Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Model: MFCJ825DW
Average Customer Rating:
4.106 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 254
(out of 254 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (254 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
65
3 stars
27
2 stars
20
1 star
12
202 of 254(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arlington Heights, IL
Date:March 2, 2012

Extraordinary Features for the Price!

Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"A one-trick printer I had for years gave up recently (it only printed, of all things!). I wanted a new printer to be able to perform a few features that the old one couldn't. While the Brother MFC-J825DW scans, faxes, and copies, I already have a wonderful scanner and I haven't needed to send a fax in quite some time. Copying is certainly nice. But what really impresses me about the Brother is its automatic duplexing capability (two-sided printing) that isn't usually a feature on a low-priced printer. I was also interested in using AirPrint technology that could allow me to print from iPhones and iPads anywhere throughout my home wirelessly. The Brother MFC-J825DW performs each of those things without a hitch. While it might not be able to handle the high volume of a multi-person office environment, in just a few weeks it's proven to be a really useful machine for my situation."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 1, 2012

If you have Mac with OSX lion - Do not buy this

Pros: nice printer, good price
Cons: out of date sw does not install on osx lion (10.7
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"Cost-co's service is excellent. I received the unit within 3 days of purchase. When i started to install the drivers the software would not run because it was not compatible with MacOSX lion. i had to download drivers and everything else i needed to make it work. with download i would also lose the ability for OCR, which is included with the software that comes with the product, but not included in the downloads. i did not want to waste my time to download and go through the trouble of installing the drivers, etc. it has been 9 months since Apple released OSX 10.7 (lion) but the software that is shipped is only compatible with Snow Leopard."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:August 1, 2012

So far so good

Pros: features print quality
Cons: setup could be tricky
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"This is my day 2 with this printer, and about 6 or 8 hours I spent on setting it up. It may be without issues for somebody else. In my case my antivirus had to be off during installation. On the second computer the process was a little more tricky. The setup.exe had to close every time. I called the support but they didn't really solved the problem, but at least pointed towards right direction. It had to do with Data Execution Prevention being greyed out. Once I figured that out everything installed fine. It scans, copies, prints good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:July 23, 2012

Quality purchase

Pros: compatible with all devices, scans to file quickly
Model Number: MFC-J825 Dw
"Easy set up. IPAD, and PC found the printer quickly. Too soon to tell how quickly the print cartridges get used up. Scanning is great as well as faxing. Quality is good as well. Probably the best printer I have had at home."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washington
Date:June 6, 2012

Works great with my Mac!

Model Number: mfc-j825dw
"I was hesitant to buy this due to a prior review stating it was not compatible with the new version of Mac. I emailed support before purchasing, and Brother staff emailed me directions on how to set up my laptop. I love this printer. It works very well and I have it about six feet away from wifi connection.
In hindsight, I don't think I needed Brother's help in setting it up as all they did was refer me to their website and gave me very detailed instructions. I appreciated their help and reassurances though. This printer is great.
I have not tried to print using my iPad so I can not comment on that ease yet.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas-Ft. Worth area
Date:February 16, 2012

Brother customer support is top-notch!

Pros: first printer that the fax worked properly, brother has an 800 number to easily verify faxing, receive faxes and phone messages on same number
Cons: since most use wireless no usb cable provided.
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"A very nice looking printer. At first look, I thought that it was too complex to get installed. But, with the abundant manuals. I was able to get it installed.
Now to the Brother customer support. I bought my computer from Dell and, as Dell assumes everyone will purchase their printers, the computer came with their TWAIN drivers installed. This conflicted with the Brother TWAIN drivers. The Brother Expert remotely logged on to my computer and deleted the Dell driver folder and everything hooked up.
Now for the final customer support action. As I had uninstalled and reinstalled the Brother software a couple of times, trying to resolve the TWAIN problem, the Control Center package would not startup. The Brother computer expert deleted the registry traces of previous installations. When reinstalled, everything was perfect."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OR
Date:November 6, 2012

hate this printer

Pros: none
Cons: uses too much ink limited choices for paper size
Model Number: MFC-J625DW
"bought this to replace my HP printer. I hate this printer. It's slow. The worst thing about it is how much ink it uses. I have printed maybe TWO color documents and I have had to replace ALL the color cartridges. I have printed NO color documents and I am going to have to replace all the color cartridges again. Brother is really socking it to you on the back end with making you buy a lot of ink. I did not get anywhere close to 600 documents with the high yield cartridges."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:July 10, 2012

so far not bad

Model Number: MFC J825DW
"Good print quality and very fast, installation process reports compatibility issues with Windows XP Pro but so far, so good. Tech support is pleasant but not very knowledgeable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Angeles, WA
Date:June 3, 2012

Outstanding Brother Quality & Support

Pros: cd & dvd print option, outstanding print quality, intuitive to use, prints both sides of paper, outstanding value, excellent for home office, multi-function
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"I learned long ago, Brother printers offer the best quality, value, reasonable ink cartridge cost, and without doubt the best support when needed. This new model MFC-J825DW is no exception. It is easy to install in every way, does everything imaginable (including outstanding quality CD-R & DVD printing) and is very fast. (Each generation Brother is better than the previous).
Use "Taiyo Yuden Water Shield" CD-R and DVDs for beautiful waterproof, glossy, white, bright, smooth finish, high resolution media printing (I learned by trial and error). Use Brother "Printable Disk" and "Vivid" color options for all four ink cartridge printing (no smear and no smudge)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Schaumburg, IL
Date:June 1, 2012

Great product, great value

Pros: tons of features, easy to use seamless integration, relatively quiet in operation
Cons: footprint is a tad bigger than cometitors
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"Works great and seamlessly as it is supposed to. It takes some time to go through all the setup steps, but that is expected given the number of features it provides."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hendersonville, NC
Date:February 23, 2012

Good MFC Printer

"Photos look really good, scanning and fax work fine. Pretty small compared to others which is nice plus ink loads from front which makes it easy. Costco just started refilling ink jet ink cartridges but not Brother for some reason. Costco, please add Brother cartridges to the ink refill program."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities, MN
Date:January 30, 2012

Great Printer

Pros: scanning and print speed, price, size
Cons: photos prints only fair, small paper capability
Model Number: MFC J825DW
"We needed a smaller sized printer for use on a built in desktop in our kitchen. After looking at many printers, this one seemed to be physically the smallest available, that included a document feeder and individual ink cartridges at moderate pricing. Costco.com shipped quickly and once in place, it actually looks much nicer and more discreet than we expected.
Set-up and WiFi connectivity was fairly easy. Documents print nicely, good printing speed and fairly quiet. The scanner, whether using the glass or the document feeder, is quick, much faster than my Canon printer on my desktop. Prints are decent; however, don't expect the same quality as from a photo printer.
I would recommend this to friends and family and I would also buy this model again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:santa barbara, ca
Date:May 9, 2012

Too Many Issues for me

Cons: fax poor
Model Number: mfc-j8525
"As previous reviews have noted, it's not compatible with ios 10.7, so the supplied disk is useless. This is May 2012 - not 9 months ago. The fax simply does not send...it dials out, connects, but then says NG all the time., and this is after I used the lowest setting because of Voip. (My previous Canon had no problem with the fax on that setting). And finally it's tough to find where the darn scans go. I'm probably an idiot on this, but there is no easy way to specify where you want the scan to go. The printing itself is fine, but I'm returning it because it has just taken too mch of my time."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anaheim, CA
Date:August 24, 2012

Very good printer so far

Pros: easy to install and user friendly
Cons: none so far
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"THIS PRINTER WAS PURCHASE TO REPLACE A KODAK ALL IN ONE THAT FAIL TO WORK TWICE SINCE I PURCHASE IT, I WAS LUCKY THAT I BOUGHT AN EXTENDED REPLACEMENT WARRANTY AND RECEIVED A FULL REFUND FOR IT. IT IS TRUE THAT THE INK WAS INEXPENSIVE BUT THE PRINTER DID NOT LAST."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:michigan
Date:March 27, 2013

Wonderful Printer

Pros: price, quality of prints
"Exceeded expectations. I could not believe the quality of photos that it printed. I like the 'fast draft' setting to save ink."
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:March 2, 2013

Great printer

Pros: fast, less expensive ink
Cons: plastic seems flimsy on top and print tray
"Haven't used this that long yet, but somewhat compact, and prints well and quickly. Ink is cheaper for the brother (especially third party), which was my prime reason for purchasing. Easy set up. Have only used for short time so far, may update later."
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Centreville, Virginia
Date:January 29, 2013

Best All In One So Far

Pros: fast printing and scanning easy to use
Cons: the label software is difficult to use
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"This Printer Rocks. It's the Best All In One I have ever owned and I have had 5 Brothers and 3 HPs over the past 5-7 years. The price was right, delivery was quite fast and the product has preformed very well. It scans faster than previous models, prints fast and clear and sends faxes well.I like the feature that allows printing on DVDs. The software for printing could be better as it is difficult to use. I find it faster to use my label pro program and print on disk labels. Over all, this is a Great printer from Brother J825DW"
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:new york, ny
Date:December 31, 2012

Not Worth the Trouble

Pros: wireless connectivity
Cons: ink consumption
Model Number: MFC-J825DW
"Good features, scanner works great, but print quality can be bad and it consumes too much ink. I think I got < 50 pp from starter cartridge and after 20 pp on 2nd non-star tercartridge i'm at 50% volume. i will be returning because this is not worth the trouble."
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mother Lode Country, CA
Date:December 16, 2012

TERRIFIC VALUE!

Pros: great price for the features included!
Cons: too soon to tell!
Model Number: Brother MFC-J825DW
"Rapid delivery - it arrived at my son's house before I had told him it was coming. Great value for a multi-functional machine used at home. It doesn't take up a lot of space and works well."
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J825DW All-in-One Inkjet Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 7, 2012

What a deal!

Pros: touch screen is a plus. prints cleanly and clearly
Cons: none so far!
Model Number: MFC J825DW
"Just purchased a Brother All In One printer online. No shipping cost, and fast delivery. Very compact, easy to use, and print-outs are super quick!"
1 2 next>>