a different version to meet their needs). Perfect for small businesses. We recommend to ALL our clients."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane WA
Date:January 30, 2012

Extremely versatile

Pros: payroll simplifier, taxes are easy with qb
"I have used Quickbooks for our business accounting since 1996, and I would be lost without it. Especially the payroll module with the automatic updates. Reports are great for preparing tax materials. QB checks are great."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2012

Archaic

Pros: it adds correctly
Cons: archaic - doesn't address dropshipping needs., no line item list for vend inv's & credit memos, continuous ads shown., menus not customizable, kludgy import method
Model Number: Pro 2012
"I have 2001 and tested later versions hoping it'd come up to date. QB2012 is archaic. It isn't well designed for today's needs and for drop shippers.
I've been waiting for fixes that I discussed with QB years ago. One is that you cannot create a listing of paid invoices (to ventor) that includes the vendor credit memos as a separate line item. Really!
QB just subtracts the credit from invoices and lists that dollar number for the invoice. It does NOT list each invoice and cm with the _actual amount on separate line items. What a simple fix that would be.
There are also other working problems that haven't been fixed - or brought up-to-date.
I also dislike the upsells and menu items that try to upsell you ( you cannot remove the menu items). Heck, I paid enough for the software to have more ads thrown in my face?
I agree with the other reviewer to set up a spreadsheet/workbook to handle accounting issues."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:January 7, 2012

Awful, useless update

Cons: sluggish, useless, adds processes that always run in background, expensive, lousy support
"Was forced to upgrade to this because the 2008 version is no longer supported on Windows 7. Horribly slow, adds a lot of bloat to your computer (like unnecessary processes that slow your computer even when you're not using Quickbooks), and there's not one new "feature" worth the cost of the upgrade.
Unfortunately, if you're already using Quickbooks, it's hard to switch to another accounting software."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2012

QB is king

"psh, quickbooks is awesome
dont listen to the haters"
2 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2012

Garbage

Model Number: Quickbooks Pro 2011
"I have used this product for over 10 years. My accountant uses it so I was directed to it by him. Useless upgrades, overpriced, cannot use 2007 version with windows 7 so I had to upgrade. I am having trouble opening my files from the last version. Go with something else if you can."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bend, OR
Date:December 6, 2011

Bad Upgrade

Model Number: QuickBooks Pro 2012
"I upgraded from QuickBooks Pro 2010 Pro to Quickbooks Pro 2012 and I am not happy.
The new version (2012) is buggy. At different times I get unclear error messages and will have to force QuickBooks to shutdown and then restart it. I have downloaded all of the updates and still have the same problems.
I had upgraded because I was having issues with QuickBooks Enhanced Payroll, the technical support that I called was terrible and was not able to help. After asking more questions and asking to talk to their supervisor they put me on hold and just left me on hold. I waited for 15 minutes and then hung up.
I am very displeased with QuickBooks and would switch to Peachtree if it was easy to swtich my payroll information into Peachtree.
Aviod QuickBooks if you can."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for QuickBooks® Pro 2012
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:November 15, 2011

QuickBooks Peo 2011

Cons: nickel and dime me to death with add-on services
"I started my own business earlier this year, this product came highly recommended from several sources. It sounded really good with all the things it could automate for me.
Installed it on Windows XP with three users. This program failed to install properly, caused multiple error messages. Re-installed it several times and wasted days to get it to run correctly. Never did! It also messed up other programs. In one of my directories all files alphabetically between t and z went missing. After un-installing QB they re-appeared.
I may buy a second-hand computer to just run QB for my business in the future, for now I am done with Intuit.
Currently I went back to using manual files using MS Excel, it took 10% of the time setting up these files compared to trying QB to work.
"
19 of 25 people found this review helpful.