Customer Reviews for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required

XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required

Not all recumbent bikes are created equal.  The XTERRA SB4.5r recumbent bike is Top-In-Class for its style, performance and comfort.  This walk-thru design features a large mesh back seat for maximum comfort and support as well as keeping you cool while you exercise.  The extra large blue backlit LCD display is easy to read and conveniently located swivel fan and speakers allow you to listen to your favorite music.  A remarkable commercial strength belt drive system with a 22 lb flywheel delivers a smooth, quiet and effective workout A user weight limit of 300 lb and lifetime warranty on the frame and brake along with three years parts and one year in-home labor gives you piece of mind that XTERRA stands behind its products. Features Convenient walk-thru design   Smooth and quiet poly v-belt   22 lb. heavy duty steel flywheel offers premium fluid motion   Comfortably molded seat bottom and large mesh back pad   Oversized, self leveling and cushioned pedals   3 Piece premium crank   Seat adjustments - fore/aft   Extra large blue backlit LCD electronics are large and easy to read - keep you updated on all the necessary information (time, speed, calories, program, rpm, level, distance and pulse)   7 pre-set, 2 user customized programs, 2 heart rate programs and a manual program   Audio jack and speakers for MP3 player built into the console   Cooling fan   Hand grip pulse sensors (monitor your heart rate) are conveniently mounted on the handlebars to keep your workouts safe and effective   20 levels of resistance provide a variety of exercise options for all fitness levels   Magnetic resistance system is friction-free for smooth, quiet, and maintenance-free operation   Front transport wheels for moving your equipment   Heavy-duty steel frame   Water bottle holder and bottle included   110v plug-in required   Weight limit:  300 lbs.   Assembled dimensions: 55” L x 28” W x 47” H   Assembled weight: 126 lbs.    Warranty: Lifetime frame and brake   3 year parts   1 year in-home labor For additional shipping information or Product questions, please call XTERRA® Fitness Customer Service Monday through Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Central Time, at 1-800-258-4555 or email costco@xterrafitness.com. Model: SB4.5r
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
(out of 62 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
53 of 62(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Review 21 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shelby Twp., MI
Date:October 24, 2013

Love my new bike!

Pros: quiet operatation smooth pedaling and very sturdy
Cons: none
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r
"I love my new exercise bike! It took about 1 1/2 hour for my husband and I to put it together. Very easy to operate, smooth pedaling and a very comfortable seat. I've only used the bike a few times, but I'm very happy I purchased this item!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 4, 2012

So far so good

Pros: quiet professional
Cons: would be hard to return
Model Number: XTerra SB4.5r Walk-Thru Recumbent
"I feel like I should write this review in a year or so, but will probably forget, so will just say that as of now, 2 weeks after purchase, this seems to have been a very good decision. The assembly was challenging for me, but if you are reasonably "handy" it is not that bad. The assembly videos by the manufacturer were helpful. It took me about 2 hours but I am a small person and, well let's just say it, not a man. Sorry for the sexism.
The machine is practically silent, so watching tv is no problem, and the resistance levels seem very good, similar to the gym machines. The installed programs also seem highly adequate to my relief, as I like the "hill" type programs.
There are two user memories you can preset, which is nice, but the preinstalled programs are easy to use as well, and you can set the maximum level for them at the start of the session and it will gradually peak at the level you set.
The fan and MP3 player features are useless so don't figure those into your decision re purchase.
Talk to me in a year. I can't imagine having to return this, it weighs a ton and took forever to get out of the packaging, let alone the assembly! So if it holds up it will be a great purchase; but if there are any problems with durability I wil be very angry with myself."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:March 17, 2012

Good Product

Pros: very high quality sturdy. good user interface., good price can't beat costco returns.
Cons: needs better lip or shelf for kindle or magzn., user program editing is clunky.
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r
"This is a good product and the perfect exercise solution for me, I am 49, 270 lbs.
I am on my feet all day and the last thing I want to do when I get home is run on the treadmill. Since my day begins at 3am,morning exercise isn't working for me. I need to get off my feet and this works great. Recumbant is easier on the back, wrists, neck and arms. You still get a serious workout, despite the reclining position.
I can read my Kindle DX, watch my DVR recorded shows and exercise my heart and legs in realtive comfort. The seat is very comfortable and the flywheel and pedal assembly are very high quality. The magnetic resistance makes transitions very smooth and the whole thing is incredibly quiet.
The resistance levels will give you a substantial cardio workout.
I sit high enough to see over the screen to watch TV (computer actually) and the monitor had adequate information and program options for the price.
I like very high tech user interfaces, and this falls short of that. For the price, they put the effort into the mechanical components and the user interface is more simplistic. I wish it was more intuitive for changing user1 and user 2 personal programs. You have to go all the way through steps you don't even want to change to get to the stuff you do want to change.
I did a lot of research before choosing this model including reading the entire owner's manual online, always a good idea. The fact it was Costco, sealed the deal for me. Lifetime warranty from Costco. No contest. It just needed to have the quality/price and features I wanted and it is Costco everytime.
Assembly was about 1.5 hours. The manual told me what tools were needed and I got them out ahead of time. The ones they provide with the unit are poor quality but sufficient. A little ratchet is nice to have. It is easy to assemble, and the instructions are okay if you study them carefully. Just kinda heavy to move around during assembly. It is very stable and very high quality. Takes up very little space.
I use it every day, have had it for a month. I love the fact it goes into standby after 20 minutes of inactivity, with my treadmill I have to mess with it to power down. Get surge protectors from Tripp Lite, spike block, for all your exercise equipment, too.
This product is worth the extra cost to get the high quality and reliability. You won't be disappointed.
There are cheaper ones out there, but don't expect much and you can buy a new one in a few years.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:September 7, 2012

Love it!

Cons: fan
Model Number: SB4.5R Xterra recumbent
"It took only one week to arrive from order time. Delivery person was courteous and even brought inside for us even though was not expected. He saw we are both seniors. That was above and beyond and tells you the quality of the driver of the 18 wheeler that brought it. My husband walks with cane with diabetes and balance problem, and I am 73 with hip and knee problems needing joint replacement. I can use without too much pressure on my hips. Seat is comfortable and easy to get on or off. The fan could have been left off as is useless, not a deal breaker. Assembly was fairly easy for even us. Very quiet and love it! Made two calls to mfg. on minor problems. They answered both questions and gave quick resolutions. Excellent to do business with, prompt, courteous and very helpful. Would recommend highly. Love Costco and their vendors!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, WA
Date:November 18, 2012

XTERRA SB4.5r is well built

Pros: solid construction, quality workmanship, easy instructions, hardware separated by steps and tools included
Cons: front stabilizing foot could be wider
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Exercise Bike
"I ordered XTERRA SB4.5r online and it arrived to my curbside from Arkansas in two weeks. Excellent packaging. Bike is made from high-gauge steel with quality paint for years of enjoyment. Hardware components packaged by each of the five-step installation process with tools included; took one hour to assemble with easy-to-understand instructions. Seat has comfortable mesh back rest. Frame has a nice, wide rear support bracket, but the front support would be better if it were perhaps four inches wider on each side."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:December 4, 2012

Good decision

Pros: quiet comfortable
Cons: assembly required two people and took a few hours
Model Number: Xterra SB4.5r
"We are very happy with our new recumbent bike. Putting it together took a little longer than we had anticipated (we are both over 60), but the directions were clear and separated each step in the process nicely. The bike runs very quietly, so we can watch TV or visit easily. This was a great buy for us; Costco never disappoints!"
Review 27 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 28, 2012

WILL DELIVER INSIDE HOME

Model Number: Xterra SB4.5r recumbent bike
"The description given about shipping says "Curbside only". As of mid-December this changed. Your bike will be brought inside, and you will need to assemble. I had my handyman do it. This bike is SMOOTH!! Love it!! Love it!! Love it!!. I was a bit concerned, and called the company in Alabama. They were Very helpful and nice. You will pay more elsewhere. Take a Chance; I did. This is the best bike I have ever been on in over thirty years!!!
There is no bar to lift your leg over other than an inch or two. This BIKE IS WONDERFUL!!
"
Review 28 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:December 28, 2012

No regrets! Great Value...

Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: (none as yet)
Model Number: SB4.5r
"Bought this as a Christmas present for my wife and myself. She loves it! Which is my primary goal. I found it easy to assemble, good directions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:January 5, 2013

MONEY'S WORTH

Pros: sturdy & quiet
Cons: no cons
Model Number: SB4.5r
"Delivered on time as promised, but arrived with a totally damaged box. Straps were already broken and not only cardboard box - but also styrofoam was smashed. I made note on the delivery copy. This bike is SOLID. Even though packaging was wrecked, I found absolutely no damage! It was well-packed! The directions were simple, easy to follow in separate steps - Step#1 thru step#4 - with separate, sealed packages of hardware for each step. Tools were also in a sealed compartment. All hardware and tools were correct and perfect. It took two of us to assemble, as some of the pieces were quite heavy to hold while turning bolts. Finished - the bike is SO QUIET! It is exactly what I had hoped for and VERY STURDY! Be sure to seriously consider this particular bike - if you are looking for a recumbent."
Review 30 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:February 21, 2013

Good Purchase

Pros: high quality in all respects.
Cons: the pulse indicator seems somewhat inconsistent.
Model Number: SB 4.5r
"I received my exercycle 4 weeks ago and have used it almost every day. It is one that I feel will be an enduring component of my fitness program"
Review 31 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Wenatchee, WA
Date:May 11, 2013

great product.. easy delivery/placement/assembly.

Cons: ledge on console too narrow to support a book
Model Number: SB4.5r
"Superb piece of exercise equipment.
Very quiet.
Has every feature needed for easy use."
Review 32 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:May 31, 2013

Happy Biker

Pros: comfortable quiet looks great
Cons: takes a few hours to assemble
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike
"I recently purchased the XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike and am very happy with my purchase. It only took a couple weeks for delivery, my husband was able to assemble the bike in just a couple hours, and it runs beautifully. It is very quiet and comfortable to ride and you get a great workout!"
Review 33 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:June 3, 2013
Model Number: Xterra SB 4.5r
"Easy to set up and use. Options provide incentives to exercise. Allows you to set up or change an individual exercise program."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:September 29, 2013

I'm even using it!!

Pros: everfything about it works great.
Cons: i didn't buy one sooner!
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r
"It got to my house several days early and the delivery guys put it in my Family Room. There was more packing on this bike than anything I've ever seen - took more time to uppack it than it did to put it together. IF you read the instructions it goes together perfectly and easily. Resistence is NOT futile - it is variable, easy to set and works like it should. I've checked out a dozen bikes, and this one is just perfect for exercise, watching TV, and the drink holder holds my scotch and water perfectly!! EXERCISE ON!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:November 15, 2013

great service

Pros: very durable.
Cons: tougher to put together than i expected.
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike
"I was having problems after putting the bike together. I called the service number, they had someone call and come out on the same day. That is very impressive for service. I just wanted to thank Mike the repairman in denver for his superior work. The warranty is out standing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lyndhurst, OH
Date:January 16, 2014

Another home run from Costco

Pros: quality construction, sturdy, smooth operation
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Xterra SB4.5R recumbent exercycle
"My recumbent exercycle was delivered yesterday. It took about an hour to assemble ..... I had better luck with my own tools than the ones provided. The unit went together quite well. I was impressed with the overall quality of the components throughout the assembly process. Tried it out after assembly and was even more impressed with how smoothly it operated. So far, have had none of the issues other reviewers reported having. Hope to keep this piece of exercise equipment for many years. My wife and I plan to use it regularly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shelby Township, MI
Date:December 4, 2012

Best Exercise Equipment Purchase EVER

Pros: fantastic supportive lower back support
Cons: pricey but still affordable!!
Model Number: SB4.5r
"I received this bike for my birthday :) I love it. I placed it right in our bedroom. . .even though my husband wasn't too hot about that idea :) I wake up in the AM, get my coffee, watch the news and bike away. It's great support for my lower back, which has always been my issue. Great work-out options. Husband said it wasn't difficult to assemble at all!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:January 3, 2013

Great Exercise Bike

Pros: easy to use easy to assemble
Cons: none
Model Number: XTERRA Fitness SB4.5r Fitness Bike
"I have been using this bike for almost a year and have not had any issues (knock on wood). It was easy to assemble and is easy to use. Overall, this has been a great purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida/Alabama
Date:April 16, 2014

Great Buy

Pros: easy to assemble
"This is a great bike to use and simple to assemble. I would certainly recommend to a friend. I have thirty four years of experience within military fitness, this of the quality I would expect in units costing five times this price. My wife and I are very pleased."
Review 40 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:January 24, 2012

big heavy reclining bike

Pros: looks good in shiny black and is completely silent, that seat really is comfortable
Cons: pricy for what you get
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r
"Pretty much as advertised. Quite a lot of assembly but not tricky. Heavy and solidly built. Hope it holds up well as we plan to use it a lot.
Disappointed to find a similar (not as nice looking but functionally similar) machine at the Costco store for about 60% of the price two days after our bike was delivered."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>