Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver

**For the additional $15 mail-in-rebate please see the rebate link . Limit 2 quantity. This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Features: Model 1255X: 3-level hidden LED battery display. Integrated precision trimmer   Aquatec Wet and Dry: Aquatec seal for a comfortable dry or refreshing wet shave with shaving gel or foam   GyroFlex 3D System: Contour-following system adjusts seamlessly to every curve of the face, minimizing pressure and irritation   UltraTrack Heads: Catch every hair with just a few strokes, for a close shave and minimum skin irritation   Patented Super Lift and Cut System: Dual blade system lifts hairs to cut comfortably below skin level   SkinGlide System: The low-friction SkinGlide shaving surface slides smoothly along your skin, for an extra-close shave   Additional RQ12 shaving head included   Skin friendly precision trimmer   Ergonomic EasyGrip handle   Hair collection chamber   Battery charging indicator   Cleaning indicator   Replacement head indicator   Power System: Rechargeable cordless: Use anywhere!   1-hour full charge for up to 50 minutes of cordless shaving   3-minutes quick charge for 1 cordless shave   Worldwide voltage adjusts automatically from 100V to 240V AC Accessories: Protective razor head cap   Charging stand   Soft touch   Power cord   Cleaning brush Model:1255X
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
(out of 29 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
24 of 29(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Review 1 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, CA
Date:June 23, 2013

Best Norelco Shaver

Pros: close shave with no cuts or nicks
Cons: must be charged in the stand
Model Number: SensoTouch3D 1255X
"This shaver is lighter and slimmer than the older Norelco products and takes some getting used to with how to hold properly. It does a better job with longer whiskers and does not cut or nick in sensitive areas.
It is much easier to clean than the older models with the new individual hair chamber design.
The only feature I don't like is that it must be charged in the stand, instead to just plugging the cord in the shaver."
Review 2 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dulles, VA
Date:June 19, 2013

Otherwoldly solution to a first-world problem

Pros: truly shaves as close as a blade, works in the shower with shaving cream
Cons: creates weird emotional attachment to a machine
Model Number: 1255X
"Norelco, just shut up and take my money, and use it to give your engineers a raise. My heart usually doesn’t go all aflutter for consumer products in general, let alone shaving tools. But this bad boy is pretty freaking amazing. I was previously using the Norelco Arcitec, which did a fairly good job (you know, for an electric). I had never found an electric that didn’t require me to “touch up” my neck area afterward with a manual razor and never had high expectations—until I started using this razor. You can use it in the shower, with shaving cream, and it gives an extremely close shave, including on the neck, with no irritation or cuts. Just an amazing product. Given how much time in our lives we devote to shaving, this product is worth every penny and then some."
Review 3 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:June 6, 2013

Worst purchase Ever

Pros: none for the price
Cons: it is not waterproof
Model Number: 1255X Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
"It claims to be wet and dry. It is not waterproof. Mine died in less than a year. It would not recharge. I opened it to see if I can replace the rechargeable battery. To my surprise, it was filled with water and soap gunk."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:February 23, 2013

Good to have Norelco again

Pros: quiet shaves closely
Cons: can irritate skin if pressed too hard
Model Number: SensoTouch 3D No. 1255X
"My first electric shaver was a Norelco two-disk model. Then I switched to a blade razor. Five years ago I started using a Remington shaver, but never had good results -- the hairs wouldn't easily go up into those tiny round holes.
When the Remington's trimmer stopped working, I decided it was time for a new shaver. I checked-out Braun and Norelco, and read reviews of both.
Reviewers said the Braun was noisy, and I was tired of the nose from my Remington. The Norelco is super-quiet! The blades just spin quietly in their housings. No roar, no whine, no buzz -- just a quiet whir.
The Norelco shaves closely, but don't press too hard. The shaving grilles have some large openings -- great for scooping up hairs, but they'll also let the blades scrape your skin if pressed hard.
My lower neck was slightly red and irritated after the first shave, but I've learned to press gently, and have experienced no skin irritation since.
My technique is to apply light pressure and move the shaver slowly. The blades aren't spinning very fast, so don't zip around your face. Sometimes I have to make two or three passes, but I don't consider that a big deal.
I haven't tried wet shaving with it yet.
This model came with an extra shaving head, which costs $50 if you have to buy one separately.
I registered my shaver online, and Norelco extended the two-year warranty by six months. There was a card in my package telling about this benefit.
I chose this model without the Jet Clean system because I didn't want the cleaning unit/charger on my vanity top all the time. I store the shaver and its small charger in a vanity drawer. Plus, I wanted that extra shaving head.
So it's good to have Norelco again. I've always liked their shavers, and this model definitely upholds their reputation."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:AZ
Date:January 15, 2013

Impressively worth the money!

Pros: smooth as a straight razor when done correctly., easy to clean (use old toothbrush when dry), charges fast, holds charge longer than expected
Cons: charging station is a little odd; otherwise good.
"I must preface with this: I have spent years shaving with straight razors, disposable safety razors, and even my trusty camping knife... So, I know how to shave. Basically, every razor I've ever used ends up dull after shaving half my face. A typical mach-7 omega-ultra-super-d-duper alpha triple-action waffle-making razor is dull in 5-6 swipes... Not bragging here, just stating the facts.
My point is this: If you have (or think you have) the toughest facial hair in the world, like me, then this shaver will do the job. Just go slow, against the grain, and on "CLEAN, DRY SKIN & HAIR", and you'll get a closer shave than with a disposable and JUST as close as a straight razor. I always follow up with coconut oil, rather than those horrid chemicals out there. Look it up, it's better for you. The blades should last a year, which is roughly the cost of using a disposable for a year, for me anyway. If you have lighter hair, it will work even better. Basically, like most things that are this well constructed, if it doesn't work - it's defective, or you're doing it wrong.
Good luck and happy shaving!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunland, CA
Date:December 20, 2012
Pros: cuts better easier to clean than previous models.
Cons: never been impressed with trimmers on norelcos.
Model Number: 1255X SensoTouch 3D
"I've had Norelco triple headers for as long as I've been shaving. My last was top of the line. But this one beats any I've had. I don't have a heavy beard. But if I skip shaving for a couple of days, this shaver will be effortless. (At least, that is, for the first six months or so. After that, the blades get progressively less efficient. They're supposed to last a year but they won't be as sharp at the last half as the first. I got mine last Christmas, though, so they've made it a year and it's almost time for the new set of blades.) There are two possible reasons: The new model blades, and the 3D motion for hugging your face. I think both play a part, but the new blades may account for much of it. They seem better than any previous Norelco blades. And Costco is the only seller I know of that gives you an extra set of blades (for an extra year of use). It's also easier to clean than past models I've had. The three heads flip open and you rinse them under the faucet. Maybe every week, you pop open each individual blade compartment and rinse that and the blade (and maybe brush the blade a bit). Easy. Nice soft carry case as well."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, Ontario
Date:December 9, 2012

Best purchase ever

Pros: the time between charges is amazing, skin tone and smoothness after shave
"This is the I-Pad of shavers, I don't ever leave reviews, but this shaver is incredible, the only electric shaver that really lives up to the claims made by the manufacturer, I even bought one for my son in law ( which is really big for a Scotsman ) I wouldn't trade this for any other shaver."
Review 8 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bothell, WA
Date:November 23, 2012

Great Close Shave!

Pros: easy to use, very close shave, 45 day guarantee, quiet
Cons: nothing
Model Number: Model 1255X
"It has been about two weeks and I am very happy with my Norelco. I've been using a straight edge since I've been shaving and always have gotten razor burns...although a close shave.
I decided recently to try an electric razor. I was a little apprehensive because I like a really close shave. Tried it for the first time "dry" and it was ok. The next time, I tried it "wet" with some shaving cream. I was thoroughly impressed! The shave was as close as using my straight edge. I was very surprised. So long straight edge!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:September 8, 2012

Just another electric razor

Pros: costco's price is unbeatble
Cons: didn't work for me
Model Number: SensoTouch 3D
"The reason I bought this is because I’m on prescription blood thinners and when I nick myself with a blade razor I get some blood flow. So, after about 40 or 50 years without ever using an electric razor and seeing all the nice reviews on this site I thought I’d go for the “best” product available. The wet aspect of the razor was the main attraction for me.
The first two days of use I used it dry. The shave was just barely adequate at best but much better than my Remington of 50 years ago. I have a really tough beard and the stubble was obvious but it was a really short stubble. My face itched a bit after the shaves but thought that was due to the dryness. So the next day’s shave was wet. I prepared my face just as I do for a blade shave, washed it good in hot soapy water to soften the beard and then applied a foam shaving cream. The razor seemed to glide over my skin better than dry but when I got to my chin – whoops, it cut me! Yes it did and it bled too. After doing my complete shave with shaving cream and washing off all the crud (under a shower actually) and drying off, I found that shave itself was minimally better than using it dry. However, my face was now itching all over. After an hour or so the itch mostly went away.
If I wish to cut my face while shaving I can and will do it with a blade and get a much better shave in the process. The 50 years of technology advances in shaving just doesn’t hack it for me and it is going back to Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:July 9, 2012

Great razor by Norelco

Pros: long-lasting charge
Cons: challeng to clearly see where trimmer is cutting.
Model Number: Norelco SensoTouch 3D
"I am very happy with the razor I purchased. It provides a very close shave, and a very comfortable one as well."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:June 29, 2012

Now THIS, is a shave!

Pros: smooth shave
Cons: it was $25.00 cheaper at the warehouse!
"I've been through a lot of electric shavers over the last few years and now I think I have won the prize!
This one shaves real close like it say's it will and it is real easy to clean.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 3, 2012

Best Electric Shaver Ever

Pros: very close shave, easy to use, use with shaving cream +, cleaning is easy and fast, it comes with an extra head, quiet
Cons: none
Model Number: Sensotouch 3D
"For most of my life I've used blades to shave because electric razor would not cut close enough or give me shaver burn. I thought I'd give the 3D a try since it's been awhile since I used an electric shaver.
I was/am extremely happy with the performance.
It cuts as close as a blade razor, no rash, it can be used with water or other shaving creams (I use hand lotion because it works and is cheaper) and cleaning is very easy!
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2012

Great razor

Model Number: Senso Touch 3D
"Great price - includes extra head. Very quiet and easy to hold because it is smaller than my last Norelco. I have been using Norelco razors for many years and usually get the basic models. This time, I got a more upgraded model. Really like the pivoting of the heads. Shaves very smooth. It's been a month and so far, so good."
Review 14 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2012

Best Norelco ever

Pros: no irritation shaves as smooth as a blade for me
Cons: none so far- 90 days of use
Model Number: Norelco Senso Touch 3D
"I've been using Norelco shavers for 50 years. This is head and shoulders above all others. Quiet, one charge for 40+ shaves, waterproof, easy clean flip open heads. I've tried shaving gel, 'Lectric shave, and hand soap, all work great. If you like to shave in the shower with a special non fog mirror this is the one to try."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 13, 2012

Great Razor but DO NOT expect the rebate

Pros: great shave, smooth, gentle
Cons: no rebate issued, manufacturer has poor customer service
"Razor is amazing for my husband.
HOWEVER Phillips Norelco has possibly the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. After waiting since November to receive the rebate they sent me a note saying I was in-eligible. Now they have my Original receipt and I have no rebate. I am not happy with this and will be attempting to rectify this soon.
"
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Royal Oak, MI
Date:April 12, 2012

Great shaver

"I purchased this razor for my fiance who kept dropping hints that he was tried of his old razor that is also a Norelco. I could not really tell the difference between the 2D and the 3D (except for the price), so I decided to splurge. I was worried about some of the reviews that it irritated the skin, but my fiance really likes it and it does not irritate his skin. He frequently complains that his neck skin is sensitive, but this razor does not seem to irritate his skin. He's been using it for about a month now and has no complaints about performance. If you're unsure about buying, go ahead and try it; Costco has a great return policy if you do not like it. That was part of the reason that I bought the razor from Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hollywood, California
Date:April 10, 2012

It's a Fine Shaver

Pros: easy to clean, charges fast, looks cool, easy to grip
Cons: must use stand to charge it
Model Number: 1255X
"I am going on 6+months with the SensoTouch from Costco, and more than 25 years with Norelco Rotary shavers.
I plan on keeping it.
Best way to help you decide whether to purchase this razor is to give you the Pluses+ and Minuses- based on my experience with this Shaver and past Norelco Shavers.
Before I do, keep in mind the following:
1) You will never get as close a shave with a Norelco Rotary as you will with a Blade. Its close, but a Razor Blade is always the closest.
2) You will not get a noticeably closer shave with the SensoTouch compared to other Norelco Rotary's--they are all about the same.
3) If you never used a Rotary before--you must give your skin a couple of months to fully adjust--especially neck skin.
4) I have found that the best performance for electric shavers is after a shower with a completely dry face and neck.
What I like:
1) The rotary heads are wider on SensoTouch than all my past Rotary Shavers, so you can cover more area faster.
2) The Shaver Looks COOL and Expensive in my Bathroom.
3) The holder/charger has suction cups and is very stable, holds the Shaver handle well, and charges FAST.
4) The Razor will allow for 2 weeks, once a day of shaves, if not charged.
5) Includes an additional replacement Head so you are good for 2 years.
6) Its easy to hold the handle, has good grip and turning ability. The heads move with the contour of your face and neck.
7) Easy to clean and you should pop open each of the 3 rotary chambers and rinse under water at least once a week for best performance.
8) The pop up straight side-burn trimmer works fine.
9) If I forgot to mention: It's unique and looks COOL in my bathroom.
What I don't like:
1) If you travel for more than 2 weeks, you MUST bring the charging stand with you! You CANNOT directly charge this Shaver with the cord like you are able to do with all other Norelco Models I had in the past. You can ONLY CHARGE it on the STAND. It will not function with the Cord attached directly to it--you are completely dependent on the batteries operating.
2) The head chamber does not hold the cut hairs as well as past Norelco Rotary head chambers. All this means is that if you don't clean the heads daily, you will see hair debris on your counter or the charging stand and some flakes off as you shave.
3) Only has 3 LED's to tell you how much charge is left. I prefer at least 5 LED's, preferably more to know how much power is left when I am on the road.
Good Luck!"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:La Jolla, San Diego
Date:February 17, 2012

OK if your sideburns don't grow.

Cons: trimmer is poor
Model Number: 83838
"The shaver is a 'B' I am able to get a clean shave, but the 'Trimmer' is a 'C Minus.' It is ineffective. I am still wondering if there is a better shaver out there.
I don't know the model number"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa
Date:January 19, 2012

"If you want fresh hamburger-----"

Pros: nice technology
Cons: rough on skin
Model Number: Norelco Senso touch 3D
"I purchased this electric razor about 3 weeks ago and hoped it would provide a quick and thorough shave and what I got was free hamburger on my neck and face . I will unfortunately return after giving it a good try if the experience doesn't improve."
Review 20 for Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Shaver
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iceland
Date:January 16, 2012

Very Good Shaver campared with Norelco Arcitec

Pros: works for strong hair too, 3d system works better than arcitec, better grip than arcitec
Cons: travel kit sucks arcitec has better
Model Number: 1250
"I owned a Norelco Arcitec for 3 years, this is a better version. This has slots for harder/bigger hairs which makes the difference. Also it is less noisy. It does not reach to base of the nose but you can use the trimmer for those areas.
Overall this is indeed a better shaver.
"
1 2 next>>