Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe

Limited Time Offer: $200 discount is reflected in the price. Valid for orders placed May 30, 2012 through July 22, 2012. While supplies last.     Online price $599.99    Less  -$200.00   YOUR COST $399.99 Please Complete Before Placing Order - This Form Will Expedite Shipping Process   The Safari 5521DLX comes with a fully adjustable interior for personal customization. Shelving can be raised, lowered or removed making this safe an excellent choice for securing a wide range of valuables.1” locking bolts, a recessed door and an attractive Hammertone paint finish make this unit a great addition to any home or office. Standard features include an easy to use electronic lock, upholstered inside walls, predrilled for bolting to the floor and so much more. Security Features:   Electronic lock   Steel construction   Composite door   (4) 1” Steel Locking Bolts   Weight: 240 lbs   Interior Features:   Adjustable shelving can be raised, lowered or removed   Up to 18 firearm rack   Upholstered inside walls   Lined with 5/8 type x fireboard   Interior dimensions:  53.25” H x 19.5” W x 15.25” D   Pre drilled with 4 holes  for bolting to floor   Exterior Features:   11.2 Cubic Ft.   Hammer Grey paint finish   Exterior dimensions: 55” H x 21” W x 17” D (depth is without handle)   Add 1" for handle   Chrome plated accents   3 Point Handle Fire Protection:   20 minute fire protection   Lined with 5/8 type X fire board   Expandable Fire seal helps keep out smoke and heat   Warranty:   1 year     Model: SAFARI 5521DLX
Average Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
21 of 25(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Review 1 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:July 20, 2012

Cannon Safari 5521DLX Safe

Pros: can fit up to 8 rifles, sturdy built, floor mounting holes
Cons: poorly built shelves
"This is an overall 4 star safe for the size, price, and functions. Of course a minor attention to details would make this a perfect buy.
The cabinetry needs a little details. The individual shelves look like it was put together by a 13 years old because the carpet were not securely adhere to the MDF boards and that it did not cover all sides."
Review 2 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:The Sticks, Georgia
Date:July 6, 2012

Good Safe , Poor Documentation

Pros: price, quality
Cons: shipper, documentation
"The safe appears to be well built. I had a problem with the delivery company and even told them to send it back after they wanted to charge me for 'storage'.
Also once I received it, there were not any specific instructions on how to set up the safe. I had to call the company and they gave me the info needed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:June 30, 2012

OK for small guns

Pros: good paint job, small foot print
Cons: see review
Model Number: Safari 5521DLX
"Great safe if you want to protect small guns. My O/U with 30" barrel almost eliminated having a top shelf in the safe. Internal hinges prevents opening door all the way, makes getting to anything on the right side almost impossible to get to., so you have to put the long guns on the right half if you want shelves on the left half. You have to be a packing expert to get seven guns on one side, then you'll bruise the wood on the stock banging the guns into each other to remove one. If one is in the back of the safe, you have to take all the guns out to get to it.
I have 5 long guns and 7 hand guns, I had to build a rack to hold the hand guns vertically on the top shelf. The barrel of the O/U sticks up through the top shelf.
Good quality materials, safe lock didn't work, when the lock was placed on the door, one of the pins that hold on the lock had pieced the case of the battery. Put in a new battery and it worked fine, just be aware of placement of battery relative to the mounting pin. Only one furnished shelf would fit on the shelf supports. Looks like they just tossed in some left over shelves from other safes.
This is called a 14 gun safe, I just can't see stuffing 14 into this safe unless 4 are long guns and 10 are hand guns. I'd say it is an 8 gun safe, at the very most, if you want access to the guns and not bruise the wood.
"
Review 4 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:June 21, 2012

Great Buy!!

Pros: sizeconstructionpriceoverall looks
Cons: none
Model Number: 5521DLV
"Better than I expected,after reading reviews on other sites I unsure if I made a mistake in buying this safe. This safe way better than those reviews.Interior finish is very good,as is the exterior,plenty of room for my guns and alot more."
Review 5 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 17, 2012

Low Cost Cheap Safe

Pros: easy to move, low cost, useable area, fire protection, fast delivery, space saving
Cons: light weight, half-covered shelf, manual incomplete, securam display
Model Number: Safari 5521 DLX
"The safe arrived with a strong chemical smell so I removed the half covered shelving and dividers and aired out the safe in the garage for a few days. The manual that I received did not include the SecuRam Combination Setup instructions and showed a different model safe with a battery compartment in the back of the safe door. The safe was not properly secured to the wood pallet because only two of the four mounting bolts were loosely attached. The metal siding appeared to compress when being moved . The touch-paint was dried up and leaked out of container and appeared to be different color. The safe has much useable area once the shelving and dividers were removed,"
Review 6 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:March 28, 2012

Good Value!

Model Number: Safari 5521DLX
"The safe has a good exterior finish and is sturdy enough to do the job. It has 4 holes in the floor of the safe to secure it from tipping over or walking away. The interior shelves are average and I had to glue some of the felt covering on one. All in all this safe is a good deal for the money.
The Safe arrived about 7 days after ordering."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2012

Good price, exactly as expected

"I received my safe in 1.5 weeks. There was a large scratch low on the side of the safe from handling. I could have sent it back but I needed the safe ASAP to secure some items that I did not want out. that is why I gave it 4 stars. It holds just what I need 20 boxes of ammo, 3 rifles, 4 hand guns, and several shoe boxes of valuables. The safe is light 240 lbs which is bad but it makes it easy to place in your house or get up and down stairs. it's a good deal when you consider the quality, costco warranty, and value in pricing."
Review 8 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW
Date:March 15, 2012

A good value, what else from Costco?

Model Number: Canon Safari gun safe
"The safe arrived here in DFW in lass than a week. It was a bit of a chore to get it off the palet, but did it myself.
It was in good shape, a little scratch on the side, but nothing serious.
I got it into place and arranged the shelves, loaded it up with my stuff. It is nicely fished, the shelves could have been covered a
little better if you needed something to complain about. I went back the next day and rearranged everything to make the space more efficient. Setting the combination was a snap. There was a little odor but nothing I'd complain about.
"
Review 9 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2012

Good safe for some things

Pros: price was right.
Cons: none
Model Number: Safari 5521DLX
"I would not call this an executive safe, as it is clearly outfitted for guns. You can remove the center divider, but the shelves have big cutouts in them and must be covered for small items. It does come with a couple of pieces extra to form small shelves, however."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:claifornia
Date:March 12, 2012

executive safe

Pros: size, price, easy costco service
Cons: needs to be bolted down, smelly but will clear up
"Perfect size for master closet. Swallowed all my weapons and alot of my ammo."
Review 11 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:santa rosa,ca
Date:March 12, 2012

By far one of my best "life purchases" ever!

Pros: smooth operation
Cons: little bit of smell but not bad.
"Highly recommended for anyone looking to lock up your valuables. Long guns, hand guns, ammo boxes, paper work, money and much more. I had a "stack-on" metal long gun lock box befor because it's what I could afford space and money wise at the time. I put this safe right where the old one was. It's been about a month and evertime I see it or get into it I'm happy with the decision. Some have bad mouthed this safe for being "cheap," not so. I see this safe in my home for years and years to come. Atleast until I outgrow it. Worth every dollar!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2012

What I expected.

Pros: great for the price
Cons: smelled for a few days
"For the $ it's great. Did smell for a few days. Opened it and let stay in garage for 4-5 days. Smell gone. Solid construction, no scratches, will fit well in 2nd floor closet. Will fit handguns, a few scoped rifles and personal papers."
Review 13 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:5521DLX
Date:March 6, 2012

Burglars foiled again

Pros: great for the price!, looks solid and operates well, seems just the right size, packed and shipped with no damage
Model Number: 5521dlx
"I found this to be a great buy, but not perfect.
It does have some odor, the shelving is not great, the digital locking system functions well and the door mechanism works fine. It is heavy enough, and once with belongings will be well over a 300 lb item, difficult to move especially bolted down. We were short some slips for the shelves, but became resourceful and even made some added shelves.
"
Review 14 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:February 17, 2012

Not very good

Pros: low cost
Cons: not worth the money
Model Number: 5521DLX
"I always believed anything I purchased from Costco was of Good Quality. I am now corrected. This is about as cheep in quality as it gets. Safe Arrived Scrated and they included touch up but the vial was dried up. Back cover was not installed. I know this junk is out there I just did not expect Costco to sell it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:orlando, fl
Date:February 12, 2012

Good Value for Money

Cons: no mechanical entry
"I am happy with the safe, but am worried no key exists if keypad fails."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 11, 2012

Nice safe for the price

Pros: excellent shipping and driver was very helpful
Cons: chemical smell overwhelming
Model Number: Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
"Lets don't get picky here people. this is an excellent safe for the price, it's exactly what I expected for under $500. The delivery was right on time and the driver was very friendly and helpful. The door locks and unlocks with ease, it is very well built and the top is NOT thin like I read in another post. I only gave it 4 stars cause I believe 5 would indicate that it is perfect and I have a problem saying that something is perfect. One small complaint was the overwhelming chemical smell after moving it inside the house. It has dissapated since but it was definately enough to make you sick to your stomach. I would suggest leaving it in the garage for a day with the door open. Overall excellent safe for the price."
Review 17 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 4, 2012

Great Safe

Pros: easy access, fits everything
Cons: handgun hangers don't fit properly on shelf
"I really like the safe I purchased from Costco. It was worth the wait. The delievery service guy from SAIA was really nice and he delievered the safe on time."
Review 18 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glendale, Arizona
Date:February 4, 2012

Safe experience

Model Number: 5521DLX
"Buying from Cosco was a good experience. Delivery was right on schedule. The safe is exactly as advertised and exactly what I wanted. I especially like the electronic lock and push button combination."
Review 19 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, DE
Date:February 3, 2012

Great value

Pros: great interior
Cons: no override key
Model Number: 5521DLX
"If you are looking for a good quality safe that doesn't take-up too much space, I would recommend this one. The finish is excellent. I am totally happy with the quality of the interior. Many safes in this price range have that cheap 3/4 in. press-board covered in a bad felt material. This one has what appears to be 5/8 in. MDF (medium density fiberboard) covered with a felt that could be used on fine furniture. I haven't adjusted all the shelves yet, but the layout of the shelf supports gives you many possibilities.
My only negative comment is the lack of a key to open the safe if you forget the combination or the battery dies. ( my fault for not thoroughly reading the description). However, the 9 volt battery can be changed from the outside if the one installed dies and there is a low battery warning. With all of my safes, I make it a routine to open them regularly to insure they work when I need them, so I can stay on top of maintenance.
This is a great safe if you want to install it on a second floor or you otherwise have steps leading to it's final destination. At only 200 lbs, it's not to heavy for a couple of people to move with an appliance hand truck or by hand.
Stay on top of the delivery. Mine was scheduled for 2/1 but I got a call unexpectedly six days before that from the driver saying he would be at my house in an hour for delivery. Good thing I happened to be home that day."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cannon Safe Safari 5521DLX Executive Safe
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit area, Michigan
Date:February 3, 2012

Not Disapointed

Model Number: 5521 DLX
"Never owning a safe before and looking at various sporting goods stores I could not find a safe that gave me the protection and safety I was looking for without being much larger than I need or wanted. This Safari Safe is just the right size for my requirements and meets or exceeds all my expectations."
1 2 next>>