Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker

The perfect pot of coffee is just a touch away thanks to the stylish stainless-steel Frigidaire Professional® 12-cup coffee maker. Designed to define a decadent brew, the coffee maker includes several easy-to-use features that make coffee preparation simple to wake up and smell the coffee. Coffee drinkers will be rest assured knowing their morning cup will be brewed to perfection. Thanks to the Frigidaire Professional® design, this coffee maker is built for a performance that lasts through the final sip. Accessories Included: Stainless steel cleaning kit   2 water filters Features: Brushed stainless steel   Coffee strength selector   Water filtration system   Powerplus® brewing system   Pro-Select® LCD display   24-hour programmable start option   12-cup capacity   Side-view water level indicator   Reusable gold-tone filter basket   Stylish stainless-steel exterior   Carafe handle   1100-watts   Auto pause   Dishwasher safe parts   Locking lid   UL listed   Dimensions: 8" W x 7.5" D x 13.75" H; Weight: 6.6 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
14 of 18(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Review 1 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grand Lake, Colorado
Date:January 11, 2012

Hot Coffee

Pros: consistent brew every time!
Cons: you have to lift the whole lid to add water.
"I do not like bitter taste in my coffee and I like it HOT! I grind my beans right before I put it in this maker and then set it on strong coffee. It comes out perfect, I use filtered water so I do not use the built in filter on the maker. Water distribution in the brewer seems to work great the reusable coffee filter does a good job of keeping the grounds out (I grind a medium grind) but I do not have time to wash it in the mornings so I use a paper filter except on the weekends. This comes out so hot I have to wait to drink it, instead of reheating it in the microwave to get it hot enough. By putting it on the strong brew I use less beans so I get a double bonus of having hot hot coffee and saving a little money."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:February 1, 2012

Best Coffee Maker I've Ever Owned

"I'm puzzled by one of the other reviews that they don't like the coffee. I have been remarking almost daily that the coffee from this machine tastes better than from any other machine we've ever had. I use Dunkin' Donuts coffee that we buy from Costco. A few more items that may help you with your purchase decision: This coffee maker uses the standard cone shaped filter, I think it's a #4, but I'm not certain of that. It does make three beeps when it's done brewing, but they're not too loud. This coffee maker is replacing a Cuisinart which we owned that had REALLY loud beeps. The Frigidaire's are almost pleasant. It beeps five times when the unit turns off. There is no way to turn off the beeps which seems to be an industry standard practice for programmable units. You can program the warming plate to stay on for up to 120 minutes, in one minute increments. The warming plate temperature can be set to low, medium, or high. The coffee strength can be adjusted to regular or strong. The carafe is really easy to slide in and out. Again, the Cuisinart we had always presented a bit of a struggle to slide the carafe in and out because the bottom of the filter holder always seemed to get in the way. There is a water filter unit inside the maker which uses the same type of charcoal filter cartridge like on our Cuisinart. The unit is very easy to program unlike a Krups I've had in the past for which I always had to get the owners manual out, even to set the time. All in all I think this is a really great coffee maker. It's very easy to use, I like the coffee it makes, the price is excellent versus the competition, and it even looks good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:February 26, 2012
Model Number: FPDC12D7MS
"The Frigidaire Professional 12 cup coffee maker makes excellent coffee and looks great on the counter. The panel is easy to read and to set options including a coffee strength option. Brewing strong coffee takes longer, but it is well worth the wait. The water level indicator is on the outside which makes adding water easier. Caution: Make sure that the handle on the coffee filter basket is correctly placed. Otherwise the filter basket will leak if you remove the carafe before the brewing cycle is complete. Con:The water filter holder is flimsy and wouldn't hold the filter. This is not a problem for me because I add my own filtered water."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2012

Love it!

Model Number: Frigidaire Professional 12-cup Coffee Maker
"I love this coffeemaker. Makes superb coffee -- there is no drip coffeemaker that makes REALLY STRONG coffee, but this comes close -- is easy to use, program and clean, the carafe doesn't spill all over as many others do, and the reservoir is pretty easy to fill. The only issue I have is that the coffee is not particularly hot when it first comes out, but the hot plate rectifies that within a few minutes, so I do let the coffee sit for a bit. Yes, I've seen faster coffeemakers, but many are also a lot slower; filling to 8 cups takes about 15 minutes, and there isn't much water loss at all. I don't get the problems regarding time and water loss that another reviewer reported."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:seattle, wa
Date:March 4, 2012

so far, so good!

Pros: great coffee
Cons: coffee filter basket
"I've Been using this coffee maker for 2 months now and am impressed with the quality of the coffee it brews and with most of the features.
I grind the beans very fine. You must use a paper filter if you do this. (The metal filter mesh is not fine enough to contain finely ground beans and will cause a clog-up and overflow......a real mess to clean up!)
Also because of the fine grind, I noticed no difference at all in the coffee whether I used the "regular" or "strong" setting. Just as well because it takes twice as long (20+ min.) to brew on the "strong" setting.
Care is needed when placing the coffee filter basket into the coffee maker. (Make sure it is locked in place and the lid closes all the way down or you will have a mess)
Both the timmer and self clean functions are easy to use and work well.
I am happy with the purchase, and it looks nice too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC metro area
Date:August 9, 2012

Great Coffeemaker

Pros: can select coffee strength, easy access to filter, multiple choices for time off function
Cons: none so far
"I'm very pleased with this purchase. I bought it because of a high rating from a well known consumer magazine and it lives up to expectations. It's easy to use, the coffee is great and the brushed stainless exterior is very attractive"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cary, IL
Date:September 14, 2012

Love This Coffee Maker

Pros: allows you to choose your coffee strength, has a warmer plate with a variable time setting, is super easy to use, is programmable, makes excellent hot coffee, super easy to clean, save money by using reusable coffee filter
Cons: really can't think of any
Model Number: FPDC12D7MS
"I bought this coffee maker after a lot of product research on the internet. I looked for customer reviews that mentioned great tasting coffee which is the most important feature to me! I took into consideration the 'cons' people were writing about and what they really meant. For example one customer mentioned it was a pain that the maker loses its settings like brew strength preference when unplugged. I found it is only one button push to choose your coffee strength before pressing start. So easy! When I started using this coffee maker, I quickly realized I got so much more than just great tasting coffee! It is super easy to use, has multiple useful options and looks great on my counter as well! The instruction manual is a quick read and is very easy to follow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Date:February 2, 2012

Takes 45 minutes for the coffee to brew

Pros: looks nice
Cons: takes 45 minutes to brew coffee.
"I am going to return mine. I have used it several times, and it consistently takes 45 minutes to brew the coffee. That only is reason enough for me to return it. It also turns 12 cups of water into 8 cups of coffee (I think a lot of it is evaporating due to the extensive brew time.) Hopefully, it is just one defective coffee maker and not a brand problem."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toms River, NJ
Date:January 19, 2012

Unfortunate purchase

"I was quite surprised that this coffee maker made such unacceptable coffee. I have always considered the Frigidaire brand to be a sign of quality, but this coffee maker made acidic, oily, bitter coffee that only got worse with each cup.
We have always used Kirkland coffee and enjoyed it, but this product ruined it for us."
Review 10 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:February 21, 2012

Great Coffee Maker

Pros: brew strengths can be changed, auto shut off, eco friendly
Cons: you can't completely remove the lid from the pot
"I purchased this for our offices to replace a beat up Black and Decker. It is great and cleans up very nicely. It brews a really nice up of coffee. The cone filter is eco-friendly and the auto shut off is a must have. The ability to have a "strong" brew setting is great. It looks sleek and fits well under cabinetry with no problem. I have since purchased one for my home!"
Review 11 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lakeport CA
Date:May 10, 2012

It's a coffee maker

Pros: nice appearing stainless finish
Cons: doesn't make coffee as fast as my previous model.
"What do you know, when the product arrived I put in the required amount of coffee grounds and water and it made coffee. I like the ability to set the timer so I can sleep in an additional 10 minutes instead of having to get up to start the brewing process. I simply put the coffee and water in the night before and it starts automatically and notifies me when it's done and time to get up."
Review 12 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:June 27, 2012

Not bad but not great

"Catch phrase "you get what you pay for" is very exact for this product. Lots of plastic - the basket has to be placed just right with the handle held upright then folded back down. The carafe also has a plastic lid and if you snap it off to place the glass in the dish washer, it strains the grips...they won't last long. It does program nicely, although if you want it super strong it takes forever to brew, Medium brew goes faster. The coffee is good and very hot and stays hot for the entire programed time."
Review 13 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clearwater, FL
Date:July 7, 2012

Good as Starbucks Coffee

"After reading the review about 45 minutes to make a pot of coffee, I was skeptical about buying this machine. However, I am very happy that I did. This machine makes excellent coffee....as good or better than Starbucks and at a fraction of the cost per cup. Not only is the coffee excellent, but if you set the brew cycle on "regular", it takes no longer than any other automatic type brewer. The "strong" setting did take about 20 minutes to make 12 cups and it really was stronger for the same amount of coffee put in. For the price, this machine is an excellent value and it has great features and looks nice in our stainless steel appliance kitchen. Highly recommend."
Review 14 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:March 10, 2012

dribble carafe

"Brews as well as any maker we've had, priced right, and easy to clean. We like it and will buy a replacement of the same model.
Only a few negatives, the plastic ring around the top of the carafe is held on to the glass with a bead of silicone, which is fine, except there's a little gap in the bead right below the spout and it dribbles water when filling the reservoir (but not coffee when pouring a cup, strangely enough), the auto-shutoff timer is 2 hours, should be 4 since our schedules don't always line up, and the brew cycle makes that annoying gurgling sound for about half the time."
Review 15 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:May 8, 2012

Ready for a new coffee maker

"We found this unit to be easy to operate with nice clean lines. We are delighted with it."
Review 16 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Boynton Beach, FL
Date:May 30, 2012

One of the better ones

Pros: makes good hot coffee
Cons: loses the brewer settings when unplugged
"My wife and I really like bold, strong coffee. This brewer delivers, even at the regular strength settiing. The coffee was hot, one of the main problems with some of the other brands, and it stayed hot in the carafe. The water fill area is a bit tight and a bit awkward to fill using the carafe as the container. This is caused by the lid of the carafe hitting the open lid of the coffee maker. The solution is to remove the lid from the carafe or use a different type of container to fill the brewer. The loss of the star is because the settings for the brew strength, time, temperature etc are lost when the unit is unplugged. Unless you keep the brewer plugged in all the time (we do not since we move the pot to keep the vented moisture away from our cabinets) you will need to resign yourself to losing those settings. A simple manufacturing fix by Frigidaire could, in my opinion, give them the best coffee brewer on the market."
Review 17 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 10, 2012

So far so good

Pros: very sturdy and well made, coffee tastes good
Cons: bold brew is very slow, doesn't taste like starbucks coffee
"I have yet to find a coffee pot that can stand up to the test of time so, hopefully this one will. It seems well made and is very sturdy. I just hope the internal components are as well made. I will never buy another Mr. Coffee because they always quit working after a couple months."
Review 18 for Frigidaire Professional® Coffee Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 11, 2012

Great for 3 months only

Pros: makes excellent coffee, good control over strength and temperature
Cons: doesn't last long enough
Model Number: FPDC12D7MS
"I first bought this model in December 2011. Loved it. But it stopped working in April 2012.
Costco's great return policy allowed me to return it. I liked the coffee maker so much (when it worked) that I bought another one in May. Same story. It is August and it stopped. ((The display still lights up but it does not pump water or heat up.) This will be the last Frigidaire coffee maker for me
I used this coffee maker daily but it should last more than 3 months. I hate giving it one star but I must."