Customer Reviews for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair

ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair

The ProGrid® High Back Manager’s Chair by Office Star provides a more comforting way to enhance the working environment, at home or in the office. In addition to its sleek contemporary styling, the ProGrid® High Back Manager’s Chair is designed and engineered to reduce back and leg fatigue by promoting better seating posture.     ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair   Built-in-lumbar support for maximum support and ventilation   Adjustable Arms    Seat Slider    Titanium Finish Frames   3-position Locking   2-to-1 synchro   Tilt Control    Seat Slider   Black Mesh Fabric Padded Seat    Heavy Duty Nylon Base   Dual Wheel Carpet Casters     Seat size; 20.25" W x 19" D x 3.5" T   Back size: 19" W x 22.25" H   Max overall size: 26.5" W x 27" D x 43.5" H   Arms max inside: 19"   Arms to floor min: 25.5"   Arms to seat min: 6.75"   Seat height min: 18.25"   Seat height max: 22"   Weight: 51 lbs.   If you have questions regarding this product, assembly of furniture or product operation, please call 1-800-950-7262 and ask for the Customer Service Department related to Costco.   Model: 90662
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
(out of 27 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 of 27(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Review 1 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tumwater, WA
Date:January 6, 2012

A good choice!

Pros: fits plus-size!
Cons: off-gassing odor
"I use a Herman Miller chair at work but certainly couldn't afford one for home. I was looking for a sturdy, comfortable, adjustable chair that fit my frame. As a plus-size woman, I've run across chairs where the arms where jammed into the sides of my thighs. I was concerned about purchasing a chair I couldn't sit down in & try out 1st, but all the chairs in office products stores seemed overpriced. I'd been considering & looking at various "big & tall" chairs when I came across this one. The seat is nearly the same dimensions as the B&T products, & the arms can be installed so they are further away from the seat edge. I was happy to find that this chair fits me perfectly! The back support seems just right too.
The instructions are relatively self-explanatory, & I put it together in about an hour. It feels sturdy & doesn't wobble when I move around like some less expensive models tend to do. I'm hoping that will hold over time. So far, I would recommend this chair."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Denver
Date:September 24, 2013

Not working for me

Pros: comfortable
Cons: kind of cheaply built
Model Number: Item #612732
"I have a home office and it's on the second floor. This chair has a "shock absorber" type cylinder that connects the chair to the stand and when you sit on the chair it compresses by a couple inches or so. When it either compresses or decompresses (by getting out of the chair) it "pops". This popping thumps through the carpeted floor and into the first floor of the house - where the bedrooms are. So getting in or out of the chair while someone is sleeping will certainly wake them and annoy anyone who is not sleeping. It will work if my office was on a cement slab - but it's not. Other than that the chair is worth the price. It's not a high end chair so don't expect great quality. The size of the seat is huge. It will work for a lot of "plus size" rear-ends. The black plastic cover that hides all the controls on the bottom is breaking through its screws. The plastic piece was pre-assembled - I did not install it. I will be returning this chair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Beverly Hills, MI
Date:March 27, 2014

Office Chair - good value

"Chair seems to be a good value. I like it but don't love it. But for what I paid I am very satisfied."
Review 4 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tustin, CA
Date:August 22, 2012

Exceptional value

"I was skeptical at first because of the low price. But the chair got such excellent reviews and Costco is so good about taking things back, that I decided to order it. I have just finished putting it together and I have to say I am EXTREMELY IMPRESSED with the quality of the construction. All the parts that will take the most strain are made of thick steel. I am 6'1" tall and 240 pounds but the chair is adequately large for me. In fact I don't even raise it to its full height as I do with most chairs. The back is extremely comfortable and the ventilation will be welcome in the summer. The arms are adjustable and comfortable. The only negative I have noticed thus far is the fact that, in the fully upright position, the seat does slope forward somewhat. That can be easily rectified with some washers used as spacers and longer bolts. I will definitely make that modification. One other note, the hex wrench that is provided is an adequate tool for assembling – if you have time on your hands and don't mind doing things the hard way. I recommend a socket wrench. Assembly will go much faster. Overall I am very well pleased with this chair."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:November 2, 2011

GOOD VALUE

"I bought 2 of these for the office and they are so comfortable every has been fighting over them. So many adjustment options. Even the lumbar is adjustable. Great Quality."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2012

Good chair but not for me

Pros: quality materials, firm yet comfortable seat, durable mesh back, easy-to-assemble, attractive design, lots of customization
Cons: not enough back support, uncomfortable
Model Number: 90662-30
"This chair arrived quickly and came with instructions. It didn't take too long to assemble, and all of the parts seem highly durable. The seat is padded and firm, and the back seems like quality material as well. Unfortunately, I could only sit in it for about thirty minutes before I was experiencing really bad neck pain and some back pain. I understand all chairs are different and can take a few days to adjust to, but I have been testing a lot of new chairs for my office and this is the only one that has done that. I am 5'5" and between 120-130 lbs. and it just didn't offer enough back support for me. I really wanted it to be "the one" and I think it could work well for other people, but I will be returning and will continue to look."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:March 8, 2013

Outstanding value

Pros: great chair comfortable great support
Cons: instructions are weak but adaquate
Model Number: ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
"I am just a lettuce leaf shy of 300 lbs. Took a chance on this chair and I am VERY HAPPY with the decision. VERY COMFORTABLE, GREAT SUPPORT. Great chair for the price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:November 19, 2013

Flexible seating

Pros: chair well designed and well priced
Cons: packaging creates shipping hazard & need for luck
Model Number: 90662
"The ProGrid chair is highly satisfactory, say I after one week of use. I am knocking off one star not for the chair itself, but for the packaging of the chair parts, which was almost disastrous. The cardboard box was clearly not sturdy enough to hold 51 pounds. It is a miracle that UPS delivered it with nothing missing and nothing broken, because the box came completely battered, about to rupture in every direction. The box's top two flaps were not even taped together! It was holding thanks to rigid yellow plastic ties all around the box, but these were so loose that I did not need to cut them: it was easy to slide them all off the box. I took many pictures of the box before opening it, and then every step through unpacking it, to have evidence in case anything was damaged inside. The inside content turned out to be OK, miraculously so, because everything was loose inside the box: there was nothing to prevent the parts from traveling from one side to another during shipping. Flimsy thin sheets of cardboard, completely torn apart, were found inside, barely separating some parts from others. Never have I seen such thoroughly unprofessional packaging. Anyway, as I said, it was nearly incomprehensibly lucky that the contents were undamaged and complete. Building the chair was easy enough, following a sheet of spare but sufficient instructions. A bit more explanation of how the handles work would be good, though. Once mounted, the chair looks good, is comfortable, and easily adjustable. Do keep the allen wrench in a drawer near the chair in case you need to readjust the chair every few months, or retighten screws. I did not experience any unpleasant outgassing effect: the seat cushion did not let out any nose-noticeable cloud of volatile compounds."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:long island, ny
Date:April 1, 2013

NICE CHAIR

Pros: comfortable, inexpensive, easy to assemble
Cons: none
"Im about a cheeseburger under 270lbs, the chair is perfect for the price, comfortable, reclines, very impressed for the price, assembly was easy, fair amout of adjustments for the price too"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2012

Good price, easy assembly, comfortable

Pros: easy to assemble, easy to adjust, comfortable
Cons: emits an odor the first few days
"Bought this chair based on the other reviews. Wanted an Aeron-like chair without the Aeron price. Actually prefer that the bottom is cushioned (like it is on this one) instead of mesh (like it is on the Aeron).
It was very easy to assemble, and it's comfortable and easy to adjust. My only (minor) "complaint" is that the foam (I'm guessing) emitted a strong, bad smell for the first few days. Once that was gone, the chair was fine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hemet, CA
Date:December 29, 2011

Can't Go Wrong

Pros: comfortable with many adjustments
Cons: none so far
"This is a very comfortable chair with many nice features. Assembly was easy and straight forward, taking somewhere between twenty and thirty minutes. The supplied allen wrench can be used but I found it easier and more convenient to use a socket and ratchet. Since I have only had the chair for one day can not comment on how long it will last. However, it seems to be well made utilizing decent materials. Only time will tell."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:December 10, 2013

Nice Chair

Model Number: 90662
"This chair is a good value. It is comfortable, with lots of adjustment options. It is also nice looking. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the seat material has been pre-soaked in some kind of anti-fungal solution and has a smell to it. Hopefully it will dissipate in a week or two."
Review 13 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:November 29, 2011

Solid chair at a good price

"Good quality, heavy duty, nice apperaance. Highly adjustable and comfortable chair with nice looks. Not the quality of a Herman Miller Aeron chair but at 1/4th the price it is a great value and one that can't be beat. Only con was the 2 weeks it took to get the chair from the date I bought it on Costco.com. This is the longest I have ever had to wait to receive an item I bought on Costco.com."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:July 15, 2012

Good chair for home office

Pros: reasonable price, sturdy construction, good selection of adjustments
Cons: seat should go lower
"This is a good chair for the home or work office. I like to have a padded cushion with tight weave so it doesn't catch dirt and have the mesh back for ventilation. I do wish the chair went down a little lower. The seat is not overly deep so it does not cut off circulation in the back of the legs."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Date:August 15, 2012

So comfortable!

"Great chair, very easy to put together. Purchased for the office, I use this chair 8 hours a day, it has improved my posture and has cured my sore back problem caused by a bad chair. I would definately recommend this chair."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Date:February 8, 2012

Super

Pros: comfort and ease of assembly
Cons: would have preferred if the chair came in brown, the back could have been higher.
Model Number: 612732
"I ordered this chair on 2/2/2012 and accepted delivery on 2/8/2012 even though the web site stated 10 to 14 days. Being handicapped, looking at the un-assembled parts I figured about 4 hours. Much to my surprise I finished assembly in 40 minutes. It took me an additional 15 minutes to set up the comfort level off the chair. Did not realize the arm rests were padded.
Would highly recommend this chair.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:March 7, 2012

Too Small

"I purchased this chair thinking the high back would be more suitable for me. I am 6'4". This chair is much too small. I am not a wide body but i take up the entire width of the seat. The good thing is I can wheel it in to a Costco to return."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:November 28, 2011

Great chair for the price

Pros: easy assembly, easy to adjust height width tilt and tension, great value
Cons: default position feels like it's leaning forward
"This chair comes with the popular features found in the more expensive chairs and assembly was quick and easy. I've gone through several office chairs in my home office; this one is the most comfortable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:July 2, 2012

Excellent

"As always, product at Costco beats beats the expectation. Excellent quality and easy to assemble."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProGrid® High Back Managers Chair
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 12, 2013

Easy and comfortable

Pros: comfort, looks great, easy assembly
Cons: none at this time
Model Number: 90662
"Just received this chair and the assembly was "easy cheesy" by following the pictorial directions. Very comfortable on first use. The real test will be longer term durability and comfort. Good value up front and very quick home delivery..!!"
1 2 next>>