Customer Reviews for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker

Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
24 of 30(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Review 1 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:November 6, 2014

Leaks air and poor quality

Pros: lots of space for ribs pork butts and brisket.
Cons: poor quality and design.
Model Number: Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
"Bought this back in April 2014. Noticed it leaked smoke from the door handles and gaps between the door the first time we used it so I bought a clasp to tighten the door and water and charcoal/wood tray. That helped marginally. Then two months later the igniter failed. It has been sitting in the deck since. It is going back to Costco."
Review 2 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:July 18, 2014

You can do better...

Pros: dual drawers for wood chips and water tray
Cons: welds breaking ignighter fail poor quality
"China-made smoker. Took about 1 hour to assemble, and many of the screws broke when tightening. Upon first use, spot welds on water tray holder failed, igniter worked one time and one time only and failed. I expected much more quality from a coscto-vetted smoker. This one will be returned this week."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morton Grove IL
Date:July 10, 2014

Excellent product

Pros: easy assembly
Cons: none yet
Model Number: 3895GLA 38" 2 drawer Smoker
"I saw many reviews with the product damaged. My smoker came in perfect condition. Assembly was extremely easy, the hardware was individually packaged for each step. Easy to read and understand. 5 days from order to my house (very fast). This is my 2nd smoker, I will review again after I have used it. A great price through Costco"
Review 4 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2014

Landmann Smoker - Nice Product

Pros: separate water and chip drawers, well packaged, arrived promptly, nice quality for this price range, more than enough room inside for the home user
Cons: takes some time to assemble
Model Number: Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
"Rather than write boring detailed review, I will simply keep it short and sweet. This product was well packaged and arrived in excellent condition. They actually put the manufacturers box within a Costco box which I thought took extra effort considering the large size. The product is well made and certainly better than the cheap local box smokers. The separate water drawer and chip drawer make it easy to work with. I am no professional at this but I can't imagine finding something better in this price range if you are an occasional backyard smoker."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Fe, New Mexico
Date:April 14, 2014

Satisfied with purchase

Cons: gets too hot or too cold easily. hard to adjust
Model Number: Landmann 38
"I have smoked ribs and a brisket on different occasions. I am still playing with recipes etc. I will say that this smoker is extremely easy to use and works very well. I like the 1 door and 2 drawer system. You can add wood chips or water easily without emptying the smoke chamber. The whole smoker is quite sturdy and I am really glad I went for the propane version."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:September 12, 2013
Pros: costco's return policy and the cover for the unit
Cons: packaging of the item
Model Number: Landmann 38" Gas Smoker
"I'm giving it 1 star because the smoker arrived damaged.
Right out of the box the smoker was bent/damaged. The legs were not painted and they were dented from the handling of the package. Also, the smoker itself had a dent on the top and the drawers for the wood and water were not square. I didn't even take the time to put it together because it is going back to Costco. I did look inside the smoker and noticed that the door did not have any kind of gasket to help keep the smoke in. Whether it was inside with the rest of the parts, I do not know. I will give Costco another chance and reorder.
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:August 3, 2013

Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker

Pros: good price, easy to assemble
Cons: poor insulation loose heat fast, not able to control temperature
Model Number: Landmann® 38"
"Over all it looks good, but its not able to keep up temperature due to poor insulations around it.
Its good, if you have time to keep up with it otherwise consider buying with a controlled temperature one.
"
Review 8 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Falls Church, VA
Date:June 10, 2013

Easy to Assemble

Pros: ease of assembly well organized parts
"Received the smoker today and put it together with the help of my 3 yr old daughter. The packaging was the best so far in that I usually let my elder son put together items like this. Instead I did it myself and found the organization of the parts to be very amenable to assembly of the product. It was a great father daughter project with her practicing the alphabet and learning new tools and words."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:May 5, 2013

Minutes from Box to Backyard?

"You have to love this little smoker. With its black body and cheery red accents, it looks like a cross between a gym locker and a steam locomotive. It is capacious, has simple controls, and produces good results.
Now about the assembly. The box says "minutes from box to backyard." This statement is incontestably true (more or less by definition). The question is, "how many minutes?" In my case, the answer was somewhere North of 120. Minus two stars. The box contains an astonishing number of parts. Once again, you will be recruited as free labor to complete tasks that can and should have been done by the manufacturer. And beware: no spare hardware is provided and everything is black. A dropped lock washer (probable given the large number of blind bolt, washer, nut matings) will be found only by persons with ESP, and will send you to the home center in search of replacements.
There, now I feel better and you have been warned. So, do get this little machine. But be prepared to spend more than one session (punctuated by rest, strong drink, or both) to assemble it.
One more thing. The instructions for use will offer you very little. But, serious barbeque people are patient and willing to problem solve. Enough said."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2013

Very good smoker

"I have wanted a smoker for some time that used propane and when I found this one at Costco I knew that it would be a good product . Assembly was easy and I have used it once on pork butts and brisket . It is easy to use and from my first impressions I will enjoy the ease of smoking meats without the pain of checking on the fire or temperature every hour . I was able to set the temperature on 225 and not worry about it changing and both wood chips and water last for 2.5 hrs . great product , easy to assemble and temperature holds steady ."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:November 12, 2012

Excellent Smoker

Pros: seperate wood and water drawers
Cons: none
Model Number: 38" Two Drawer
"I have used many smokers in the past including all wood and electric over wood. This smoker is the best so far and I have had it only two weeks. I have smoked brisket, chicken, sausage and ribs all with great success."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:pendleton oregon
Date:November 7, 2012

very good purchase

Pros: holds low temp very well
Cons: weld was broke when i got it but i fixed it, 4 stars becouse of weld
"a friend of mine told me about this product said its the best one hes used so far this friend is a meat cutter by profesion and cuts game meat at his home on the side he also smokes the best jerky ive ever tasted so his two landmans are going all the time and he loves them and long story short i agree with him ive been able to hold temp at 150 or higher very good smoker hope this helps"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 27, 2012

Great Smoker-

Pros: separate doors for wood and water! a plus, dampers on lower sides and top for control, magnetic doors great idea... easy in and out, sturdy shelves... easy in and out...5 levels, get the cover. best price from landmann, screws are pked separately for each install stage
Cons: no cons... great buy... i am happy
Model Number: Landmann 38" Gas Smoker
"First- Great step by step install instructions. Best I have seen...ever. Second- the temp holds awesome and i am about 900 feet above seal level. Third- first ribs were perfect... same for brisket and pork and chicken... turkey will be next. Fourth- Wind and sun can affect the smoker but tweaking should be limited to 1/16 turns on the temp... listen to the instructions when they say to have front or back of smoker facing the wind source. i have been smoking for years successfully with my Braunfels smokers but this Landmann is so much easier than constantly adding coals and wood and temp is much more consistent!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 16, 2012

Landmann 38" Propane Somker

Pros: nicely made for the price
Cons: poor control
Model Number: 3895GLA
"Short: Don't by this Smoker if you live at high altitude or want to smoke salmon
It is well made and good value, however, I can not recommend this product to anyone in Colorado. I wanted a smoker that worked and did not have to be tended to like charcoal. I purchased this product as many reviews here and other places indicated a propane smoke is well controlled. In using it I was not able to control the temperature well at all and no matter what I did it would swing from 190 to 250 in relatively short periods of time even with very tiny adjustments of the burner and/or vents. Landmann customer service told me I was doing everything right and he thought altitude was the problem and that he did not think this smoker would work right at anything over 3,000 ft. He also told me you could not use it to smoke salmon (properly) as 190 was the lowest it would go."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sothern Oregon coast
Date:August 11, 2012

good smoker

"Nice smoker has a water pan drawer and a chip drawer good quality easy to control the temperature. Very easy to assemble. The only thing that I don't like about the unit is that the thermometer fogs up when I am smoking."
Review 16 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:michigan
Date:August 8, 2012

so far so good

Model Number: 3815gla
"still learning. very happy with the quality.received product very fast.remember smoking takes time."
Review 17 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, Ca
Date:July 31, 2012

Great Dael for the Price

Pros: worked as advertised, easy assembly
Cons: needs better quality racks
"Received this product on time and without any damage. The company did a great job using packing/shipping material to ensure the quality of the shipped product. Used for the first time over the weekend and was able to easily regulate the temperature. I wish the inside racks were made of a little thicker gauge of material. Only time will tell if they will hold up to the rigors of smoking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carrollton, TX
Date:July 24, 2012

Great Smoker at a good price

Pros: excellent value
Cons: door leaks a tiny bit of smoke. easy to fix.
"I researched smokers for a few weeks, and decided on a gas smoker. This one had all the features I wanted, and the Costco price was excellent. It came packed for UPS shipment, and was perfect. Instructions were clear and easy to follow in setting it up. After seasoning it, we cooked beef, pork, and chicken with complete success. I have gotten rave reviews from friends who tried the results. Costco, You did it again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:July 20, 2012
Model Number: 3895GLA Verticle Gas Smoker
"I love, love, love this smoker. Unfortunately, it arrived missing the Rotary Ignitor Knob, but I have contacted the manufacturer and they are sending one, as I am using a vice grip to turn it on and may damage the fitting. Its solid, it has enough shelves to do multiple types of food and was easy to assemble - I did it myself, and I'm still figuring out how to replace my windshield wiper blade."
Review 20 for Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Graham, WA
Date:July 16, 2012

Love it!

Pros: holds temp for long smokes, easy to put together, heavy construction, separate drawers for water & wood
Cons: after first use it has warped slightly.
Model Number: Landmann® 38" Two Drawer Vertical Gas Smoker
"The only fault I could find, so far after two long smokes, is that the water drawer has warped a little & rubs against the bottom of the main door. It's possible that I need to level the bricks I placed the unit on. I just have to be careful not to slosh water onto the burner assembly and extinguish the flame. Very minor adjustment.
The first smoke was an 8-hour cook of a 5 lb chuck roast. Excellent job. The second was this weekend with 2 pork butts over another 8 hours. The smoker did great & I'm still learning & practicing to produce the best "Q" I can.
I'm really impressed with this smoker. It holds any temperature I want and after the two long smokes it has used less than 1/8 of the propane in a regular tank."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>