Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle

Average Customer Rating:
4.43 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(913 Reviews) 913
(out of 913 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (913 reviews)
5 stars
642
4 stars
139
3 stars
53
2 stars
41
1 star
38
789 of 872(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Review 1 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2013

third time is a charm

Pros: quality phone service
Cons: hardware issues with telo
"It took over 2 weeks to get a unit sent to me that was working properly. The Wifi connection on the Costco unit was randomly disconnecting. Customer Service was blaming my WiFi connection that was 6 ft. away from unit. Took a week of asking for a replacement unit to be sent. First replacement arrived (next day) broken and unable to power on. Second replacement worked without any problems.
Good phone service, but bad hardware."
Review 2 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:June 28, 2013

Could Not Port Northern VA 703-644-#

Model Number: OOMA Air
"OOMA said " They do not have anyone in the area to do Number Porting " I said Please cancel my account !"
Review 3 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 12, 2013

Great product and a great price

Pros: porting was seemless, great cost savings, very good sound quality
Cons: setup manual is a little vague in some areas, had to cycle power twice in 6 weeks to recover, voice lag (normal for voip service)
"Had my Ooma for about 6 weeks now and very satisfied to date. Found the setup manual to be a little vague in how to connect the unit to your computer (i.e. leave the laptop connected wirelessly to home internet and connect the Ooma to the wired Ethernet port, or disconnect wireless then connect Ooma). But other than that it went smoothly. Paid the extra $40 to port my old number. Porting was complete in only 3-4 days and Customer Service kept me informed of the status all the way. Sound quality has been very good. The only negative has been a the unit required a power cycle a couple of time after power outages and internet outages in my area. Simply cycled power and it came back fine. Just got my 1st bill and my home phone service went from almost $40/month to $3.70, so I will re-coop the HW cost in just a few months.
I am using the wireless adapter and it has been working fine. Ooma is in the kitchen and the wireless router is in the computer room about 20ft away and through 2 walls. No issues. Also have unit tied back into the phone wiring of the house and running 2 wired phones along with 6 wireless phones. No issues and all work great."
Review 4 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Millbrook, Alabama and Heflin, Alabama
Date:June 10, 2013

best investment ever

Pros: my phone bill went from 40.00 a month to 3.73 a m
Cons: if you have att dsl you have to get a dry loop, this is easy you just ask att for it
Model Number: Blue tooth model
"I bought this in Jan for my self My daughter has her machine for 3 years I am very pleased with it. You do have to do a couple things if you have Att DSL Last month I bought my sister one she was so happy to have a house phone again
I ported my number but she did not
"
Review 5 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:April 29, 2013

Awesome Product & Service

Pros: awesome product & service
Cons: none
"We have had the Ooma product for nearly a year and we are so happy with it. The quality of the calls are good (although not as good as a land line), but out of 10, being the best, I would put the Ooma at an 8 or 9, which is really good considering your only paying taxes each month. We purchased the "Premier" and as a part of that service, I was able to provide my brother, who lives out of state, his own personal number for us and it doesn't cost him anything to call us! I do use a lot of the "Premier" options, so it has been worth it. Honestly, I can't say enough of how awesome this product is. As long as Ooma has a great product and service, I will not go back to a traditional land line service again. We were paying nearly $45/month for unlimited long distance, now it is $5-$6/month for taxes! You can't bet it!"
Review 6 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:April 5, 2013

so easy to install

Pros: inexpensive easy setup great support.
Cons: none
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I bought Telos without the Linx option at the local Costco. I had it up and running in not time - just connect it to your router and plug in your phone. Ooma support walked me through the setup. Their support is great - online chat answers my questions fast. This is a no brainer for saving money. A great product."
Review 7 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:The Great Nothwest
Date:April 5, 2013

Almost Free Phone Service

Pros: almost free service
Cons: customer service
"We’ve had Ooma now for 90 days so far so good. The reason why my title says almost free phone service is because you still have to pay the taxes of After your investment into the unit in your taxes will cost you around five dollars a month which is pretty good. Sound quality is pretty good but don't expect it to be better than your landline service. Where I live the landline service was pretty bad so this is actually better for us. People we talk to have no idea that we are on a VOIP instead of a landline.
For us it was easy setup straight out of the box. I connected it to my wireless router, connected the phone, activated it online, and it was it was ready to go. The whole process took less than 10 minutes. Porting our number was easy to do. They said it could take four weeks or more for porting to be complete and it actually took about three or four days so I was really surprised.
Really the only drawback is customer service. It is really pretty bad. You call and it's like they're reading the answers from a book. They don't seem to know anything more than the information you can find on their website.
My Ooma came with 90 days of free premiere service. After that it's $120 a year which is payable all in one lump sum. You have to cancel before your 90 days is up or it automatically charges credit card on that you have on file (which is needed to pay your taxes each month. Definitely make sure you you're on top of that since they do not give any sort of refunds. Not even if you for purchase the premier service and decide you don’t want it later or move to a place where you can't have the service.
The basic no frills service works well, but one thing to note is that Ooma is a VOIP so if the power is out or your internet service is down, the phone service does not work. With the premier they have call forwarding so that if your powers out automatically be transferred to a cell phone.
Fax machines don’t work well with Ooma. I have no problem receiving faxes, but it doesn’t work for sending them.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:April 4, 2013

Should have done this sooner!

Pros: saves lots of money!, responsive customer service, easy to set up
Cons: had to replace original hardware, took extra time to set up since original defective, unable to port an alaska phone number
Model Number: Ooma VOIP + wifi
"Shipping was quick and I received my Ooma a few days after ordering. Was simple to set up. Unfortunately my hardware was defective and the Ooma would beep and talk at random intervals unprovoked. When I hooked it up to wifi, it kept dropping offline and reseting. After a call to customer service, and getting forwarded to second tier support, a replacement set and wifi adapter was sent. The ooma works perfectly now. So even after the disappointment of the original unit not working, I'm extremely pleased with the quality of the calls and customer service response, and the fact that I'm saving over $30 month with more features than my old service!"
Review 9 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2013

good product

"Phone works perfectly, good voice quality and easy setup, excellent Ooma phone support. The Wi-Fi adapter doesn't stay consistently connected with my home network but I think it's not Ooma's fault. Works flawlessly via ethernet directly hooked to router."
Review 10 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 27, 2013

Price good, quality ok

Pros: easy set up, cheap monthly fees
Cons: a little pricey, voice quality so-so
Model Number: Ooma Telo with wi-fi
"Easy to set up. I bought two and connected one on wi-fi and one directly with no dectable quality difference. Most people we talk to on it say we sound fine. One family in particular for some reason say we sound muffled every time. Everyone else seems fine, with occasional distortion if we're loud. I increased out internet speed but nothing changed. I don't like the goofy music that plays for a second every time you pick up the phone. Haven't got a bill yet but the $3 monthly sounds great. We'll probably use this less and less as time goes on as we migrate more to cell phones. Nice to have this though for the kids. Can't exactly trust a 2 year old with an i-phone when they talk to grandma. We ported our old # and it only took about a 10 days - they said to expect a month.
If you're computer is always on, there are cheaper options out there but this is nice as a stand-alone.
"
Review 11 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Coral Springs, florida
Date:March 27, 2013

Phone Number

Cons: good sound nad easy hook up, can not or will not fix my problem
Model Number: WDBJV0000NCH-00
"I received my ooma 8 days ago.
I did not have any problems installing or activating the product.
I made several calls around the country.
After 5 minutes I asked them how the sound quality was.
So far everything was perfect.
Then I found out that the caller ID on the other persons phone did not display my name.
It displayed someone else.
The company said that was because someone must have had the number prior to me.
I have called three times and spoke with three different people.
The problem is still not fixed.
If they do not fix it this week I will return the product.
"
Review 12 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, CA
Date:March 26, 2013

One month and still very happy!

Pros: very low cost!, very good call quality!, very easy access to voice mail message remotely!
"I purchased this product about a month ago and was able to set it up in minutes and even had my number ported from AT&T in 4 days! So far it has worked perfect and I love having my voice mail messages go to my phone as MP3 messages so I can hear them. No more telephone bill from AT&T is also a great feature. Call quality has been great with no difference between the Ooma system and my old land line. Can't give you any reason not to move forward with this product."
Review 13 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sun City, AZ
Date:March 26, 2013

OOMA VOIP Telephone

Pros: attractive device. easy to use.
Cons: none
Model Number: 110-0110-252
"Great product. Easy setup, and should save a bundle over time on telephone costs."
Review 14 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Litchfield, Ct
Date:March 23, 2013

Great Product once I got a new wifi adaptor!

Pros: great clarity, easy setup, easy to use with fine web dashboard, quick reply from tech support
Cons: tech support a bit weak
Model Number: Ooma Telo Air
"I set the unit up on Sat. morning. Set up was easy as promised but the wifi disconnected rather quickly. I moved it closer and closer to my router with limited success. Called customer service and the call was answered quickly...gold star for that. I did have a problem understanding a woman from the Phillipines though. She ran me through the set up again and trying the unit in different locations. I still had the same issues. She talked with the "second tier" support and recommended that I try some changes to my router settings and call back if it didn't work. It didn't work but it did change the passkey. I couldn't get into the wifi setup after that. I called back and never did get it to work that day.
Tried calling for the 3rd time the next day and finally got a great tech that knew what to do. I changed a setting on my Mac for the network config and away we go. Finally got back to where I was to begin with. She couldn't figure it out either. She put me in touch with the 2dn tier support and I got a guy with a lousy attitude telling me all that I didn't enter the password correctly. He had me go through it again in a totally different way than the directions stated. Did it his way and guess what.....didn't work. He finally copped an attitude and said that I needed a new unit (surprise surprise) and I'd receive it Tuesday...it came Wednesday. Popped it in and everything worked great! I still wish it had more range but at least I can use it in a different room. Not the room I wished for but okay. I knew from my research that there have been issues with the wifi adapters...wish I didn't have to put in hours on the phone. The unit worked perfectly when hardwired from the beginning. I would have given 5 stars except for this wifi fiasco"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Date:March 20, 2013

Hard to set up

Cons: set up
"I have had it for 3 weeks and I haven't got it set up yet but I've tried. I've called a few times and the second person got it to work while we were connected but it didn't work afterwards. He said the wireless needs to be gone through and I didn't have the time and was too frustrated."
Review 16 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 20, 2013

So Far...So Good

Pros: install is a breeze
Cons: none thus far
"I am a former user of another VOIP phone service provider for almost 8 years and was tired of paying $24.95 per month plus taxes. Decided to switch to Ooma because of its low cost and that I don't use the land-line very often but need to have one. The package arrived within 3 days in early March 2013. It took less than 10 minutes to install. Must read the instructions carefully as the install was different that others. Everything worked great out of the box. I chose to retain my phone number for $40 extra. The number was ported from my prior phone company to Ooma within 2 weeks and the service is good so far. I am not using Ooma's WiFi adapter, just installed it between my router and my phone with the standard network wiring. So don't know how well WiFi works. Given my less than 2 wks experience everything seems ok but time will be the true test of longevity and reliability."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Centennial, CO
Date:March 16, 2013

Glad we finally made the switch

Pros: phone bill now less than $4 a month.
Cons: none so far
"My sister has had her Ooma for over two years. I kept waiting to switch over to ensure she really liked it.
We bought ours from the warehouse, so I have no experience with the wireless adapter (which is sold separately). Took just minutes to set up, and it works great.
I really, REALLY like the premier service. It includes a huge data base of telemarketer/spam phone numbers that are automatically blocked. Couple that with the ability to set up our own personal blacklist, and I can say we have successfully taken back control of our phone.
There was a hiccup with porting that those who have bundled packages might want to be aware of. Our number was ported over in less than 3 days. I called the company we were bundled with to cancel the phone portion, and they had already switched the internet and cable services to their 'normal daily charges' plan. They told me once the number was ported, they cancelled the old contract...!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2013

Very close to the sound of a land line

"First of all I will say that I will keep this telephone system. I was a telecommunication tech for 30 yrs. The Ooma system sounds very good for what it is but is not multi million dollar Lucent ,Nortel or Alcatel switching system. That being said, it works very well and has some good features. I'm still keeping my land line but I'm going to remove the long distance portion and that will save me $22.00 a month. So I'm not porting over my number.You call forward your old number to the new Ooma number and everyone won't know the difference. Then tell your tell everyone you that when they see you new number incoming, to add it to their phone list and your done.My name will not come through. I am using the trial Ooma premier but unless you port your number your name will not pass through the switching equipment and only your Ooma number will appear on calling party's caller ID.I could port it and then get a new number for my land line but I don't want to pay extra cost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitehouse Station, NJ
Date:March 14, 2013

Great concept, horrible product

Pros: great concept
Cons: poor sound quality
"Connection was horrible. The Ooma website has a comparison video of the competition sound quality vs theirs. When I set up my Ooma, the quality was worse than the "competition". Don't need that hassle. When I called to discuss with customer serive, they told me that my Ooma was still under warranty and they would replace it. But I had it only one day and it needed a replacement?"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ooma Telo Air VoIP Telephone Bundle
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suburban Detroit, MI
Date:March 14, 2013

Great!

Pros: cheap monthly service, easy to understand directions, great bundle price
Cons: none so far
"No problem setting this up, though it's not an instant process. Follow the directions carefully, ie: letting the Telo take the time to update itself before trying to proceed, etc. And you need your computer to complete set-up of the wireless adapter. We've had this product for about two weeks so far and had no problems at all."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>