Customer Reviews for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready

Compatible with iPod®, iPhone®, iPad® Sirius® Satellite Ready 4 HDMI Inputs & 1 HDMI Output
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 16(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Review 1 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:July 9, 2012

Down but not out

Pros: sound, outputs, fantastic customer support
Cons: missed quality control
Model Number: VSX-821K 5.1
"Sounded great even though LF speaker wouldn't work. Called customer support and reached english speaking, intelligent, person in 2 minutes. Costco refunded everything and I'm ordering another now."
Review 2 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Northeast PA.
Date:May 8, 2012

Pioneer Manual is the worst.

Model Number: VSX-821K 5.1
"I'm very happy with the A/V Receiver, but the manual is almost a joke. If I didn't have some experience with sound systems I would be totally lost. If you have limited experience with sound system you will be lost."
Review 3 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:May 8, 2012

Outstanding Bargain

Pros: quality and strength of sound
Cons: terminals are very positive but require strong eye
"I have used this receiver for over 2 weeks and I am impressed with its performance. We have a large room with cathedral ceilngs and there's plenty of power to fill it. The sound quality is superior to the 10 year ols Pioneer it replaces and it has several HDMI connections."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marietta, GA. Retired
Date:May 1, 2012

very good product

Model Number: don't know
"This unit has every bell and whistle one may need and works great. You need to spend some time reading the manule. The remote takes some time to understand how to use it."
Review 5 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca
Date:April 11, 2012

Great Buy!

Model Number: Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
"Been looking for a USB input receiver for a while at a reasonable price. Found this, and its a Pioneer! I've always have had good luck with their receivers, and this one didn't disappoint . Worked great right out of the box."
Review 6 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, Al.
Date:February 21, 2012

Great Value

Pros: loaded with features
Cons: somewhat difficult to set up
Model Number: VSX-821k 5.1
"This receiver is amazing quality and super sound. For the price it is as good as many hundreds higher."
Review 7 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Anchorage, AK
Date:February 17, 2012

Works as advertised

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: complicated to operate
Model Number: Pioneer VSX-821K
"Works well, but complicated to operate. The cabinet is larger than necessary about 1/3 full of components the rest is open space. If reason is heat dissipation (which I doubt) the engineering department needs help. Low grade hardware but performance does seem to meet specs."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:kalispell, montana
Date:January 24, 2012

good unit for the price

Pros: looks good sounds good works well.
Cons: remote buttons are small due to all the various fu
Model Number: 821-k
"got my 821 from costco and came delivered in great shape. so far very happy with the purchase. It takes a little while to "get to know" the receiver. everything is hooked up together and seems to be working well. There seems to be some question about the hdmi pass through but it seems to work fine. if i turn my bluray player on it will turn on the t.v. but not the amp. a small red light comes on that says its passing through the info. happy it works. remote works well at controlling my whole system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 5, 2012

Full features at a low price.

Pros: easy setup, 3d ready, low price, multiple inputs including ipod
Model Number: VSX-821K
"Super easy setup. The auto room calibration was painless. The sound is incredible. If you're on a limited budget but still want full sound and quality, this is the unit for you."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reedley, CA
Date:December 29, 2011

Another Great Costco Buy!

"Just installed the receiver yesterday and it sounds great. The automated setup did all the work, and it was easy to do. I noticed right away that the center speaker was much louder and clearer than the Pioneer receiver it replaced. There was nothing wrong with the old one, and I can't remember how long we've had it, and it's never, ever had a problem. I'm hoping this one will be just as durable. Sounds so real, voices, gunshots and doorbells are making me do a double-take. IPod dock is a great feature, and that too sounds great. I think it's an outstanding value, and the best price you'll find out there! And hallelujah, I got rid of a ton of cabling with the HDMI interface, one the big reasons I switched from my old Pioneer to this one."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suburbs of DC
Date:December 22, 2011

Very happy so far

Pros: setup, multiple hdmi inputs, ipod compatible without any additional gear
Model Number: VSX-821K
"I purchased this receiver to replace a five year old Onkyo that would frequently drop the HDMI feed for 20-30 seconds. So far the Panasonic is working extremely well. Nice to have four HDMI inputs (was able to ditch the HDMI switch which was a bit unreliable).
Sound so far has also been great, completely comparable to the Onkyo which was a fairly expensive receiver at the time.
The setup is also very easy. Much easier than the older Onkyo. I was up and running almost immediately."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2011

HDMI is different

"I wanted to respond to the negative reviews because there is a need for education.
No HDMI signal will blend with any other type of signal. The HDMI will carry HDMI signals to and from your tv thru an HDMI cable. To use the other types of signal, you have to use their appropriate cabling. It is normal that the receiver is on when watching the tv so that you can hear the sound.
The HDMI cable can pass the audio signal direct to the speakers with no preamplification or mixing. This provides a much better audio signal but this means the receiver has to provide more power to the speakers.
I hope this provides a better basis about HDMI so that your reviews can be more meaningful."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Columbia, Maryland
Date:December 8, 2011

Tuner hardly works

Model Number: VSX-821K 5.1
"The radio tuner of this receiver is almost useless. I compared it side by side with a $20 radio set and the radio of a 16-year old Aiwa compact home system. Both of the other two units produced nice signals while this Pioneer VSX-821K barely produced anything except for noises (at volume level of over 50, with 80 being its maximum), regardless where its loop antenna was placed. In addition, with the same input signal (line input), this unit's volume needed to be set to over 40, i.e., half of its maximum level, to produce the same sound volume when the Aiwa's V. level was set to about 25% of its maximum. I only tested the two front outputs though. I am not sure if I happened to have purchased a defect unit. Given Pioneer's reputation, this seems unbelievable. Anyway, I am very disappointed about this unit, although my main purpose was not to use its radio tuner but to connect it with a new LED TV I purchased from Costco just over a week ago. I will return the unit this weekend.
BTW, this is the first time I shopped at Costco online and the experience was excellent. I placed the order almost midnight Monday and received the unit today (Thursday). Will certainly shop Costco online again."
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2011

Pioneer Strikes out with attempt at HDMI Tech

Pros: great sound, built well, screw post connections for all speakers
Cons: on screen set up does not work through hdmi, no audio or video pass through when unit is off, gui screen resembles commodore 64 graphics, sound field modes are extrordinarily confusing, will not transfer componant devices to hdmi out
"Bought this unit to integrate a number of HDMI devices and ended up disapointed. First off, this unit does not pass through audio or video signals when in stand by. If you want to watch anything connected to the unit, the reciever has to be on. Next up, it will not transmit componant, analog, or S video signals to the HDMI out cable. The sound fields are very confusing. The manual is about 200 pages long and requires a degree in electrical engineering to decypher. The on screen GUI is straight out of 1987 commodor 64 graphics. Ended up taking it back to Costco and picking up a Sony reciever. Sony does all of the features missing in this unit."
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tempe, Arizona
Date:November 29, 2011

Pioneer AV Receiver

Pros: great features, great price
Cons: wish it had a phono input
Model Number: Pioneer VSX-821K
"I actually bought this Receiver to replace a perfectly working Pioneer Elite high end unit. Why you ask? Because this lower end model has the capability to switch speakers A/B/AB/Off with the remote control whereas the high end Elite unit you have to go to the unit and push the button. I am not lazy, but needed this feature as the unit is hidden in another location and I use an RF blaster with a Harmony 900 remote to operate my AV equipment. The 821K is a gem of a unit and drives my speakers with plenty of power at various frequencies. Well worth the price for all the AV features and power this unit has."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pioneer VSX-821K 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver 3D Ready
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vero Beach,FL
Date:November 16, 2011

Solid Performer

Pros: easy to set up, great sound
Cons: buttons are not grouped logically-hdmi not aligned, strange input names (bd?) assume use
"Very good quality sound, good construction and plenty of input options. We like this product a lot."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.