Customer Reviews for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
(out of 108 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
49
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
98 of 108(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Review 1 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 18, 2011

Exceeded my expectations

Pros: excellent sound picture overall performance
Cons: power cable should be longer
Model Number: LW2700
"It’s not often that a product exceeds my expectations, but your LW2700 series video surveillance system most certainly does. The system was easy to install and operate. The video resolution is excellent and the IR night vision is much better than I had ever expected. I mounted one camera under a roof that covers our front porch that monitors the driveway, lawn and walkway. The second camera is under an elevated deck on the rear of our home that monitors our lower deck, hot tub and slider door. The display receiver is on our bedroom night stand. We have a three story house and yet we have maximum signal bars from both cameras. I cannot tell you what a piece of mind it is knowing that we would be alerted to an intruder while we are home or having video evidence of a break-in when we are away. Thank you for developing such a great product at an affordable price.
Recently, a neighbor agreed to let our dog out into our fenced backyard daily while we were on vacation. We asked them to enter through a front garage service door and then to let the dog out through a rear service door into the yard, not requiring them to go into our home. The video surveillance showed that they sent their small children along with a few of their friends to perform the task. They entered and exited through the front door of the house repeated, slamming the door each time. We knew when and where they entered and how long they were in the house each day. Without your product installed and operating, we would have never known what had taken place, nor had the opportunity to address the problem when we returned. Thanks again!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2012

Good Basic Starter System With Some Problems

Pros: good price, easy set up, 7" monitor has clear picture, wireless system
Cons: tech support., lorex website not much help
Model Number: LIVE SD7 LW2711
"This is our first monitoring system and I looked for good reviews, cheap price, wireless, and built in recorder with a screen. I got all of these with a couple of problems too.
The setup is very easy and range is good. I wanted to monitor the front of my property and placed the camera under the roof eaves. I ran the required electrical wire through the vent holes to an extension cord then to an outlet through the ceiling in the garage. The camera is about 50' away and goes through 3 walls to the monitor and signal strength is always at least 2 and 3 out of 4 bars.
The picture quality is good and I have been keeping it on auto (motion sense) with a 15 sec taping cycle. I am getting a true 22' of motion sensing. The book says 21'. I put in a 16GB SD card in place of the 2GB that came with the system.
The tech manual, day color, audio, and 2 times zoom work well. The night mode works ok but I have several lights that stay on all night to add light that helps.
The problems so far are.... I cannot load the their software to my computer and cannot find a link to download from. Lorex tech support has given me the runaround and I am still waiting for a response. I had a problem with the motion detection after I tried to load the software and just shut down the whole system. When I plugged in everything the system is working normal again.
I am going to wait another 2 weeks to test the system and then if all is good add another 2 cameras. They are not cheap though.
So far so good and a couple of my neighbors are waiting to see my future results then will buy the same system.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Ramon, CA
Date:December 8, 2011

Excellent for the price

Pros: has it own monitor, is wireless, intercom
Cons: monitor not cordless
"I run an online home business and when products sit outside for UPS or Fed Ex to pick up, I need to make sure someone else doesn't take them. I also cannot see the front of my house from the inside. This camera lets me see who is wondering around my court and warns me if a solicitor is approaching my door. It also alerts me when the US mail carrier arrives.
I have been wanting a security system for sometime now but what stopped me was all the drilling and running wires for installation.
When I saw it was wireless it was perfect for someone like me. Set up was flawless and they system is very simple to use. No messy wires nor drilling.
Another great feature is it has its own monitor. I did not want my computer monitor or TV to have interruptions. An added feature that I would have preferred was that the monitor was rechargeable and cordless. I like to move the monitor wherever I am in the house especially in the bedroom at night time. The monitor currently needs a power source at all times. It should be like baby monitors where you can bring it anywhere running on its own rechargeable battery. Because this technology exist and it doesn't have it I rate it 4 stars. With a cordless monitor I would have given it 5 stars. This feature may not be necessary for everyone. Definitely necessary if you buy the child monitor from Lorex. The clarity of the picture is not great when someone or something is moving in the camera.
"
Review 4 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:November 23, 2011

Product exceeded my expectations

Pros: easy to install, great video resolution, excellent night vision quality, almost no false motion triggers
Cons: power cord could be longer
Model Number: LW2700
"It’s not often that a product exceeds my expectations, but the Lorex LIVE SD Wireless Home Monitoring System most certainly does. The system was easy to install and operate. The video resolution is excellent and the IR night vision is much better than I had ever expected. We have a large home with a sizable separation distance between the system components, and yet we have maximum signal strength bars from the cameras. It is a great piece of mind knowing that we would be alerted to an intruder while we are in our home or that we would have video evidence of a break-in while we are away. This is a great product at an affordable price.
Recently, a neighbor agreed to let our dog out into our fenced backyard daily while we were on vacation. We asked them to enter through a front garage service door and then to let the dog out through a rear service door into the yard, not requiring them to go into our home. The video surveillance showed that they had sent their small children along with a few of their friends to perform the task. The children entered and exited through the front door of the house repeatedly, slamming the door each time. We knew when and where they entered, what they were saying, and how long they were in the house each day. Without the video system installed and operating, we would have never known what had taken place, nor had the opportunity to address the problem when we returned."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:February 7, 2012

Entry Level monitoring system

Pros: easy setup, neat intercom
Cons: not a security system, poor remote monitoring capabilities
Model Number: Lorex Live SD
"I ended up returning the system, because I was looking for better internet connectivity. It's a neat intercom though.
+ Easy to setup
+ Wireless camera
- need separate power adaptors and cables per camera and screen (all included), even for external camera, but there's no battery backup for when power is lost (i.e. cut power cable).
o Single recording channel only, though up to four way viewing if you buy additional cameras (I had two).
- motion detection disabled on other channels while triggered channel is recording -> you'll miss secondary events
+ two way intercom
+ excellent night viewing IR capabilities
- motion detection doesn't work through glass window, so you need an outdoor mounted camera for motion triggered recording. But then the power cable is exposed...
+ solid camera stand and mounting hardware included
-external monitoring over internet is only through Skype, which is a hack.
- only monitoring of one preselected camera possible through skype - no motion detected recording possible, while connected to the internet. So you can't get a n alert at work if someone is at your front door.
OVerall the system does well for what it's mainly intended for - a frontdoor intercom. It's not a security camera system and the remote connectivity requires an USB connection to a Skype device with a separate skype account setup.
- wireless cameras aren't wireless 802.11 IP cameras"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:December 13, 2011

easy setup, but only records 1 camera

Pros: easy set up.
Cons: only 1 camera continuous recording
"This was a very easy setup. Literally just plug and play. You will need to format the SD card if you want to record and you can do it by pressing the Menu button on the back of the LCD display and navigating through it. It's really easy and you can also set the date time right there. Then, you will need to press Record on the remote if you actually want it to record - it won't do it automatically. I"m not sure if this is normal, but night visions seems to be black and white. It's not that big of a deal. The only thing that i was disappointed in is that it will only record 1 camera continuously. The system is expandable to 4, but what's the point if you can only record one at a time. So, I will be returning the additional camera I bought and am going to get another of these LCD/camera sets so that I can record both cameras. It's only $100 more. Bummer. Otherwise, very easy to work with.
For those who may have considered buying a whole system with the DVR etc. - don't. It's a pain in the butt to set it up, you nearly need to be a programmer to set it up on your computer to view it wirelessly and it's not very userfriendly to record or review. Much easier to just navigate through this little system.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2012

Not Suitable for My Needs

"I did not even try plugging in the system because:
a) While the cameras are wireless, each one requires a separate 120v outlet. The four corners of my house are not wired externally for such outlets (at best I could have drilled through one wall; the rest would have required going through the attic). Without a power source they are inoperable, defeating the whole idea of having a wireless system (I expected battery operated cameras).
b) While the promotional material states that the cameras are indor/outdoor, the instructions that come with the box require that the cameras be situated away from the elements (under an eave, for example). I had only one spot that could be under an eave, so for outdoor monitoring where we have snow and cold weather, these cameras are unsuitable.
It is unfortunate that the product details on the Costco website do not make these things clear."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:South Shore, Long Island, NY
Date:July 23, 2012

Not what I expected

Pros: price, easy installation
Cons: weak signal, interfere with in house wireless devices
Model Number: LW271, single camera
"I only need to watch my front entrance so one camera is good enough. after installation, the camera under overhang is about 27' from my office desk where my computers located (thru one 8" concrete wall and one regular interior drywall). I only got one or two bars, very weak, screen toggled from blinking image to total black out. And to makes things worse it seriously interferes with my other wireless devices like iPad, macbook pro, macbook air, xBox, Samsung smart TV etc... everything either getting slow or disconnected and all these clutches disappears right after I turn off the Lorex and I lost my argument with my 12yo son on this, he's right: my lorex is the culprit.
I'll return it (I didn't even set up remote monitoring features yet) and buy wired one!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Oswego, OR
Date:May 1, 2012

Nice image, missing a few features

Pros: plug and play, adequate image quality
Cons: missing some useful features
Model Number: LW2711
"This is an overall good product. It took only a few minutes to set up. I had no technical problems at all. It was pretty much plug and play.
It does have a few missing features which would be useful. Those being: playback of recorded video, and better features with the two-way voice.
The main problem we have is that there's a bit of a delay in the talk feature, and a bit of a delay when it picks up the voice of the visitor. Also, the microphone picks up any noise and plays it through the screen even if we didn't initiate a two-way communication with the Talk button. There doesn't appear to be a way to turn that feature off, so we will more than occasionally hear the noises near the camera which are typically birds chirping or a car going by."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Honolulu, HI
Date:July 12, 2012

Easy set-up wireless camera

"Just plug and play without having to use your PC (comes with it's own monitor). I like the fact that you can plug it anywhere you have a power outlet for instat surveillance. Same is true with the camera but mounting it would make it permanent. An easy detach mount would be nice. Motion detection wasn't that sensitive. Having to log in and monitor the camera thru the web/router (like my Astak Mole camera) is lacking. Never tried doing it using Skype (but you need your PC to be always on (unlike the Astak mole, you only need to leave the router on). It would also be nice if the monitor had rechargeable power and use it like a tablet. Overall it gets the job done. Has more room for improvement."
Review 11 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:September 7, 2012

Works great!

Model Number: Lorex LW2711
"Setup was a snap as the single camera is already paired to the monitor. I placed the camera at several locations outside the house and the reception was very good. Longest distance was around 100 ft through several walls to where I have the monitor placed. 640x480 video quality is good, not great. Motion detection only records a 5 second clip, but it resets itself and records multiple clips. Each clip is around 600 kb in size. Night picture is really good as my landscape lighting casts a light glow in the back yard. I haven't tried on-line access. Overall, I'd rate this a great value for entry level home surveillance. I'll be buying more cameras to build it out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2012

Buy 9" great unit 7" problems

Pros: 9" lorex great
Cons: 7" unit save you money
"Bought the 9 " in South Carolina 3 months ago. Works GREAT. When I got back to CT could not get 9" from costco here. Ordered two 7" inch units for what I needed for several properties. Nothing but problems. Talked to Lorex... not much help. I have 4 cameras on all three units, extra cameras are 129.00 each but they were $99.00 last month. When you use the Quad on the 9" unit it works GREAT. 7" never stops recording. Returned one last week. Tried another unit same problem. Why Costco dose not sell the 9" on line and only in South Carolina stores ... I don't know. This is why I love Costco's Return policy its Outstanding, never a problem."
Review 13 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:March 16, 2012

Excellent System for the Price

"Syncing it to the system is extremely easy and setup is quick and easy as well. The mic function is handy for our front door because I can talk to people at the door without having to come up from the office in the basement. It also allows you to see the visitor and gives you a chirping alarm to grab your attention when it detects movement. Only problem is it comes with a 2GB memory card that is not sufficient. I recommend immediately upgrading to a 16GB memory SD card so you can record more than 24hrs. of video at a time. You cn have it automatically record over video as well, so it just keeps recording continously."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:April 11, 2012

Reasonable Capability

Model Number: Lorex Live Wireless
"Pros: Good day resolution. Night imaging capability. Easy to install. No cables if power is available
Cons: Wireless signal range is very limited if brick walls or masonary is in line of sight to monitor- almost useless with my brick home. Using their wireless boosters means running cables so might as well go to wired system. Motion detector misses about 1/10 events. Manual directions are poor. No obviuos way to delete daily folders so pretty soon you have to scroll through many folders to review what was recorded for any given day.
"
Review 15 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CERES,CA
Date:February 18, 2012

Great system

Pros: wireless, great picture quality
Cons: no power cable extensions for cameras
"I had the original version of this system and had a camera fail so I got this system and an extra camera and this systems' cameras are 1K times better. With the automatic IR cutoff you get real color during daytime and at night you get a nice and clear picture. I added a 16GB (system max) and scheduled a nighttime recording and motion during the day. The system is very easy to install but may have to get creative if you don't have a power source near where you want to mount a camera."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 17, 2012

Basic with a Few Flaws

Model Number: LW 271
"The manual says that if you have motion recording turned on, it will resume after a power failure. Not true. After a power failure, it just displays camera views without recording.
Can't set up recording without the remote. If you lose it or it's broken, bad news.
You can't view the cameras online without connecting it to your computer which must be on. Would have been nice if it connected to a wifi router."
Review 17 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spring Hill, FL
Date:March 7, 2012

Lorex Live SD7 Model 2711

Pros: easy to hook up., easy to use.
Cons: no personal photos for screensaver, longer power extension cords
Model Number: Lorex SD7 2711
"Bought this to hook up at my mom's house. I feel it was easy for her to understand and use which was of a concern for me. The picture was great anytime of day. Even when the IR light was used at night and it switched over to black and white. After I hooked it up I wished it had one more camera. The warehouses and websites both carry different setups so you need to research which one is best for your setup."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Big Bear Lake, CA
Date:February 16, 2012

Bad SD Card.. VERY Slow Service!

Cons: screen does not sleep when no activity.
Model Number: Lorex LIVE SD Wireless
"I set the unit up, which was easy. However, the SD card was bad. I called the company, and they said it would take 1 week to send a new SD card! I said, cant you send it over night, the problem is yours!! They said, No, we cant do that! I said, "Not even 2nd day air?" They said no! So, I've been waiting 5 days now! If it does not arrive by tomorrow, I'm taking the whole thing back to COSTO."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Big Bear Lake, CA
Date:February 22, 2012

SD Card isBad - Waiting now 2 weeks - Bad Service!

Pros: camera looks cool
Cons: bad customer service, screen is low quality res., sound is weak, bad parts replacement
Model Number: Lorex Live SD wireless
"Two weeks ago, we installed the unit and discovered a bad SD card. (memory card) We called twice, and said it would take 7 days to get the SD card, which was unheard of!! We have been waiting TWO weeks for the SD replacement, so now we are returning the product back to COSTCO. Unit may work fine, but when you need service, expect very bad customer service and bad part replacement!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lorex 7 Inch LCD Monitor Security System with 1 Camera
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:January 15, 2012

Awesome purchase!

Pros: price/value, ease of installation, live viewing via skype, love the lcd & screensaver feature
Cons: wish camera is weatherproof vs weather resistant, larger memory card would be nice, skype setup via manual was a bit confusing
Model Number: LW2711
"Purchased this Lorex system for my folks and installation was seamless. For the price, it's one of the better systems out there. I especially like the motion-recording feature as it enables me to save more video on the SD card. I like the system so much that I just purchased one for myself. I'd recommend this product to anyone who expects quality for the price."
1 2 next>>