Customer Reviews for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Touch Sensor Control Dolby Digital Sound Built-in WiFi
Average Customer Rating:
1.818 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
3 of 11(27%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Review 1 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:January 10, 2012

Great Purchase

Pros: price, hdmi cable included, built-in wifi
Cons: ui for apps other than netflix
Model Number: BD-D6100C
"I have enjoyed this player without any problems. Netflix streams seamlessly and discs load in a reasonable amount of time. The built-in wifi and included HDMI cable add value."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waunakee, WI
Date:December 27, 2011

Doesn't Load Movies

Pros: the one movie that worked looked nice
Cons: isn't playing other movies
Model Number: BD-D6100
"Disney movies= shot of Walt Disney Studios castle and never advances.
I put in another DVD, it plays the previews but never the movie, I can't even get to the disc menu screen.
I have been in on-line chat with a samsung rep for 35 minutes right now.
I am returning this tomorrow.
"
Review 3 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake, Utah
Date:January 21, 2012

BIG disappointment

Pros: came in a nice box
Cons: doesn't play dvds
Model Number: BD-6100C
"Plays blu rays great. Will not read DVDs. Has lots of features listed to make the sale then won't do the basic job of playing a DVD. My old DVD player plays DVDs fine but when I put those same disks in this machine it tells me there is no disk or its in the wrong format. Its going back!"
Review 4 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012

Stay away

Pros: remote control easy to operate
Cons: rattles on regular dvd's slow to load and operate
"I have a Samsung 52" LCD which I love, so I bought this blu ray player to stay in the same family...played for about a week and then when I put regular DVD's in after 30 minutes...starts rattling and stopping the picture....Samsung needs to go back to R&D for this product...taking it back..."
Review 5 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:February 2, 2012

Stay away from Samsung...

Pros: good at collecting dust.
Cons: won't work.
"My Samsung experience has been dismal. Bought both a Samsung TV and blue ray from Costco - both have died prematurely. The TV lasted just beyond the 2-yr extended warranty - the DVD worked ok for about 3 months before it started acting up, and now it's totally dead - won't even boot up. Total piece of garbage."
Review 6 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2011

Very disappointing

"From the start, had trouble playing blu-ray discs. I updated the firmware, and still no success. At times, it would work fine, but at other times, for no explanation, it would not play any blu-ray discs at all (even those it had successfully played a day or two earlier).
Took this back to costco after 3 or 4 days of this nonsense."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:January 25, 2012

Would be nice... if if worked.

Pros: nice remote and appearance. like touch panel
Cons: does not play
Model Number: BD-6100C
"Looks nice. Nice touch screen. Played about 3 Blue Ray and 1 DVD before it told me that my discs were inserted wrong or not clean. Audio cut out on final disc it play. Flat out will not play anything after 3-4 movies. The Blue Ray uses a different laser than the DVD - so it is internal, but says it is my disc. Pretty fragile to stop working after a couple hours of use.
I'll pass on Samsung for a while now."
Review 8 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:February 27, 2012

No Component Outputs, Dust Magnet

Pros: accepts ntfs format on usb device (hdd)
Cons: no component (analog) hd outputs, plastic case attracts dust and fingerprints
Model Number: BD-D6100C
"This BluRay player has NO Component (RGB) outputs, so the only way to get an HD signal out of it is via the HDMI output. This may not bother you unless you want to record something off its outputs in HD.
Also, it is a DUST MAGNET; the case is entirely gloss-black plastic, which holds an electrostatic charge and attracts dust incredibly fast. Also, don't touch the case, or you'll leave fingerprints all over it! It seems pretty flimsy, too.
Other than that, it's a decent player.
If you need the component outputs, try the Sony BDP-BX58. It also has a metal case with matte black finish (w/plastic front panel).
"
Review 9 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sterling, VA
Date:December 15, 2011

Took it back

Pros: none now i have to return it
Cons: cheap junk
Model Number: Samsung BD-D6100C
"The BD seemed to play OK. I updated to the latest firmware before I messed with NetFlix-which was WIRED into my internet connection. When I tested Netflix I got long load times, and when I finally did get my video it played, then got choppy, then stopped. I could not fast forward, exit the video and go back to the NF menu...nothing. I powered it on, off, exhibited the same awful performance.
I then tested the ethernet, worked fine. I played the NF video on my ipad and roku, worked fine.
Samsung has a notorious record for horrible performance, especially with their net apps. I am finding it difficult to find a decent internet streaming BD player.
With this Samsung, you get what you pay for, cheap garbage."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South San Francisco, CA
Date:December 31, 2011

Wish it had not been DOA

Pros: price
Cons: doa
Model Number: BD-6100C
"I picked up this Samsung DVD disc player tonight to view some 3d movies on our newly acquired Samsung 60" 3D Tv, but unfortunately the discs would not load. I had read about set up and software upgrades, and after painfully waiting for 2 upgrades, one which was aborted twice, while my child waited anxiously to watch his Tron special 3D movie... nothing. Tried different HDMI cables, regular dvds, nothing worked. All we heard was a whirring noise and the message unable to read disc. Went back to the old panasonic and watch the blue ray disc converted 2d>3d through the Tv, but the picture quality left much to be desired. Can't wait to see the same movie in a working DVD disc player. While this review does not address the qualities of the Samsung 6100, it addresses the poor QA or lack of in this case."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung BD-D6100C 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2011

Best player of the 3 I tried!

Pros: great ui, fast, intuitive, it just works unlike other players i've tried.
Cons: netflix doesn't downgrade quality on slow connectn
Model Number: BD-D6100C
"This player is excellent. I cannot understand the negative review that was posted. A little history, I tried the Sony BDP-BX58 first. It has a HORRIBLE interface, couldn't remember where I stopped or paused the disc, couldn't remember the Netflix information, and the interface was super choppy as you scroll through the menus. I then tried the Panasonic DMP-BDT210/215. This one had a decent interface and nice features, but I got a defective unit. If I paused or stopped the disc, it got stuck trying to read the discs when it spun them up again. I had to eject the disc each time I stopped it to get it to play again. The audio also dropped out after the unit warmed up and was on and off through the rest of the movies.
I then tried this Samsung player. I have to say, the interface is fantastic. It's just beautiful. The Netflix implementation is pretty decent. Although none of the Netflix implementations compare to the XBOX 360s interface, so I still use that for Netflix. It loaded decently fast. I did find that it didn't seem to adjust the quality if your internet connection doesn't keep up. It just pauses and re-buffers in that case. I think that's a common occurrence for most blu-ray players. I have a slow connection though. Most probably wouldn't have this issue.
The player loads up very quickly. I put a blu-ray in and it's playing within seconds. I also have not experienced any audio drop-outs as with the other player. I did however find that Disney blu-rays would load up the Walt Disney castle screen and just sit there. A firmware update seemed to fix that though.
Overall, an excellent player in my book. Samsung did a fantastic job with the interface especially. It's intuitive and eye-pleasing."