Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive

Harman/Kardon® Stereo Speakers Integrated WebCam and Microphone 802.11 b/g/n WLAN
Average Customer Rating:
2.652 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
9 of 23(39%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Review 1 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2012

Great - Toshiba - No problems

Pros: reliability, price, processing speed
Cons: the touchpad left of center takes getting used to.
Model Number: Satelite A665
"I have a used my Toshiba I7 everyday 10-12 hours a day without problems for the last 12 months. This is a workhorse that my only challenge was getting used to the new Window Suite. The computer is my work computer and believe me from PowerPivot, through presentations the graphics are great. I am about to buy another for my wife and to have as a backup. At the Costco price I don't think I would buy anywhere else. I don't know about the problems others may have had, but my experience has been stellar. I had an ASUS but had difficulties with it and did wind up returning it. Toshiba is a real workhorse, nothing but good news!"
Review 2 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:May 20, 2012

Do not buy

Model Number: Satellite P755
"I just received a fatal error message on this computer and I've been using it lightly for days shy of 6 months. I called Toshiba and their response was for me to drive 30 miles to have it diagnosed. When I balked at that the man on the phone told me to back up my files ASAP. Uh, thanks. There is no pro. A computer should work much longer than 6 months. This one didn't even make that. I'll write again if this problem is solved, but right now, there is no way I would purchase another Toshiba. I am not sure I would purchase from Costco either."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2012

Good value and performance for the price.

Pros: i7 proccessor, 8gb of ram, speakers, 750gb hard drive, hdmi and vga output ports, 3.0 usb port
Cons: battery life, some bloatware
Model Number: P755-S5393
"Overall this is a decent laptop for the price. Been using it for several days (at least 6 hours each day) without any issues. Unlike other users I have not experienced the sudden shutdown issue. The laptop came preloaded with the latest BIOS. Turning off the ECO mode while in AC power yields brighter screen and enables additional LED lighting for the strip of buttons above the keyboard and Satellite logo. Like others have said, there is a thin film covering the web camera that needs to be removed. There was also a thin film covering the strip buttons above the keyboard that should also be removed. People new to Toshiba laptops may find the Trackpad/Keyboard offset from center of laptop will require some adjustment. The keyboard key press will take some getting used to. Sometimes have to hit the keys a little harder to register. Ran into this with my last Toshiba laptop. Speakers are plenty loud, much louder than my previous Toshiba Laptop (L505-S5990). Laptop came loaded basic Toshiba programs and a trial version of Microsoft Office. When adding or updating software and drivers remember to use the"x64" versions since this laptop is loaded with Windows 7 Home Premium x64 (64 bit). The multifunction DVD drive apparently supports Labelflash writing via the Corel Lable@Once program on Labelflash DVD-R/DVD+R discs. The included Toshiba DVD player software apparently can upconvert a DVD movie and there was a button to enable some kind of 3D viewing (split screen when enabled). HDMI worked when connected to an HD TV, however the scale was off and the display resolution had to be adjusted so it would fit to the TV's display resolution.
Only big Con, which others have mentioned, is the battery capacity. Using Eco mode I get about 3 hours of run time when web browsing and light word processing. Without using Eco mode the battery drained in about 2 hours. Haven't tried to run a DVD on battery yet.
Only other minor quibble was, like most new laptops this one comes loaded with some bloatware. I removed the Toshiba Book App and the Toshiba Online Backup App. I also removed the 30 trial version of Norton before installing the free 1 year subscription to Kaspersky included with this deal.
On a side note, the 750GB hard drive is only rated to the 5400 rpm. Some who want a faster laptop may want to try upgrading the hard drive to 7200 rpm to see if their performance improves."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2012

so so

"purchased Toshiba and never got excited. Nothing impressed. Speed, functions, software, and overall package did not make me think I got a good deal. I only jumped in because I had a T many years back that was seemed OK. My advice: avoid Toshiba and Dell. Good luck.."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:April 18, 2012

Good but with known problem

Pros: good price vs. performance
Cons: known bio problem
Model Number: Toshiba Satellite P755
"I bought this laptop despite the red flag raised by other reviewees. They commented on sudden turn-off. 3 days in my hand I experienced same problem, it simply shut itself off all of sudden. Same thing happened next day. I called Costco Concierge and was advised to update BIOS from Toshiba site. It has been 3 days since I updated BIOS and the problem has not repeated since.
The computer is good considering price I paid. Still I am anxious the problem may reoccur. It may have been much more comforting if Toshiba updated BIOS before shipment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF ,CA
Date:March 11, 2012

buyer beware

Model Number: P755S5276
"finish satisfactory but plasticky; started of very fast but noisy due to having the hard drive protect property seemingly turning on and off even if its not being moved . shuts down suddenly - more and more with time . Only used it an average of 1 hr a day .. now on the 5th month and had slowed down tremendously even without havinto put any thing in it program wise . had blue screee issues from the day of purchase but allows to reboot , optical drive for burning does not seem to be operating right and always boot out ( compared to my previous laptop sony VAIO wiht no issues ) . Every time you have windows update it further slows it down and seemingly the improtant updates doesnt get on until recently a windows update showing on my screen saying that the preinstalled window is not a genuine product ; computer just sut down and wiped out every thing last night and all it has when turned on is the insignia of toshiba logo and then just properties saying patents on it as well as utility fxn mode ; cannot get the windows program anymore . called concierge who was helpful and coordinated work with Toshiba - Toshiba not a big help after 3 Hrs of talking and calling and drop / hanged calls - finally Toshiba agreed to have it taken back but has to register online on anothe computer to register the product - accordingly a hard drive issue- .....wasted so much time --- might even have to likely pay up shipping and handling to get it fixed because I waited so long unitl it finally shut down--- toshiba did not even initially wanted to accomodate me because accordingly I have to pay them first for diagnosis to see if the problem is under the 1 yr warranty . .....consider a better brand -- it might be cheap given all the preinstalled programs --- but if you are not tech savvy and found out really late that all the programs are not really working --- you lose more"
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:February 28, 2012

P755

Pros: great turnaround time for repairs - no cost at all, fast and great price, sound system is awesome compare to hp beats
Cons: battery life should be longer, if new battery doesn't last longer -get 12 cell
Model Number: P755
"LISTEN UP ALL!.........ok yes I had blurry issues with my web cam....found small plastic over camera....duh removed it and all is fine..... Had since Dec 1, 2011 and ran into some issues. 1. Keyboard does skip letters and spaces so I sent it to Toshiba and they replaced keyboard. Quick turnaround with the repair with no cost for shipping both ways. 2. Had some issues with shutting down and repair said that they found a virus which at the time I was using their 30 day trail with Norton. So now I use something else. 3. Battery use.... still having problems with this but Toshiba sent me a new battery try. Other than that I love this machine, its fast and for the price to compare to other I7 with 8gb RAM its awesome."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA.
Date:February 10, 2012

Shuts down randomly and won't boot up !

Model Number: Toshiba P755
"When it actually ran it was a nice machine. random shutdowns and problems booting up (it begins to start, then shuts down again) are unacceptable. Toshiba tech support wanted me to send it to them for repair. I can't be without a working laptop for my job for 10-days. Going back to Costco with this one."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SFO Bay Area, California
Date:February 2, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: it does not heat up even after prolonged use., it's also pretty fast.
Cons: defect in the battery consumption even on shutdown
Model Number: Satellite P755
"The computer itself is working fine, but at times the screen will freeze which is surprising considering how fast this computer should be with I7 processor and 8 GB of memory with hardly anything in the hard drive yet. My greatest disappointment is the battery. It consumes about 17% battery a day even when the laptop is completely shut down. I had called Toshiba tech support and I was told to just remove the battery after each use, what an inconvenience. Then they sent me a new replacement battery, which also did the same thing. I went to toshiba support forum and another guy had the same problem with his Toshiba laptop. He cannot return it anymore, so he tried to remove the battery for 30 seconds after each use, then put it back on, which worked. The laptop only consumed 2% battery power per day. I tried to do the same thing and it also worked on mine. However, I am not willing to put up with this inconvenience when I can still return the laptop from Costco, it's been only 60 days. Thanks to Costco's 90 day return policy. It's going back there tomorrow."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, CA
Date:January 30, 2012

Inherent quality issues with Toshiba

Model Number: L655
"Purchased the P755's cousin, the Toshiba L655 in June 2011. Poor quality! It's on its way back for a second repair. First time, the hard drive failed. Now, there's problems with the power supply. This is our second Toshiba laptop from Costco. We won't be buying another Toshiba."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2012

Mine also randomly shuts down!!

Pros: one touch theatre keyes at top (volume buttons!!), energy friendly screen (dims after while on own)), numeric key pad on right (some don't have!ex.dell)
Cons: randomly shut down on own, don't know mute on/from from mute button (light)
Model Number: P755
"I got it because of the theater keys at top right (I like the option of just pushing one key to mute the computer...handy if you have a random noise when studying in the library). My old Hp got me addicted to that super handy/Often usable feature. It's been 1-2mos now with the Toshiba, and like others have said, it will randomly shut down. Very frustrating, because I may not have saved stuff! Booo.
And it's Not that fast. Seems to be a laptop to un-savvy me. Just like all others. Difference in speed is so minor and subjective at the end of the day, that I stopped looking mainly at that. Now I focus on the stuff you actually use every day, and impact the computer's convenience =sound buttons, sleep button, does it look nice, is it light, its batter life, etc. Of ALL the above, Sound buttons are what you'd use Most often...they impact you the most...turn up or down volume key is a Huge feature."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:January 18, 2012

More than I planned on!!!

Pros: overall performance stability and value
Cons: a little too plastic looking for me
Model Number: Toshiba Satellite P755
"I've had this laptop since early December aprox. 45 days. I ordered it from Costco due to their support and return policy as well as the value. I use it every single day. I have not experienced any of the issues in the other reviews. It has never crashed or shut down unexpectedly. The keyboard is very responsive. Once you take the plastic off the camera its great. It's speed is amazing. It responds instantaneously to everything. I like the case finish better on other models, but that doesn't effect the performance. The value when I bought it was the best on the market anywhere. I still shop regularly and can't come close to the price I got."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

sad face

Pros: great value
Cons: pooped the bed
Model Number: P755-S5393
"Christmas gift, worked for ~ 30 days, then started shutting off spontaneously, then having trouble booting back up.Concierge svc. walked me through the power cycling (ESD - electrostatic discharge) procedure, which worked twice. Now it won't boot at all. Stinks - none of the other laptops they offer have BluRay like this one did. I trust Costco - so glad I purchased here."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:January 13, 2012

I thought it was a good purchase

Model Number: p775
"I have had my computer for about 45 days now. I have loved it and trusted it was the one for me. However!!! I went to turn it on about 30 minutes ago and the screen is showing no display. After a call with tech support both Toshiba and costco it has been decided it is defective. I need to return it! either the memory, video card or monitor went bad. whichever one it is... I'm not going to pay to have it repaired, it's only 45 days old and already a hardware issue. no thank you! it's going back."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NW Indiana
Date:January 11, 2012

Worst computer I have ever owned.

Pros: bought from costco
Cons: everything
Model Number: P755
"I don't even know where to begin...
-The hard disk protection feature is useless. It''s a laptop, if you sit it on your lap, the disk protection goes off every few seconds.
-It shuts itself off. OFTEN! I cannot figure this out. It just shuts off. Others have said the same thing, no rhyme or reason behind it.
-Horrible keys. They stick or are non responsive.
On paper (or the net I should say) it looks like a great system and value. In reality, it's the worst computer I have ever owned.
I am so happy I bought it from costco, I tried to stick it out till after the Christmas return rush, it's going back tomorrow."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2011

good except the keyboard

Pros: great vaue fast delivery
Cons: keyboard is not responsive
Model Number: Satellite P755
"I bought this online without actually seeing it first in person. Overall, I like the laptop except the keyboard. The keyboard is not very responsive. Almost every sentence I type there is a key that I have to hit twice. It is driving me crazy. I am considering returning it. Anyone has some suggestion or has similar problem? The keys are also glossy and slippery. Almost all the other laptops I see have rubberish-surface keys, which is what I had for my last 3 laptops. I never thought the keyboard could be an issue until I got this laptop. If it wasn't for the keys, I would have given it a 5 star.
The webcam is fine after you remove the little plastic cover over it. I didn't realize this until I read another review.
The touch pad is fine for me. Fairly responsive and easy to use."
Review 17 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2011

Kept shutting itself off

"So disappointed! I ordered this as a Christmas special based on the reviews. I received it and it is a physically beautiful computer. Spent all afternoon transferring files from my old computer while the new computer was charging up. Then, despite being fully-charged, the computer kept shutting itself down. We did every troubleshooting maneuver possible to no avail. Costco.com would not replace the computer and would only offer the concierge service to troubleshoot my lemon. So I ended up having to return it to the warehouse and will now need to start all over, and with no Christmas sales. Bah, humbug."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:December 28, 2011

Toshiba Satellite P755 Laptop i7

Pros: the screen is bright, keys have nice touch, lots of usb ports, fast processor.
Cons: hear static from speakers with moderate volume, with sep. number keypad end up sitting off-, center of screen when typing.
Model Number: Toshiba Satellite P755 laptop i-7
"This computer is really fast. The sound is amazing. I first thought there was a problem with the webcam (I looked blurry on the screen), and then I realized that there was a very small piece of plastic covering the webcam, in addition to the plastic all around the inside border of the laptop. I took that off, and now it's sharp and clear."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2011

HORRIBLE TOUCHPAD, DO NOT BUY

Pros: fast processor, fast boot time
Cons: sandpaper like touchpad, cheap left right buttons will break
Model Number: P755
"After doing extensive research on what computer to buy, I purchased this one online WITHOUT touching it or seeing it in person. It has a "Fusion" finish, which means there are horizontal stripes throughout the laptop. Unfortunately, they added this rough finish to the touch-pad. It feels like you're moving your fingertip over sandpaper, and it makes it impossible to move the mouse smoothly. The left and right click buttons also feel VERY fragile (they're made of plastic) and feel like they would break soon with repeated use. If you plan on NEVER using the touch-pad and using an external mouse, then that's fine, since the machine itself is fast, and has enough power to last a long time. But if you're like me, and you use the touch-pad primarily, DO NOT buy this laptop. You will regret it. I returned it two days after I got it."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba Satellite® P755 Laptop Intel Core™ i7-2670QM 2.2GHz SuperMulti 8x DVD Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:December 17, 2011

Nice but not without issues

Pros: fast! 5.9 windows performance rating, minimal bloatware, decent battery life, runs cool and quiet, touchpad disable button
Cons: webcam picture quality is 100% unacceptable, right side usb and audio ports interfere w/mouse.
Model Number: Toshiba P755 Laptop
"Nice machine. I was afraid the chicklet keyboard would make fast typing difficult. It doesn't. The case is all plastic, but seems sturdy. Finish reduces fingerprints.
One problem mine has is the webcam. The picture quality is totally unacceptable. I can't even recognize myself it is so blurry and grainy. I use my webcam a LOT, so this is a real issue for me. Could be I got a defective one or could be a software problem. Some feedback here would be appreciated.
Discounting the webcam issue, this computer is the best deal I've seen all year."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>