Customer Reviews for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer

Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer

With the Eco-Logic Waste Disposer, you can replace that old, smelly, noisy disposer with the newest in disposer technology. Your Eco-Logic Disposer is the only Disposer that is treated with Bio-Shield, an antimicrobial agent molded inside providing protection against odor caused by bacterial growth. Your Eco-Logic disposer can handle coffee grounds, the toughest vegetable scraps, peelings and small bones.   The Eco-Logic Waste Disposer uses the Torque Master® grinding system which is a combination of computer designed, balanced components working in unison to provide superior torque power and maximum grinding speed. The balanced components minimize noise and vibration assuring a quiet operation. With Silver Guard, for the first time, your disposer is guarded against accidental damage caused by metal objects falling into the disposers. This unique feature is only available on the Eco-Logic disposers. The Eco-Logic Waste Disposer is the key to convenience and a healthy home environment. Cooking is easier and faster because you do not make trips back and forth to an outside garbage container.  Cleanup after meals is fast and easy. Reduce unpleasant odors by instantly disposing of food waste and reduce insect and rodent infestation by instantly removing food waste. With the Eco-Logic Waste Disposer, meal preparation and cleanup are easier than ever. Simply turn on the water, power on disposer, and scrape messy food waste into your disposer.  It’s that simple!  Scraps are ground into very fine particles and sent down the drain…and it is safe to use with septic tanks too.  No more odors, vermin-attracting mess or unsanitary conditions which means a cleaner, healthier life. Features:   ¾ Horsepower   Bio Shield Anti-Microbial Agent: Molded throughout provides protection against odor-causing bacterial growth   Removable Splash Guard with Bio Shield   Speed Master Mounting System for fast and easy installation   Insulated Sound Shell   Silver Guard: the unique feature that captures most metal objects before they enter the disposer chamber   Corrosion Proof Grind Chamber and Drain Housing   Attached Power Cord & Plug   Less Jamming (no dejaming wrench necessary)   Septic Safe   Measures 16” High x 8.7” Wide   10 Year Limited Warranty Torque Master® Balanced Grinding System Including:    Laser Sharp Cutting Ring (No Blades)   Balanced Turntable and Armature   Balanced Impellers   Stainless Steel Swivel Impellers and Cutting Components   Stainless Steel Armature Shaft   High RPM, High Torque Permanent Magnet Motor   Model: Eco Logic 9
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
12 of 20(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Review 1 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2013

Comes with Issues

Pros: quiet 10 yr warr., 10 yr. warr.
Cons: manufacturing defect, parts arrived broken, off-shore support?
Model Number: Eco Logic 9
"Issue was this...water would Not flow out of the sink (this was not occuring with the old disposal). I took all of the pipes off and checked them. With the P-trap off, water trickled out of the disposal. I called customer sppt and a very brusk, thickly accented person told me they've had the same call before and to take out the splash guard, it was too stiff. I didn't believe it, but so far that is what has fixed it. Install was straight forward as long as you follow the directions per the rubber rings,etc. Do have concerns about the plastic mount but OK so far. Magnet arrived broken in the box. Quiet."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:December 26, 2012

Good Replacement

Pros: good value and quieter
Cons: need a better splash protector
"Installation is not that difficult. But I could not use the previous installation ring and had to used the one that came with the new disposal. Just follow the instructions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2012

Good Buy

"Arrived on time and in good condition. Very easy to install if you have some basic plumbing know how. Unit is quiet and seems to do very well with disposing of food scrapes. So far so good, has been in use for two weeks."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012

Broken Silver Guard

Model Number: 558372
"I thought I was getting a good product until it was delivered with a broken silver guard. It ended up costing me more to have it installed because my contractor had to improvise and it would take too long to get a refund."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:September 12, 2012

Good value

Pros: easy to install, quiet operation
Cons: silver guard magnet is weak., cable has an angle plug., rubber guard is stiff difficult to push food thru
Model Number: Eco-Logic 9
"I read the previous reviews here before buying. I think I know how some of the leaks mentioned by others above happened. Follow directions in detail. There are several very simple mistakes that can be made. Be careful when you take the parts apart to be able to install in the sink. Do not get the rubber seal reversed. See instructions. This can easily cause a leak. The power cord has an elbow plug. Nice idea but a problem if the switched outlet is on the top of the duplex outlet. There are 3 options: 1) replace the cord (difficult, unit is sealed), 2) switch the wiring on the outlet, (Okay if you are handy. If I have to explain more you don't want to do it.), 3) use a grounded 3-outlet splitter to change the position or direction (easy, my wife's idea). The Silver Guard magnet ring is a cute idea but is too weak to really work. I installed it so I know where to find a magnet when I need one."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:September 10, 2012

mixed - great concept with one design flaw

Pros: construction, quality
Cons: installation
"I loved the way this looked, the construction and parts. However, there is one design flaw that made it impossible for us to install (even though we have a lot of experience doing so):
the rubber gasket gets caught in the metal lip when attaching to the flange
After an hour of attempting to install, we gave up and bought another at a local hardware store (worse quality in my opinion for more money, but it is installed).
This is a first for me with Costco, but they returned it in store, no problem."
Review 7 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:August 27, 2012

Excellent

Pros: good quality, easy to install
Cons: none so far
"I like the product and it is very easy to install. Good quality and runs like turbo car LOL. It is worth every dime. If you had difficulty installing this unit than definitely you cannot hock-up a DVD."
Review 8 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:August 24, 2012

Great Product

"Easy to install (since my hubby did it). Extremely quiet and does the grinding of garbage very well. No more stinky garbage disposal. Our kitchen counters does not shake when we turn on the garbage disposal unlike our previous garbage disposal. Great buy!!"
Review 9 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Calif
Date:July 23, 2012

Best ever

Pros: quiet and easy to install
Model Number: Eco-logic
"After 3 weeks it performs flawlessly. Much less noise then others. Installation was a snap, would recomend to anyone."
Review 10 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:July 16, 2012

Look for an alternative

Pros: the unit is pretty quiet
Cons: terrible installation
Model Number: Eco-Logic 9
"I bought this online as it was $10 cheaper then in the store. I wish I would have looked at the store model as I would not have bought this product. The installation was a nightmare and different from any other unit I have ever installed. The flange is made of plastic and I can't see how it will last. It is quieter than most and no leaks but I doubt that it will hold up. No key to reverse the unit if something gets stuck so the directions say to use a broom handle to reverse the cutters - really?"
Review 11 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2012

l like this disposal!

Pros: compact, power cord
Model Number: Ecologic
"I like it because it is fast yet quiet. My husband liked it because it was easy to install. He especially appreciated the already attached power cord. No electrical wiring was necessary : he just plugged it in."
Review 12 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Jolla, CA
Date:July 7, 2012

Great DIsoser; Great Service

Pros: the high speed of this disposer means faster grind, like the fact that it is compact for a3/4 hp model
Model Number: Eco-Logic 9
"This is my 2nd purchase of this disposer as I bought one for my household in February. Works great; very quiet so I bought another for my Mom. Amazingly, we had the same initial situation as the last reviewer. The unit was leaking from the top. However, we called the Eco-Logic service hotline and received the solution right away. it was not the disposer that needed fixing; it was my installation. I forgot to put in the washer and that why it leaked from the top. The service agent deduced this for me within 2 minutes. There is nothing to leak from the top if the installation is properly done. IInstallation is easy; I just made a lazy mistake."
Review 13 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:July 5, 2012

Do not buy

"I bought this item and after it was installed it started leaking from the bottom 4 holes. I called the manufacturer and he told me it was from the top and it can be fixed. I attempted to explain that it was not from the top but the bottom 4 holes. He would not let me talk and had a very think accent that I could not understand. He told me they get that call all the time (which is not a good thing) and they can fix it. I don't think an new item should need fixing before it has ever been used. I'm returning it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Leandro, CA
Date:March 20, 2012

Good product at a good price

Pros: great product, great price, works well
Model Number: Eco-logic 9
"I've installed this unit on my stainless steel sink and it works great. I'm not sure what other reviewers are talking about the plastic as every disposer that I've seen is plastic. It works fine for me. I saw a similar item on a special deal for one day and it was more than this one. Another great deal from Costco"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:March 20, 2012

Best Disposer So Far--but only had 3!

Pros: not so heavy i needed help to install., i like the anti-microbial odor protection
Cons: eco-logic should not use styrofoam for packaging.
Model Number: Eco-Logic EL-9
"Installed very easily. Runs much quieter and grinds better than my old disposer. It appears well built and the 10-year warranty makes me very comfortable."
Review 16 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Leandro, CA
Date:March 19, 2012

Good product at a good price

Pros: good price, good product, works great!
Cons: not the most well known name...who cares?
Model Number: Eco logic 9
"I installed this disposer in my stainless steel kitchen sink and it works great. I'm not sure what the other reviewers were talking about the plastic, I've never seen a disposer that didn't have a plastic housing. And as far as the flange, I haven't had any issues with it. It went in easily and works great. I have a house with 6 people, so it gets a lot of use. I also recently saw a similar item on another website 'special' for more than this one. As usual, a good deal from Costco!"
Review 17 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Shawnee, KS
Date:March 15, 2012

DO NOT BUY THIS!!

Pros: easy installation., power cord factory installed.
Cons: cheap plastic components, did not seam to chew up garbage very fast.(apple)
"I thought I was getting a bargain....NOT! Do not buy this gargage disposal. The collar that mounts to the sink is not heavy enough and is made of light plastic and will not last long. I put mine in per instructions and it started leaking at the collar within 3 weeks. Collar was snug and was still leaking. Don't know if it cracked or what. But returned it all the same. Bought a good one at a home improvement store and it installed just as easy and I know that it will last because it is made of Metal - flange and all."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peoria. IL
Date:March 12, 2012

Installs Easily, very quiet

"What a great price for a disposer! Installs easily and is very quiet. Good value for the price. Thank you Costco for continuing to bring your members great products."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2012

Made with Plastic

Pros: easy install
Cons: plastic housing
"I order this garbage disposer online, I never heard of this Brand, check online can't find any review, so I decided give it a try. I was disappointed by the quality, the whole casting was made by plastic."
4 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Eco-Logic™ 9 ¾ Horsepower Garbage Disposer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Western U.S.
Date:January 26, 2012

Nice idea, but......

Pros: like the concept
Cons: made in china
Model Number: Eco-Logic 9 3/4 HP Torque Master
"Seems like a worthy concept and comes with a 10 limited warranty. Not much in the way of reviews or reliable information to be found on the internet or CU. Made in China."
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.