Customer Reviews for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set

Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set

For a quick and elegant outdoor dining or conservation set, we proudly offer the Portofino 3-pc Folding Bistro set. Elegantly designed, lightweight and ultra portable, this set is constructed from a strong yet lightweight steel frame, powder coated in a rich textured bronze finish. Seat back, base and table top are constructed from rich espresso colored all-weather woven resin wicker. Perfectly balanced this set stands up neatly when not in use. Perfect for patios, balconies, breakfast nooks and much more. Makes a great gift. Features: Two folding chairs and matching bistro table   Strong, durable and weather resistant   Powder coated steel frame   Aged bronze finish   Dimensions: Table: 29”H x 28”D; Weight: 10 lbs Chairs: 15.5"D x 18.5"W x 32"H; Weight: 9 lbs (each) Seat Height: 17" H
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
(out of 38 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
34 of 38(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Review 1 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:June 7, 2013

Flimsy Cloth Table

Pros: the chairs were ok
Cons: flimsy cloth table top, cheap flexible resin
Model Number: 596421
"The table in this set is a flimsy piece of junk. The tabletop is made of a very lightweight cloth (with no backing) that sags down a good half inch whenever you place something on it - you can't even safely put a glass on it because it tips over and acts like a trampoline.
It's the kind of thing my cat could claw through in a single swipe.
Additionally, the coloring applied to the resin was low quality, and in places it had rubbed completely off on the packaging.
Based on other reviews that called it "sturdy", I purchased this expecting a hardened resin, not scrap fabric with a thin layer of flexible resin glued to the outside."
Review 2 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pawleys Island, SC
Date:August 19, 2013

Geat Set with a little repair work

Pros: chairs are very comfortable.
Cons: very spongy table top.
"After reading all of the reviews and viewing the images, I decided to buy this set because I was pretty sure I could correct the very spongy table top. I bought two - 2 x 2 foot ¼ inch plywood pieces from my local home improvement store for $11.00, spent an hour of my time cuting the pieces to fit and slid them in between the frame and the underside of the table top. Doing this where the product is made would be a very simple low cost design change that Costco should ask the manufacturer to do.
I would recommend this to a friend with the condition that they do a similar repair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, California
Date:July 15, 2012

Versatile, perfect outdoors, indoors!

Pros: well made quality construction, great color!, comfortable!!!, compact easy to handle store
Model Number: Costco Item # 604794
"We had been shopping for easy to set up, compact set for outside deck. Bought two sets initially and purchased third set shortly thereafter! We have black wrought iron and wondered if good color to "match". Perfect.
We discovered not only perfect for outside deck and patio seating/ dining but used a table and chair in guest room; perfect for visiting relative providing extra space for luggage,etc! Excellent quality, especially like that woven resin wicker wraps around chair frames. Great tables, chairs! Highly recommended!"
Review 4 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 13, 2011

Very pleased!

Pros: looks great and foldable.
"I received this bistro set and am very satisfied with this purchase! I have a small patio and wanted a nice table and chairs for meals, etc. I am very pleased with this set. The set is extremely nice, with the woven resin wicker design, the powder coated legs in a lovely expresso color, and the great feature of being able to fold it up and put it away, if needed. The chairs are so comfortable that a chair pad is not needed and the table is very sturdy. I would highly recommend this set because of the value and quality!"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Surprise AZ
Date:August 21, 2012

Great chairs, bad table

"Bought this set for the chairs - wanted some comfortable, nice looking outdoor folding chairs. The chairs fit the bill; they were just what I was looking for. I was not so crazy about the table; the top was too unstable to hold a cup of tea or a glass of wine. After three months the top of the table started to shred and fall apart, so sadly I had to return the set. I do live in Arizona, so perhaps the sun was too much. But my other outdoor furniture has never had this problem. Perhaps I had a defective table."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:June 11, 2012

Very Attractive & Good Quality

Pros: weatherproof resin finish, dark brown color will hide stains
Cons: you may get a weave that is partially broken
Model Number: 596421
"I bought this as a gift to someone. It's VERY nice and attractive. It's not flimsy at all. The only reason I didn't give it a perfect 5-star rating is because one of the plastic weaves towards the top of the chair arrived broken. It's not that big of a deal because it can be glued down. But you need to find the right type of glue. Crazy Glue (or similar) will not work because the resin finish is not porous. It's a good size and it looks good. It's a great value for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2012

Stylish and Light Weight

Cons: flimsy table top
"I love this set. It's perfect to fold up and put away. The only reason I'm giving 4 out of 5 stars is that the table top is flimsy to set wine glasses on. The table top is made out of the resin wicker but there's no support underneath the entire top. So when I set a stemmed glass on top, it wants to tip over. I'm thinking of having a piece of plexi-glass cut to fit so that we can use our stemmed glasses. Otherwise, I'll have to drink wine out of a highball glass. :-("
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2014

Junque with a capital J

Pros: costco took it back
Cons: poor overall quality, poor table top not suitable for a glass., cardboard stiffener under table top turned to mush
"Like many reveiwers, I wanted to really like this set. BUT... 1) You shouldn't have to doctor the table to hold a wine glass, 2) It should last more than half a season, and 3) RUST.
Very disappointed in the OVERALL quality. At first, I really liked it, but after three months outside in summer weather, it became rusted, with broken wicker. Rest assured, I returned it to Costco. The clerk at the return desk said I was not the first. Stay away from this set.
"
Review 9 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:August 7, 2012

Ready to go

Pros: no assembly!
"Love that there is no assembly required. Comes right out of the box in it's folded form, ready to unfold and use. The chairs are actually pretty comfortable for what they are. The chairs and table are sturdy. Looks nice on our deck, and easy to fold up and put inside a closet if we don't want to test the all-weather component too much. A wicker table top isn't the best for keeping glasses sturdy and upright, but it does a pretty good job!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pawleys Island, SC
Date:August 22, 2013

Great set..with some repair work

Pros: very comfortable chairs
Cons: spongy table top
"After considering all of the reviews, I decided to buy this set because I was pretty sure I could rpair the very spongy table top. I purchased 2 - 2' x 2' pieces of 1/4 inch plywood, cut them to fit and inserted them in between the frame and the underside of the table top. This would be a very low cost change by the manufacturer that Costco should ask them to do."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:April 6, 2012

Better than Fantastic!

"Table and chair set just arrived and super fast shipping! Absolutely wonderful quality, very comfortable chairs, and table space is just right for a paper and a cup of coffee. Since our deck space is small, this is the perfect set. Love too that it will fold up so nicely to put away and store for the winter and be out of the snow! Thanks Costco!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:October 28, 2011

Perfect for a balcony patio

"Durable, attractive materials. Surprisingly comfortable, and I say that as someone who is not a big fan of wicker in general.
We put this set out onto a patio balcony, and it's the perfect set to watch the sun rise and set while sipping tea or working on the computer. The table is just a smidge tall for the laptop, but not bad for an hour of so."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma, CA
Date:July 16, 2012

Bistro set / 9' umbrella

Pros: good quality.
Cons: no instructions for tilt mechanism.
"Bistro Set
Good quality material. Chairs are comfortable. Like the set...
Umbrella:
No instructions. Had to call Costco to find out how to make it tilt. Crank feels like it is going to break under tension. Good quality material...
Nice umbrella. like the quality.
Rolling Stand is handy. Easy to move to wherever needed.
"
Review 14 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2013

Looks nice, but the table is flimsy

Pros: looks great, compact and easily stored
Cons: tabletop is thin cardboard
"The overall look is very nice, and the quality of the chairs is great. However, the second I put a cup of coffee on the table top I knew I COULD NOT keep this set. The table top is essentially wicker on top of a very thin piece of cardboard (imagine one of those cardboard priority mail envelopes)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DC
Date:May 9, 2014

Great, affordable cafe table and chairs

Pros: all pieces are light and foldable very portable
Cons: the table top gives a little (unlike solid glass)
"I bought this to go on a small side porch, and to somewhat match the rest of our outdoor furniture and it's great. The chairs are comfortable, the table is steady, and it fits great in the space. I especially like that there were no parts to put together, and it all folds up for easy carrying."
Review 16 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carson City, Nevada
Date:April 23, 2014

High-class for low price!

Pros: convenience, appearance
"A really outstanding little bistro set. It's hard to find one that offers the convenience of folding along with the sturdiness and elegance of this set. We couldn't be more pleased. (We paired this set with the Agio canopy bench swing also at Costco, and they look great together!)"
Review 17 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 30, 2011

Gift Purchase

"Purchased this for a gift and my niece was delighted. She has it on a small balcony and the color and quality of the set is perfect. It works great for morning coffee or working on a lap top. She says the chairs are very comfy and the set was just what she was looking for."
Review 18 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:November 2, 2011

Portofino 3 pc Folding Set

Pros: no assembly., fast delivery, top quality
"Fast delivery, no assembly, great quality. Took it out of the box, set it up and used it. I bought this compact set to use "indoors" as I am cramped for space in a 1 br apt. It is perfect. I can fold the chairs & table to store away if I want. Definitely a plus. Love it!"
Review 19 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:In sunny Santa barbara
Date:March 23, 2012
"I bought a set a few months ago, with spring here, I just needed another set for another part of the garden! Lovely clean lines, incredibly easy to store, transport around. The only problem may be is it catches dust in the weaving pattern. Great purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Portofino 3-piece Patio Folding Bistro Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 2, 2012

I agree with the other reviews

"The set is very nice. The table is roomier than I expected. Two people can easily dine on it. The chairs are comfortable and the color is a nice rich brown. I also like the way it folds so easily. Top notch. I'm thinking about buying another!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>