Customer Reviews for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter

Triple Action Purification No Filters to Replace
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
(out of 10 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Review 1 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:January 27, 2012

Finally Relief

Pros: great product
"I normally do not rate products but after suffering from a constant runny nose and being tired all the time I decided to do some research and took the first step in trying to find the problem instead of treating the sympdoms. After reading that home pollution is three to five times more polluted than the outside air I have bought two of these units and my nose has not run for two weeks. I just wish my allergy doctor would have mention home air quality 40 years ago. I am also changing to better air filters to my furnace intakes. I hope this helps someone which has suffered like myself for the past 40 years."
Review 2 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:January 26, 2012

Great Product - Really Does Work!

Pros: works as described
Cons: a little noisy
"I purchased this air purifier after months of skepticism about whether or not it would really make any difference to the air quality. After reading other favorable reviews, I decided to give it a try. While it hasn't completely obliterated my allergy issues, it has made a significant impact on the amount of dust in our room, as well as the dander from our two cats. I would definitely recommend this product and so far am completely satisfied after one month of use."
Review 3 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:January 24, 2012

great investment

Pros: great for pet dander and dust mites
"I own the model before this one, but it is still the same unit. I use it for my COPD and asthma. Even though the fan is a little loud, no big deal because I use the medium fan and it puts me to sleep. I do notice the air is much cleaner and I cough much less. I highly recommend this unit for anybody with health issues and those who have pets. When the sun passes through my windows, I don't see half the dust and floaters anymore. I even see the difference when dusting around the house."
Review 4 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 19, 2012

Get one

Pros: great control panel
Model Number: 578859
"We bought 3 of these units to help control pet dander for a visiting family member. This person has a strong allergic reaction to our dog that affects her breathing as discovered from a past visit. Putting 2 of these in our large family room and 1 in her bed room has proven to be highly effective. She's having no problems. I'm now the favorite brother-in-law."
Review 5 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:austin, tx
Date:January 19, 2012

need remote

"I got two machines from the start, thinking it is very good price and we got a 4000 sq ft house. Both machines worked like a charm the first night. My kids and hub can't even smell the good food I cooked when they walk in. We got it mainly for my 2nd kid's allergy and we notice that her nose run less at home or completely stopped. Since she still goes out during the day at daycare, we continue to give her morning dose of her med, but we feel much better that she is not taking anymore med for night time on either cough or allergy!!
Pro:
- It is working! My 20 months old girl's nose stopped running. She is allergic to mold
- very light, easy to move around, not bad looking
Con:
- loud for 2 of the 3 settings.
- should come with a remote. I am 5'4 and it is just pass my knee high, with 5 buttons to select, I had to bent over to see what is what. Now, I somewhat remembers each button's function. but bending over is still a must, since the button color is the same as overall color. Have to see where I am pressing sometimes.
Overall, we are considering buying another one or two before the $20 off is over. But I would like to have the remote or look for one that does. Or maybe try a different filter just to compare. Not sure yet, but we are definitely very happy with this model."
Review 6 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana mountains
Date:January 18, 2012

Well worth the $$$

Pros: works great in our house at removing allergens, removes smoke smells
Cons: the fan is pretty loud on high but tolerable
Model Number: Therapure TPP 440
"We've been running this non-stop for 9 days now and it has helped with my COPD and year-round allergies. We're even considering buying a second one since the size of our house is OK for one but I think a second would help because of the layout. You can barely hear it on low, medium is kind of a low hum (depending on how close you are to it), and high is pretty loud and somewhat annoying to me. A lot of homes around us burn coal oil or wood in the winter and we are constantly surrounded by that smoke. It amazed me that now you can't smell it at all in the house."
Review 7 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edison, NJ
Date:January 2, 2012

Value priced but NOISY

"Using for 2 months, bought thru coupons@Costco. I did NOT encounter ANY plastic smell, etc. when I started using it, 1st. time. Design wise - very well done and stands solid (does not easily tip over). LCD panel, well lit and buttons are well placed. Weight is very okay and has a handle on top, which is a real good feature. Has a timer, going from 00 to 24 in hour increments, which is useful.
Few things to note: Although no one cares but it's worth while to peruse the manual. My unit wasn't working that great till I figured out to keep AT LEAST 12-inches away from obstructions. Next, in NIGHT mode, all things work as-is except the lights are shut down in LCD panel, which helps me to sleep!
Quality of air cleaning: Takes some time but I believe it's working since I have less dust, my sinus issues have noticeably got better and I was having off and on burning eyes which I don't get anymore. I live in a very old townhouse where when I entered from outside used to get a musky smell, which I don't get anymore. But note: It's designed for 200 sq. ft and thus I use it in my bedroom when I sleep and carry it downstairs to living/dining area when awake ; always at the lowest speed setting and thus it takes a bit of a while but slowly over time things have improved and now at optimal stage. At this price point (I paid $80) I think it's very good value buy. It's removing dust, pollen, mold, mildew and some odors. I don't smoke so can't comment on tobacco smoke.
A good feature is ability to use it only HEPA filter or HEPA + UV and volatile substance filter (odors). UV light's life is 3 years and thus it's good to know it can be switched on/off. Total power consumption is 3W: UV and 60W: purifier fan at highest speed. Based on the CADR published, it seems it's Energy Star qualified.
Negatives - extremely loud at highest speed and it's CADR ratings are to the best of my knowledge is built on the highest speed. Thus, effectively it'll take some time to get things "going", i.e. clean at lower speed. Also, there's no automatic start/stop based on sensing odors or dust or etc., etc. effectively forcing someone to keep it always running. The warranty is ONLY ONE YEAR, which I find to be pretty bad since most of good quality air purifiers I see are around 3 to 5 years warranty. This calls to question the quality of the product, only time will tell.
B4 someone really buys it, remember it's required to clean it monthly. I do it regularly and thus it's working good. Also, it blows cold air like any other purifier. In winter, for some might be an issue. A neat trick I do is actually use it with the inlet vent facing the room and in fact found it to be performing better!
Missing: remote, would have been really good. Also, if it oscillated would have been better. The plastic is cheap."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Holbrook, NY
Date:December 15, 2011
"I was so sick, coughing, congested, couldn't breathe properly. I bought this item brought it home, turned it on and in seconds I could breathe through my nose again. Didn't cough at all last night and got the best sleep I've had in weeks! I Love It!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 6, 2011

worth every cent!

Pros: light weight, simple to operate and clean
"this machine has helped my nasal problems that were causing me to lose a lot of sleep. The UV feature kills germs, dander our cats throw off and my allergies and sinuous problems have greatly improved,
I went to purchase another one and it's sold out.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Therapure® Air Purifier with UV Light and Permanent HEPA Type Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:October 18, 2011

This works and is a must have

Pros: does what it says it does, no filters to replace
Cons: a little noisy on high setting, night light function doesn't shut off all lights.
"We bought this about a week ago while Costco was offering $20 discount. We ended up paying $79. We decided to invest in one of these machines for our bedroom because both my wife and I have been stuffed up in the mornings and we noticed our home (specifically our bedroom) was collecting a lot of dust.
I would say that every 3-4 days a thick film of dust could be seen on our furniture and we would have to dust of course but since purchasing the air purifier we have not had to dust as of yet and it has been over a week. We are also breathing so much better and not stuffed up in the mornings.
This is a great little machine that is a must have in your home."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.