Customer Reviews for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker

Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker

Ready to start Smoking?  Or maybe it is time for the ease and convenience of Gas smoking instead of Charcoal smoking? This Great Outdoor™ SMOKY MOUNTAIN SERIES™ Gas Smoker is what you are looking for.    From ribs to turkeys, this popular vertical 38” tall smoking chamber offers a large 980 square inch smoking area on 5 chrome-plated cooking racks.  Utilizing LP Gas and a rotary ignition, the 16,000btu cast brass burner provides the temperature range and control for most common smoking applications.  The top chimney and side chrome-plated damper vents allow for fine tuning of the heat for optimum temperature control. Made of heavy duty steel construction and stabilized by wide stance legs, this smoker will provide years of smoking excellence.  The two “easy access” drawers enables you to check your water and wood without opening main smoking chamber door. Features: Heavy steel construction   Magnetic door closure   16,000 BTUs    980 sq in smoking area   5 chrome-plated cooking racks   Rotary ignition system   Strategically located temperature gauge on door   Wide stance legs for stability   Easy access drawers to access both the water pan and wood chip box without opening the main smoking chamber door   Durable large plastic door and drawer handles   Heavy duty side handles   Large Porcelain-coated steel water pan   Large steel wood chip box with vented lid   Top adjustable chimney and side damper vents   Cast Brass burner cap for long life and carries a 10 year warranty   CSA certified Includes Cover For questions regarding this item, please call Landmann® 1-800-321-3473
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
(out of 26 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
22 of 26(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Review 1 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, New Mexico
Date:April 14, 2014

Satisfied with purchase

Cons: gets too hot or too cold easily. hard to adjust
Model Number: Landmann 38
"I have smoked ribs and a brisket on different occasions. I am still playing with recipes etc. I will say that this smoker is extremely easy to use and works very well. I like the 1 door and 2 drawer system. You can add wood chips or water easily without emptying the smoke chamber. The whole smoker is quite sturdy and I am really glad I went for the propane version."
Review 2 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:May 5, 2013

Minutes from Box to Backyard?

"You have to love this little smoker. With its black body and cheery red accents, it looks like a cross between a gym locker and a steam locomotive. It is capacious, has simple controls, and produces good results.
Now about the assembly. The box says "minutes from box to backyard." This statement is incontestably true (more or less by definition). The question is, "how many minutes?" In my case, the answer was somewhere North of 120. Minus two stars. The box contains an astonishing number of parts. Once again, you will be recruited as free labor to complete tasks that can and should have been done by the manufacturer. And beware: no spare hardware is provided and everything is black. A dropped lock washer (probable given the large number of blind bolt, washer, nut matings) will be found only by persons with ESP, and will send you to the home center in search of replacements.
There, now I feel better and you have been warned. So, do get this little machine. But be prepared to spend more than one session (punctuated by rest, strong drink, or both) to assemble it.
One more thing. The instructions for use will offer you very little. But, serious barbeque people are patient and willing to problem solve. Enough said."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:February 19, 2012

great purchase

Pros: great tech service from the company, well packaged and well built, evenly distributes smoke.
Cons: lightweight smoke and water pans.
Model Number: 3895GLA
"I've smoked for years using different smokers and I've got to say that this is one fine smoker. I do not have to open the main door to check the water and wood. I did find that the door thermometer is 20 degrees off compared to my oven thermometer that I put on a shelf at the same level as the door. If the unit faces the wind and adjust the dampers below and the exhaust vent at the top there will be very little smoke leaking from the door. The shelves are light and fit tightly. both the water and smoke box is porcelain painted metal. If you let the water run out the pan will burn. The smoke box is a tight fit. I ran it with the lid on and off. Off gives off more smoke, but if you soak the wood, works better. It took me 45 minutes to assemble. You will need a flashlight to install parts on the inside. The hanging rack was defective and called the company. I got a new one within 3 days. Great service."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 27, 2012

Great Smoker-

Pros: separate doors for wood and water! a plus, dampers on lower sides and top for control, magnetic doors great idea... easy in and out, sturdy shelves... easy in and out...5 levels, get the cover. best price from landmann, screws are pked separately for each install stage
Cons: no cons... great buy... i am happy
Model Number: Landmann 38" Gas Smoker
"First- Great step by step install instructions. Best I have seen...ever. Second- the temp holds awesome and i am about 900 feet above seal level. Third- first ribs were perfect... same for brisket and pork and chicken... turkey will be next. Fourth- Wind and sun can affect the smoker but tweaking should be limited to 1/16 turns on the temp... listen to the instructions when they say to have front or back of smoker facing the wind source. i have been smoking for years successfully with my Braunfels smokers but this Landmann is so much easier than constantly adding coals and wood and temp is much more consistent!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 16, 2012

Landmann 38" Propane Somker

Pros: nicely made for the price
Cons: poor control
Model Number: 3895GLA
"Short: Don't by this Smoker if you live at high altitude or want to smoke salmon
It is well made and good value, however, I can not recommend this product to anyone in Colorado. I wanted a smoker that worked and did not have to be tended to like charcoal. I purchased this product as many reviews here and other places indicated a propane smoke is well controlled. In using it I was not able to control the temperature well at all and no matter what I did it would swing from 190 to 250 in relatively short periods of time even with very tiny adjustments of the burner and/or vents. Landmann customer service told me I was doing everything right and he thought altitude was the problem and that he did not think this smoker would work right at anything over 3,000 ft. He also told me you could not use it to smoke salmon (properly) as 190 was the lowest it would go."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2011

Very nice smoker

Pros: nice unit
Cons: thermometer
"Great smoker and the best price for one this size. Costco always has the best deals. It arrived late because ups just being well ups and it had a dent in the the back. I was able to pop it out. Assembly was easy, only four tools required. temperature is very easy to control with a few dampener adjustments I was able to hold 235 for five hours. The side lift handles make it easy to move. Smoke leeks out the door but I'm going to seal mine, probably not the biggest deal. Buy a digital over thermometer, I mounted mine about middle inside."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:S.F. Bay Area
Date:April 9, 2012

Great Choice

Model Number: Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
"We have used this smoker several times now and it works great. It starts easily and heats up fast. Dialing in your temperature takes a little getting use to. The slightest touch of the temp knob will change the temperature in the box. The one thing that made me think twice about this smoker was the magnet door latch. Not a problem, the magnets a strong enough to hold the shut even in a stiff breeze. We looked long a hard before we decided on this one. I'm glad we did."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Graham, WA
Date:July 16, 2012

Love it!

Pros: holds temp for long smokes, easy to put together, heavy construction, separate drawers for water & wood
Cons: after first use it has warped slightly.
Model Number: Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
"The only fault I could find, so far after two long smokes, is that the water drawer has warped a little & rubs against the bottom of the main door. It's possible that I need to level the bricks I placed the unit on. I just have to be careful not to slosh water onto the burner assembly and extinguish the flame. Very minor adjustment.
The first smoke was an 8-hour cook of a 5 lb chuck roast. Excellent job. The second was this weekend with 2 pork butts over another 8 hours. The smoker did great & I'm still learning & practicing to produce the best "Q" I can.
I'm really impressed with this smoker. It holds any temperature I want and after the two long smokes it has used less than 1/8 of the propane in a regular tank."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 12, 2012

Excellent Smoker

Pros: seperate wood and water drawers
Cons: none
Model Number: 38" Two Drawer
"I have used many smokers in the past including all wood and electric over wood. This smoker is the best so far and I have had it only two weeks. I have smoked brisket, chicken, sausage and ribs all with great success."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 16, 2011
Model Number: landmann 38' two drawer vertical gas smoker
"retuned after opening box. surprised to see how cheaply made for a landmann smoker.walls & doors singler layer sheet metal.wont hold heat in .i have a old great outdoors smoky moutain serious with double walls & door & stainless steel grates.i called 800# to landmann 2 times left messages they never called back.no customer service at all."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:January 31, 2012

Great Smoker for the Money

Pros: easy to put together, great smoke production, lots of room
Cons: gap around front door
"Got this as a replacement for my charcoal vertical smoker and so far it is great. Temp can range from about 180 degF to over 400, something most electrics can't manage. Installation was easy with each set of bolts and washers in individual bags marked with letters so you know when to use them. Construction seems good. Only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is the lack of seal around the door. I will need to either figure out how to move the magnets that hold the door or add a oven seal. Probably not a big deal for the summer months but I smoke year round and that little bit can really hurt in the winter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:September 12, 2013
Pros: costco's return policy and the cover for the unit
Cons: packaging of the item
Model Number: Landmann 38" Gas Smoker
"I'm giving it 1 star because the smoker arrived damaged.
Right out of the box the smoker was bent/damaged. The legs were not painted and they were dented from the handling of the package. Also, the smoker itself had a dent on the top and the drawers for the wood and water were not square. I didn't even take the time to put it together because it is going back to Costco. I did look inside the smoker and noticed that the door did not have any kind of gasket to help keep the smoke in. Whether it was inside with the rest of the parts, I do not know. I will give Costco another chance and reorder.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carrollton, TX
Date:July 24, 2012

Great Smoker at a good price

Pros: excellent value
Cons: door leaks a tiny bit of smoke. easy to fix.
"I researched smokers for a few weeks, and decided on a gas smoker. This one had all the features I wanted, and the Costco price was excellent. It came packed for UPS shipment, and was perfect. Instructions were clear and easy to follow in setting it up. After seasoning it, we cooked beef, pork, and chicken with complete success. I have gotten rave reviews from friends who tried the results. Costco, You did it again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, Ca
Date:July 31, 2012

Great Dael for the Price

Pros: worked as advertised, easy assembly
Cons: needs better quality racks
"Received this product on time and without any damage. The company did a great job using packing/shipping material to ensure the quality of the shipped product. Used for the first time over the weekend and was able to easily regulate the temperature. I wish the inside racks were made of a little thicker gauge of material. Only time will tell if they will hold up to the rigors of smoking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victorville, CA
Date:July 6, 2012

Landmann Smoker 38

"Just recently received my Landmann and I have used it twice. Once for Salmon and this 4th of July Spare Ribbs. IT WAS EXCELLENT.
I put it together in roughly 3 and half hours. Sometimes the description of the parts were a little hard to understand but not to the point where you wouldn't be able to figure it out.
Everything I've smoked so far turned out delicious, flavorful and satisfying!."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:May 14, 2012

Totally Impressed

"I have done a lot of smoking in my life, everything from Turkeys to Salmon. I swore by the "Texas Style" smokers, but this has them beat. Once you get your temperature dialed it's on auto pilot for hours. Assembly was enabled by every nut and bolt labeled and easy to follow instructions. Great value for the money. Jump on this deal."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:pendleton oregon
Date:November 7, 2012

very good purchase

Pros: holds low temp very well
Cons: weld was broke when i got it but i fixed it, 4 stars becouse of weld
"a friend of mine told me about this product said its the best one hes used so far this friend is a meat cutter by profesion and cuts game meat at his home on the side he also smokes the best jerky ive ever tasted so his two landmans are going all the time and he loves them and long story short i agree with him ive been able to hold temp at 150 or higher very good smoker hope this helps"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:August 3, 2013

Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker

Pros: good price, easy to assemble
Cons: poor insulation loose heat fast, not able to control temperature
Model Number: Landmann® 38"
"Over all it looks good, but its not able to keep up temperature due to poor insulations around it.
Its good, if you have time to keep up with it otherwise consider buying with a controlled temperature one.
"
Review 19 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Falls Church, VA
Date:June 10, 2013

Easy to Assemble

Pros: ease of assembly well organized parts
"Received the smoker today and put it together with the help of my 3 yr old daughter. The packaging was the best so far in that I usually let my elder son put together items like this. Instead I did it myself and found the organization of the parts to be very amenable to assembly of the product. It was a great father daughter project with her practicing the alphabet and learning new tools and words."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano Texas
Date:December 6, 2011

Smelling like smoke in my neighborhood

Pros: easy to control temp, huge capacity
Cons: now i need to buy a digital themometer
"I love it. I've done two turkeys, 7 racks of ribs. two hams one cured from uncooked. chickens, chicken legs and have had it less than two weeks. I have to leave town before the neighbors call the fire department on me. I like the wood chip and water chip drawers making it easy to get the smoke I want while keeping the moisture up. Only complaint was it was dented out of the box but I pounded it back not wanting to mess with a return cycle it took a fork truck stab to the base even though I though it was well packaged. I have friends and family with Charcoal and electric smokers and this gas smoker beats them hands down for convenience and versitility."
1 2 next>>