Customer Reviews for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start

Battery and Remote Included
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Review 1 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2012

Great, reliable, easy to use, fuel efficient

Model Number: Champion 6500watt generator
"We used to have a pull start generator, but we got older and needed push button start. This is a terrific generator, low profile, and uses VERY little gas, we had this model running for almost 3 solid days on less than 5 total gallons of regular gas. We set it about 15-20ft from the house with a copper grounding rod as suggested and had over 50 amps of electricity - ran our well, electric fans, lights. This size is perfect for emergency household use. leaving you enough funds left to have your electrician put in a cutover switch or how you want to work in emergency"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:January 29, 2012

Nice features

Model Number: 41332
"Arrived on time, required some minimal assembly. Love the remote electric start! It takes care of setting the choke automatically. The unit is heavy , but the wheels make it reasonably easy to move."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento
Date:January 27, 2012

great generator-outstanding

"Right out of the back this started andworked
great. It exceeded my expectations.
"
Review 4 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sykesville, Maryland
Date:January 26, 2012

Good piece of equipment

Pros: easy to assemble, easy to operate, instructions were clear enough
Cons: cutover switch information lacking
Model Number: Champion 6500 what portable generator
"I recieved my generator a couple of weeks ago. Since then, i have had to use it a couple of times for short power failures. The machine was easy to assemble, easy to operate, and the instructions were clear enough. I am giving this 4 stars rather than 5 because i have not had it long enough to rate its durability and performance under a heavier load ( i hate reviews that rave about a product that the owner has just purchased).
the only negative is that i wish there were information about connecting a cutover switch, but this information is easy enough to get on the internet.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:January 25, 2012

Excellent Purchase

Pros: very easy to start, easy to move, compact/portable
Model Number: 41332
"This is an excellent product, very easy to start and although the generator is heavy, it is fairly easy to move around and compact enough to store reasonably. We hope we never have to have an occasion to have to use it, but if we do have a power outage this generator will more than pay for itself and in the meanwhile, gives us sense we're better prepared for such a disaster."
Review 6 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Flemington, NJ
Date:January 25, 2012

Very good, but

Model Number: 41332
"Bought the generator online, excellent product. Went to the warehouse store 2 days later and found out they had a more powerful Champion generator with more features on it for the same price! Wound up returning the new "old" one and buying the store unit. Disappointed that the online store was different than the warehouse store and that I had to go through the return / buy again hassle."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suffern, NY
Date:January 24, 2012

Met my expectations and then some

Pros: good value, lots of outlets
Cons: a bit noisy., could use more info on grounding, no l5 cable included
Model Number: CMCPE0001
"The generator was easy to assmble (only the wheels and stand). Instructions were very clear. Generator started right up. it has all the bells and whistles - battery start; remote start; four (4) 125 Volt outlets plus L5 and L14 sockets. More outlets than any other generator I looked at."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South of Boston Ma.
Date:January 23, 2012

613063 generator

Model Number: 41332
"I recently purchased this generator on line from Costco. The generator arrived undamaged and with minimal effort was assembled. I was surprised to find a large color illustration with all of the major components clearly identified. The manual was well written and easy to follow. The generator was started without any problems. It was also started with the remote starter. I ran the generator for 30 minutes with no load. I then hooked the generator to the house electrical load. I ran various light loads without difficulty. The generator was run for an additional 30 minutes. I satisfied myself that the generator will probably do the job in an emergency. The generator noise may be a factor in some cases but not in mine. I located the generator beside my garage approximately 25 feet from the house. The generator could barely be heard inside the house. The generator was well made and designed. I would recommend this generator to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sierra madre ca
Date:January 15, 2012

Remarkable customer service

Model Number: 41332
"I ordered this generator on line. It arrived with some assembly required. Started the first time without hesitation (remember to completely fill it with oil) and it powered a compressor without difficulty.
But --- the volt meter needle was swinging violently from side to side. So, I grit my teeth and called the tech support number.
A lady answered and asked me to describe my problem. She said " You need to speak with a technician" . I was immediately transferred == yes, no on hold time. The technician suggested that I remove the control panel and check for loose leads on the back of the volt meter. I thought, "This is strange == a technician suggesting that I fix a newly shipped device. But I am handy, so I did it. I found that the back of the control panel had been smashed, likely in shipping. So I called back.
Again without hold or delay I was transferred to tech support. I described what I found and was told "well we need to fix that right away -- can you bring the generator down to us". I replyed no, I have to work. So he said "well let me find a technician who can come to your place right now".
Now I did have to hold -- for 1 minute. Upon return tech support said "No, my supervisor said we should give you a new generator. One of our workers lives in you area and he can drop it off tonight at 7:30 would that be OK? And we can assemble it for you if you like". AND they filled it with oil and a little gas to test run it.
NOW == THIS IS GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.
I now have learned that this IS the company policy. They provide REAL tech support 24/7 in an effort to help you fix your generator without having to send out a $150/hr technician. And this support is available even after the warrantee period. And they are a LA County based local company. They will sent out parts with next day delivery. And they designed the generator and they do know how it works.
Also note that the generator has over-voltage protection built-in. If the voltage regulator breaks and the voltage goes too high the engine stops, thus preventing damage to computers or electronics, an extra feature not present on most small generators"
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountainside, New Jersey
Date:January 15, 2012

Great Value and easy to use!

Pros: remote start works like a charm, solid tires for ease of movement, very good gas gauge
Model Number: 41332
"Wonderful delivery service by Ward Trucking; timely and they placed it right into the garage for my wife.
Assembly was simple, 2 wheels, support leg, connected the battery, add oil & fuel - Works like a charm!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion 6,500 Rated Watts / 8,250 Starting Watts Portable Generator With Electric Remote Start
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tarzana, California
Date:January 10, 2012

In the Tank

Pros: its pretty to look at
Cons: doesn't care about customers
Model Number: Champion 41332
"Purchased the Champion Generator model #41332 for home use. Deliverd in a timely mannger. After about an hour of putting on the generator tires, bracket and battery caps and then a trip down to the gas station for gas and oil I found out the weld of the gas cap on the generator had failed and now the filter and fitting are in the tank. I can't close the cap. So I called Champion customer service and they suggested the following: they will send me a replacement gas tank for me to install (won't this void any warranty as most warranties state any alterations or repairs by the consumer voids the warranty here in Californa or (2) ask a neighbor to lift the generator into my jeep and take it back to Costco.
Bryan (supervisor customer service) wil give me a call in the morning for futher ideas. Maybe my ratings for this product will change when he calls (DBOI)
"
11 of 37 people found this review helpful.