Customer Reviews for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required

XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required

Not all recumbent bikes are created equal.  The XTERRA SB4.5r recumbent bike is Top-In-Class for its style, performance and comfort.  This walk-thru design features a large mesh back seat for maximum comfort and support as well as keeping you cool while you exercise.  The extra large blue backlit LCD display is easy to read and conveniently located swivel fan and speakers allow you to listen to your favorite music.  A remarkable commercial strength belt drive system with a 22 lb flywheel delivers a smooth, quiet and effective workout A user weight limit of 300 lb and lifetime warranty on the frame and brake along with three years parts and one year in-home labor gives you piece of mind that XTERRA stands behind its products. Features Convenient walk-thru design   Smooth and quiet poly v-belt   22 lb. heavy duty steel flywheel offers premium fluid motion   Comfortably molded seat bottom and large mesh back pad   Oversized, self leveling and cushioned pedals   3 Piece premium crank   Seat adjustments - fore/aft   Extra large blue backlit LCD electronics are large and easy to read - keep you updated on all the necessary information (time, speed, calories, program, rpm, level, distance and pulse)   7 pre-set, 2 user customized programs, 2 heart rate programs and a manual program   Audio jack and speakers for MP3 player built into the console   Cooling fan   Hand grip pulse sensors (monitor your heart rate) are conveniently mounted on the handlebars to keep your workouts safe and effective   20 levels of resistance provide a variety of exercise options for all fitness levels   Magnetic resistance system is friction-free for smooth, quiet, and maintenance-free operation   Front transport wheels for moving your equipment   Heavy-duty steel frame   Water bottle holder and bottle included   110v plug-in required   Weight limit:  300 lbs.   Assembled dimensions: 55” L x 28” W x 47” H   Assembled weight: 126 lbs.    Warranty: Lifetime frame and brake   3 year parts   1 year in-home labor For additional shipping information or Product questions, please call XTERRA® Fitness Customer Service Monday through Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Central Time, at 1-800-258-4555 or email costco@xterrafitness.com. Model: SB4.5r
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
(out of 62 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
53 of 62(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Review 21 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:January 5, 2013

MONEY'S WORTH

Pros: sturdy & quiet
Cons: no cons
Model Number: SB4.5r
"Delivered on time as promised, but arrived with a totally damaged box. Straps were already broken and not only cardboard box - but also styrofoam was smashed. I made note on the delivery copy. This bike is SOLID. Even though packaging was wrecked, I found absolutely no damage! It was well-packed! The directions were simple, easy to follow in separate steps - Step#1 thru step#4 - with separate, sealed packages of hardware for each step. Tools were also in a sealed compartment. All hardware and tools were correct and perfect. It took two of us to assemble, as some of the pieces were quite heavy to hold while turning bolts. Finished - the bike is SO QUIET! It is exactly what I had hoped for and VERY STURDY! Be sure to seriously consider this particular bike - if you are looking for a recumbent."
Review 22 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:January 3, 2013

Great Exercise Bike

Pros: easy to use easy to assemble
Cons: none
Model Number: XTERRA Fitness SB4.5r Fitness Bike
"I have been using this bike for almost a year and have not had any issues (knock on wood). It was easy to assemble and is easy to use. Overall, this has been a great purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:December 28, 2012

No regrets! Great Value...

Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: (none as yet)
Model Number: SB4.5r
"Bought this as a Christmas present for my wife and myself. She loves it! Which is my primary goal. I found it easy to assemble, good directions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 28, 2012

WILL DELIVER INSIDE HOME

Model Number: Xterra SB4.5r recumbent bike
"The description given about shipping says "Curbside only". As of mid-December this changed. Your bike will be brought inside, and you will need to assemble. I had my handyman do it. This bike is SMOOTH!! Love it!! Love it!! Love it!!. I was a bit concerned, and called the company in Alabama. They were Very helpful and nice. You will pay more elsewhere. Take a Chance; I did. This is the best bike I have ever been on in over thirty years!!!
There is no bar to lift your leg over other than an inch or two. This BIKE IS WONDERFUL!!
"
Review 25 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shelby Township, MI
Date:December 4, 2012

Best Exercise Equipment Purchase EVER

Pros: fantastic supportive lower back support
Cons: pricey but still affordable!!
Model Number: SB4.5r
"I received this bike for my birthday :) I love it. I placed it right in our bedroom. . .even though my husband wasn't too hot about that idea :) I wake up in the AM, get my coffee, watch the news and bike away. It's great support for my lower back, which has always been my issue. Great work-out options. Husband said it wasn't difficult to assemble at all!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:las vegas
Date:December 4, 2012

very satisfied

"easy to use, excellent seating posture. very quiet operation"
Review 27 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:December 4, 2012

Good decision

Pros: quiet comfortable
Cons: assembly required two people and took a few hours
Model Number: Xterra SB4.5r
"We are very happy with our new recumbent bike. Putting it together took a little longer than we had anticipated (we are both over 60), but the directions were clear and separated each step in the process nicely. The bike runs very quietly, so we can watch TV or visit easily. This was a great buy for us; Costco never disappoints!"
Review 28 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2012

Bought for P.T. after my back surgery.

Model Number: SB4.5
"After using a recumbent bike at P.T. my therapist suggested using one at home for strenghtening. I checked and reviewed many brands and found this one to be one of the best. I average 5 miles a day on it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, WA
Date:November 18, 2012

XTERRA SB4.5r is well built

Pros: solid construction, quality workmanship, easy instructions, hardware separated by steps and tools included
Cons: front stabilizing foot could be wider
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Exercise Bike
"I ordered XTERRA SB4.5r online and it arrived to my curbside from Arkansas in two weeks. Excellent packaging. Bike is made from high-gauge steel with quality paint for years of enjoyment. Hardware components packaged by each of the five-step installation process with tools included; took one hour to assemble with easy-to-understand instructions. Seat has comfortable mesh back rest. Frame has a nice, wide rear support bracket, but the front support would be better if it were perhaps four inches wider on each side."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:November 13, 2012

Everything in the Ad is True

Pros: really solid and quiet
Cons: fan is worthless
"Easy to assemble, smooth, quiet, solid and simple to adjust. I love this bike. I have a problem knee and the ability to exercise it with out bearing weight has been a blessing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:October 13, 2012

Great Recumbent Bike

Pros: easy to assemble and very quiet!
Cons: none
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r
"Great piece of exercise equipment for the home. Arrived quickly and I had it assembled in less than an hour. Never had an item requiring assembly that was easier. The XTERRA packaged all the hardware so that I knew the exact step for which they belonged. Can't get any easier! The bike is extremely quiet and the seat so comfortable. Can't go wrong with this bike. Did I mention it is made in the USA?! Buy this bike!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:September 7, 2012

Love it!

Cons: fan
Model Number: SB4.5R Xterra recumbent
"It took only one week to arrive from order time. Delivery person was courteous and even brought inside for us even though was not expected. He saw we are both seniors. That was above and beyond and tells you the quality of the driver of the 18 wheeler that brought it. My husband walks with cane with diabetes and balance problem, and I am 73 with hip and knee problems needing joint replacement. I can use without too much pressure on my hips. Seat is comfortable and easy to get on or off. The fan could have been left off as is useless, not a deal breaker. Assembly was fairly easy for even us. Very quiet and love it! Made two calls to mfg. on minor problems. They answered both questions and gave quick resolutions. Excellent to do business with, prompt, courteous and very helpful. Would recommend highly. Love Costco and their vendors!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern UT
Date:August 3, 2012

Solid and Comfortable

Pros: high quality high comfortable and quiet, mesh seat back is a real plus
Cons: built in fan is all but worthless, no provision for holding a book or an ipad
Model Number: Xterra SB4.5r Recumbent Bike
"I wanted something that I would enjoy using when it's too hot outside to ride my standard bicycle. And my wife wanted something that my she would also be able to use regularly even with her health limitations. After using this for a month, we feel t will meet both of our needs quite well. We are both retired and wanted something that will continue to help us stay fit as we continue to get older; this seems likely to be able to do that."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:March 17, 2012

Good Product

Pros: very high quality sturdy. good user interface., good price can't beat costco returns.
Cons: needs better lip or shelf for kindle or magzn., user program editing is clunky.
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r
"This is a good product and the perfect exercise solution for me, I am 49, 270 lbs.
I am on my feet all day and the last thing I want to do when I get home is run on the treadmill. Since my day begins at 3am,morning exercise isn't working for me. I need to get off my feet and this works great. Recumbant is easier on the back, wrists, neck and arms. You still get a serious workout, despite the reclining position.
I can read my Kindle DX, watch my DVR recorded shows and exercise my heart and legs in realtive comfort. The seat is very comfortable and the flywheel and pedal assembly are very high quality. The magnetic resistance makes transitions very smooth and the whole thing is incredibly quiet.
The resistance levels will give you a substantial cardio workout.
I sit high enough to see over the screen to watch TV (computer actually) and the monitor had adequate information and program options for the price.
I like very high tech user interfaces, and this falls short of that. For the price, they put the effort into the mechanical components and the user interface is more simplistic. I wish it was more intuitive for changing user1 and user 2 personal programs. You have to go all the way through steps you don't even want to change to get to the stuff you do want to change.
I did a lot of research before choosing this model including reading the entire owner's manual online, always a good idea. The fact it was Costco, sealed the deal for me. Lifetime warranty from Costco. No contest. It just needed to have the quality/price and features I wanted and it is Costco everytime.
Assembly was about 1.5 hours. The manual told me what tools were needed and I got them out ahead of time. The ones they provide with the unit are poor quality but sufficient. A little ratchet is nice to have. It is easy to assemble, and the instructions are okay if you study them carefully. Just kinda heavy to move around during assembly. It is very stable and very high quality. Takes up very little space.
I use it every day, have had it for a month. I love the fact it goes into standby after 20 minutes of inactivity, with my treadmill I have to mess with it to power down. Get surge protectors from Tripp Lite, spike block, for all your exercise equipment, too.
This product is worth the extra cost to get the high quality and reliability. You won't be disappointed.
There are cheaper ones out there, but don't expect much and you can buy a new one in a few years.
"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:S.E. GA
Date:March 12, 2012

Great machine

"Quiet, easy to operate and my son says it was fairly easy to put together."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So. Central, PA
Date:January 27, 2012

Comfortable Bike

Pros: comfortable seat
Cons: tedious to reset programs
Model Number: SB4.5r
"Since my hip surgery last Fall, I have searched for a recumbent bike to use. After trying some in local sport stores, I commenced my on-line search. I checked many models, reviews and decided on the Xterra. It was fairly easy for my husband and I to assemble. It is easy to operate and comfortable to sit and pedal."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salem, OR
Date:January 17, 2012

Totally Happy!

Pros: sturdy quiet comfortable
"My husband put it together and he said it was pretty easy...just took some time. I like that it is so quiet. I can use it and watch TV, no problem! It's very sturdy. The seat and backrest are very comfortable. I'm just learning to use all of the programming but so far...very happy with it! Very happy with my purchase!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 4, 2012

So far so good

Pros: quiet professional
Cons: would be hard to return
Model Number: XTerra SB4.5r Walk-Thru Recumbent
"I feel like I should write this review in a year or so, but will probably forget, so will just say that as of now, 2 weeks after purchase, this seems to have been a very good decision. The assembly was challenging for me, but if you are reasonably "handy" it is not that bad. The assembly videos by the manufacturer were helpful. It took me about 2 hours but I am a small person and, well let's just say it, not a man. Sorry for the sexism.
The machine is practically silent, so watching tv is no problem, and the resistance levels seem very good, similar to the gym machines. The installed programs also seem highly adequate to my relief, as I like the "hill" type programs.
There are two user memories you can preset, which is nice, but the preinstalled programs are easy to use as well, and you can set the maximum level for them at the start of the session and it will gradually peak at the level you set.
The fan and MP3 player features are useless so don't figure those into your decision re purchase.
Talk to me in a year. I can't imagine having to return this, it weighs a ton and took forever to get out of the packaging, let alone the assembly! So if it holds up it will be a great purchase; but if there are any problems with durability I wil be very angry with myself."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 20, 2011

Fantastic American-Made Product

Pros: heavy steel frame, comfortable, easy to put together
Model Number: XTERRA SB4.5r
"From putting this together to using it, it is just great. Heavy steel-frame, American-made and tooled. All parts fit perfectly. Solid feeling, quiet operation. I am extremely happy I took the chance and ordered this. I have since looked in some sport/fitness stores and other machine that are not nearly as well made cost twice as much."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for XTERRA SB4.5r Recumbent Bike - Assembly Required
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:nc
Date:March 26, 2014

2nd time worked

Pros: smooth and quiet and solid., easy to assemble, can eventually get good help from costco if needed
Cons: probably poor quality control with manufacturer., pay your money and take your chances.
Model Number: 4.5
"Initially, the bike was delivered with a major defect that should have been caught at the factory. I did have some issues with customer service until I demanded to talk with a supervisor. Finally, someone followed up on what was a continual comedy of multiple errors (only I wasn't laughing). Aside from having to repack the totally defective 1st bike and aside from someone dropping the ball on having the replacement one shipped to me, that took more than twice the time of the original, a new bike that seems so far to work great after it finally arrived. I guess there will always be random problems with shipping or product, but I got all the multiple random ones at once. Costco finally came through and now I am a very happy purchaser. But it does seem that the manufacturer is less concerned with customer service than Costco. It is ashame cause now that I have a functioning bike, this one seems to be a good product for a reasonable price. I guess it might be worth it to take a chance on this bike, cause if you get one that works the first time and do not need anything resolved by tne manufactuer, you got a good deal for a good product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>