Customer Reviews for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband

*Phone Not Included   Are you looking for that added edge in your weight loss program?  Track your activity and calorie burn like the contestants on The Biggest Loser®!   The BodyMedia FIT LINK Armband is the most accurate device in the market for measuring calorie burn.* No other consumer body monitoring device can capture calorie burn with greater than 90% accuracy, a fact that has been clinically validated when compared to the gold standard in calorie measurement**. The BodyMedia FIT Armband automatically and accurately gives you round the clock info on calories burned, steps taken, activity levels, and sleep quality.  The LINK Armband, enabled with Bluetooth® wireless technology, sends information directly to your smartphone providing real-time caloric burn, activity levels, steps taken and sleep quality. BodyMedia’s body monitoring technology is also returning to NBC’s ‘The Biggest Loser’ in Season 14, which features the return of America’s toughest trainer, Jillian Michaels.  All contestants are wearing BodyMedia FIT Armbands to provide them with detailed and accurate information to help achieve their weight loss goals! LINK Armband At a Glance: As seen on NBC’s The Biggest Loser Wear the Armband to measure calories burned, steps taken, activity levels and sleep quality Communicates directly with the free BodyMedia FIT app on your smartphone using Bluetooth to give you real time data Log food using the online tool or mobile app Import nutritional data from apps such as MyFitnessPal Receive personalized feedback via the BodyMedia FIT coach Includes a 12-month subscription to BodyMedia’s Activity Manager Compatible with iPhone, Android, and other mobile devices Accuracy is on the Arm When you wear a BodyMedia FIT Armband directly on your arm, it monitors calories burned, monitors exercise intensity, steps taken and sleep quality.  Other devices clip to your shirt or belt loop so they can only record simple data (steps) from when you move. Why is that important? BodyMedia FIT Armbands recognize that jogging up 3 flights of stairs is not the same as walking down 3 flights of stairs.  You’re doing more work and burning more calories jogging up those stairs! If you want to accurately monitor what’s going on inside your body, you need a system that is in touch with you day and night. That’s why BodyMedia FIT Armbands are worn directly on your arm. Its patented sensors detect skin temperature, sweat, the rate of heat leaving your body and motion.  It knows what you’re doing, when you’re doing it and even the intensity of your effort.   Online Activity Manager Our Activity Manager allows you to upload data to our server via your smartphone or computer.  The software analyzes the data and presents the information in an easy-to-understand format so that your progress can be tracked.  The Activity Manager allows you to enter your body’s metrics (height, weight, age, gender), log food, and guides you to your goals with a running report on the progress you’ve made – all while tracking their personal bests.   FIT coach The Activity Manager also features FIT coach. The software analyzes the millions of data points gathered from your Armband and you are given individual feedback suggestions such as eating something different, adjusting activity levels or focusing on getting more sleep.  All of the feedback you receive is based on your actual data! BodyMedia FIT App The LINK Armband powered by Bluetooth wireless technology communicates directly with the BodyMedia FIT smartphone app to provide real-time, up-to-the minute streams of information.  You can view your Dashboard and see real-time data to evaluate how they are tracking against daily goals. Using the app, you can also create customized workouts.  The LINK Armband puts valuable health information at your fingertips for added motivation to stay on-track. Wireless Upload of Data The LINK Armband now offers wireless upload. Wireless upload allows you to cut the cord with the computer by enabling the BodyMedia FIT app on your smartphone to upload all of the Armband data to our server. Upload from anywhere in the world with an internet connection – no computer needed!  You’ll like it so much; you might just forget to charge your Armband so keep an eye on the battery indicator (most people charge it every 5 days). Apps that work with the Armband Withings - Never log your weight manually again by connecting your Withings Scale account to your BodyMedia Activity Manager to have your weight entries sent automatically. MyFitnessPal – Database of 2 million foods to make logging meals a snap! MyFitnessPal also offers a free barcode scanner and an online community to diet with your friends. Runkeeper - Turns your smartphone into a personal trainer in your pocket. Compatibility Information Mobile devices tested to work with the LINK Armband and mobile apps include the iPad 3; iPad 2; iPad; iPhone (4S, 4 and 3GS); iPod touch (3rd and 4th generation); LG Ally; LG Optimus S; Motorola Droid (original, 2, and X); Samsung Epic; Samsung Intercept; Samsung Transform; and Sanyo ZIO. Best when used with iOS 5.1 or later. Mobile devices running Android 2.3 or higher normally work, but have not all been tested and thus cannot be guaranteed by BodyMedia. What's in the Box BodyMedia LINK Armband, medium size strap, USB cable, manual and quick start guide. The BodyMedia LINK Armband is backed by a manufacturer's one-year warranty. *Data on file. **British Journal of Sports Medicine, July 2010
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
19 of 25(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Review 1 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Date:December 9, 2011

Body body

Pros: tracks food intake and energy used., easy to use on computer or iproduct, you can monitor your calories in real time, you can use it with either an ipad itouch iphone, tracks your sleep patterns at night, tracks your steps you take daily
Cons: can not get 12 month free monitoring, arm band may be hard to get used to, very difficult initially to remove from arm band, must wear it 24/7 for best results, can not download to mac from iproducts, takes a long time to initially record foods.
Model Number: BodyMedia FIT LINK
"I have used it for a couple days now and if you record your food on the website it records your activity. I have a Mac so it works well with that. I can track everything "real time" using my iTouch and make decisions about eating out on the spot. I have yet to figure out how to download to the Mac, and that seems to be one of their problems they have yet to solve. You are supposed to get a 12 months free subscription and there is no place in the setup on their website to tell the company that. It is $6.95/month for 12 months with the first 3 months free. It takes some time to get used to the arm band on your left upper arm. Initially it takes quite awhile to record the different foods you eat, but they do have a large menu of food products to choose from. Healthy foods are not readily available from their list."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South East
Date:January 17, 2013

Give it a try

Pros: fast set up after getting the 12 month activation#, it sync's with the newest ipad or iphone(via app), the ability to sync with other apps, tech support was fast and efficient, don't really notice it is there!
Cons: having to call tech support for the 12 months free, no actual ipad app but the iphone app works for it
Model Number: AB185
"My activation code did not bring up a 12 months free option so I called for help instead of entering my Links's serial number (SN). Tech support was wonderful but the wait was a while. They asked if there was another sticker on the outside of the box which had another activation number (for 12 months free), which there should have been, but mine didn't have it. So, the customer service gentleman gave me another code to enter for the 12 months free. It worked! Set up was easy and effortless.
I don't know how the device works over time since I just got it but so far, so good! I do like what it has to offer and the apps.
I gave it four stars instead of five due to the missing 12 month activation #. Perhaps the serial number (SN) on the unit would work for others instead of having to call tech support/customer service. To do this, pop the unit out of the arm band. Then, type in the # that comes after the SN on your unit in the space provided on your getting started page.
Again, tech support was amazing, but I hate having to make those calls..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:January 27, 2012

Good Product - Could use some improvements

Pros: detailed sleep activity and calorie info, links through bluetooth with my andriod phone
Cons: only charges when hooked up to the laptop, questions about accuracy of calorie burned data, food/nutrition input is burdensome, no heartrate monitor
"I've been using this product for almost 10 days now, and I am pretty happy with it thus far. Initial set up couldn't be easier. I love the data it provides, and wearing the armband is pretty comfortable. I bought this to see how many calories I burn in a day, lose a little weight, but to be able to maintain a healthy weight long term.
Honestly though, I have some questions about how accurate the calorie burn data is. I have a hard time believing I burn as much as it says...Though I hope it's true!
When the device is linked to my Android phone, I can see how many calories I have burned so far in the day. I can also input my food log through the phone - though it's clunky and lacks a lot of common foods. I was using MyFitnessPal before and it was much easier.
Overall, I would recommend this product. The data is so helpful when trying to lose weight or learn how to maintain. I hope the company continues to improve its software."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kalispell, Montana
Date:January 1, 2012

Worth the money!

Pros: easy to use, comfortable on the arm, fairly accurate, appreciate the feedback from the fitcoach, can add a heart rate monitor
Cons: only charges via pc/mac port, charging while traveling requires a computer, sensors contain nickel, only works with garmin hrm, food log is limited--requires a lot of manual adds
Model Number: AB185
"I've been tracking my weight, food, and hikes/exercise with another program that determines my kcal expenditure strictly on the amount of time spent and incline according to the GPS tracking of my app. A serious shortfall is the fact that I supposedly burn more calories taking a leisurely stroll vs hiking at a quick pace with a 50# pack on my back. I was getting very frustrated and decided I needed something that really tracked how MY body was reacting to the workout--not what an app assumed my body was doing. I've been wanting a bodymedia fit that would sync with my android phone for over a year but wanted to wait for the second version. I got it for Christmas and couldn't be more thrilled with the device. Well worth the money and the time to log food. My doctor appreciates the logs that I bring in to show him exactly what I'm doing.
As for being waterproof -- the instructions state it's not waterproof, or even water resistant--maybe to sweating, but not in the shower, and definitely not in the pool! Accuracy while using an elliptical trainer/bike is limited--recommend moving the device to the leg to get accurate readings."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 31, 2012

Bodymedia Fit is awesome device

Pros: bluetooth, easy-to-wear, fitness and nutrition details
Cons: pricey
Model Number: BodyMedia Fit
"I am a registered dietitian and fitness consultant who tries multiple devices so I can make educated decisions to help support my clients. I tried the Bodymedia Fit trying to see what all of the fuss was about. I've used the device for 2 months now and can see the benefit of using this device to help with either weight management or weight loss. The information provided (calories burned, calories consumed, moderate activity, vigorous activity, steps taken, and sleep is outstanding and really gives you what is going on in your daily life. Without even trying to lose weight, I have lost 3.5 pounds. The device makes you want to get active. The bluetooth connection works great and is an awesome way to assess how things are going through the day. You often forget that you are wearing it. Some may find the initial cost high, but I find it well worth it with the 12 month subscription. This is a must buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Date:November 26, 2012

Problem registering Costco Promo

Pros: calculations are based on science & your input., plan of action very concrete; no guesswork
Cons: problem getting costco free 12 month subscription, website was not set up for costco.com purchase
Model Number: AB185
"I just purchased this item. Tried to register and input my Costco promo code for free 12 month subscription; however Costco subscription wasn't listed as an option. Sent 3 emails only to be told "should be there when you input serial number" Well, it wasn't. Had to make phone call. Customer service also had problem. Seems it is a glitch that they will try to correct. Seems like an awesome product. Will be anxious to try it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

I now know I can do it!

"I love the body media fit link armband. The first week I lost 8.1 pounds. It shows you exactly how many calories you have eaten, have left, and your daily deficit. I love that it shows what I have done well, and how I can improve. One day I didn't eat enough carbs. Many days it tells me I need to sleep more. The constant feedback not only holds me accountable, it shows me how to improve each day!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2012

Very Eye-Opening!

Pros: easy to use, works well
Cons: a little skin irritation
"I joined Costco just to purchase this item and it was definitely worth it. The armband has given me feedback that has really opened my eyes to my actual calorie burn. I knew I lived a sedentary life, but I still severely underestimated my actual burn, particularly when exercising. What seems like vigorous exercise to me only registers as moderate on the armband. It's definitely going to help me stay focused and lose weight. I've already lost 5 pounds and it's been 4 weeks. As for the details - I had no trouble registering the product and getting the full 12 months free with the Costco code on the package. The link to my iPhone works fine - except for the sleep, I only see that when I sync it with the actual computer. I highly recommend this to anybody who needs help figuring out what's going on with your body."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reality
Date:February 3, 2012

Eliminates a lot of guesswork

"This tool is great not only for the stereotypical dieter, but also for weightlifters trying to manage calorie burn for bulk/cut/maintenance. If you don't have an accurate read on your calorie burn, it can take weeks to see if a change in calorie intake is having the desired affect. I just ended twelve weeks of "maintenance" eating and am now ready to start cutting fat. The LINK very quickly validated my maintenance level and burn during workouts. Now, as I start to cut fat, it's a simple matter of eating 500 calories below the previous day's burn. So far, the band has made everything easier! The fact that you can examine specific segments of a day to check calorie burn is great (e.g. did I really burn 500 calories on the treadmill?). The biggest down side is the food database. I continue to use myfitnesspal for tracking calorie/macronutrient intake. Other than that, this thing is great!"
Review 10 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:March 7, 2013

Works great with my android phone...

Pros: very motivating!
"I love this arm band! I've had no problems with the blue tooth and app working together on my phone in the two weeks I've been wearing it. It really does seem to know when your actually working out vs. just moving around. For instance it measures Moderate activity, vigorous activity and steps. Yesterday I walked a little less than a mile and it measured the steps and counted it as moderate activity. Then I did a 35 min fitness routine on dance central. It measured the steps, counted part of the time as moderate and part as vigorous(I would have counted it all as vigorous haha). Then this morning I cleaned the bathroom to see how it would count that. It only said I did a min of moderate activity but it measured all the steps. It also showed how much I slept last night and how long I laid down. It brings out the competitive side of you too as it measured everything I did into personal best scores(number of steps, moderate activity mins, vigorous mins, calories burned, mets, time worn on body). So I have scores to beat! I can also check my progress anytime on my smart phone. I've been working out every day since I got it!"
Review 11 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:January 20, 2012

Disappointed

Pros: great concept
Cons: poor qc
Model Number: Body Media Fit LINK
"I used a Bodybugg, made by Bodymedia, for 2 years, until it fell apart and wrist monitor would no longer stay in the strap. I loved it!
I had purchased an iPad and thought the LINK would be a great compromise: no wrist strap, but no need to wait until I got home to check my progress. I do not have a smart phone. Synced with my computer just fine, but would not maintain a connection with my iPad. Other bluetooth devices work with my iPad without a problem
In addition, the arm band is coming loose from the frame. This device is being returned. Not sure if I will try another LINK, or the CORE-probably try the LINK one more time first."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:January 25, 2012

iPhone 4 S and iOS 5 NOT SUPPORTED

Pros: works online, data can be downloaded to spreadsheet, online summary data reports available as pdfs
Cons: iphone 4 s or ios 5 not supported, intermittent reliability, not as advertised
Model Number: BodyMedia Link
"The product has a great concept but they claim it works with iPad2. iPad2 uses iOS 5 as does the iPhone 4 S. BodyMedia does not currently support either much to my dismay. Have had many issues with uncoupling and the need to relink. Uncoupling means a complete loss of any recognition of the unit. Re-initiation takes a lot of time. Multiple email exchanges have not resolved these issues. Only when a human was contacted was it revealed that iOS 5 IS NOT SUPPORTED. The lack of support may lead to my return of this item even though I will hold out hope that BodyMedia will find a solution quickly!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 2, 2012

Very good but found newer version in local store

Pros: easy to use
Cons: doesn't include heart rate
Model Number: LINK armband
"I have really enjoyed the Link Armband. It is easy to use and seems to be accurate. After I bought it, I found the core armband in a local Costco store. If I had known I would have bought that one instead because it is smaller and less expensive. (It does have fewer months of subscription however.) I did have a few problems with the initial set up and didn't hear a response to my email for a couple days which was disappointing because those days are still counted on my free subscription. That is why I gave it only 4 stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2013

DO NOT BUY!

Pros: works great if you don't use the app
Cons: won't keep bluetooth connection, app fails to sync
"I personally was sold on the fact I could monitor my daily activity throughout the day by checking all my stats and entering my food on my iPhone. I cannot begin to tell you how much time, stress, and frustration this app has caused me and my wife (who also got one). The app is HORRIBLE. In principal it sounds fantastic, but it looses bluetooth connection ALL THE TIME and the app just does not work right. I am actually very shocked Costco is backing this product since they usually only have very high quality products. Thank god they have such a great return policy! Both of ours went back. My wife switched to the Jawbone Up and has been VERY happy with it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2012

Nice but NOT for latest iPhone...

"Worked as described for the most part. However, it would only connect about half the time with my iPhone 4S on iOS 5. This was a show stopper for me so I returned it to the store. It was also a little larger than I expected. Sensor worked great and had it worked with my phone I would have kept it. It is not officially certified on iOS 5 but I did not want to wait on the firmware update."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2011

Great Buy

"Received my BodyMedia Fit today. I agree with everything the other reviewer said EXCEPT the statement that the subscription isn't free. You do get 12 months free. The subscription code was right on the front of the package on a bright pink label. Set up was a breeze. I am quite impressed with how easy it is to track foods."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newark DE
Date:February 1, 2012

LOVE IT

"I am currently on a mission to finish losing weight and hit my goal. This helps me to see what I'm taking in and what I'm burning. I find myself in a constant competition with myself to beat my previous day's numbers. I highly reccomend this if you are looking to lose weight."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Kentucky Woman
Date:January 1, 2012

initial review- Link version

Cons: difficult set up- website not helpful.
"just got as a gift. Instructions with the device are very, very brief. Setting up on a Macbook and a Droid - more difficult than expected - numbers do not appear to be syncing across devices. More as we get some experience."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SoCal
Date:January 8, 2013

Great Product, Support - not so much

Pros: connects with myfitnesspal and others, sync via bluetooth on iphone, rechargeable
Cons: mine died after 3 days, would be great if it could incorporate heart rate
Model Number: BodyMedia Fit LINK
"WIthin 3 days of use, my BodyMedia Link stopped sync'ing wirelessly or wired. Contacted support via email. Got a bit of the run around from support (uninstall/reinstall software, send diagnostics files, have you done a f/w upgrade). I got much better service/response when I called their support folks. In hindsight and fairness, this issue would've been much easier for them to troubleshoot over the phone. With a failure in the first 3 days, I had to dock a star.
That said, when it was working, the product was fantastic! It linked up flawlessly with Withings for my scale/weight, and again with MyFitnessPal for calorie tracking. For me, the link to an external calorie tracker was key, the calorie tracker w/ the BodyMedia"
Review 20 for BodyMedia FIT™ LINK Armband
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:March 15, 2013

Getting Off the Final 10!!

Pros: easy to use
"I have been working out and pushing myself for six months. It is time for the final 10! The Body Media is so easy to use and easy to understand it takes the guess work out. It knows how hard you are working---you don't think about it or have to do computations. I love the graphs to chart what I did.
My trainer loves it too! It is placed over your bracial vein so you get good data.
Several of my friends have gotten one after seeing mine. Too cool for school!!"
1 2 next>>