Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher

2-year Manufacturer's Warranty included Be Prepared for your Delivery. Read Kitchen Install Requirements PDF above. Dishwasher:  Includes DELIVERY. Appliance INSTALLATION & HAUL AWAY vary by state or local area (check Dishwasher Install Zip Codes PDF above). Hardwire install is not included. Delivery provider will NOT un-install existing dishwasher, must be un-installed prior to delivery. Features:   Model: WDT790SAYM Sensor Cycle   Flexible Capacity   CEE Tier 2 Qualified   Overnight cycle   Eco Wash Cycle   Resource-Efficient Wash System   Plastic Cup Shelf   Tall tub Design   Dynamic Fills   AnyWare™ Plus Silver Basket   Top Rack Wash Option   Eco Dry Option   Adjustable Upper Rack   Light Item Clips   Triple Filtration System   Auto Soil Sensor   1-Hour Wash Cycle   High Temperature Wash System   Normal Cycle   Quiet Partner™ IV Sound Package   Heavy Cycle   Premium Rail System Specifications: ENERGY STAR® Qualified    Electrical requirements: 120VAC, 60Hz. 15 amps, grounded circuit is required. Use copper wire only. A time delay fuse or circuit breaker is recommended.   Dimensions:  24.5" Deep x 23-7/8" W x 34.5" H    
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(566 Reviews) 566
(out of 566 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (566 reviews)
5 stars
380
4 stars
131
3 stars
30
2 stars
16
1 star
9
513 of 556(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Review 1 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mckinleyville, CA
Date:January 11, 2012

Very impressed

Model Number: w10401504A
"We have tried all the cycles and it is the quietest dish washer we have ever had and the dishes all are clean--Always!!!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2012

Great Dishwasher

"I ordered this. The delivery time said 20-24 days. It was delivered within a week. It looks amazing and runs even better."
Review 3 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:August 21, 2012

Very Quiet

Pros: quiet, easy to install
Model Number: Nbr614061
"It does an excellent job of cleaning the dishes. It is so quiet that I have to check to make certain that it is operating."
Review 4 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Date:March 22, 2012

Whirlpool Dishwasher Gold Series

Pros: super quiet
Cons: so quiet you can't always tell if it is running
Model Number: WDT790SAYM
"Excellent dishwasher. Lots of space between top and bottom rack allows for big things like pitchers to go in. Cleans well. Really quiet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2012

great product

Pros: very quiet
Cons: the rack for silverware on the door
Model Number: ED5FVGXWS SXS
"I am very satisfied with this product. Remarkably quiet which I like the most. Cleans dishes well and has top rack only washing mode which is a great option to have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western U.S.
Date:June 20, 2012

Clean, Dry and Spotless!

Pros: quiet, good value, cleans and dries.
Model Number: WDT790SAYM1
"Installed on June 1st. Replaced a 17 year old Whirlpool. Fit space and has a lot more room inside plus stainless interior. Had help with installation and new power cord. Runs very quiet. Follow directions re: soap and rinse aid as those two items are important. We agree unit cleans best on Heavy and High Temp settings."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014

Not so great

Pros: very quiet
Cons: bad smell mildew doesn't dry fully
"The utensil rack is flimsy. Water also drains and sits by the base of the door so you end up with mildew and a very stinky dishwasher. The repair man stated that this is a design flaw and the only thing you can do is wipe the gunk and mildew after every load, run a clean cycle once a month and leave the dishwasher door open. Apparently there are no vents to prevent this problem from happening."
Review 8 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, CA
Date:September 6, 2012

Can there be a quieter dishwasher?

Pros: quiet, cleans remarkably, appearance is top notch, price point
Cons: utensil cage can be slightly annoying
"Ordered and delivered in a timely fashion. Unit is exceptionally quiet, often approach unit and place hand on door to detect operation. Cleans dishes exceptionally. Although I have never compared nor researched the cleaning cycles, this unit seems to have lenghty cycles which may contribute to the thorough cleanliness or the energy star rating. To circumvent this, the unit offers a 'One Hour' cleaning cycle therefore all basis are covered. Fantastic unit at a good price."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2012

Pleased so far!

Pros: quiet, looks good, all around good dishwasher
Cons: sensor cycle takes a long time, normal cycle provides below average wash
"Great dishwasher. Definitely worth the price! For us it is the perfect combination of performance, quietness, and stylishness. It does take a pretty long time to go through a cycle though. Would have given this 5 stars if it would have come with a power cord AND all the fittings for installation. Had to go to the local hardware store for the proper fitting. You spend $700 for a dishwasher and they can't provide a power chord and a fitting??? Really? Anyway...pleased with the dishwasher itself."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Date:January 15, 2013

Disappointing upgrade

Pros: very very quiet ++, a+ appearance
Cons: must add rinse agent to get dishes dry, two hours to run a load, everyday silverware does not fit in holder, plastic wheels water spinners etc
Model Number: WDT790SAYM
"Great presentation and beautiful outward appearance. In my humble opinion, this is like upgrading from the 5 gallon flush toilets... Low water- much more "green". However, It takes TWO HOURS to run a load. BUYER BEWARE! Plus, you MUST use a RINSE AID to get dishes even remotely dry, which is something I never even heard of. The silverware holder is great BUT HOLES NOT BIG ENOUGH FOR MY EVERYDAY SILVERWARE. My everyday silverware is very everyday in size :( I want my old machine back where dishes came out so piping hot I had to wear gloves. This NEVER seems to run the dry cycle to actually HEAT DRY. Don't get all the A+ ratings. Did anyone notice that it takes two hours to run a load of dishes???"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta,GA
Date:July 27, 2012

Overall happy

Pros: very quiet, different cycles, stainless inside/outside, economical, overnight cycle clean, filter
Cons: basket design
"We had to replace an older Maytag, that was overall a very good machine. This machine has nice features and looks great. One would think that replacing one machine with another would be done in a snap but of course water connecter was different. So I had to get some adapter. The installation instruction were bad written. As instructed I broke the dishwasher bracket only to find out later they were too short . Anyway I improvised and everything worked out. Overall the machine cleans well, especially in the overnight mode. Some shorter cycles can have problems with some pots. Still we are learning and so that is not a real problem. The basket design is awkward. Maytag's baskets were smarter designed."
Review 12 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:February 21, 2012

BEST dishwasher!

"After searching & researching for a dishwasher, I finally decided to get this one based on all the great reviews I found online- I'm so glad I did! I have never used a dishwasher before and this was VERY easy to use. I loaded up the washer (I was told for the best results to use the Finish Pacs & Jet Dry, also got at Costco) and let it work it's magic. I could not believe how clean the dishes were... even my husband, who didn't see the need for a dishwasher, was very impressed. I put a variety of dishes, pots, wine glasses, and utensils to see exactly how good it could handle them and they all came out looking great and without a filmy feel or look. It's a great buy for the price and you can't beat Costco's guarantee."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hagerstown, MD
Date:November 30, 2013

Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher

"I have had this item for over a month.
Ordering from Costco.com: Easy
Communication & Interaction with Delivery Team: Friendly, courteous, on time, put shoe bootys on, protected floor and excellent customer service.
Dishwasher: This was a 1000% upgrade from our plastic GE builder grade model. Is quiet enough (although you can still hear it at certain wash phases), nice looking and spacious. Call Whirlpool for all additional information they will answer all additional questions you may have. I called them like 500 times and they were always pleasant and helpful. As other reviewers have mentioned, the cutlery basket is a little annoying, BUT you can move it and you can REMOVE the cover if you don't want to put the cutlery thru the slots. Overall this is a great machine for the price. Previously, I had my mind set on purchasing a $1600 Miele, but went for this instead and glad I saved the money. Costco... as usual was great to deal with.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orlando, Fl
Date:January 9, 2013

No Honneymoon for me

Pros: quiet and cleans well
Cons: petty customer service & water supply part lacking
Model Number: WDT790SAYM1
"My unit came with a defective soap dispenser. The rinse-aid reseviour leaked and had a defective seam, so much for quality control. But hey things happen right? But here's why I'm voicing my dismay: Whirlpool would not expidite the shipping of the dective part as per the repair technicians request instead choosing to save $5-10 in shipping fee's while I have this new & defective washer. I was tempted to just return the thing. But ok so 2 & 1/2 weeks later it's working and now providing dry dishes. This is one quiet dishwasher, excellent. It is vastly superior to our previous unit in cleaning, really does well. Unfortunately the cleaning cycle seems to take forever and is at least double the time of our previous machine. However in my case that not really a problem and since the unit is so quiet and seldom need to run two loads per day. I also think the water intake should be rediseged or they should include the 90 degree water supply fitting, petty of them. The handle should be higher so when closing you don't put finger prints on the door."
Review 15 for Whirlpool® Gold Series Stainless Steel Dishwasher
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oak Park, CA
Date:March 27, 2012

Nice, but needs some improvement

Pros: nice looking, quiet, cleans well
Cons: flatware holder could be better, rinse only cycle missing or tricky, electrical wiring and equipment required
Model Number: WDT790SAYM
"THE GOOD: This dishwasher is nice looking, quiet, and cleans well. Although it fits into the same space as my old dishwasher, it is significantly taller on the inside which allows me to fit taller plates, and pans on the bottom while still having room for tall cups on the top.
THE BAD: The silverware holder has holes to separate silverware, but the holes are too small for many types of flatware. The separators can be moved to allow bigger flatware, but it is a bit small if you want to make sure items get clean by making sure they are not spooning. I kept my old silverware holder and use it also, and that works for me. Also, be careful when you put in your plates etcetera that they face from the left and right to the center as that is where the water comes from and cleaning works best that way. The instructions tell you to face items toward the center but when I placed a plate in the front pointing back, it covered up the silverware on the door which hindered cleaning. I also could not figure out how to simply run a rinse cycle right after putting dishes in if I was not ready to run a full cycle.
THE UGLY: My biggest complaint is that it requires you to supply your own power cord and a kit so when you or someone you hire wires the dishwasher to your new power cord, it will not accidentally come lose. It said you have to supply your own power cord but I thought it was going to be like a computer where you could simply plug it in, not something they expect an electrician to perform. Imagine buying a lamp and having to buy and wire your own power cord. For the kind of money this dishwasher cost and the small amount of money a power cord costs, I found this to be extremely annoying. I’m guessing they think this way if you electrocute someone or burn your house down because the wires were not installed properly, they will not be responsible. Personally I think if they supplied proper wiring they would better protect themselves from liability then leaving it up to consumers to try to do on their own. Having a power cord already attached would be easier and safer."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.