Customer Reviews for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit

Goal Zero's Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit is the ultimate solution to keeping your handheld electronics charged up while you're out trekking, traveling, or anywhere you go! Use the Nomad 7 solar panel to charge up your cell phone, GPS and iPods directly using the USB port. Also store your solar power in your Guide 10 Plus Battery Pack via the solar port (in 2-4 hours) for later use. Use the Guide 10 Plus to power up your cell phones, Tablets, GPS, iPods, Cameras and really anything that can charge off of the 1 amp USB port and/or use the built in LED light that lasts up to a 150 hours! You can also charge up your AA and AAA batteries as well through the Guide 10 Plus. Plug in the Luna USB Light into the Guide 10 Plus or your laptop to brighten up your night. The Nomad 7 has a built in pocket to store your Guide 10 Plus or cell phone and folds up to be lightweight, compact, and weather resistant. Stay charged and Have fun! Includes:    Nomad 7 Solar Panel   Guide 10 Plus Battery pack   4 AA and 4 AAA (insert included) batteries   Luna USB LED Light Features: Keep your power hungry phone juiced and ready for you to use Power up your tablet for 25% longer.   Recharge up the AA or AAA batteries right from the sun   Just add sun. Small and compact enough to carry with you always and power up anywhere   Handy built-in LED flashlight in the Guide 10 Plus to help you search in your dark backpack or purse   9" bendable cord lets you secure the Luna USB Light around objects    Guide 10 Plus Battery Pack Charging Options / Approx. Charge Time:    GOAL ZERO Nomad 7 (solar port): 2-4 hours   Any USB Power Source: 8-10 hours   Inputs:    USB: mini port 5V, 0.7A max (3.5W)   Solar port: 6.5V, 1.5A max (7W)   Outputs:    Batteries: 4 x AA or AAA** NiMH cells   USB: Standard Port 5.0V, 1.0A max (5W)   Flashlight: 100mW white LED, 100+ hours* Internal:    Battery Capacity: 10 Wh*, use only NiMH cells   Lifespan: hundreds of cycles*   Shelf Life: 12 months*   General:    Certifications: FCC and CE   Optimal Operating Temp.: 32-104 F (0-40 C)   Dimensions: 2.5" x 4" x 0.75" (6 x 10 x 2 cm)   Weight w/Batteries: 0.4 lbs. (0.18 kg)   Warranty: 12 Month   *When using GOAL ZERO NiMH rechargeable low self-discharge AA cells. **AAA Cells require an adapter, which is included with AAA battery purchase.   Nomad 7 Solar Panel Charging Options / Approx. Charge Time:    GOAL ZERO Guide 10 Plus: 2-4 hours   Cell phone, MP3 player: 1-3 hours   Smart phone, GPS, USB camera: 2-4 hours Inputs:    Solar Panel Rated Wattage: 7W   Cell Type: Monocrystalline   Open-circuit voltage: 6.5-7V   Converting Efficiency: 17-18%   Cell Area: 0.0394 m2   Outputs:    USB Port: 5V, 1.0A max (5W), linear regulated   12V Port: 13-15V, 0.2A max (3W), boost regulated   Solar Port (for Guide 10): 6-6.5V, 1.0A max (6W), not regulated   General:   Certifications: FCC and CE   Optimal Operating Temp.: 0-120 F (-17-48 C)   Folded Dimensions: 6" x 9" x 1" (15 x 26 x 2.5 cm)   Unfolded Dimensions: 17" x 9" x 0.1" (43 x 23 x 0.25 cm)   Weight (no pkg): 0.8 lbs (0.36 kg)   Warranty: 12 Months   Luna USB Light Powering Times:    Guide 10 Battery Pack: 10 hours   * Light is rated for 20,000 hrs of use   Input Sources: 12.5V±2V   Output Ports: 12.5V±2V (0.26A : 12V)   LED: Approx. 1 watt LED Operating Temperatures:    Optimal Operating: 32°-104°F / 0°-40°C   Optimal Storage: 32°-86°F / 0°-30°C General:   Dimensions: 14"   Weight (no pkg): 1.40 oz / 40 grams   Warranty: 12 months
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Review 1 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:April 9, 2013

Practical solar battery charger

Pros: small light good output
Cons: no slow charge mode to protect batteries
"It appears Costco/Goal Zero have worked out the shipping issues. Mine came in a box with a blister-pak front, packed inside a shipping box with expanded foam padding. Very secure and everything in perfect shape. There were full manuals included for every item.
I did a quick run through with it over the weekend. It took about three hours to charge the AA batteries, just like they estimated. The batteries got VERY hot. Literally too hot to hold in my hands for more than a few seconds. While this isn't especially good for the batteries, it does tell me the solar panels are putting out more than enough current to quickly charge the batteries.
While charging the AAA batteries I also plugged in my cell phone. Mine isn't as fussy as the iPhones apparently are, but the panels started charging the phone while simultaneously charging the AAA batteries.
I bought this primarily as an emergency backup in case of an extended power outage and to maybe take hiking to keep my phone charged up. It looks like it will work as intended for these purposes."
Review 2 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2012

Wow... Buyer Beware

Pros: great concept
Cons: no packaging, no manuals included??
"So I understand that these are direct ship from the manufacturer. However the good news is that you can at least return them to COSTCO.
I ordered 2 of these:
They arrived loose in 2 different boxes.
None of the Goal Zero product was in any packaging or like a manufacturer’s box. The only thing in a sealed container was the AAA battery pack, and the led light bar. The 12V DC charger wires and the other included wires were also loose. One of the solar panels had scratches on them. My intention was to send these as gifts, but since they are loose and not in any packaging they we not presentable. In my opinion based on the packaging I question if they are really new or a refurbished item.
Actually if you look at the product picture - thats how they arrived.. Maybe I reveived the photo op version?
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 21, 2012

Strange Packaging

Pros: all cables and batteries provided, potentially a great back up for earthquakes
Cons: conflicting info between package and instructions
Model Number: Nomad 7
"I just received this product today and am eager to give it a try. However, right off the top were a couple of very strange things.
First, the package arrived with no packaging! Literally--it was in the clamshell (the entire front of the box is clear clamshell) and manufacturer's box with our address, etc. slapped on the back. Anyone could see (steal?) this and know exactly what they were getting. I don't think I liked that!
Secondly, before I purchased this, I read all the reviews and manufacturer's information because I especially wanted it for my iPad. When I was reading the instructions, it was specifically stated in more than one area that this product DOES NOT work with tablets, readers and iPads. Yet the product box said it did. I actually had to come into the review section and print the review that said how to best charge the iPad, since I couldn't get that info anywhere else.
Very Strange..."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 19, 2012

GOAL ZERO

Pros: quick charge and durable
Cons: none
Model Number: Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
"I used this product on a Mission Trip to Haiti to help build an orphanage. It not only kept my smart phone charged, but I also used the battery pack with an USB fan at night to combat the heat. The light was handy for reading at night.
I have used it backpacking to charge my phone/GPS tied to the outside of my pack to charge with great results.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saratoga, CA
Date:November 15, 2012

Great for emergency supplies

Pros: super lightweight for backpacking and camping
"I own two of these, one for home and one for camping. I am buying more for my family to keep with their emergency supplies. Goal Zero PLUS is the only goal zero product that charges the iPhone and does so only from the battery pack. I LOVE this product. I strap the solar panels on the back of my packhorse to charge the battery pack during the day when I am in the wilderness. Then I can read my books on my iPhone in the tent at night."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:August 28, 2012

Great way to keep gadgets charged

"We bought the kit for camping, but use it frequently to keep batteries charged for cordless computer keyboard, mouse, flashlights, etc. If you are charging a device, be sure to keep it in the shade so as not to overheat from the same rays that are providing the electricity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:August 27, 2012

Excellent Purchase

Pros: very easy to use, compact and can take anywhere
Cons: none
Model Number: NOMAD 7
"Extremely comforting to know that I can have power for my cell phone and items that use AAA or AA batteries by charging them with solar energy."
Review 8 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:ca
Date:June 4, 2012

does the job but expensive

Pros: comes with all cables and accessories necessary
Cons: can charge only 4 batteries at once, heavy
"Sporadically used for about 3 weeks. Works as advertised but seems priced more than I would like to pay for it.
Capable of charging a smartphone or quad AA pack in a bright sunlight in few hours.
I would look for other cheaper products.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:May 30, 2012

Great purchase!

Pros: comes with 4 aa and 4 aaa batteries., can charge my ipod directly from the solar panel., lightweight panel folds up for easy packing.
Cons: batteries are hard to get out of charger.
Model Number: 604740
"I bought this about 3 weeks ago. I'm a father of 3 and I'm constantly charging Eneloop batteries. I also have an iPod Touch that gets used quite a bit and seems to be plugged into a charger more often than not. What's great about this kit is that you can charge Eneloop batteries in it. You can also plug your iPod into the battery pack as it's being charged up by the sun. What I've been doing is just charging the batteries and then taking just the battery pack with me to charge up my iPod when I'm out and about. It works great. One thing you have to make sure of is that the batteries have enough charge in them or your iPod will say that it can't charge from the battery pack. Or if you're using the solar panel to charge your phone/iPod, that it is getting enough CONSTANT sunlight to keep the charge up. Otherwise, your phone/iPod will not charge. The one gripe I have is that it can be hard to get the batteries out of the charger. I usually open it and hit it into the palm of my hand. Overall a great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mayer, AZ
Date:April 27, 2012

Suggestions to charge an iPad (daytime)

Pros: easy to set up, charged my ipad, charged my ipod nano, charged my droid razr
Model Number: 19008
"Suggestions to charge an iPad during the day:
Start with the batteries fully charged and the iPad turned OFF (not sleeping).
First I plugged my iPad into the USB output port on the Guide 10 "Plus" Battery Pack, and then connected the battery pack to the Nomad 7 Solar Panel with the Ultra Charge Solar Cord to the solar input.
Next I placed the solar panel in the sun and then TURNED ON the battery pack. I had no problems charging my iPad.
(Sometimes plugging and unplugging the iPad a few times allows the iPad to accept the charging setup)
I keep 3 sets of NiMH batteries with me and make sure at least one set is always fully charged."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pompano Beach , FL
Date:December 15, 2011

Its great, we thinking about getting another...

Pros: charges fast, can store power, light, durable, so many uses
Cons: none yet
"Ok, so I was worried about the reviews on this product, but I bought it anyway. And I am so glad I did.
I have a iphone and the reviews stated that you can't charge it from the solar panel. You can charge it from the pack, but not from the panel and I prefer to use the AA batteries. I clip it onto my backpack. Put the battery pack on the solar charger and go. I have unlimited charging for my iphone 4. Its awesome.
We are outdoors people and I can go all day and maintain my charge. It charges anything.
My husband wants one too.
Also, it is a great item for people who camp or just aren't near a wall plug. I no longer need to rely on my car charger. This is great!
Since it is so light, I can open it on my back pack and it charges as I walk. Oh and its really sturdy.
I can't wait till I travel to Europe again. No more plugs or fried electronics.
Bass pro has it on sale, but you really do need th battery pack.
Thanks costco for getting such a great product in at a great price"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, tx
Date:December 12, 2011

Great Package

Pros: low self discharge nimh batteries provided, the light bar provides ample light by which to rea
Cons: specifications are not correct, batteries are 2000mah and 800mah
"This product provides a complete bundled solution so nothing else needs to be purchased. I was surprised at the quick charge time in full sun for the panel size."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GOAL ZERO® Portable Solar Power Essentials Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reside in Mountain West
Date:November 20, 2011

Goal Zero Works!

Pros: powers all aa/aaa powered devices
Cons: embarassingly geeky
"I'm an old-school luddite and was dubious about every aspect of this product kit, but it rocks! It's worth buying both AA & AAA conversion packs. The speaker is good quality, but heavy wood (not good for backpacking). The amount of time required to charge all batteries under optimal conditions is well under an hour. The panel is superlight and can be hung from your backpack as you hike, or a tree branch at camp. Comes w/very bright reading light. Can charge some devices off both battery pack & panel and comes w/converter jack that resembles access plug in cars. Total kit less than 1 lb on my scale."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.